Tare + Teague Beautiful People: Appearances {Aug 2016}

bpaug2016

*creeps out of hiatus briefly*

*whispers:* Sooo… I kinda-sorta-almost-maybe-perhaps-possibly might have accidentally seen that Beautiful People was up for this month and that it was on Appearances and been unable to resist doing it.

I also kinda-sorta-almost-maybe-perhaps-possibly might have been unable to decide whether to do Tare from my Kedran’s Wood series or Teague from The Other Half of Everything for it.

So I’m doing both of them.

Behold, Beautiful People!

*tosses thing at you and creeps away again*

bp

Monthly character questions for writers, hosted by Sky @ Further Up & Further In and Cait @ Paper Fury — join the linkup!

1. Give a brief overview of their looks. (Include a photo if you want!)

Tare: Nineteen years old, tall, black hair pushed back, dark blue eyes, chiseled face, black leather jacket, black shirt, black pants, black lace-up boots. (Okay, yes, you get the picture: face and hands pale, eyes dark blue; otherwise, lots and lots of black.)

tarecollage

Tare-ish things

Teague: Twenty-five years old, tall, sandy hair tousled and falling down over his forehead, uncertainly-colored sea-like eyes, vague face, grey jeans, casual t-shirt/buttoned long-sleeved shirt in muted colors of light grey, pale brown, or white.

teaguecollage

Teague-ish things

2. Share a snippet that involves description of their appearance.

Danger zone. Don’t invite me to share snippets of when we first meet two of my favorite characters– Whoops, too late. You were warned. I’ve been unleashed… Here we go.

Snippet of the first time Meridian sees Teague:

OHEcoverA faint padding sound came, then finally the door opened. I braced myself for a crazy old man with a white beard. I did not brace myself for a twenty-something-year-old young man with sandy hair, which was unfortunate, since that meant I was unprepared for this.

He couldn’t have seen my extreme surprise, though, since he wasn’t looking at me at all, but at a book he held open in one hand. He was also rather more good-looking (in a vague sort of way) than he had any right to be, considering I had expected an 80-year-old guy. He wore faded grey jeans which might once have been black, and a tan-ish vest over a button-down white shirt with sleeves rolled up to the elbow and a slightly crooked collar. The white socks on his shoeless feet provided the reason for the padding sound in place of ordinary footsteps.

Aaaand a snippet of the first time Teague sees Meridian, since he didn’t look up at the time. XD

A pair of uncertainly-colored eyes—blue? Grey? Green? Brown? Dust? Ice?—glanced briefly up at me from under sandy-colored hair-tips spilling down to his eyebrows. His focus returned to the book briefly and then flickered back up to me again and stayed there this time, sudden mild surprise in his face.

Snippet of Tare from The Owl of Kedran’s Wood (the first in the series), the first time we get a good look at him:

KWcoverHe was young, maybe nineteen—Lavender wasn’t sure, not being real good with ages—tall, and still clad entirely in black. He had a hard, chiseled face, without expression, somewhat pale in contrast with his black hair slicked back. His eyes were a very dark blue that Lavender had never seen the like of before, and they looked steadily back at her for about three seconds—not so long that it became awkward, but long enough to show that he knew she knew he was watching, and that he didn’t care. Then he moved away from the window and walked on down the street at an easy stride, his hands thrust into the pockets of his long black leather jacket.

Snippet of Tare from The Owl of Kedran’s Wood when he really shows up for real:

Presently the metal door of the warehouse creaked and the sound of metal grating together filled the air. The Wildlings rose and stood, watching the door, which swung open.

A figure stood in the doorway for a long moment before stepping forward into the pale florescent light. It was the young man who Lavender had seen now on two occasions. The light glinted dully off his long black leather jacket and dark hair, highlighting his expressionless face. His black boots were planted firmly apart on the concrete as he stood his ground opposite the half-dozen creatures.

It seemed he was not who they had expected.

“Who are you?” one of them asked.

His voice was quiet and low, half careless yet with a slight edge to it. “No one you want to mess with.” His eyes turned toward the caged Chess Club, taking in their situation in a glance. “So . . .” He looked back at the monsters, linking his fingers and flexing them outward, like one readying for a fight. “How do you want to do this?”

They stared at him in silence for several moments. Then one turned away, jerking his head toward the intruder in a sign to his companions, saying only, “Kill him.”

3. What is the first thing people might notice about them?

For Tare… his formidable-ness. Overall shadowy-ness and commanding presence, combined with his leather jacket.

I imagine most people wouldn’t have a “first thing” they would notice about Teague because he’s so vague and unassuming on first acquaintance they might not even notice him at all. XD

4. What are their unique features? (Ex: freckles, big ears, birthmark, scars, etc.)

Tare’s unnaturally dark blue eyes and his expressive dark eyebrows. He does also have scars, but they’re not normally visible.

Teague has grey-green-blue-something, uncertainly-colored eyes, and also a vague, rather dreamy and absent expression as if he’s not really paying attention to anything in this world.

5. How tall are they? What is their build (Ex: stocky, slender, petite, etc.)

Tare’s around 6’1″ I think; tall, lean, thin but not skinny.

Teague is 6′, rather thin, but a bit more muscular than you would think at first.

6. What is their posture like? How do they usually carry themselves?

In a nutshell: Tare is like a large tense black panther who’s permanently slightly peeved with the world; cool and removed in a catlike way, but clearly dangerous. Teague is like a lanky, lazy ginger cat who couldn’t care less about the world, not because he’s coldhearted, but because he never remembers the world exists. …Our world, anyway.

Tare has an upright posture and decisive manner of carrying himself — confident but slightly wary and calculated, with very precise movements and an acute awareness of his surroundings. He’s constantly paying attention to what’s going on around him. His movements have three speeds: casual, stealthy, or quick, depending on his mood/circumstances. Be nervous around all three.

Teague slouches a little, normally with his head bent to look at a book or notepad while he walks, and tends to move slowly and a little dreamily, as if he’s not fully awake or moving through molasses. There are times, however, like when he’s worried or angry, when he can liven up more than you would think. And we won’t get into what he’s like in… erm… other places, since that’s another story entirely.

7. Your character has been seen on a “lazy day” (free from usual routine/expectations): what are they wearing and how do they look?

Tare’s wearing black jeans, black socks, and a black button-up shirt. His hair might be more mussed than usual, instead of sleeked-back. In this scenario, he’s hanging out in his very neat “lair” (a.k.a. his small, dark, paneled apartment in the long string of abandoned buildings), probably reading a book, or carving some wood with one of his knives, or cleaning his weapons, as close to relaxing as he gets, which isn’t usually very close…

Teague is wearing his usual casual jeans, probably grey, and either a t-shirt or a button-up shirt and white socks, or else is barefoot. In fact… he looks as he always does because all his days are lazy days. 😉 He’s lounging around in his rather messy rooms at the top of the old house, either reading or scribbling away, and likely absentmindedly burning his dinner unless Meridian’s there (if he even remembered anything about dinner anyway).

8. Do they wear glasses, accessories, or jewelry on a regular basis? Do they have any article of clothing or accessory that could be considered their trademark?

Tare DEFINITELY has a trademark, namely his black leather jacket. It’s notorious. XD As for accessories, do a lot of guns, knives, and other weapons count? He also has dark sunglasses he wears occasionally.

Teague doesn’t seem to have a trademark, unless you count that he wears vests sometimes. Oh! He does have a dark blue wool coat, kind of like the style Sherlock wears. *nods* He also wears a certain key on a chain around his neck.

9. Have they ever been bullied or shamed because of their looks? Explain!

Um… no? There mayyy or may not (*cough*spoilers*cough*) have been an occasion when Tare’s leather jacket and “scary” attitude got him some mockery when he was younger, but it would have been from a slightly nervous distance, and regardless, he never paid any heed or cared at all. Also when his change of eye color was noticed by someone, it kind of bothered him a little.

Teague never paid attention if anyone said anything so he doesn’t know. XD

10. Are they happy with how they look? If they could change anything about their appearance, what would it be?

Neither of them is the sort to think much about their looks at all. So methinks they’re content. They are both rather laid-back in that regard and don’t care about their appearance, so whatever they are is their casual, natural look.

So there you have it. What think ye? Also, remember that old saying, “Appearances can be deceiving”? Well… although some things about their appearances do reveal their character, the saying does apply to Teague and Tare. 😉 Just sayin’.

29 thoughts on “Tare + Teague Beautiful People: Appearances {Aug 2016}

  1. I love how you describe both Teague and Tare as cats at one point. That’s awesome. xD
    I imagine Teague as looking rather like Jackaby, for some reason. Maybe because they seem to be a similar character type.
    And now, since you’ve done a BP focusing on both of these two . . . I’m rather curious how they’d interact with each other? Would they get along? Or no? (You should do a crossover between Kedran’s Wood and Other Half of Everything. 😀 Or else I’ll write it as a fanfic once you finish writing all the things and I get to read them. :D)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eheh, well they ARE like cats… just very different kinds of cats. XD

      Teague definitely has a Jackaby vibe, which is amusing because I hadn’t read Jackaby when I started writing Teague. 😛 But yep, some sort of similar character.

      …Wow. I’ve never thought of what would happen if they interacted. O_O I’ve been sitting here staring at your comment and trying to wrap my mind around this concept. XD I think it would ENTIRELY depend on the circumstances they met under, and where both of them are mentally etc. and if there was anyone else (a.k.a. Chess Club members or Teague siblings) around. I can see them either hating each other or getting along just fine, and it would depend on what was going on, I think. 🙂

      Oh, actually, I just remembered that in my Blogoversary crossover fanfiction last year, Tare and Teague interacted briefly and both agreed there were too many people around. XD

      (DON’T TEMPT ME, FRODO. Goodness. O_O You know, I actually COULD write a crossover between them without much of a stretch, since they’re both modern fantasy, but I imagine chaos would ensue. 😛 I might end up doing something of the sort someday, who knows? …It never occurred to me that someone might ever write fanfiction of my stuff. .-. That is both an awesome and terrifying thought. XD)

      Thanks you for these stimulating thoughts, Sarah. Your comments like to make me think and have to grasp widely for my answers… I think that means they’re interesting. ;D

      Liked by 1 person

      • True, true.

        Yep. Out of curiosity, has Teague (or anything in his story) changed at all after you read Jackaby?

        Or they could start out hating each other and end up being friends! I still want to see this happen. It would be fun. And true, about the Blogoversary thing . . . I need to reread that.

        (HOW AM I FRODO? I feel like I’m missing a reference. But yes, you should do something of the sort someday! Or else write enough of TOHoE that I could write the fanfiction, ’cause your stories are worth it.)

        You’re welcome. I think.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m not sure… I hope nothing’s changed. XD

          Hating each other and ending up friends is like one of my favorite plots. 😛

          (Because Gandalf said “Don’t tempt me, Frodo!” and so around here I say that whenever there’s a “don’t tempt me” situation. XD YOU’RE SWEET. But at the same time I’d probably rather write it myself because it would be fun… Hmm.)

          DEFINITELY. *nods*

          Liked by 1 person

  2. BP CELTI POST. And and and… with Tare AND Teague???? I MAY DIE FROM OVER EXPOSURE TO TOO MUCH AWESOMENESS.

    *SQUUUUEEEEAAAALS* I LOVE THIS POST.

    Oh, oh, oh. These snippets! The KW of course give me fond memories. And the OHE ones make me want mooooore!!! I ADORED Meridian’s guesses at Teague’s eye color. And then Teague just like, “Oh look, a person.” So great. xD

    You descriptions of them in #6! Tare of course being the panther, and Teague a lazy ginger cat. PERFECTION. And then this: “His movements have three speeds: casual, stealthy, or quick, depending on his mood/circumstances. Be nervous around all three.” YES. *cackles*

    I realize I’ve never really “seen” Teague in the OTHER place. I only really know him in our world. I didn’t realize he could be different. NOW I’M SO CURIOUS. And also what is this key he carries???

    THIS WAS JUST SO FUN. Your descriptions of them are just sooo thorough and perfect! Also I loooove all the collages. The first one with Tare AND Teague is like one of the greatest things my eyeballs have ever witnessed.

    I JUST LOVED THIS POST OKAY. *huggles it*

    Liked by 1 person

    • *cackles* Heehee.
      THANK YOUUUU. ❤
      Glad you liked the snippets! 🙂
      Teague is just like "Oh look, a person." 😀 Key? What key? *puts on a vague Teague face and whistles innocently*

      I’m so glad you found it fun and like the descriptions and the pic collections! THANKS SO MUCH, LAURI! Your comment made my day!! ^_^ ❤

      Like

  3. OMGOODNESS I LOVE IT. *hugs post*
    I seriously want to read your books Deborah, they look SO GOOD.
    Also, Tare is my favorite. That is all. He just is and forever will be. Yes. ❤
    Teague is definitely the kind of guy I picture as wearing vests and looking kinda geeky but still cute, you know? ❤
    Seriously think I'm in love with this post. Thank you muchly for coming out of your hiatus and posting this!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • EEK THANK YOU SO MUCH, MADELINE! ❤
      D'aww, I'm glad you like Tare. ^_^ That makes me happy. Yep, Teague likes vests… I dunno where the "geeky" came from, but whatever you think, darling. XD Yup, kinda cute. 😀
      YOU ARE THE SWEETEST. You're so welcome and thank YOU for being so nice and loving it. 🙂 You make me happy. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ohhh I liked this!! I LIKED IT A LOT. And I love the names Teague and Tare btw. You are an exceptionally excellent character-naming queen. *nods*

    ALSO THE SNIPPETS WERE GREAT. 😀 And laid back characters must be really nice to write. :’) I tend to write highly strung ones who freak out about anything and everything, sheesh. Mine all need to take some chamomile tea and go sit down a while.

    BUT THEY ARE BOTH SO TALL TOO. I would be a mere gnat beside them. *feels like a shrimp*

    I’m so glad you joined in Deborah!! And omg, your blog has changed. I LOVE IT. (I mean, I don’t know how long it’s been blue, so I might be a terrible human. But anyway. I love now. ❤ 😂)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eep, thanks so much, Cait!! 🙂 Aww, I’m glad you like my naming-ness. *blushes*

      Heehee, laid-back characters are kind of nice to write, so yes to Teague… but Tare is a highly-strung person like you mentioned yours are, so yeah. Chamomile tea is a good idea. XD

      DON’T WORRY, I WILL BE A GNAT/SHRIMP WITH YOU. Because I’m like your height, so. 😀 I dunno why they’re tall… apparently I write about tall people. XD

      It was a super fun BP prompt! I had fun with it! So thanks! ^_^ *eagerly awaiting next one* And aww, you noticed! 😀 Thank you, I’m sooo glad you like the new look!! I’m really happy about it. 🙂 (Don’t worry, I had only changed it like a day or two before you commented, so no worries. XD)

      Like

  5. TARE AND TEAGUE IN ONE POST. I REPEAT, WE HAVE TARE AND TEAGUE IN ONE POST, PEOPLE!!!

    This was AWESOMENESS, Deborah! I loved it! *huggles post* AND I MUST HAVE MORE OF ‘THE OTHER HALF OF EVERYTHING’ PRETTY PRETTY PRETTY PLEASE!!! *begs you and bribes you with candy* *and cake* *and kittens* *and everything nice* I absolutely LOVE the snippets you shared from both stories, they were so much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, Savannah, your enthusiasm makes me so happy. XD THANK YOU SO MUCH! And I’m… er… working on The Other Half of Everything but it’s taking awhile. *cough* (I posted a snippet in my Ishness post today at least. :D) I do really want those candies, cakes and kittens and everything nice though… I’d better get working on it again, eh? XD YAY, I’m so glad you enjoyed them! Hearing that people enjoy my snippets makes my day, AND I’m also so glad you like the new blog design!!! 😀 THANKS! ❤

      Like

    • Thanks, Tori! 🙂 Black is indeed excellent. 😀 Harlowe sounds like he would definitely be a fan of black. 😉 YES, eyes are so fun. 😀 Glad you found them cool/mysterious — that makes me happy! 🙂 *goes to check out your BP*

      Like

    • Thank you! So glad you find them adorable. ^_^ Tare’s attitude and jacket are my faves, so I’m glad you like ’em too. 😉 Heehee, I don’t think either of them believe in love at first sight either. XD I just love how you love them — you make me so happy! Thanks Skye! ❤

      Like

  6. Pingback: I’m Baaack! (All the Augustishness) | The Road of a Writer

  7. Pingback: Tare Turns 5 Years Old | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

