october ishness

ishness

October 2016

Whew. October was at least as busy as I expected it to be, and largely consisted of much pre-NaNo running around. I’m sure there were other things in there too but they may have been lost behind the madness. Ahem.

Writing

lscoverMostly what I did, writing-wise, in October was — surprise — plotting The Library in the Stars for NaNo! Not entirely plotted, sadly, but we do what we can.

I also, as I mentioned, started trying Scrivener for the first time and may or may not have TOTALLY FALLEN COMPLETELY IN LOVE WITH IT. Ahem. Not that I’m excited about it or anything. Not at all. *coughcough* Waiting to see if I enjoy writing in it during all of NaNo before passing final judgement on it, but I definitely like the organizational aspects of it.

Snippets

KW2coverP

None from October, but Sarah asked if I could share some snippets, so here are a few from the other month, from The Secret of Kedran’s Wood (KW2) — enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

snippet1

***

snippet2

***

snippet3

Reading

oct2016reads

Despite NaNo-prep insanity, I still managed to get a few (awesome) books read last month!

A couple of small books: I’d been wanting to read more Neil Gaiman, so Odd and the Frost Giants happened: strange but okay (maybe 3 or 4 stars? The only one of the month which wasn’t SUPERB. But still enjoyed). I was thrilled to find another Moomin book which I hadn’t read, and LOVED IT! It may be my favorite Moomin book yet. ^_^

Then I’m still working through Stephen R. Lawhead’s Bright Empires series and enjoying it IMMENSELY. Seriously, I just love these books so muuuch and I need to read the final book ASAP! โค Aaaand obviously I positively adored An Earthly King judging by my review, so. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Much delightfully awesome reading going on this month!

Blogging

Posts around here:

PageDreamerHeaderNew

Reviews on my book blog:

Watching

  • Ant-Man — I finally saw this one! Hurray! Not my favorite Marvel movie ever, but I really enjoyed it a ton. XD So much fun!
  • Big Hero 6 — Part of it was sad… but otherwise a lot of fun and a very cute movie. ^_^ Much adorbz.
  • starwarsrebels

    (My buddies. ^_^)

    Star Wars: Rebels (Season 2) — For most of this, I really enjoyed the second season (though not quite as much as I loved the first season) and just had so much fun hanging out with my Rebels character buddies… until the VERY END of Season 2, like the last couple of episodes, when certain things happened and are starting to happen which are 1000000% NOT OKAY. I’m very much an angry camper at this point. *glowers* So yeah, in my opinion, the last few episodes positively DID NOT HAPPEN. So there. Humph. (I do highly recommend the first season, but if you’re going to watch this one, don’t watch the last two or three episodes. Just. Don’t. -_-)

  • Emma (2009 BBC miniseries) — I’ve heard great things of this one, from many people, so it was fun to finally see it! Definitely enjoyable. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really liked the amount of time it had to really show the whole story. ๐Ÿ˜€ Much fun. โค
  • Emma (1996* TV movie with Kate Beckinsale & Mark Strong) — I’d actually watched this one before, in fact before reading the book (fortunately I hardly remembered it, so I was able to enjoy reading the book for the first time earlier this year). ‘Twas even more fun than before, since I actually knew what was going on. XD
  • Emma (1996* with Gwyneth Paltrow & Jeremy Northam) — …Yes, I did in fact see 3 Emma adaptions this month. *coughcough* What can I say; I recently read the book so I’ve been trying the movie versions. *shrug* This one I was excited to find at a secondhand bookshop, because Jenelle had told me I needed to see it and I couldn’t find it at the library. So I was very glad to get a chance to see it, and it was so much fun! Especially since it had Pepper Potts and Obi-wan Kenobi. *coughcough* Also, I loved this Mr. Knightley (the book version is still my favorite, but this one’s probably second. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Though obviously I like ALL the screen versions of Mr. Knightly I’ve seen, because they’re all awesome, just not quite like the Mr. Knightley of the book, who is still a more superior man as one might say… ;)). Oh, and the archery! Fun.

*Because 2 different Emma adaptions coming out in 1996 (one a TV movie, one in theaters) is not confusing at all… >.>

November Plans

Obviously, it’s NaNo (how are we almost a third into the month? o.o), so my plans mostly consist of WRITING ALL THE WORDS!

But I also have a writing-related tag scheduled for each Monday for the next 3 weeks, so that should keep something going on the blog even if I’m not actively posting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, that’s what’s up with me — how about yourselves, my roadlings? How was your October? If you’re doing NaNo, how’s that going? If you’re not, what else are you up to? (And I do hope you’re not sick of hearing about NaNo… *coughcough* Sorry about that; I know how one-note the internet can sound during November… >.>) I hope you’re all doing splendidly! โค

17 thoughts on “october ishness

  1. Yes, all the October craziness! Of course, we’ll probably think October was tame compared to November. XD But that’s okay because NANOOOO!!!

    KW2 SNIPPETS *tackles them* OH MY PRECIOUS TARE AND CHESS CLUB. I. Have. Missed. THEMMMMM. Ivy threatening Tare with her MOM. *dies* And and and… “I didn’t do anything.” “You know that’s not true. Ever.” EXCUSE ME WHILE MY HEART EXPLODES FROM ALL THE PRECIOUS FEELS BECAUSE I CANNOT CONTAIN THEM. <333333333333

    EEP. You had such an awesome reading month. I think I only read one book in October…? Oops. o.o But…NaNo? Heh.

    I just love how you watched 3 different Emma adaptions in one month. That's kind of awesome. xD I MUST read the book sometime, especially considering how much I loved the 2009 mini-series. So yes, it must happen. Also BIG HERO 6. <333 Gracious, I love that movie. *huggles it*

    I look forward to seeing all the writing-related tags! ๐Ÿ˜€ And I hope all the rest of your November (how ARE we already so far in????) is AMAZING!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eheh, I’m sure you’re right… XD No matter how crazy October is, November always out-crazies it. ๐Ÿ˜›

      AWK your reaction made my day!!! Thanks so much, Lauri! ^_^ I’m so glad you liked the snippets! ๐Ÿ˜€ *evil author cackle because of feels and threats and such*

      Erm, yeah, I’m guessing I won’t get any reading done this month… so yeah. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But darling you had SO much plotting to do in October, I’m just amazed you were able to read at ALL! O_O You’re amazing!

      (I love how “But… NaNo?” is like our constant excuse for everything in like the final quarter of the year. XD It’s the best.)

      Heehee, so much Emma-ing! YUS you must read the book!! It’s so good! โค The mini-series was so FUN! And yes to Big Hero 6. ^_^

      Thanks! And I hope the rest of your NaNo is amazing toooo! (*collapses because the month is going by too fast what even*)

      Like

  2. Using mothers as threats, that’s awesome!

    I tried reading the Shadow Lamp in October. I was enjoying it, but then I had to return it to the library- unfinished. Alas. I’ll have to try again some time.

    I may not be doing NaNo (yet), but I still like hearing about it. It lets me read about everyone’s beautiful books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eheh, glad you think so. XD

      And aww, how sad! D: I hate having to return books unfinished. :-/ Hope you’ll get to try again someday!

      Glad to hear it! (You totally should someday–it’s fun. ;)) Yes, it is fun to hear about people’s stories. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  3. What a splendid month of doings! I shall have to post about my own ishness shortly. I have discovered that Wednesdays are absolutely too crazy to even think about adding blog posts to them… even pre-written-and-scheduled blog posts, apparently.

    Awww, I’m glad you enjoyed the Gwyneth Paltrow Emma! I haven’t seen the others you mentioned, I must remedy this!

    I tried to get into The Bone House earlier this fall, but have realized that 5 years is too much of a gap between reading The Skin Map and this one, and I need to “go back to the beginning” as it were. Even the little “this is what happened in the first book” synopsis didn’t help me.

    Happy Nanoing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I hear you there. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you find a less busy day in which to post!

      Yep, it was so fun. ๐Ÿ˜€ Emma movies are a riot. XD

      Aww. :-/ Yeah, I can totally see five years between books being a problem… I had a gap of about a year and a half between book 1 and book 2… so it was ALMOST recent enough for the “previously” to help enough… I think I did okay, but 5 years definitely is a lot. O_O I do wish I’d reread the first one first… I hope you will be able to sometime! I just love this series! ^_^

      Thanks so much, Jenelle! Best of luck on your own (non-NaNo) writing too! โค

      Like

  4. SNIPPETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU POSTED SNIPPETS FOR ME! Deborah O’Carroll, you are a wonderful person. โค I love the snippets; Tare is always awesome, and I love the "threatening-not-persuading" one. Of course no one would threaten Tare. That's just silly. Persuading, on the other hand . . . xD
    Also, BH6 is an amazing movie and I love it muchly. And Ant-Man is super fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Jenelle Schmidt October Ishness

  6. Sounds like you had a busy, busy month! ๐Ÿ™‚
    AGH SNIPPETS. *hugs them* Tare is really just wonderful. โค
    Heh, quite the lot of Emma adaptions you've watched there… XD Sounds like they were all great, though.
    I don't know how you get these posts up during NaNo…I'm usually flailing at my desk. XD But I suppose since I write more spontaneous posts, it makes sense. I kinda disappear during the month of November. XD
    Hopefully writing is going well for you! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • D’aww, I’m glad you liked them (and Tare)! โค Thanks, Madeline!
      Haha, yes, aaaall the adaptions. XD I liked them, yes, though the book is still better. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Secret: I wrote my tag posts a couple of months ago, and I was slowly writing this ishness post throughout October, and finished it up one night after I finished my wordcount. XD So… I only have posts because I prewrote and planned ahead, because I'm obsessed like that. ๐Ÿ˜› I often just let the blog be dead during NaNo though… so I totally understand that disappearing during November thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks! I hope it's going well for you too!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Ishness of NaNo 2016 | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

