Blogoversary Party! + Giveaways

blogoversary3

Good day, roadlings of mine!

Well, I mentioned I’d have an announcement/something fun going on here on the blog on Friday, and Friday seems to have arrived… so I am here at last!

The news?

Today is my third blogoversary!

Three years ago today, I created this blog, The Road of a Writer and history was made and so it began!

(source) (You knew I would do that one, didn’t you…)

Of course, my internet was buzzing merrily along yesterday, but this morning it decided to go out, on this most auspicious of days. So I’m currently at a cupcake shop borrowing WiFi to post this, which is why it’s later than I planned…

But this is an oddly appropriate twist of fate, seeing as how my internet died exactly 3 years ago and I ended up creating my blog using WiFi in town. I am proof that history repeats itself.

Plus, cupcakes. Appropriate celebratory confection, no? So that worked out! (Because cupcakes.)

I’m really excited to celebrate my third blogoversary! πŸ˜€ (…if you can’t tell. ;))

Anyhow! Here are some fun stats about my last 3 years of blogging:

  • 186 posts (this is my 187th!)
  • 6246 visitors (thank you!)
  • 22,642 hits (you are awesome for coming back so many times)
  • 3778 comments* (THANK YOU SO MUCH, COMMENTERS! ❀ You make the world go ’round. Or at least make it brighter. *feeds you cupcakes*)
  • 300 followers (my 300th follower followed me yesterday, right before my 3rd blogoversary — talk about timing. Day = made. Thanks so much to all my followers! You are awesome! ^_^)

*Roughly half the comments were likely me, since I always reply to comments…

But more than random numbers, which really aren’t all that important (I’m a word person, not a number person), I’ve really enjoyed blogging thus far, and the best part about it is . . .

YOU

I’m so thankful to you guys for reading and commenting on my blog — it means so much that you take a little time out of your busy lives to listen for a moment to whatever I happen to have to say. I really appreciate it. ^_^*GROUP HUG*

Anyhow, I thought it would be great fun to have a celebration all month long here on my blog, to celebrate 3 years of blogging…

So, here’s the plan…

For the remainder of September, I will be posting a tag post daily on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays, to catch up on all the lovely tags I’ve been meaning to get around to doing. (I won’t tag anyone specific, but always feel free to consider yourself tagged if you like.)

Fridays I will be doing giveaway posts, and each giveaway will have a theme and three prizes. Today (Friday), I have a giveaway. Next Friday, I will have another one, and the third the week after that — themes to be announced then! The final day of the month, September 30 (also a Friday) I will have a wrapup post and announce the giveaway winners for all three giveaway sets.

So, tag posts Monday-Wednesday, giveaway posts on Fridays.

Sound like a plan? Good? Good!

And now for what I know you’ve been waiting for: a giveaway! It’s for you, my lovely followers, as a way of saying THANK YOU!

giveawaywriting2

Giveaway #1 – Writing Themed

Here’s the first giveaway! Featuring 3 separate prizes, to be won by three separate people. (3 is my theme, okay; don’t judge.) Since this is a writing blog, I thought it would be nice to have a writing themed giveaway for the first one. πŸ™‚

1eatsshootsleaves

One winner will receive a hardcover copy of Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss. As a punctuation addict, this is one of my favorite writing-related books. It’s useful and amusing all at once. If you’re a writer, you need this book! I’ve read it at least twice and highly recommend it.

2journal

A second winner will receive this handy blank journal with a forest road on the cover. (Road of a writer? Get it? I know, I know I’m hilarious. *cough*) Because what writer is able to resist another journal? Answer: NO ONE.

3writequote

And a third winner will receive this quote from C.S. Lewis about writing (“You can make anything by writing.”) as a one-of-a-kind picture, hand-lettered in blue calligraphy and gold pen by yours truly.

Details

3 winners. Due to shipping costs, this giveaway is open to US residents only. Giveaway will run from today (Fri., Sept. 9) until Thursday, September 29. Winners (3) will be chosen and contacted by email and also announced here on my blog, on September 30, 2016.

EDIT: The winners have been announced! Thanks for participating!

(If the embedded form below doesn’t work for you, you can find it here.)

So, let the celebration begin! Thanks ever so much for coming with me on this Road of a Writer, my roadlings! You are the best. ^_^ Confetti and cupcakes for all!!! ❀

46 thoughts on “Blogoversary Party! + Giveaways

  1. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, DEBORAH! *bubbles and confetti and kazoos* I absolutely love your blog, and I’m so happy that you’re celebrating three years. *huggles*

    Haha, I think my dad’s read that Eats, Shoots, and Leaves book. xD He explained the concept to me, and it’s hilarious. I too am a punctuation addict, by the way.

    Eek, so excited! And wow, you’re so generous to be hosting all of those giveaways. o.o I can’t wait to see what the next ones are themed as, and I’m looking forward to the tag posts. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, I missed your comment because WordPress marked it as spam?? WHAT EVEN WORDPRESS WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU THIS IS MY EMILY TALKING. Ahem. Moving on. XD

      THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I’m so glad you like my blog, and you always make me happy with your nice comments! ^_^

      Ahaha, that’s great. πŸ˜€ Glad you at least know about it! Hurray for punctuation! ^_^

      Well I haven’t done one before, really (okay, an ebook once, but that’s not the same) so I’m just tryin’ it out! I’d like to give back to my lovely blog readers. πŸ™‚ Hope you’ll enjoy the tags, and thanks for your loverly comment! ❀

      Like

  2. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY! *hugs you* *tosses sparkly confetti and produces a tray of assorted homemade cupcakes* I don’t know what your favorite kind of cupcake is, so . . .
    Also, yay for giveaways. πŸ˜€ And I like your road-of-the-writer joke. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANKS SO MUCH, SARAH!! ^_^ *eats all the cupcakes* *or most of them* *gives some back to you* Umm… favorite cupcake… I like chocolate or mocha or mint or lemon. Those are ones I’ve tried recently i.e. in the last year-ish? But I really love a wedding-cake type cupcake, which is weird because you’d think chocolate would be my favorite because ALL THE CHOCOLATE THINGS. But I think a regular white vanilla type is delicious if it’s the right kind… BUT I LIKE ALL CUPCAKES. …That was a very long ramble, sorry. XD
      Yes, hurray giveaway! Thanks, I’m so glad you liked my joke. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      • YOU’RE WELCOME SO MUCH! *nibbles on one of the cupcakes you gave back* Chocolate and mint cupcakes sound good . . . or chocolate mint cupcakes. πŸ˜€ But I can see why you’d love white ones too. (White with coconut and a bit of raspberry . . . ooh, heaven.)
        You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Skye! ^_^ Um. I don’t know. I don’t think I have secrets. O_O I guess I try to blog pretty regularly, and reply to comments always, and read other blogs, and I heard of this thing WordPress does where if you have 14 or less tags/categories total on a post, it’ll be like easier to find if people are looking for those tags or something? But I don’t know if that actually helps and obviously that doesn’t help for blogger because I know nothing about blogger. πŸ˜› …I know nothing about anything, basically. XD I definitely don’t know why I have 300 followers — I’m kinda in shock right now honestly. XD
      Sorry for the ramble… Ahem. Anyways, thank you again!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. !!!!!!

    IT’S YOUR BLOGOVERSARY?!?!?!

    *leaps around the house and flings cupcakes in the air* *quickly eats them before they hit the ground*

    I’M SOOOO EXCIIIIITED!

    Ahem. Happy blogoversary, Deborah!!! Wow, you’ve been blogging for three years? That’s a long time! And how funny that you received your 300th follower just in time! XD (That’s a loooot of followers, by the way. O_O)

    This is so exciiiiiting! EEP! Three posts a week (I’m noticing a lot of threes here ;D) from my Deborah? Um…HECK YES. PLUS GIVEAWAYS. I JUST LOVE GIVEAWAYS. (Because free stuff. Free stuff is good. *nods*)

    Happy blogoversary again, dear friend! I wish I could say I’ve been here since the beginning, but I’m thrilled to have been here for as long as I have. Here’s to another year of awesomeness! (And an entire month of celebration! Whoop whoop! :D)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. IT’S MEH CELTI’S BLOGVERSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *FLAAAAILS* HAPPY BLOGVERSARY!!!!

    *CONFETTI* AND CAKE. Cake is essential!

    Your blog is basically my favoritest blog of EVER and I can’t even describe how fun it has been being blogging buddies with you for all these 3 years. I can’t wait to continue for many more years to come and to read allllll the wonderful Celti posts!

    That is kind of the best thing ever that you got your 300th follower right before blogging for 3 years. And I’m loving the 3 theme! 3 is the greatest!

    Oh, oh giveaway! SO FUN. I can’t wait to read all the tags and see everything you have in store. THIS IS SUCH A COOL IDEA.

    I do own Eats, Shoots and Leaves but haven’t read it yet. ACK. BUT THAT JOURNAL IS GORGEOUS. (The journal obsession is strong!) And so is the art print. I LOVE IT. All the wonderful writerly thiiings!

    HAPPY BLOGVERSARY AGAIN!!!!! *huggles The Road of a Writer*

    Liked by 1 person

    • EEEE THANK YOU SO MUCH LAURI!!! ^_^

      Cake is indeed essential. *nods* (Baz agrees. XD)

      Awww, thank youuuuu! You’re just the sweetest thing of ever, you know that? ❀ Your blog is one of my favoritest toooo! It has indeed been fun being blogging buddies so far — SO. MUCH. FUN. <3333 Looking forward to more! ^____^

      All of the threes! πŸ˜€

      I'm glad you like the idea! πŸ˜€ I just needed an excuse to party. πŸ˜›

      Eats, Shoots & Leaves is so goood! I mean, you know, if you're obsessed with grammar and punctuation like I am. *coughcough* Ahem. XD (It's helpful though too!) Journal obsession = definitely strong. XD

      AAAHHH THANKSSSSS! ❀ *huggles you back because my blog would have a hard time doing it* You da best! ^_^

      Like

  5. HAPPY BLOGGY BIRTHDAY!! ALL THE CONFETTI!! ALL THE CAKE!!
    (Wait. I’m here to eat all the cake so…*sprinkles leftover cake crumbs in your hair*) And yaaay for all those beautifully glorious stats and your fabulous writing style and just YAY ALL THE YAY. I hope you keep blogging for, like, forever. ❀ You're such a spectacular bean, Deborah!!πŸŽ‰πŸ°πŸŽ‰πŸ°πŸŽ‰πŸ°

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks ever so muchly, Lisa!!! ^_ ^ Yeah, you’ve probably been blogging for like… ever. πŸ˜€ I betcha you could figure out your blogoversary if you checked your WordPress stuff? Or somethin’. XD THANK YOUUUUU. ❀

      Like

  6. Pingback: Blogs + Infinity Dreams Award (Again) | The Road of a Writer

  7. Pingback: Blog Party Wrapup + Winners | The Road of a Writer

  8. CELTI! *glomples* Happy three years and one month of blogging! (Yipes, I didn’t mean to be an entire month late to the party…) Congrats! I love The Road of a Writer so much, it makes me sad how little I’ve been commenting lately. But I have read all, or almost all, the tags and whatnot you’ve been posting recently, and today I shall properly drop some thoughts on a few of them. ❀

    Anyway, happy belated blogoversary once again! May you have many more wonderful years of bloggyness. (Also your blog is blue! Eeeep! Love the new look! It's fresh while still retaining that Road of a Writer feel I've come to adore.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • TRACEY! *glomples back* Oh my goodness, I thought I replied to these! o.o Well, better late than never, for both of us, I suppose. πŸ˜‰ (And a Tracey, like a wizard, is never late! ❀ ) Thank you so much! And I TOTALLY understand not commenting as much, so no worries! ^_^

      Yes, my blog is indeed blue! I'm so glad you like the new look! Thanks for the wellwishes and all your loverly comments! They make my day! ❀

      Like

  9. Pingback: Crazy Septemberishness | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

