Ishness/Hiatus

ishness

July 2016

Hiiii everyone! *collapses and waves slightly* Today’s the first time in like a week that I feel like I can breathe. Oof. So busy. BUT! It’s time for another Ishness post! Because, somehow, it’s… August. What even. I’m very confused…? ANYHOW. July happened, so that’s a thing.

Life-ing

I feel like July was a roller-coaster of insanity at the beginning and end, with a lull in the middle. Independence Day was fun and busy, and the last week or so I feel like I’ve been gone a lot… Also in there we had the Silmarillion Awards and other fun things, so it’s been a good month overall.

I took a quiz which confirmed my suspicion… (I always knew I was like Tolkien. ;))

you are JRR Tolkien

While I’m posting fun random things, I’m just going to leave this here because it’s my favorite thing about the book Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, ever:

kazcaitstatus

I even remembered to tweet occasional things on my twitter.

My life in a nutshell this month in three tweets:

booktweet

(Okay, I was being melodramatic on this one — it wasn’t THAT bad.)

sherlocktweet

plotbunniestweet

Writing

The above tweet sums up my writing pretty well for July. So many plot bunnies eating me. My fairy godmother muse is apparently distraught at the fact that I’m not writing much, so she’s “helping” by giving me all sorts of story ideas…

IMcover3However I did manage to write some of The Invisible Mask, hitting 20k and finally finishing the part I’d been stuck on for like a year, so YAY!

And also a bit of an old short story I started AGES ago which I may have mentioned, Hairdo Havoc.

It probably says something about the state of my chronic writer’s block that I wrote about 3600 words this month and that that’s the most I’ve done in a month this year so far… Ahem.

I’m making progress on plotting various story ideas too.

Also, this happened:

tarerelax

I’m beginning to wonder how similar Tare and I am… >.>

silmaril-strangest-award-mediumAnd I’m totally counting my Silmarillion Award Presentation post as “writing” since it was basically a Tolkien/Narnia fanfiction crossover written in verse, and was one of the most difficult and rewarding things I’ve ever written. I did lots of research too (although in the end I ended up writing most of it in a burst of inspiration at 2 a.m. one morning. This likes to happen to me… #nightowl).

Accurate representation of my research… (Don’t ask what I was doing with so many pens; I’ve no idea.)

tolkienpoetry

I did not do Camp NaNo, but I know that many of you did, and I’ve been watching a few stats graphs over there (in a totally non-creepy way) and cheering you on! Shoutout to SarahTPS, Savannah, Emily Drown, E. Kaiser, Kayla, and Abi for being AMAZING and winning Camp! Shoutout to Mary Horton and Jenelle, for being AWESOME and writing so many words — y’all are amazing! Writing at all during the month means you win too! ^_^

Everyone who did Camp or any writing at all this last month… I applaud you. You inspire me with your awesomeness. *salutes*

Reading

july2016

I… have been reading very odd things lately. O_O Contemporaries, historical fiction, steampunk… it’s been quite interesting! ๐Ÿ˜€

So that I don’t ramble about books this ENTIRE post, you can see my mini-thoughts on these books in my July Reading Roundup + Announcements post on my book blog, and also pop over there to read about a fun blog event my friend Shantelle @ A Writer’s Heart is having! ๐Ÿ™‚

1 Hidden Gems 2

Oh, and The Rose and the Balloon releases today!!! *cue excitement* IT’S SO PRECIOUS AND AWESOME. โค You need it in your life. *shoos you in that direction* GO GO!! I’ll be reviewing it soonish. ^_^

Cover5_story

Blogging

silmarillion-awards-facebook

So much blogging fun this month! Silmarillion Awards, plus Tare got interviewed (!!) and I even did a writer tag and some reviews in there.

PageDreamerHeaderNew

On my book blog in July:

Watching

zootopia

I finally saw Zootopia! It was adorable and cute and fun and amusing and I kinda loved it a lot. ^_^ It’s… like… a HEIST movie! Ish. I mean, there’s a con-manfox which is cool and he was so neat and they are all such CUUUUTE animals. ‘Twas fun. โค

I’ve also been rewatching Sherlock. Because Sherlock. Also, they were so YOUNG in the first season. O_O Lookit young John + Sherlock + Mycroft, all being young adorable childs… BEFORE THEY AGED FROM ALL THE STRESS AND HORRIBLE THINGS HAPPENING TO THEM. *sobs from depths of shock blanket* (And, y’know, the fact that it’s taking them centuries to film between seasons. That could be a thing too. *shrug*) I’m currently in the middle of the second season AND AWK JOHN AND SHERLOCK ARE SO ADORBZ AND FUN AND LESTRADE AND MYCROFT AND I JUST LOVE THEM AAAALL.

Also also, I saw the first trailer for Sherlock Season 4 and it’s terrifying. They’re all so doomed and it’s going to be scary but I’ll still watch it because Sherlock but I will probably never be the same again.

HALP. …Or rather . . . JOHN!

sherlockjohnhelp

(Has anybody noticed that Sherlock always says “John” instead of “help”? IT’S TRUE.) (source)

August Plans: Taking a Break

I’ll likely disappear for much of August, since I’m planning on taking a bit of a break from internet.

Never fear! I’ll be back! And I’ll still be checking email from time to time, methinks, so I can still be gotten hold of if you need to talk to me, but I’m going to probably be avoiding other parts of the interwebs for the most part, so if you don’t see me commenting or lurking on Goodreads etc., it’s not because I was devoured by a dragon or anything. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nothing so exciting. Just taking a break.

No reason other than I’ve been too distracted by fun internet things, and I think I just need a break and want to focus on other things in life for a bit, especially before SeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember (yes, it’s one month… shhh) comes along and kidnaps the rest of my year in the blink of an eye as it always does… Ahem.

I do have a couple of reviews actually coming soon on the blog (hopefully; eek), but otherwise, The Road of a Writer is on hiatus till September, when I’ll return with lots of exciting blog things that I’ve got planned! Seriously, it’s going to be awesome. *rubs hands gleefully together*

Meanwhile, have an awesome August/rest of summer! โค I love you guys and shall return! ^_^

byeguysstarwarsrebelsezra

(Ezra from “Star Wars: Rebels”)

24 thoughts on “Ishness/Hiatus

  1. AUGUST IS NOT REAL. AUGUST IS A MYYYYTH. >.> <..> <..>

    You SAY you’re not writing much, but, uh, Celti. You wrote that Smilarillion Award post (AND LOOK AT ALL THE RESEARCH WOW) AND you got unstuck in Invisible Mask after not working on it for a while. Plus all the epic new story ideas and things. You’ve made huge strides this month and should be proud!!! *nods firmly*

    BUT TARE. MEH BBY. D: *pets him* *realizes if someone actually pets him he’d probably break their fingers* *moves hand away slowly* You must be more kind to Tare AND yourself, missy!

    ALL the epic blogging you did in July. *huggles Celti posts* July was just a great month for blogging!

    AND ZOOTOPIA AND SHERLOCK. *huggles all the things* Also Sherlock saying John instead of help. SO ACCURATE IT HURTS.

    I will so very, very much miss all the Celti-wonderfulness, but I DO think a hiatus is a good idea and sounds refreshing and lovely. (Also September through December are totally one month! XDDD Well, more October through December for me, but still!) I hope you have an utterly relaxing and refueling August. Enjoy yourself, okay? That’s an order!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m dying of laughter over here. XD Your comment though! โค August is totally a myth. XDDD

      Awk, thanks you sweet thing. ^_^ You're always so nice about my accomplishments. Eheh, the research, yep. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      TARE YES. Oh my goodness. The finger-breaking. I'm dying of laughter again. XDDD That's too perfect.
      I will tryyyy to be kinder to myself and him! D: Yes ma'am. *salutes*

      Thanks! I'm glad you like my postings. ^_^

      It's truuuue, he always says John! O_O It's perfect. XD

      D'awww. โค *hugs you* Thank you so much! I will try to have a good hiatus! And there'll be another post or three around here while I'm "gone" anyway, so hopefully that will help. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Those months should just be renamed NaNo, pffft. :P)

      THANKS LAURI!

      Like

  2. Deborah, I love your ishness posts.

    *devours*

    HOW ON THIS PLANET CAN IT BE AUGUST ALREADY. Oh help. *dies* Miss Deborah, I’m afraid that I’m going to have to interrogate you on what you might know about some criminal with a time machine. *nods officially*

    Epic story ideas? Ooh. I don’t get many story ideas AT ALL, so at least yay for that. Even if they’re distracting you. You know, I’ve never met a writer who has a moderate amount of ideas. I mean, I’ve met those with MILLIONS of ideas and then those with a couple-ish or close to none or none at all. xP I would be the latter.

    I am simply so intrigued by The Invisible Mask. I want to read it.

    ZOOTOPIA. That movie was so adorable. โค I really enjoyed it, despite the "you can be anyone you want; those intolerant people are completely wrong" message. Which is kind of a big deal, since I reeeeaaally don't agree with that message. But the cuteness and over all plot and everything kind of made me forget about it. xD

    I really do want to watch Sherlock sometime. My dad has watched it some; maybe I'll ask him if I can give it a go soon.

    Aaw, thank you so much for mentioning my name! ๐Ÿ™‚ Camp was loads of fun; I can't wait to do NaNoWriMo in November! (even though I'm going to be insanely busy, hush.)

    Do take a rest, dear. Have a nice break. I'm sure all of us will wail and mourn in your absence, but don't take that as a sign that you shouldn't take a hiatus. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    So, here's to August and that it won't slip by so crazy fast as the other months in this year so far. *clinks glass nervously* I am currently at my grandparents house in the middle of my family's move (after seeing the amazing sights at the Tetons and Yellowstone, aw yes) and I'm going to arrive at my… *gulp* … new house Saturday night. *is really excited thinking about it* *because it feels so surreal*

    ANYWAY. Have an awesome August. ๐Ÿ˜€

    *glances at monster comment and awkwardly tips hat goodbye*

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU SO MUCH EMILY THAT MAKES ME SO HAPPY THAT YOU LIKE THEM! ^_^

      Ugh, I know, right? >.> Time is definitely criminal right now. I’d be happy to answer your questions, Miss Investigator Emily, Ma’am, but I’m afraid I know as little on the subject as you do. ๐Ÿ˜›

      It does seem that way! Too many story ideas or not enough! There is apparently no such thing as a reasonable writer muse. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Aww, I’m sorry you don’t have enough ideas! D: Much as my overwhelming ideas annoy me at times, I would rather have too many than none, so that’s too bad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hope you get some inspiration!

      EEK I’M GLAD IT INTRIGUES YOU. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d love to have you read IM at some point! If you’d like to be a beta-reader for some of my things sometime that would make me happy. ^_^

      Yep, I just kinda enjoyed Zootopia for the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Sherlock is really scary but otherwise sooo good. ๐Ÿ˜€ There’s probably an episode or two you could skip but still… Anyhow I really enjoy the cleverness and the characters. ๐Ÿ™‚

      You’re welcome! I was thinking of you! ^_^ I’m so glad you enjoyed Camp! I can’t wait for NaNo either, even though I’m not sure what I’ll be writing. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Thank you ever so muchly, Emily! Don’t wail and mourn too much. ๐Ÿ˜‰ There’ll be a review or two probably while I’m “gone” so that might help. XD

      YES I SO HOPE AUGUST WON’T SLIP BY SO CRAZILY. O_O Ooh, that sounds fun! I hope the rest of your moving goes well!

      HAVE AN AWESOME AUGUST TOO DEARY AND THANKS FOR YOUR LOVERLY MONSTER COMMENT! โค

      Like

  3. I felt exactly the same way when I watched the Season 4 trailer for Sherlock. My sister and I finally watched The Abominable Bride the other day actually, which got me more excited for the new season!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are some of my favorite posts, the ishness. Zootopia and Sherlock, just some of my favorite things. I too always pull out an obscene number of pens, that I never seem to use. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eeek, thank you, Skye!! That makes me happy that you like my Ishnesses. ^_^ YES, I was thinking of your Zootopia drawing when I saw the movie. ๐Ÿ˜€ Sherlock’s the best. Hurray for all the pens! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  5. I honestly don’t even know how it’s August. Like, where did you come from and WHY. *confused face*
    Cait’s Six of Crows status…*dies laughing* But it’s also very, very true.
    I’ve kind of not been writing all that much…Buuuut in my defense, I *have* been doing some world-building…more like trying to figure things out and then panicking type stuff. So there’s that. #writerproblems
    ZOOTOPIA IS ADORABLE AND AWESOME OKAY. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ll miss you! But I totally get that you need a break. ^_^ Have a fabulous August! โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’M VERY CONFUSED ABOUT AUGUST — AND, NOW, SEPTEMBER?? — TOO! O_O
      Kaz though. XD
      Eheh, I hear you on the trying-to-figure-stuff-out-and-then-panicking thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But hurray for worldbuilding!
      YES ZOOTOPIA WAS SO ADORBZ.
      Aww, thank you! I missed you too! ^_^ I had a great break and a good August and I hope you did also! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes, the Silmarillion post certainly qualifies as writing. It was quite the delightful read. Your work certainly paid off on that one.

    And a break is always a good thing. I’ve been not so much on a break myself as an extended slow-mo episode, just doing a little here a little there for the last few months.

    As a wise man once said, “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” Enjoy your recess!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank, DJ! I’m SO glad you liked the Silmarillion post. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Breaks are definitely refreshing. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you’re enjoying your slower time as well!

      That’s one of my favorite quotes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I definitely enjoyed my break, thank you!

      Like

  7. I agree with earlier commenters… there is an evil genius on the loose with a time machine, because August cannot be real. Nope. Denial. (Ain’t just a river in Egypt, you know). I refuse to acknowledge August’s existence.

    Unfortunately, it refuses to return the favor.

    Sigh.

    You did TONS of writing! And the Silmarillion Awards and LOTR b-day post TOTALLY COUNT because they were AMAZING!!!!!! (All writing “counts” my dear)

    SHERLOCK! I need to go rewatch ALL of them! So excited about Season Four!!!! Eeep!

    I thought Zootopia was super cute, as well! Also, the Peanuts movie… which made me cry. Both times I watched it this Summer.

    Have a lovely break. I’m slowing my blog down for August as well… hoping to finish up that draft I started for Camp (yeah, hahahahahahahahahahahah <– that's how well I think it will go… mostly because: evil time-traveling mastermind will probably make August zip by too fast for words) but at least I'm going to try.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m laughing so hard, Jenelle. XD I agree entirely with your opinion on time machines and I love the Egyptian river pun. ๐Ÿ˜‰ August doesn’t exist which means September can’t either, amIright?? Ahem.

      Thank you!! And I’m glad you liked the posts. ๐Ÿ˜€

      I want to rewatch all the Sherlocks toooo! Join the club. 4 can’t come soon enough. o.o

      YES, Zootopia was cute — glad you agree! I haven’t seen the Peanuts movie…

      Thank you! I did have a pretty good break. Hurray for breaks! I hope your drafting is going well! โค

      Like

  8. It sounds like you had a fun month! I looooooove Sherlock. I never noticed that he says John instead of help. That’s hilarious. XD Yay for progress in writing! I didn’t do July Camp NaNo this year either. I was busy editing lol. I hope you have a relaxing hiatus!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. PACKS OF PLOT BUNNIES. THIS IS TERRIFYING. *hides behind nearest heroic fictional character that can fight them off for me* *preferably Aragorn*

    EEP you mentioned me! *hugs you* *collapses from post Camp NaNo exhaustion*

    Have a great August, Deborah! See ya in September!

    Liked by 1 person

    • TERRIFYING PACKS OF PLOTBUNNIES YES. I applaud your pick of heroic fictional characters — Aragorn is always a good choice. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      OF COURSE I MENTIONED YOU DARLING. ๐Ÿ˜€ It was so fun watching your Camp NaNo progress. ๐Ÿ™‚ *pets you and hopes you’ve recovered from post-Camp exhaustion by now*

      Thanks ever so much! I hope you had a lovely August yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. Those tweets! Sorry for giggling, but they are fun to read. ๐Ÿ˜€
    I’m excited about the Invisible Mask! It sounds like you got quite a bit done, despite your fairy god mother muse not being too happy with you!

    You and Tare, hmm, yes, I can see the resemblance now. *slowly backs away for safety*
    J/k XD but that quote with Tare does sound like your situation. You and Tare need some good away from internet/stress/busy/blahness time!
    I hope you’ve been enjoying August so far. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I loved Zootopia so much too! I should’ve added it to my July post but got so busy I forgot. *argh*

    SHERLOCK season 4? WHEN IS IT? *must knowww!*

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad the tweets could cause some giggling. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Oh, thank you! It always makes my day to hear people excited about my stories. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, totally back away with the resemblance between myself and Tare. XD Dangerous… *nods seriously*
      Thank you! I enjoyed my semi-hiatus. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Zootopia was so cuuute! Glad you like it too. ^_^

      I DON’T KNOW!! D: I think I’ve heard rumors of January 2017 for Sherlock season 4, but there doesn’t appear to be a precise official release date anywhere yet??

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: I’m Baaack! (All the Augustishness) | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

