Beautiful Books: NaNo Update (The Library in the Stars)

NaNo update time!

I’ve been writing The Library in the Stars for NaNoWriMo and I thought  it was about time to do a sort of update on it — so fortunately there’s another edition of Beautiful Books this month (cutting it close on the timing) to help my tired brain out with that. XD

bb-redone

Beautiful Books is a linkup for writers hosted by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further in. Join in the linkup if you like!

1. Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

winls1

Well, I hit 50,000 words on The Library in the Stars on Sunday night and therefore finished NaNoWriMo a few days early, so… I’d say my mental state and my novel are both doing pretty good. XD I do seem to have a cold (UGH), and I still have at least five (probably very long) chapters left to finish the novel, and the book itself so far is a confusing plot-hole riddled nonsensical mess, but in spite of all of that I’m pretty enormously ecstatic to have completed my 7th NaNo!

lswin4

2. What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

lscoverThe first time the doorbell rang, the sixteen-year-old Coltridge twins simultaneously looked up from where they were sprawled comfortably with their very different books on opposite sides of their shared rooms at the university.

Veronica, surfacing from her Galaxy Timeline History 0000-5300 textbook, dropped her book onto her desk on top of a volume of Science and made for the door, nimbly dodging stacks of her brother’s novels on the floor in her way. “I’ve got it!”

Brendan, from his low over-stuffed couch in the corner, eyed the doorway curiously over the top of the book he was reading as she pulled the door open.

–from The Library in the Stars

3. Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Drayke Essengale (space elf) and Damian (shadowy hero) are currently fighting for that position. I love them both a lot. ❤

4. What do you love about your novel so far?

lswinThe characters. The fantasy in space. Getting to write scenes from several different ideas that I’ve had for a long time, all in one story.

All of the things?

(Except the plot holes and monstrous first-draft-ness of it, but shush, we’re not thinking of those things right now.)

5. Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_winnerProbably.

Mostly missing a word or forgetting where a sentence was going and not really completing it because it got so long…

I also one time wrote Drayke when I meant Damian… Whoops.

#ThePerilsOfCharactersWithTheSameStartingLetters

6. What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

They all have their pros and cons. I honestly don’t know.

7. What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

lswin2

I don’t really have “writing habits”… which is part of my problem. XD

I don’t eat while I write. I write best in the evening when I have no distractions… which sometimes translates to VERY LATE. I wish I was a morning writer but that didn’t really happen this NaNo.

I have been listening to music and it’s been helpful. Mostly a few songs from Skillet’s latest album, “Unleashed” (Feel Invincible, Stars, and I Want To Live), some songs from the Newsboys’ album “Restart” because it’s fast with a good beat (That’s How You Change the World, Restart, Go Glow), and “The Lord of the Dance” soundtrack because it’s epic and perfect. ❤

8. How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I do pretty much write alone in general, but my family will usually hear about how it’s going (and cheer me on accordingly; they’re amazing) and I’ll have a sibling or two read the chapters as I write them, and I do chat about how it’s going with a couple of online friends throughout the month. Mostly, though, the loner thing.

(Pretty much: I’m Batman. Or Tare. Tare works alone too… *cough* But even Batman needs his Alfred and co., and even Tare needs his Chess Club.)

9. What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

lswin3

This NaNo, it’s been my wordcount goals and the helpful Scrivener progress bars each day… so mostly the determination to stay more or less on track and get my words done each day.

I’m verrrry pleased to announce that I actually stayed on track and never fell behind par on my wordcount ONCE this month! This is big news. In 7 years of NaNos, this is my first time to stay on track the entire month. 😀

10. What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

Not sure if they’re my top three, but off the top of my head:

  1. Keep writing: don’t give up.
  2. Wordsprints! (And fast music for them.) I wrote SO much my last NaNo day this year by using the awesome wordsprint feature on the NaNo site. SO MANY WORDS. Never underestimate the power of setting a timer and writing the whole time with fast music.
  3. Don’t be afraid — if you’re afraid of the next scene, just cheat. XD

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

There you are. My NaNo update. Now excuse me while I ignore the fact that I still have probably a quarter of The Library in the Stars to write to finish it, and go burrow somewhere comfy and read away my cold to avoid feeling miserable and possibly nap for a week BECAUSE I FINISHED NANO! I’m very happy and looking forward to reading other books now that I don’t have to write my own at the moment. The books are caaaalling me…

25 thoughts on “Beautiful Books: NaNo Update (The Library in the Stars)

  1. AHHHHH MY DEBORAH IS FINISHED!!!! YOU CONQUERED YOUR 7TH NANO! *dies* Oh my word, that’s impressive!

    Annnnnd this book looks amazing. I WANT TO READ IT SO BAD. ❤ I mean, space elves?! THAT JUST TAKES THE CAKE OF AWESOMENESS. GIVE MEEEEEE. *cough* Please. 😉

    (Gorgeous cover, by the way. <3)

    Oh boy, I COMPLETELY understand the plot holes/messiness/general terror of the first draft…ew, my book is in a horrible state at the moment. *cringes* *laughs uncertainly because editing*

    BUT EEP JUST SO EXCITED FOR YOU, DEB!!! Go reward yourself with looooots of books! (And get well soon! So sorry to hear you're sick. D:)

    *scurries off to write some more because 100K HERE I COME* (maybe…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • *flailing* Thank you so much, Mary!! ^_^ (And… erm… you may get to read it someday but IT IS NOT THIS DAY because oh my goodness the NaNo-horrific need of editing that is this book. XD) And methinks I’ve done the get-well-soon thing now, so yay! Thank youuu! YOU WROTE SO MANY WORDS AND WERE AMAZING. ❤

      Like

  2. CONGRATULATIONS ON WINNING NANOWRIMO! *would serve cake* *is out of cake* *serves a variety of pies instead and throws glitter*
    Also, why am I not surprised that Drayke and Damian are your favorite characters? xD And I like what you said about Batman needing Alfred and co. and Tare needing the Chess Club- very good reminder for all us “I work alone” folks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You finished early despite your cold? I envy you — in a good way I promise — because when I have colds I cannot write, let alone stay on track with NaNo, and finishing early. I tend to “read them away” as you said. Good books are better than medicine for making you forget you’re sick, which often helps you get better faster, I think, because you’re not concentrating on how sick you are and making things worse. Especially with colds, which are the bane of my life.
    Enjoy getting to read other people’s writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually, I finished early right WHEN I was getting my cold… so I didn’t really have to write while I had it? So that was good because I didn’t quite have it yet. Because YES, I totally agree with you about not being able to write when sick. o.o Hurray for reading! Thanks!! ^_^

      Like

  4. I’M STILL SO HAPPY FOR YOOUUUU. *FLAILS*

    LS SNIPPET. *devours* Ooooh my goodness! This is so FUN. “Galaxy Timeline History 0000-5300 textbook” XDDD BRILLIANCE. Veronica sounds like QUITE the character. I loooove this image of them reading and books all over the floor and everything. It’s so cozy and fun. Methinks I love these twins! Now I need snippets of Drayke and Damian!!!!

    SKILLET. NEWSBOYS. LORD OF THE DANCE. YES TO ALL THOSE THINGS.

    “But even Batman needs his Alfred and co., and even Tare needs his Chess Club.” ACK. I don’t know why but I LOVE this. Tare DOES need his Chess Club. ^____^ There’s something very profound in that sentence. Hehe.

    I’m just so ecstatic you were able to keep on schedule every single day!!! This was such a great NaNo!

    I love your advice. I’m seeing the value in wordsprints more and more. They’ve helped me a LOT this NaNo.

    I do so hope you enjoy all your reading time! You’ve earned it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaahh thank you so much, Lauri!!! ^_^

      Awk, I’m so glad you like the snippet! (Veronica is actually… quite the /cardboard/ character, but whatever you think. XD) Their apartment is literally what I want my room to be like… aaaall the books! (And you’ve actually seen Damian in the snippet on my NaNo novel page. 😛 …But now you’re reminding me I have to do some snippets of both of them… hmm. >:D)

      AAAHH YOU LIKE THE SAME MUSIC YAYY.

      I’m glad you like the Batman Tare thing. 😀 *happy dance* (But yesss, he needs his Chess Club. ;))

      Hurray for great NaNos! ^_^ (And wordsprints. :D)

      Thanks so much! ❤

      Like

  5. YAY YOU FINISHED I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! *bakes cake and gives you all of it*

    And when you were sick? Jealous… I was a sick too. A little thing for me that set me behind a bit. And I didn’t realize just how *busy* I’d be this month. *glares at life for getting in the way of writing*

    And yay! Reading is a possible thing again! XD I think somehow, my tbr pile has managed to grow bigger…

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU MADELINE!! 😀 Aww, thanks! ^_^ *eats half the cake and gives the other half back to you for being awesome*

      I was sick the last three days of the month, right after I finished writing. I’m sorry you were sick too! D: And sorry that you didn’t hit 50K, but you were SO close and you wrote SO much and you were amazing!! 😀 😀 😀

      I know, right? The TBR only grows and never shrinks… o.o Hurray for getting to read again! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Well done! This is super exciting! I am AMAZED you let people read the book as you go, though, that is my horror! (Sort of. I just. You know. First drafts!) But I’m so glad you’re enjoying it and loving your charries. They sound cool. I love how it starts with them reading :3

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eep, thanks so much, Emily!! 🙂 (Haha, I only let my younger siblings read it. XD But I know what you mean, I do need to have it edited before other people see it. 😛 Because yes… first drafts. Heh.

      And thanks! (Reading characters are the best. ;)) YES, it’s snowing! I always get so excited when it starts snowing on my blog, because it does it automatically in December and I sometimes forget it’s going to happen. XD

      Like

  7. OH ALL THE CONGRATS FOR WINNING AND FINISHING NANO!! WOOOO!!! ALL THE CAKE FOR YOU!!! And I love your cover so much. It’s so sparkly. Afjdskald. Sparkles are wonderful.
    And oh oh I messed up character names in my books too! I swapped around my two main characters, Sam and Max, for like A WHOLE SCENE and I don’t even know what was going on. Clearly I was getting very tired by that point.😂
    Good luck with finishing off your novel too!! AND I HOPE YOU HAVE A NICE WEEK-LONG NAP I THINK YOU DESERVE IT. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaahh, thank you, Cait!! 😀 *noms cake* EEP, thanks! I’m glad you like the sparkly cover!
      Mixing character names is hilarious. XD That’s awesome. 😀 Max and Sam are like… almost each other’s names spelled backward though? (Almost.) So that’s understandable. XDDD
      Thank youuuuuu!

      Like

  8. Pingback: Ishness of NaNo 2016 | The Road of a Writer

  9. Pingback: Snippet Tag: The Library in the Stars (Part 1) | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

