“Past-Present-Future” Giveaway

blogoversary3

Here is the second giveaway to celebrate my 3rd Blogoversary!

Past/Present/Future is the theme, since I’m celebrating the past of my blog (3 years of it), the present of my blog (with giveaways and tags, yay!), and the future of my blog, looking forward, Lord willing, to many more fun times of posting! πŸ™‚

Thanks everyone for coming with me so far. ^_^

giveawaypastpresfuture2

For this giveaway I’ve chosen 3 books: a historical fiction for the past, a contemporary novel for the present, and a dystopian novel for the future. (Hopefully the future will not be like that. AHEM.)

Past

4princessspy

One winner will receive an ARC paperback copy of The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson (historical fiction/Christian YA romance/fairytale retelling set in Germany in the 1400s). Read my review here.

Present

5penderwicks

A second winner will receive a copy of The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall, which is like my favorite contemporary novel ever. ❀ SERIOUSLY, I ADORE IT. ^_^ If you’ve not read this, you are missing out on a perfect slice of summer and fun and family and friendship.

Future

6captives

And a third winner will receive a paperback copy of Captives by Jill Williamson. I am not the hugest fan of dystopian (nothing to do with this book, which is really well-written; it’s just me in particular and this genre do not mix well), but I know many people are, so I thought I’d give a chance to win this one! Please note that I feel like it’s not appropriate for younger readers (I personally would say 18 and up) so keep that in mind if you choose it.

Details

3 winners. Due to shipping costs, this giveaway is open to US residents only. Giveaway will run from today (Fri., Sept. 16) until Thursday, September 29. Winners (3) will be chosen and contacted by email and also announced here on my blog, on September 30, 2016.

EDIT: The winners have been announced! Thanks for participating!

(If the embedded form doesn’t work for you, you can find it here.)

How about you, my roadlings? Do you prefer past, present, or future in your books? Have you read any of these? Want to? Share your thoughts! πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on ““Past-Present-Future” Giveaway

  1. Ohhhh, I’m so excited about this giveaway! ^_^ I’ve been wanting to read both Captives and the Melanie Dickerson books. As for the Penderwicks, I read that a long time ago, and we still have it. πŸ˜€

    You’re seriously so generous to be doing all of this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. EEEP, BOOOKS. I FREAKED OUT WHEN I SAW THIS.

    Okay. So I won’t be asking for The Princess Spy because I already own that one (and really enjoyed it!), but THE PENDERWICKS. EEP. I NEED TO OWN THAT. I’m not so sure about Captives, though. Dystopian and I don’t mix well, either. πŸ˜› But…ya know, it’s worth another try. *shrugs* Out of curiosity, what’s not appropriate for younger readers? Do you think it would be fine for me to read or should I just not request it?

    Also, am I allowed to enter the giveaway since I entered the last one? I’m not really sure if there’s a limit to the number of giveaways we can enter. πŸ™‚

    AHHH, YOU’RE SUCH A GENEROUS BOOKDRAGON. *hugs* It was so creative how you picked a historical fiction book for the past, contemporary for the present, and dystopian for the future. πŸ˜€ I mean…wow, you put a tooooon of thought into this blogoversary party!!!

    Thank you so much for hosting this! Loving the celebration so far!

    P.S. I JUST FINISHED PAPER CROWNS TODAY, AND IT WAS GLORIOUS. <3333

    Liked by 1 person

    • YOU MAKE MY DAY, MARY! πŸ˜€

      Hurray for The Princess Spy! (Glad you liked it. ;)) YUS you need to read The Penderwicks!!

      Hmmm… If you’re not into dystopian anyway, my advice is to skip Captives. I think dystopian fans would enjoy it, but if you’re not a fan of the genre… (High-five, by the way. ;)) And… I dunno, it’s just some kinda mature content that made me a little uncomfortable at the time and just… thought it might be better for more adult readers. *shrugs*

      And YES, you’re allowed to enter all the giveaways! πŸ™‚

      I’M GLAD YOU FIND ME A GENEROUS BOOKDRAGON. *hugs you back* And I’m glad you like the theme! Aww, thanks. ^_^

      You are welcome! Glad you’re enjoying the celebrations!!!

      EEP PAPER CROWNSSSS!!!! ❀ ❀ ❀ *hugs it forever* I'M GLAD YOU READ IT AND FOUND IT GLORIOUS AND THAT'S A FABULOUS WORD FOR IT. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • D’awww. ❀ So do you!

        Ah, okay. I think I'll just pass on that then. πŸ™‚ Might as well leave it for the people who really want to read it. ^_^ (Nice to meet another person who doesn't really care for dystopian! I just read a dystopian book and…yeah, I think that established the fact that I don't really like that genre. :/)

        Yay! *rushes to enter*

        Thanks again, dear!!! *hugs*

        YUS PAPER CROWNS. IT WAS SO FRABJOUS. I CAN'T EVEN WORD RIGHT NOW.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yep, may as well. πŸ™‚ That’s why I set it up so people can select which they want to enter, so if they don’t want to it works better. ^_^ Oh really? What dystopian, may I ask? *is curious* (Or I could just go lurk on your Goodreads and see if I can figure it out. XD)
          Hurray! You’re welcome! πŸ™‚
          PAPER CROWNS IS ALL OF THE FRABJOUS!! ❀

          Like

          • It was A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes. πŸ™‚ I overall liked it okay, but I only gave it three and a half stars. (Which I rounded up to 4 on Goodreads because they don’t offer half stars on there. :/) But yeah, I think that settled the fact that
            I’m not a fan of dystopian. It’s just too depressing for me. πŸ˜„

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I have yet to read any of these books… they sound great! πŸ™‚
    As for the question… I definitely like the past, and the future is often thrillingly intriguing, because spec-fic is so much fun!
    I tend not to care for the present… reality is so filled with sadness and despair, even a book can’t escape it all!!! πŸ˜‰ Though “The Penderwicks” sounds like an adorable summer read. (Or actually, perhaps reading it in the winter would be best… I find reading about the opposite season increases the enjoyment! πŸ˜‰ )

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do enjoy the past! πŸ˜€ I guess I can enjoy an occasional futuristic… it depends how grim it is. πŸ˜‰ I agree that present can be bleh, but sometimes (as in the case of The Penderwicks) it feels so much like a great older book that I don’t even notice the time period! (And yes, that’s a great observation — reading in opposite seasons is awesome! :D)

      Like

  4. EEP. What a brilliant idea for a giveaway!!! AND ALL DA BOOKS. You are so generous! Such fantastic books to give away!

    I own and have read Captives, but not the others. AND I NEEDS TO READ THEM. Obviously. I just love this giveaway! πŸ˜€

    As far as preferring past, present, or future books… Can I say past fantasy? Because most of the books I like aren’t even in the real world, but have medieval-type settings. Hehe. I do enjoy future books for the most part. And present books… Well, they either have to be REALLY good, or have fantasy elements like in the Dragons in Our Midst series or something. πŸ˜„ So I guess if it’s fantasy, I don’t care what time it’s in! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thank you!! ^_^ I’m so glad you like it! πŸ˜€

      Oh really? I thought I remembered you getting a copy of The Princess Spy recently…? o.o I tell you, my brain. πŸ˜„ BUT YUSSS YOU NEEDS TO READ THEM! πŸ˜€

      Braintwins EXACTLY because after I posted this I thought — you know, I prefer fantasy, sooo… πŸ˜„ But yes, past fantasy! Medieval type settings are the best, I totally agree! πŸ™‚ Yeah, stuff like DiOM… I guess like you said, as long as it’s fantasy, it doesn’t matter what the time period is! πŸ˜› I love your answers! ❀

      Like

      • OH MY WORD. No, it is not YOUR brain. It’s MY brain. I OWN THE PRINCESS SPY.

        Just…let me…go hide under that rock from embarrassment for the next 12 years or so… *cough*

        I got sooo many books from that library sale and my birthday trip that time I literally STILL don’t know what all books I own! I remembered getting a Melanie Dickerson book, but I could have sworn it was one of her other ones. *facepalm* So…um…yeah. I own The Princess Spy.

        And the award for blondest person in the world goes to… *raises hand* πŸ˜„

        Liked by 1 person

        • Heehee, don’t worry about it. πŸ˜„ I know that feeling of forgetting what you have or don’t have, especially if you got a bunch all at once. πŸ˜€ I just thought I remembered something about it… Anyhow I think maybe part of the confusion was that you got The Fairest Beauty first? And then that one later? Maybe. Who even knows. πŸ˜„ Not a problem! ^_^

          Like

  5. Pingback: Blogs + Infinity Dreams Award (Again) | The Road of a Writer

  6. Pingback: Blog Party Wrapup + Winners | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

