Writer’s Life Tag

WritersLifeTag

I was tagged for the Writer’s Life Tag by Lauri a.k.a. Christine @ Musings of an Elf — thank youuuu! ^_^ (Everybody go read/follow her blog ASAP because it’s fantastic in all meanings of that word. ❀ )

lauriblogbutton

I miiight have done this one once? It sounds familiar? But I don’t even care if I did because it’s a fun writer tag and is awesome. SO LET’S DO THIS THIIING.

Write-fuel: What do you eat/drink while writing?

I don’t, really. I can’t multi-task very well like that: I either write or I eat/drink, but not both at once. πŸ˜„ I’ve taken to having a glass of water nearby while I’m writing, but that’s about as food/beverage-y as it gets.

Write-sounds: What do you listen to while writing?

If I do listen to music, it’s usually instrumental Celtic music, or else music that’s inspirational for the particular book I’m working on.

Write-vice: What’s your most debilitating distraction?

Oh, so many. Internet. Pinterest. Goodreads. Blogging instead of writing “real” words. Endlessly making lists of my various WIPs instead of writing them…

Write-horror: What’s the worst thing that’s ever happened to you while writing?

When my computer starts freaking out and breaking in the middle of something. Horrifying. It gives me a heart attack and makes me fear I’m about to lose all my work. πŸ˜› If the power cord accidentally got pulled out and the screen suddenly goes black… Also, recently, my “A” key has taken to falling off my keyboard. Yeah. >.>

Write-joy: What’s the best thing that’s ever happened to you while writing, or how do you celebrate small victories?

Finishing a story, or the thrill of inspiration when you’re typing as fast as you can and still can’t keep up, when a scene is really shaping up as something special/unexpected and the characters are just being a blast. ❀

Write-crew: Who do you communicate with or not communicate with while writing?

While writing, no one. I need to write by myself, pretty much. But I’ll often talk to my sister about writing, and a few good friends online who are writers, as well as blogging… It’s very motivational to have writerly friends to talk with. ^_^ *group hug for all you wonderful people*

Write-secret: What’s your writing secret to success or hidden flaw?

Secret to success: draft-zero scene outlining. It works wonders. I really need to do a post about it someday.

(Not-so-)hidden flaw: I procrastinate and am afraid of starting. I don’t just sit down and start writing.

Write-spiration: What always makes you productive?

If I knew the answer to this, I’d have a lot more written than I do. πŸ˜„ I’ve noticed taking a walk helps sometimes… I should do that more often.

Write-peeve: What’s one thing writers do (or you do) that’s annoying?

Other writers: killing off characters. πŸ˜›

Me: not writing.

Write-words: Share one sentence from a project, past or present.

One-sentence snippet I wrote recently:

Ivan sent Teague a half-awake glare that read (even to my inexperienced-with-siblings eye) β€œI will hurt you” and then fell asleep again.

–from The Other Half of Everything

blogoversary3

Β And that’s what’s up in this writer’s life! Thoughts? Consider yourself tagged if you want! πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Writer’s Life Tag

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Life Tag | Rambling Writer

  2. Is the hand in the top picture yours? Are you left-handed? (I am.) Oddly enough, most of the left-handed people I know are also writers; I don’t know if that’s cause and effect, or just a connection because of the parts of the brain we tend to use corresponding to the parts we use for writing (or so I’m told).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is my hand, but I’m not left-handed, sorry — I took the picture that way because I’m RIGHT-handed and so I was holding the camera in my right hand because I couldn’t figure out how to use my left. πŸ˜„ But I do know MANY left-handed writers. I love that you are! πŸ˜€ That’s so cool. ^_^ And that makes total sense why there would be more left-handed writers. *nods* Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Ooh, this was so fun! I might have to steal it… πŸ™‚
    Oh I hate it when the power cord accidentally comes out! So. frustrating. -_-
    Ha, I too am looking for ways to be productive as well. πŸ˜„ Maybe I should try walking, like you said… ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh gosh, Christine tagged me for this aaaages ago, but I still haven’t done it. πŸ˜› I’ve become notorious for my tag procrastination. >.< (And a lot of the tags I do end up doing are pirated ones I wasn't even tagged for. #oops) BUT IT'S SUCH A FUN TAG, AND I NEED TO DO IT. I will…eventually. *coughity cough*

    Ehehe, nope, I neeeever get distracted by internet. No way. πŸ˜›

    MY GOODNESS, THAT SNIPPET. *dies* How come everything you write must be so perffect?! *flails for an eternity* EEP. It's official. I NEED this book in my life. ❀

    This was a fun tag! I really need to get around to doing it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Believe me, Mary, I’m notorious for tag procrastination too, so you’re not alone. πŸ˜„ I’m pretty sure most of these tags I’m doing are like a year old. πŸ˜› (And stealing other tags is fun, so. ;)) YES YOU DO! IT WILL BE FUN! πŸ˜€

      Sensing much denial in that statement about the internet. πŸ˜„

      Aww, thanks! I’m glad you liked the snippet! ^_^ It was just… like… one line. o.o YOU SO NICE. I officially need the book in my life too, which is why I should totally actually WRITE it. πŸ˜›

      Hurray! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. At first I was like, *I* tagged her for this? Then I realized OH YEAH, I LIKED THIS TAG. My brain… -.-

    But you did the tag and it was so fun seeing your answers! πŸ˜€

    The internet is the ultimate distraction of all distractions. Earlier today I was at work and got out my phone to look up something for one of the books, and ended up on twitter. Like HOOOWWW? The internet. *shakes head*

    I loooove that feeling when a scene is shaping up faster than you can type it! Because most of the time (at least for me) I’m fighting painfully for every word. But those few times the words just flow…ahhh, magic!

    THAT SNIPPET. AGH. I’m grinning so hard! And Meridian’s comments, I can’t! XDD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t worry, it’s only because it took me FIVE CENTURIES to do it after you tagged me! πŸ˜› …Ahem. So you see, it’s not your brain, it’s my lack of time management. πŸ˜„

      Yes! Hurray! Thank you again for tagging me! I had sooo much fun with it! ^_^

      That is highly amusing… I know, right? The internet is such a distraction and so crazy. I mean, twitter. πŸ˜„

      YES THAT FEELING IS THE BEST!! I’m glad you agree. πŸ˜€

      Aww, thank youuuu! ^_^ It always makes me gargantuanly happy when you like my snippets! (And yes, Meridian. XD)

      Like

  6. I think I might’ve done this tag . . . either that or been tagged for it already? I’m not sure. Either way, I’m not saying the usual thing. That’s weird.
    In other news: I would like to hear more about zero-draft outlining. And your computer issues sound horrible and terrifying. And I love the snippet, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Blog Party Wrapup + Winners | The Road of a Writer

  8. Firstly, this reminds me that I was tagged by Christine for the same thing–thank you for reminding me! πŸ˜„

    And secondly: that moment you talked about as a write-joy… SO MUCH YES. I absolutely love that feeling, when your fingers are flying but can’t keep up with all the awesomeness exploding in your thoughts. πŸ˜€ I’m craving a moment like that right now.

    Okay, now I need to hear about this zero draft thing. Pretty please? *grins sweetly and bats eyelashes*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, you’re welcome for the unintentional reminder! πŸ˜„

      YES, that write-joy feeling is the best — I’m glad you agree! And you’re not the only one craving it right now. πŸ˜‰ But I’m sure that time will come again, for the both of us. πŸ™‚

      And thy request is duly noted! *salutes* I will definitely have a post about zero drafts eventually. πŸ™‚ In fact, I’m tentatively brainstorming a writing blog-series after the new year, so we’ll see… ^_^ (Of course, now I’m afraid that I’ll tell about my draft zero process and everyone will go “…That’s it? I thought it would be COOL.” and that it’s actually boring. XD)

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

