I’m Baaack! (All the Augustishness)

ishness

August 2016

Hello, my roadlings! I’m back from hiatus. ^_^ …Though I didn’t do as much hiatus-ing as I planned. *coughcough*

Life-ing

It was overall a busy month and I spent a lot of it catching up on things instead of relaxing… Eheh. Because apparently I make sense like that…?

EH. Whatever. I WILL NEVER PRETEND TO UNDERSTAND MYSELF BECAUSE I’M JUST TOO CONFUSING. Ahem.

ANYWAY, I did catch up on reviews and reading for review, so that’s a relief. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love reading books for review and beta-ing and stuff but sometimes it gets a bit much… There’s one book I hope to read for review in the next month or two (I CAN’T WAIT. :D), but other than that I’m hoping to officially take a break from review copies and beta-reading (once I catch up on a few beta-books I’ve currently got on my list, which I’m excited about).

I’ve just been focusing so much on reading things for other people that I haven’t been able to read for ME, and I’ve also noticed that my writing has seriously suffered for it. Balance and I do not really work together very well… so I need to work on that. But a break sounds kind of nice. I JUST WISH I HAD TIME TO DO EVERYTHING FOR EVERYONE BECAUSE I WOULD LOVE TO IF I COULD BUT I CAN’T BECAUSE TIIIIIME. D:

Also! This happened:

jackaby1

jackaby2

Actual conversation Jackaby and his author William Ritter had with me. It was glorious.

 

Writing

OHEbannerfinal2

I actually didn’t end up focusing on writing at all, but I did manage to write a couple thousand words of The Other Half of Everything snippets, as well as some plotting for that and a couple other things. Teague and Meridian make me happy. ^_^

S&Scover4A character in my steampunk/fantasy fairytale-retelling of The Little Mermaid, The Siren and the Skyship, informed me that I had gotten his name wrong and told me the correct one. Don’t you just love it when that happens? ๐Ÿ˜›

I also happened to dream about 3 different stories of mine this month, which I’m calling a win. Even if I wasn’t writing, at least there was no lack of reminding me that I should have been, even in my sleep. ๐Ÿ˜„

In all honesty though, I’m just kind of kicking back from pushing myself on my writing currently. It’s been a slow year but that’s okay and I think I just might need some time to not stress over it. We’ll see what happens.

Also, August 31st marked the 8-year anniversary of finishing my first novel! So that was exciting. ๐Ÿ™‚ Can you believe 2008 was 8 years ago? (Where does time even go??)

Snippet

OHEcoverโ€œWe’ll go find some pastries and coffee. Celebrate, remember?โ€ Teague said.

โ€œYou never drink coffee,โ€ I objected.

โ€œHow do you know? Sometimes I do.โ€

โ€œYou said it’s an over-used clichรฉ about writers and you abhor it, or some such.โ€

Teague looked taken aback. โ€œI did not,โ€ he protested.

โ€œYou did.โ€

โ€œWell . . . I may have said something of the kind once. But I don’t honestly mind coffee. I do drink it sometimes.โ€

โ€œYou drink tea, though. That’s another writer clichรฉ. Or so I hear.โ€

โ€œEveryone drinks tea,โ€ Teague remarked placidly. โ€œIt’s like breathing.โ€

— from The Other Half of Everything

Reading

august2016books

I… shall get a reading roundup post up on my book blog later this week, methinks. ‘Twas a very interesting month of reading! O_O I seem to be reading a strange collection of books these days. ๐Ÿ˜„

An FBI mystery, an epic fantasy (reread) and modern fantasy both by Diana Wynne Jones, finally reading Emma by Jane Austen, The Bone House (book #2) continuing the series by Stephen Lawhead that started off with The Skin Map (EEP. โค ), and a historical fiction Christian romance, as well as some beta-reading. These all managed to snag 4 or 5 stars, so it was a good reading month. ๐Ÿ™‚

Of course, it’s a liiittle bit sad that I was just one book short of finishing my “official” Goodreads reading-goal of 60 books for the year… But since I’m kinda-sorta hoping to read 75 books if I can (shhh, don’t tell anyone) I guess that’s okay. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Blogging

You may or may not have noticed that I did a bit of design tweaking around here! New header, new blog button (feel free to borrow. XD), and an overall lighter look. I’m so happy with it. ^_^ *twirls around*

headernewaugust2016

BlogButtonRoad

I even added a page I’ve been meaning to do for quite awhile, a page of my reviews — so you can check that out if you wish (if nothing else, for all the pretty covers. ;)).

I was on hiatus (ish) this month, but I still got a few needful posts up… (I know they’re long titles, for which I apologize. XD)

PageDreamerHeaderNew

Lately on my book blog:

September plans

My September’s going to be REALLY busy… I don’t know how that’s going to go.

But I have some really exciting things going on here on the blog this month, which I will be ANNOUNCING ON FRIDAY! …What, why would I announce it now? Of course I’m not announcing it now. Not when I can keep you in suspense instead…

So stay tuned…

September’s right on the edge of prep-for-NaNo season, so I’d better get things done this month before October arrives and sweeps me away. ๐Ÿ˜‰

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT’S SEPTEMBER??? THERE ARE LESS THAN 2 FULL MONTHS BEFORE NANO ARRIVES. LIKE. WHAT. HOW DO THESE THINGS HAPPEN TO US HONESTLY.

nano2016launchsoon

(I will also take this opportunity to quietly freak out in a corner about the fact that I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHAT I’M WRITING FOR NANO THIS YEAR — WHAT EVEN IS THIS NONSENSE.)

Ahem.

So that’s what’s been up with me! How about yourselves? Did you survive without me while I was on hiatus? (Haha, just kidding. XD) What have you been up to in August?

Have a splendid week, roadlings, and I’ll see you back here on Friday . . ! (I’m such a tease. ;))

22 thoughts on “I’m Baaack! (All the Augustishness)

  1. AHHH, YOU’RE BACK! *glomps*

    Eek, 8 years since you finished your first novel?? O.o Wow, that’s a long, long time… WHERE ON EARTH DOES ALL THIS TIME GO??

    NANOWRIMO. I’ve been plotting, and I’m hoping to have a full outline by November! (which is a REALLY lofty goal, but I basically live by outlines, so… yeah, I’m hoping to make it. Emphasis on the hoping.) I added you as a writing buddy already! ๐Ÿ˜€ And I hope you decide what to write soon; you have so many amazing story ideas.

    *takes a moment to flail over Teague and Meridian* โค

    Also, a thing called #WIPjoy is going on on Twitter. I don't have Twitter, but I've been stalking people's answers. It's not to late to join, and I'd love to see you do it! Just thought I'd mention it. ๐Ÿ˜› https://twitter.com/simmeringmind

    Well. Lots of stuff happened in August for me. I…

    … moved, EEK. Moving is hard, and I'm reminded of that daily as we try to settle in here, but overall I think it's been going pretty well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    … got a dog?? And awhhh, Piper is the cutest little Irish Setter Doodle, although she's a total rascal. โค

    … dove headfirst into school the night after moving in, joined a youth choir, and found a possible church! So yes, a lot has been going on! xP

    I hope you have a good September! Hopefully it won't pass very fast… augh, I should just give up hope about that. -.-

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES I AM! ๐Ÿ˜€ *glomps you back*

      Time is a mystery to me…

      NANO YES. Best of luck on your plotting!! I’d love to have a full outline myself, but to do that I’ll have to decide what to write. ๐Ÿ˜„

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoy Teague and Meridian. ^_^ *day made*

      Yeah, I’ve heard of the #WIPjoy thing but hadn’t considered taking part… Thanks for mentioning it! I’ll have to think about whether I’ll do it or not. ๐Ÿ™‚ (When I first glanced at your comment, I saw the twitter link and went WHAT EMILY HAS TWITTER I NEED TO FOLLOW HER ASAP and then it wasn’t your link. ๐Ÿ˜„ Ahem…)

      WOW you sound busy! O_O Moving and all of the busy! Glad that’s all going pretty well. ๐Ÿ™‚ PIPER SOUNDS SO CUTE!

      Thanks! I hope you have a lovely September as well! โค

      Like

  2. Your conversation with Jackaby and William Ritter made me literally laugh out loud, so much so that my roommate asked what was so funny. I proceeded to tell her all about it- she’s either amused too or she thinks I’m crazy. I’m not entirely sure which.

    Love the snippet. Teague’s right about coffee and tea, undoubtedly.

    Ooh, what’s this announcement? *curious* Any hints?

    I think I’m going to be a rebel for NaNo this year. Small goal, probably editing related . . . it’ll be more than enough to keep me busy when I’ve got college to manage as well. I do hope you can figure out an idea, though! (You could join me in rebel-ness and work on one of your established stories, maybe?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I’m glad it amused you. ๐Ÿ˜„ Jackaby is so FUN, awk. (I also approve of your drawing your roommate into the madness, even if she thinks you’re crazy. *nods*)

      Thank you!! So… he’s right that coffee’s okay and that tea is necessary?

      Um. Well. Now the announcement doesn’t sound very impressive. ๐Ÿ˜„ I probably shouldn’t have hyped it so… *cough* It just has to do with time, my blog, and some fun blog things I’m doing this month. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Going Rebel sounds like an excellent choice, given the circumstances. Especially with… college. *shudders* Ahem. ๐Ÿ˜› And thanks! I… hope I can figure one out too. O_O I’m currently equally torn between two different novels and also going Rebel and working on three different already-started tales which I want to finish. We shall see what happens. >.>

      Thanks, Sarah! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • He is! (And we both think the other’s crazy, but we like each other, and we’re similar types of crazy, so it works. xD I am going to get her into Jackaby, though. Somehow.)

        That tea is necessary and that coffee is a writer cliche. I don’t drink coffee, period, so I don’t know if it’s ok or not.

        Ah. Gotcha.

        If you need someone to bounce ideas off of and help you decide, I’ll be happy to help. You know my email address. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • (Good to know. YES. Jackaby must always be gotten into. *nods*)

          Okay… I don’t actually really drink coffee OR usually tea? I think Teague complained about coffee being a cliche, but he sometimes drinks it anyway. ๐Ÿ˜›

          Thank you for offering! I’ll probably try to figure it out but if I get desperate for advice/feedback on the pros and cons or whatever, I will definitely shoot you an email! ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

            • I drink water. ๐Ÿ˜„ Y’know, that thing people used to drink? ๐Ÿ˜‰ It actually tastes pretty good! (No, I do drink tea sometimes, or juice or something, but in general I just usually drink water. *nods*)
              Okie-doke! I do have a plan to do some sort of blog post about whatever I end up planning to write, sometime next month… So either way, you’ll hear about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

              • Heh. All right. And I know it tastes good; I drink it quite a bit- I meant when you want a hot drink or something to wake you up/calm you down. (Though, I suppose, being in Texas, there’s not a lot of need for hot drinks . . .)
                Good! As I said, I look forward to it!

                Liked by 1 person

            • Sorry, just being silly. ๐Ÿ˜„ Yeah, not usually a need for a hot drink here. ๐Ÿ˜€ But if I do, I’ll have a hot tea occasionally or a hot chocolate for special occasions? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I don’t know about to wake up/calm down… I guess I don’t. O_O I just… don’t usually think about what I drink and water is just… easy. *shrugs*

              Liked by 1 person

  3. So nice to see you back! ^_^
    AGH THAT TWITTER CONVO IS GLORIOUS. *dies*
    *flails* WHAT IS THIS SECRET AND WHEN IS FRIDAY. And I really love your new design too! It’s so pwetty!! *caresses screen*
    Also, I DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M DOING FOR NANO EITHER. Or if I’m even doing it…I hope so!!! Hopefully life will stay away during that time… ๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks, Madeline! ^_^
      IT WAS THOUGH.
      Um… Friday is the day after tomorrow and THAT is when you’ll learn WHAT it is. ๐Ÿ˜„ (Which means I should… y’know… actually write the post here soon. *coughcough* #behindandbusy)
      Thank you SO MUCH!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so happy you like the new look!
      Then we shall be clueless NaNoers together! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am definitely doing it since I’m an ML, so I’m sort of committed. ๐Ÿ˜„ But I hope you’ll be able to do it!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you had a good month and a good hiatus. ^ ^ I’m freaking out that NaNo is so soon too. ๐Ÿ˜„ I must start planning but I’m still finishing up stuff for my last project! August had its stressful moments, but was more relaxing for me in the long run. Here’s to fall coming. Yay!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re back, yay!!
    Love your new blog look โค . It's almost Friday but I'm dying to know what this secret is!
    You use such cool fonts for your designs. What site do you use to find fonts?
    My August was stressful, but at least its past now. I still need to write a summary post for it, haha. I've also been doing some #Wipjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am!

      Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ˜€ And the secret is now revealed in the form of a blogoversary event… Which I saw you had yours too! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Fonts. Hmm. I don’t even know — I get them from all sorts of places. ๐Ÿ˜› I like designing things on https://pixlr.com/ and https://www.canva.com/ and both of those have their own different fonts. Then most of the others are just whatever I happened to have on my computer. Sometimes I’ll search for cool free fonts but I don’t remember where I found them… Sorry that wasn’t more helpful! If you ever see a particular font I use that you want to find, I can maybe tell you where it’s from or what it’s called so you can maybe find it yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Aww, I’m sorry your August was stressful. *hugs* I hope you’ll have a better September!
      And neat! The #WIPjoy thing looks fun, I just haven’t had time for it… but that’s great you’re doing some! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thank you for commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I must go read that post now!
        Ooh, I haven’t tried pixlr yet. Thanks for the tip!
        Thank you, Deborah. *hugs* September has been a bit better, so far. Yes, #WIPjoy has been fun. It’s my first time participating!
        I hope your September is going good so far, too!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. MEH CELTI IS BACK. I most certainly did NOT survive while you were on hiatus. GIMME ALL THE CELTI POSTS. *gathers them up and hugs them*

    Okay, first I have to comment on the perfection of the gif-usage in this post. I laughed at the accuracy and perfection of every. single. one!

    Your whole opening of this post is so meee! I love all the beta-ing and things but I also want to read for ME but I just want time to do alllll the things and and and yeah!!! *collapses dramatically like Sherlock*

    OH MY WORD. That conversation with Jackaby and his author. :O :O :O CELTI. THAT IS THE COOLEST THING!!! The other day I saw Jackaby in a bookstore and it made me think of you. I was SO tempted to buy it, but it’s cheaper ordering off Amazon, so I’ll probably just do that someday. BUT I NEED TO READ IT.

    That is hilarious about a charrie from S&S correcting you on their name! ๐Ÿ˜„ Charries are so persnickety like that…
    But you dreamed about THREE of your stories this month??? THAT IS SO COOL. I basically never dream about my books. Such a tragedy.

    OHE SNIPPET. *devours* TEAGUE. Oh my goodness. XDDD He sounds like me, just opposite. I always drink coffee but only occasionally tea. SORRY, TEAGUE. I’m TRYING to drink tea more.

    You read The Sound of Diamonds? COOL. I’ve been wanting to try that. Though I’m not too into historical fiction OR romance so…I can never decide.

    I just looove the new look to your blog. AND YOUR BOOK REVIEW PAGE. Alphabetizing it is genius. :O We may end up stealing each other’s book review pages ideas. XDD

    I most certainly canNOT believe it’s September and am in shock how close NaNo is! WHERE DID 2016 GOOO????

    Ahem. ANYWAY. I just love getting an overall summary of your month! I hope September will be an AMAZING one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwgsh you sweet thing. ^_^ LET ME HUG YOU. Well I’m bad now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Yay! I worked hard to find the right gifs for a change. ๐Ÿ˜„ (And/or I worked hard to say things just right so that I could use the ones I wanted… *coughcough*)

      I love that we both understand this so well. Braintwins! (And collapsing dramatically like Sherlock is the best.)

      YOU WILL LOVE JACKABY. Yes, cheaply on Amazon is good. *nods* I hope you read it sometime. ๐Ÿ˜€ (Jackaby makes you think of me. DAY = MADE. :D)

      Charries really ARE persnickety… ๐Ÿ˜›
      I’ve been dreaming a lot lately… it’s weird. But it’s really cool to dream about characters. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m sorry you don’t. :-/ *pats you* Maybe someday!

      That’s so funny you and Teague are opposites on coffee/tea. ๐Ÿ˜„

      Yep, I did! I… actually didn’t like The Sound of Diamonds aaaall that much… *shifty eyes* I did like it by the end fairly well and it wasn’t bad or anything! I just… it didn’t grab me most of the time and I think it was the first time I’ve read something where I didn’t BELIEVE that the characters were falling in love. Like… they didn’t work. I don’t think that’s ever happened to me and it freaked me out. o.o By the end, yes, I did want them to get together and decided they were cute, but it took me a loooong time. Plus the hero kept thinking the heroine was like a lioness… she was NOT. She was like this mouse who got angry a lot. I just didn’t believe the hero or what he saw in her. Plus it was a Christian novel about basically Protestants versus Catholics and it bothered me and I just didn’t care. Meh. :-/ …Wow, I sound really down on this book. O_O Sorry! I did actually like it by the end and have fond memories (I think I rated it 3 stars) and maybe you’d like it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I just don’t know. But I’ve definitely read better historicals and romances… not to say I usually read them, because I’m a lot like you in that way. ๐Ÿ˜„ FANTASY!

      I’m so glad you like the new look! ^_^ Stealing each other’s review pages ideas is so fun. *giggles*

      WHAT EVEN IS THIS SEPTEMBER ALMOST NANO THING? O_O Ahem.

      Thank you for your loverly comment and I hope the rest of your September will be wonderful too!!! โค *all of the huggles*

      Like

  7. Pingback: Crazy Septemberishness | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

