Poetry Scribbles

PoetryScribbles2016

Today (October 6, 2016) is National Poetry Day! …In the UK. But hey, I figured why let them have all the fun? πŸ˜‰

I very rarely write poetry, and it’s always of the rhyming variety since I don’t understand anything else, and I haven’t written any in a long time. But I thought I’d just dump a few of my scribblings here for the day. Because.

Some of my longer pieces I sometimes think about maybe posting on their own or doing . . . something with. I don’t know. Whatever it is people do with poetry. >.>

So these are short ones which I’m kind of fond of. Just snatches, really, since they’re hardly long enough to call poems… *squirms because I’m not used to doing poetry*

Anyhow. Here you are. Poem bits. Scribbles, as Gummy would call them. πŸ™‚

***

O you are like an adjective
I like you quite a lot
But others with advice to give
Condemn you on the spot

*

Sing the dawn
Soar and fly
Song of wings
Sung in sky

*

R&R

Hidden treasures of the sea
Hidden treasures, come to me
Far away on distant shore
Who can hear the ocean roar?

~ from The Rose and the Raven by Deborah O’Carroll (Sleeping Beauty retelling novella)

*

The wind it sweeps along in spring
An almost silent whispering
Like quiet words in secret dream
A far off leaf falls in a stream

*

Dark fate or bright fortune,
Wither do you go?
Down to the desert
Or up to the snow?

*

If you come home real late and you drive up and park
It will wait for you there, in the house in the dark

*

I’ve posted a few bits of poetry on my blog before. You can find them here:

Thoughts (a poem about this blog for when I started it)

Lost in a NaNoWriMo Mist (short piece on NaNo)

A Writer’s Allegiance (humorous poem about pencil, pen, & computer)

Presenting the Strangest Character Silmaril Award (LOTR fanfiction-ish Tom Bombadil poem)

***

Thanks for reading! ^_^ (Also, this is my 200th post on this blog! *pulls out some leftover confetti from the blogoversary celebration last month and throws it*)

25 thoughts on “Poetry Scribbles

  1. Awh, those little poetry bits were so pretty. ^.^

    (in other news, I accidentally deleted my entire search history for around a whole year AND I COULDN’T FIND YOUR BLOG. Horror of horrors. o.o Then I followed your profile through another blog. *wipes sweat from forehead*)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Glad you found them so. ^_^

      (Oh my goodness HOW HORRIBLE! :O I suppose if worst came to worst you could email me… or I have my blog in the signature of my email so you should have it from that since I emailed you for the giveaway… πŸ˜› But eep, that must be so scary! O_O)

      Like

  2. CELTI POETRY!!!! *gobbles up post*

    Okay, first of all THE PICTURE. All those books in it are so pwettyyyy. o.o *drools*

    BUT CELTI. Your poems!!! You are SO good at writing really humorous ones AND gorgeous, whimsical ones. I mean, that one from The Rose and the Raven. <333 Still totally in love with that one! AND THE ONE BELOW IT. About the wind. AAAHHHHH!!!! IT IS SO GORGEOUS I JUST WANT TO SOAK IN ALL THE BEAUTIMOUS WORDS.

    And that last one was so chilling. o.O Oh my goodness. That needs to be in a novel or something!!

    Just…just…ALL YOUR POETRY. *huggles it* I am so in awe at people who can do poetry, because it's waaay beyond me. You should write more because YOU ARE SO TALENTED. I mean, I will never recover from the complete and total and utter BRILLIANCE that was your Tom Bombadil poem.

    Oh, oh! And this was your 200th post?? *THROWS CONFETTI* ALL THE WONDERFUL CELTI POSTS.

    I JUST LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS POST. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eep, thank you so much, Lauri!! ^_^ Heehee, I’m glad you like the picture and my poetry. πŸ˜€ Awk, I just don’t even know what to SAY to all your niceness! Your comment definitely made my day! ❀ And I can't usually write poetry on demand, since I kinda have to be inspired… so maybe that's part of it. πŸ˜„ Other than the Bombadil thing I haven't written any in AGES. o.o (Also I'm so glad you liked that one toooo!! :D) *still celebrating 200 postses* THANK YOUUUU! ❀ (And YES, Gummy!!! :D)

      Like

  3. Those are quite lovely. Hard to choose a favorite, but I think the wind one captures me the most at the moment. Though the adjective one makes me laugh, and I have a soft spot for the one from the Rose and the Raven, because I loves that story. πŸ™‚ Ooh, and the fortune one… probably because it mentions snow. πŸ™‚

    Poetry is fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely! I loved them all, but the one about the adjective made me chuckle. So clever! They all have such a wonderful flow to the words, which, besides rhyming, is the most important thing to me in poetry. πŸ™‚
    I do hope you share your longer poetry!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually, this made me think about poetry some more, and I realized that word flow is more important to me in poetry than rhyming. I’ve heard/read poems that didn’t rhyme but had a lovely rhythm and beautiful imagery and I liked them just fine, whereas certain poems that rhymed but sounded forced didn’t do anything for me. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hurray, glad you liked them, Kelsey! Thank you! ^_^ And that you think they flow well — so happy to hear that! I may share some more sometime. πŸ™‚ And that’s an interesting thought! I guess I could see that, especially with your love of description etc. — it may go along with a love for word flow. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Congrats on your 200th post and YAY I LIKE THIS A LOT.😍 I’m really horrible at poetry, meaning I barely ever “get it” hahha, but I loved yours. They’re so simple and beautifully rhymed. I like the 3rd one the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awww, I love them all! Honestly, I couldn’t pick a favorite. πŸ™‚ I had halfway forgotten that you write poetry, but how could I? I mean, the one in The Rose and the Raven was lovely, and your Tom Bombadil poem earlier this summer was GOLDEN. And these are all beautiful and/or amusing! ❀ Makes me want to go pen another poem of my own, which I haven't done in quite some time. You're an inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eep, thank youuuuu!!! ^_^ Goodness, your sweet thoughts about my poetry absolutely make my WEEK. (Heehee, the Tom Bombadil one, yes. XD) And inspiring you to want to write a poem yourself — that is high praise indeed! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for all your loverly comments, Tracey! <333

      Like

  7. Pingback: october ishness | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

