Behind the Scenes: Writing Tag

behindsceneswritertag

I was tagged by Madeline @ Short and Snappy and Abi @ Rambling Writer quite some time ago for the Behind the Scenes Writer’s Tag (here and here) — thanks ever so much to both of you! ^_^ (And everyone, do check out their blogs!)

I may have done this one or something like it before but I honestly don’t remember so I’m doing it regardless. XD Because who doesn’t enjoy a look behind the scenes at how writers write? And it seemed an appropriately writerly kind of post for NaNo. πŸ˜‰

Here we go!

1. Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

I don’t eat while I write because I can’t multitask like that. XD I don’t even usually drink a hot drink because if I’m writing I forget about it and it goes cold… (And I don’t have a Meridian to remind me about it like Teague does; not that he notices…)

2. When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

Usually at night. Unfortunately. *cough* It makes for some late nights, I’m afraid… But it seems to be when my brain wakes up enough to be creative.

3. Where do you write?

At my laptop at my desk in my room, usually. Sometimes on my bed or in my big chair though.

4. How often do you write a new novel?

Bahahaha! *collapses from laughter* Um. Yeah, I’m just going to pretend this question is hilarious in order not to get bothered by it. XD I’ve written 3 complete novels so far, over several years, and they were all at random intervals and took totally different amounts of times. There is no “usual” with this odd duck of a writer.

5. Do you listen to music while you write?

Sometimes, if I remember to turn it on (see above snacks question).

6. What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

Laptop if it’s actual writing. My writing notebook if it’s notes or small amounts of plotting.

7. Is there a special ritual before/after you write?

I usually have to be in my room with no one around, and the doors closed, with no distractions and some idea of what I want to write. …This suddenly explains how little I get written. O_O A revelation, I tell you! Moving on… I sometimes turn music on, or go find my plotting notes for that bit, or read the last part I wrote. Other than that, not really.

As for an afterward ritual… not in particular, unless it counts to get up, stretch, stare at the clock as if it’s gone insane because where on EARTH did all that time go, and wander off to get a drink and possibly find some poor soul and make them read my latest scribbles. πŸ˜‰

8. What do you do to get in the mood to write?

I only wish I knew. >.> I’ve discovered walks are helpful, though. Also going to bed, because that’s when my brain wakes up and wants to keep me awake and make me go write when I want to sleep, because it’s helpful like that…

9. What is always near the place you write?

My laptop? Maybe my notebook and pen. And my phone? Or a glass of water? I don’t know, not always anything particular. *shrug*

10. Do you have a reward system for your word count?

Not usually. It tends to be its own reward, I guess. πŸ˜‰

11. Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

I usually have to play the entire scene out in my head a time or two before I can write it.

I also have discovered a helpful phenomenon which is something I call “draft-zero scene-plotting” wherein I just scrawl out the rough scene and dialog without punctuation/capitalization/proper sentences, in order to get the scene down on the page in its roughest form, so that I can then elaborate on it and flesh it out into real writing. That way I don’t have to worry about being “perfect” at first. It’s sort of an extreme sort of plotting, crossed with a very sloppy first draft technique. I don’t use it all the time, but when I do it seems to work wonders.

Speak to me, writers! What are your writing habits? If you’re doing NaNo, how are you doing? (Three weeks down, guys! We can do iiiit!) Did you enjoy this peek behind the scenes? Feel free to take the tag and do it yourself!

18 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes: Writing Tag

  1. Haha, I do the same thing with drinks. XD If it was hot before, it will be usually be cold before I remember to drink it. (Wouldn’t it be nice if all of us writers had a Meridian to help us remember things?) πŸ˜€

    Playing out a scene before writing it *does* help a lot. There’s usually good intervals between me typing and just thinking things through. Though it’s hard if you’re not in the mood. πŸ˜›

    So glad you did this tag, it was really fun reading your answers! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, right? I’ve learned to drink my hot drink BEFORE writing… because otherwise it’ll just sit there, and an hour later I’ll be like oh yeah, I had a hot drink… formerly. XD (YES, that’s a good point. I’d love a Meridian too!! This remark of yours made my day. ^_^)

      Yep, it’s helpful! πŸ™‚ And both the things you said about that are true: hard if you’re not in the mood, but if you are, thinking it out really helps. πŸ˜€

      I’m so glad you enjoyed reading the answers! Thanks again so much for tagging me! (Even if it WAS like last NaNo… XD) Thanks, Madeline! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. #8, is that not so annoying! I keep a notebook by my bed so that way when all those millions of thoughts/ideas come into my head, I can keep track of them all! Fun post, love seeing how my fellow writers write.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. #11 is interesting. Sounds like a good system. I also like to play a scene out in my head, playing it over and over until it’s ‘tangible’. But even after all that I can’t just dump the words out. I often stop part way- ‘wait, no. That’s not going to work. redo!’

    Liked by 1 person

    • It seems to work pretty well, yep. πŸ™‚ YES, playing out scenes in our heads! Glad I’m not the only one. And yeah, sometimes it doesn’t work out and needs redoing… Ah, the ins and outs of a writer’s life. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  4. I definitely love getting a behind the scenes look of how other writers write! It’s so fun seeing the differences and similarities to everyone’s processes.

    I have totally forgotten about my hot drink and let it get cold while writing! Though usually it’s the opposite. I’m too busy sipping on it to actually write. xD (And all of us crazy writers need Meridians in our lives, don’t we?)

    I’m all about writing in complete solitude in my room, yes! I WISH I could write anywhere and tune out distractions, but nope. It never works out. *pouts*

    “…stare at the clock as if it’s gone insane because where on EARTH did all that time go” THIS THOUGH. xD Time and its slipperyness. Or should I say HIS slipperyness. >.>

    And going to bed is totally helpful to get us in the mood to write, yes. Or should I say NOT helpful, at least as far as healthy habits go. *glares*

    This was so fun to read! I love getting little tidbits of people’s writing lives. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Isn’t it fun reading various processes of writers? πŸ˜€
      Haha, that’s funny about the hot drinks with you. XD (I totally agree we all need Meridians. *nods*)
      It’s just haaaard to write elsewhere, when people are around. o.o
      Time and his slipperiness indeed!! *shakes fist at him* πŸ˜›
      Heehee, well, it seems to be either good bedtimes or writing, so we writers have to pick… πŸ˜‰
      Thank you!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! ^_^

      Like

  5. I’m fairly certain you have done this before . . . but it was fun to read all the same! Isn’t it annoying how one’s inspiration always wakes up just when you want or need to be doing something else (like sleeping)?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Ishness of NaNo 2016 | The Road of a Writer

  7. Pingback: Behind the Scenes: Writing Tag | Author Amanda McCormick

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

