Crazy Septemberishness

ishness

September 2016

Hiiii, roadlings! How are you all? πŸ™‚ *collapses* Well, now that we’re a third of the way into October (WHAT??), let’s see if I can get some sort of ishness post together…

LIFE-ING

I officially had an INSANELY busy September. In the words of Olaf from Frozen: “All good things, all good things…” Just… busy.

Most notably a roadtrip, which was why I was gone for a week there at the end of my blog party. ‘Twas great fun! I met some wonderful people and had a fabulous time kayaking etc. And so many hours sitting in a car. πŸ˜„

But between my trip and a bunch of other things going on, it was very heavy on the “life” part of things and less going on in the categories of writing/reading/etc.

Still, let’s see what I did on those fronts anyway, shall we?

WRITING

There was a lot of prepping for NaNo going on, mostly ML stuff and a possible decision on what I may write for this NaNo? Subject to change… I’ll get back to you on that. πŸ˜„ But regardless, at least a story exploded into nearly-full-plot, so that’s always exciting.

KW2coverPI even managed to get a little writing in around the craziness. Because naturally, if there’s ONE time I need to NOT be writing (a.k.a. when I have a week to get ready for a week-long roadtrip and am 100% NOT ready and need to be packing and shopping), naturally that’s the moment Tare chooses to get all communicative. *facepalm* Excellent timing, Tare… NOT.

Well. Not that I’m complaining. Always happy to have him communicative, especially when he hasn’t hardly been at ALL since last NaNo. *cough* So I got over 3K words written on dibs and dabs of KW2, which I’m quite pleased about! πŸ™‚ (We will not dwell on the fact this is almost the most writing I’ve done in a month all year, with the exception of the other time I did 3K, in July… Ahem.)

So, considering how busy I was, I’m quite happy about the writing things I did manage to accomplish! πŸ™‚

While we’re on the subject of writing, everyone needs to go read this post that Claire Banschbach posted on her blog: Writing — As Explained By Firefly. It’s my fave. ❀ (Because Firefly + Writing = Best. Ever.)

READING

readingchallenge2016

I finished my Reading Challenge on Goodreads for the year, of reading 60 books! *celebrates* I’d still like to read more, obviously, but that was the minimum I was going for.

Unfortunately, I hardly got any reading done in September, though… *shifty eyes*

sept2016books

Erm. Yeah. That’s the least I’ve read all year. O_O Especially since one was a novella and one was a very tiny nonfiction book, namely Make Good Art by Neil Gaiman, which, by the way, I’ve read FOUR times now and highly recommend (read my review here). The only real NOVEL I managed to read was a Georgette Heyer which I greatly enjoyed, managing to squeeze in reading it around shopping and packing when I really should have been paying attention to such things and not reading. *cough*

I did also finish beta-reading Sarah Holman’s to-be-released excellent retelling of Emma, which is not shown since it’s not on Goodreads yet. But hopefully it’ll be coming out next year, at which time I’m sure you’ll all hear a LOT more about it, given how much I loved it. ^_^

BLOGGING

blogoversary3

Obviously, I had my 3rd blogoversary and a very fun blog party celebration! I’m still on an excitement high after that. ^_^

If you missed ’em, you can read the original post, as well as my wrap-up post where I list all the tags I did during the month, including on my book blog to catch up on tags. All caught up! *twirls*

Other than tags, giveaways, and last month’s Ishness, I guess the only other post during September was my review of Make Good Art. All of which adds up (if you include both of my blogs) to . . . 20 posts last month! O_O Um. Yeah. So if it felt like I was always blogging . . . I was. πŸ˜„

WATCHING

Another thing I did, apparently, was to watch a bunch of movies. …Rather a strange bunch, too.

sept2016movies

(All posters/cover images found on Pinterest)

  • Divergent & Insurgent — Interesting . . .
  • Tron: Legacy — Weird/cool/not really sure what I think of it?
  • To Catch a Thief (with Cary Grant and Grace Kelly, neither of whom I’d seen before) — Neat/great fun! πŸ™‚
  • Treasure Planet — Definitely my favorite of the month! I kind of loved it a lot. ^_^
  • The Aristocats — Cute. πŸ™‚
  • The Sword in the Stone — Um. It was kind of awful? *cough*
  • The Emperor’s New Groove — So. much. fun. πŸ˜„

OCTOBER PLANS

Well we’re already a third of the way through October (HOW DID THIS HAPPEN, EXACTLY???) but my plans mostly consist of preparing for NaNo…

Next week I’ll have a post about past NaNos; the week after, I’m planning to do a Beautiful Books post introducing my NaNo project for this year (assuming I haven’t, y’know, changed my mind and settled on something totally different… *cough).

Meanwhile, I’m off to work on NaNo things — see ya!

How about you, my roadlings? How was your September? Are you doing NaNo and ARE YOU READY FOR IT?? Have you read/watched any of these? How’s your writing been going? AND HOW IS IT OCTOBER??? Tell me all! πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Crazy Septemberishness

  1. First off, AGH NANO IS TOO CLOSE I CAN’T. *flails and tries to outline and prep faster* πŸ˜„
    Yay on your reading challenge! ❀
    Oh my word, I LOVE Treasure Planet! And Emperor's New Groove is a favorite too. πŸ™‚
    Seriously, it's like time is literally slipping away. Can you believe it's less than three months until Christmas?! O_O BECAUSE I CAN'T.

    Liked by 1 person

    • IT’S DEFINITELY TOO CLOSE! O_O Meep. I’m so unprepared. πŸ˜„ I really need to start plotting. o.o Best of luck on your own prepping!
      Thanks!
      Treasure Planet was so fuuuun! And so was The Emperor’s New Groove. πŸ˜„
      Time is just insane… CHRISTMAS WHAT EVEN HOW CAN IT BE THAT CLOSE?? *joins you in your disbelieving*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AUGH LIKE ISN’T THIS YEAR GOING BY SO FAST?? And it seems like it’s that way for everyone, particularly this year. It’s crazy. I don’t really like it. o.o

    But yes. NANO IS COMING UP. Um. I’m hoping I won’t freak out. xD (not going to happen, if you were wondering.) I’ll be the busiest. watermelon. ever. in November… I realize now that signing up for NaNo was probably not the best idea ever. xP BUT I WANT TO DO IT, and even though I probably won’t reach my goal, it’s worth a try. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree, this year has been NUTS. O_O Time… *shakes head*

      Aww, well I’m so proud of you for deciding to try NaNo all the same! πŸ˜€ IT’S GOING TO BE AWESOME! Hopefully your little busy watermelon self will be able to squeeze some writing time in. πŸ™‚ I BELIEVE IN YOU, EMILY! ❀

      Like

  3. ALLLL the life-ing in September! September was just a crazy month. o.o But I’m still so happy you had such an awesome time on your trip! AND wrote KW words! ❀ ❀ ❀ Tare and his awful timing. Gotta love 'im. xD

    YOU READ 60 BOOKS. AAAAHHHH!!!! That's awesome! I've only read…32. So you've basically doubled me. Lol! I need your epic reading secrets!

    The blogversary party was SO. FUN. I just had the best time with it! You throw amazing parties! And WHOA. 20 blog posts in a month? You are a reading AND blogging master!!!

    ACK. All the movies you watched! :O I've never seen the Divergent ones yet. Gotta read the books first. Someday… Haha. But Tron was fun! I was actually surprised at how much I liked that movie, because it didn't seem like my thing. And CELTI. You've never seen a Cary Grant movie before now? *LE GASP* He's great! Okay, I've actually never seen To Catch a Thief. Lol! BUT I've seen some of his others. Arsenic and Old Lace is one of my faaaavorites. It is. HILARIOUS. Also Bringing Up Baby is a ton of fun. TREASURE PLANET. That movie just…just…just… *melts into a puddle of feels* So good! Oh man, the Aristocats was one of my TOP favorites and most watched when I was little. I've probably seen that thing a thousand times. I was obsessed. xD Still am honestly. Hehehe. It's been so long since I've seen The Sword in the Stone I don't remember my feelings on it… Huh. BUT YOU SAW THE EMPEROR'S NEW GROOVE. *SQUEALS* Still to this day one of my most favorite animated movies on the planet. KRONK. I'm so happy you got to see it!

    But…wow. Apparently I had a lot of thoughts on those movies. πŸ˜„

    HOW IS NANO SO CLOSE? AGGHHHH. I really need to do more planning myself. Meep. I cannot WAIT to hear about all your NaNo plans! *flails around excitedly*

    Liked by 1 person

    • So much September life-ing, yes! o.o And thanks! Heehee, Tare is just… πŸ˜„ *shakes head*

      Erm, yes, well let me take this moment to remind you that you edited an entire BOOK this year and I’ve done like nothing writerly all year. πŸ˜„ So my amount of reading in relation to yours is probably directly proportionate to that. πŸ˜‰

      D’aww, I’m so glad! ^_^ YOU MAKE ME SO HAPPY!

      Yeah, for some reason I keep seeing dystopian movies instead of reading the books, because I seem to be less picky about the movies I watch than the books I read? Dunno. YES, Tron was actually way more fun than I expected! πŸ˜€ I really enjoyed it, actually. πŸ™‚ And… er… nope, I hadn’t seen a Cary Grant movie before… *crickets* You should see To Catch a Thief! Because thieves and it’s like a mystery with a slight heist twist and just fun. πŸ™‚ TREASURE PLANETTTTT. ❀ For some reason it does not surprise me at all that you adore it. πŸ˜„ And yes, I remember hearing about you loving the Aristocats! The Emperor's New Groove! I literally picked it up at the library sale because of the Purple Elephants and you! πŸ˜€ I'm so glad I saw it finally! YES KRONK. XDDDD He's the best oh my goodness. πŸ˜„

      But it's so fuuuuun that we've both seen like most of the same movies this time! EEP! πŸ˜€ It's enjoyable to discuss shared experiences of films and books and such. ^_^

      I know, right?? O_O NaNo is just. Meep. And I can't wait to hear about my NaNo planning too, because that would mean it was actually HAPPENING! πŸ˜„ *collapses* I don't know… Life. *shakes head* BUT YES I'M EXCITED FOR NANO AT THE SAME TIME TOO!

      Your comment is making me smile way too big. πŸ˜€ Thanks, Lauri! ❀

      Like

  4. Sounds like you had a great month! Doing lots of movie-watching and writing is always fun. I’m glad you were able to get some done on Kedran’s Wood and that Tare was cooperative! (He should cooperate more. You can tell him I said so.) Any chance we’ll get a peek at some snippets of what you’ve written? πŸ˜€

    And I love the “Writing According to Firefly” post; thanks for pointing that out to me. πŸ˜€ It’s so true, though.

    My roommate was rather excited you’d watched “To Catch a Thief.” Not sure why. What’s it about and such?

    You already heard all about my September and such. So I shall refrain from posting about it here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tare doesn’t exactly appreciate your thoughts on the matter, but I do, so. πŸ˜‰ And… I hadn’t thought about snippet posting! It was basically mostly snippets all out of order somewhere in the middle of the second book, but I may have to see if I have any to post… maybe my next Ishness or something?

      Glad you enjoyed the Firefly writing post! πŸ˜€ *highfives*

      Not sure why either. πŸ˜„ But it was fun. πŸ™‚ Ummm… It’s about a retired jewel thief (A.K.A. Cary Grant) having to track down who’s been stealing jewels to prove that he wasn’t the one who’s been stealing them. There’s also a lady involved, naturally, and it’s just a fun older movie. πŸ™‚ You might enjoy it.

      Loved hearing about your September! Hope you have a lovely October! Or… what remains of it. *stares sidelong at creeping calendar*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like you had a very eventful September as well! What is it about September??

    I have not read any of those books.

    I have seen most of those movies (not Insurgent… though at some point I will probably finish watching the trilogy, even though I kind of hated how the books ended… grrrr). Erm, Treasure Planet is my FAVORITE!!!! As is Emperor’s New Groove. I watched Aristocats with my kids a few years ago and was surprised at how much lamer it was than when I watched it as a kid… I still enjoy Sword in the Stone, though… despite its silliness. I really actually kind of love Tron: Legacy, but knowing the storyline of Tron helps… also I mean… Jeff Bridges. Love him.

    Haven’t seen To Catch a Thief before but Cary Grant is one of my all-time favorite actors HOW CAN YOU NOT HAVE SEEN A MOVIE WITH HIM IN IT BEFORE?!?!?!?! Gasps. Falls down. Recovers… but only just.
    You need to go watch Arsenic and Old Lace. Pronto. And To Kill a Mockingbird. And any other movie with Cary Grant in it… Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House is also quite hysterical. YOU NEED TO REMEDY THIS PROBLEM IMMEDIATELY!!!!

    Okay, that’s all I have for now. I look forward to your next posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • September is always crazy, I agree… Dunno why!

      Ugh, although I’ve not read the books, I happen to have heard about how the Divergent series ends sooo… I kinda hate the ending too. πŸ˜„ So I totally don’t blame you for not wanting to see it… It wasn’t bad though, as long as it’s not the final one yet. πŸ˜„

      Treasure Planet and The Emperor’s New Groove! πŸ˜€ Haha, I remember thinking while I watched Aristocats that I probably would have LOVED it if I’d seen it many years ago, but as it was it was just cute. πŸ™‚ I can see you enjoying The Sword in the Stone… and again, probably would have enjoyed it ages ago, but it was all about silly Merlin and his owl and about how kids should do school and not enough about Arthur. I’ve noticed this about old Disney films: it’s always about some side grown up who’s kind of silly, and about the side animal characters, and not about the hero or heroine! Cinderella is about the King wanting grandchildren and the mice… Sleeping Beauty is about the fairies… The list goes on. πŸ˜„ …That was a totally random side-track, wasn’t it? >.> Ahem. Yes, Tron: Legacy was actually a lot of fun! πŸ˜€ I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. ^_^ And I haven’t seen the original Tron movie? Should I? Was it good? Other than the inevitable cheesiness of such an endeavor done back before technology? πŸ˜‰ Jeff Bridges is pretty cool, yes, though I’ve only seen him in this and True Grit, I think?

      Ooh, then you must see To Catch a Thief, then! Eheh, sorry, I had no idea you’d be so shocked at my lack of Cary Grant intake. πŸ˜„ I may have to try a couple of those you mentioned, thanks for the recommendations. πŸ™‚

      Thank you! Always love hearing from you, Jenelle! ^_^

      Like

      • Yeah, I can understand the Sword in the Stone… growing up with some movies tends to leave a nostalgic glow about them that can’t be shaken (most of the time… some movies I loved as a kid I have been unable to watch as an adult for various reasons… usually a level of cheesiness or downright awfulness I did not realize as a child!)

        I haven’t actually seen the original Tron movie, either, but I read up on the movie and so I went into Legacy knowing the backstory (and knowing it was the same actors from back in the 80s, which was impressive to me). My husband says it’s good.

        Jeff Bridges has been in a ton (many of which I’ve never even heard of, let alone seen), I’d be surprised if you hadn’t seen him in more than the two you mentioned though… he’s also in Seabiscuit, which has a lot of language (hence the PG-13 rating) but is otherwise a fantastic movie. And he’s the bad guy in Iron Man (haven’t you seen that?!??!). He’s the Giver in “The Giver.” Probably my favorite role of his is in “Tucker: A Man and His Dream” which is a classic and not very well known, but one of my favorite movies ever.

        His brother, Beau Bridges, played in the later seasons of StarGate, and he’s pretty awesome, too.

        I will definitely have to go find a copy of To Catch a Thief. Love Cary Grant!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Septembers, and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed yours.
    “I even managed to get a little writing in around the craziness. Because naturally, if there’s ONE time I need to NOT be writing (a.k.a. when I have a week to get ready for a week-long roadtrip and am 100% NOT ready and need to be packing and shopping), naturally that’s the moment Tare chooses to get all communicative. *facepalm* Excellent timing, Tare… NOT.” Funny how that always happens, eh? Like having inspiration strike during the professor’s lectures- so frustrating!
    I haven’t seen Treasure Planet, but I do enjoy the soundtrack. It’s good writing fuel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Septembers are indeed fun, usually! πŸ™‚ Thanks! I hope yours was good too!
      Heehee, characters have very poor timing, don’t they? πŸ˜„ Ah, yes, I can imagine inspiration during lectures would be awkward. o.o
      Ooh, you must see it! It’s so fun! πŸ˜€ And… I’ve only seen it once so I wasn’t able to pay much attention to the soundtrack yet, but I imagine it would be nice for writing! Epic soundtracks are helpful like that. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. September went pretty well, I suppose. I mean, I read a lot and wrote a lot… so, yeah! It was great!

    Nah, I won’t have good internet access, so I won’t be doing NaNo this year *sobs* (partially out of relief, partially out of grief)

    I haven’t read any of those books, but I have seen To Catch a Thief! It is so great! I love Cary Grant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    As for October, my family and I are leaving for our mission in Nicaragua on the 19th!!!!! It’s crazy. Also, I AM CELEBRATING MY FIRST BLOGIVERSARY TODAY! I hope to get a lot of drawing and writing done this month. Lots of stuffs!

    Oh, by the way! I tagged you for the Bloggers Recognition Tag, but I know you just finished a bunch of tags, to it’s fine if you don’t want to! Here is the link to my post, just in case.

    http://scribblingpencils.blogspot.com/2016/10/blogger-recognition-award-bloggiversary.html

    ~E

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reading and writing = always good! πŸ˜€ Glad you had a good September!

      Aww, sorry to hear that… but it’s understandable that you wouldn’t be able to do NaNo this time. πŸ˜‰ Hope you’ll have a good time in Nicaragua!

      Wow, apparently you like Cary Grant. πŸ˜„ To Catch a Thief was fun! πŸ˜€

      OH MY GOODNESS HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY THAT’S SO AWESOME!!!

      And ooh, thanks so much for the tag! πŸ™‚ Not sure if I’ll do it right away, but I’ll definitely file it away for if I need a post to do sometime! Thank you!! ^_^

      Like

  8. Ohh the Emperor’s New Groove is like mY FAVOURITE MOVIE EVER. Basically Kuzko is my role model. Shhh, that’s not worrying at all.πŸ˜‚ Also Treasure Planet is LIFE. hehe. Morph is adorable. I want a morph.

    And oh that does sound like a super busy month! And isn’t it always the way that the writing decides to happen when you don’t have time for it?!? Sometimes the writers life is just downright inconvenient. bahhaah. And congrats on hitting your reading goal! I just hit mine too. *HI FIVES* We are clearly goal completing masters of glory HUZZAH.

    And I’m sooo excited to hear more about your NaNo project! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yes, I remember seeing some Kuzko gifs and such around your site! (And yes, it’s worrying. XD) Heehee, your love of Treasure Planet mayyy or may not have helped influence me into watching it. πŸ˜‰ (Yus, Morph.)

      The writer’s life is very inconvenient, yes. πŸ˜„ OH MY GOODNESS CAIT YOU READ 200 BOOKS ALREADY THIS YEAR! :O *falls over* Wowness. And thanks!

      Hurray! Well I shall hopefully do a Beautiful Books post on it! ^_^ Thanks, Cait!

      Like

  9. Pingback: october ishness | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

