Lord of the Rings Celebration!

LotR62

Mae Govannen once again, my Middle-earth-ish friends!

Today, July 29th, marks the 62nd anniversary of The Lord of the Rings (specifically The Fellowship of the Ring) being published for the first time in 1954!

So I am here today, following the wrap-up of the first ever Silmarillion Awards, to celebrate all things Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, and Middle-earth, as I wish “Happy Birthday!!” to my favorite book of all time. ❀

I don’t have any actual cake, but virtual cake in the form of Bilbo’s 111th birthday cake will do nicely in its place.

I celebrated today by pulling out all my Tolkien books and photographing them, and I’m typing this while listening to the gorgeous soundtracks of The Lord of the Rings films…

Turns out I have a lot more Tolkien books than I thought. I . . . may have a small obsession. *cough*

TolkienBooksJuly2016

What can I say — I go to a lot of library sales and I’ve been getting Tolkien-related things every year for birthdays and Christmases for the last ten years… So apparently that can add up. πŸ˜‰

There are also the films, soundtracks, and audiobook versions floating around the house somewhere, also much beloved.

Me & Middle-earth

I don’t remember exactly how old I was when I first read The Hobbit, but I know I greatly enjoyed it at that young age . . . But I do remember, some time later, first reading The Lord of the Rings. I was 10, and we were listening to the audiobook versions. That was the first time I remember really entering Middle-earth . . . and I think a little part of me (okay, at times a much larger part) has been living there ever since.

After that, I reread The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings from time to time, I devoured The Silmarillion a few times, and started collecting and reading all the other Tolkien books I could get my hands on (as I said, my birthday/Christmas wishlists were usually full of them, as were the paper bags I carted home from library book sales). I still have many Tolkien books (for instance the rest of the History of Middle-earth series that Christopher Tolkien put together) that I haven’t finished reading yet, but that only makes me happy to think of more in store to discover.

To call myself addicted to Middle-earth would be a large understatement . . . For a few years there when I had just gotten really into Lord of the Rings, I was a Tolkien hobbyist, and still am to some extent. I did lots of Elvish calligraphy in Tengwar (the Elvish alphabets Tolkien developed), memorized poetry from the books and wrote them out in journals, made large posters of the complicated genealogies of Elves and Men from the First to Third Ages . . . Yep, I was a little addicted, you could say.

I also vividly remember the first time I saw the Lord of the Rings movies, specifically The Fellowship of the Ring. I was visiting relatives, not so long after having read the books for the first time, which I was already in love with. I vaguely knew there were films but hadn’t seen them yet. I remember the excitement of gathering late at night with cousins and staying up to watch The Fellowship of the Ring. I came in after the movie had already started, so I incidentally missed out on the prologue and the quiet green Shire parts, coming in right when Gandalf has just ridden off to find answers and the camera pans past Sauron’s tower of Barad-dur in the dark with scary epic music — naturally nervous ten-year-old me would come in at a terrifying part. πŸ˜‰ The movie fascinated me, and I remember the next day I got to go back and watch the beginning, which I had missed, all by myself, with the Shire and the prologue and everything, and it was delicious.

I have a few quibbles with the movies which I will not forgive them for (Faramir; Frodo sending Sam away; the general de-noble-ifying of many characters like Aragorn… a few things like that) but on the whole I still love them. Especially the music, which captures the feel of Middle-earth marvelously, I think.

But nothing can ever touch the original books as Tolkien penned them. ❀ The Lord of the Rings is one of those things at the core of my being. It has been an enormous part of my life so far (and will certainly continue to be!), and I can’t imagine life without it. I’m so grateful to J. R. R. Tolkien for giving us that glimpse into Middle-earth which I will always treasure.

Happy 62nd birthday to The Lord of the Rings!

*cue chorus of hobbit “happy birthday’s!” from Bilbo’s party*

LordOfTheRings

(Editions with the covers drawn by J.R.R. Tolkien, and maps from “The Maps Tolkien’s of Middle-earth” drawn by John Howe)

#SilmAwards2016 wrapup

silmarillionawards2016And here, with this birthday post for my favorite book, I’d also like to look back at the last several weeks of the first ever Silmarillion Awards, because I don’t know about you, but I definitely had a blast with them!

Many thanks to DJ Edwardson and Jenelle Schmidt for creating and organizing this fun event, and to all the other hosts for your splendid posts, and everyone who participated through nominating, voting, or commenting — you are all awesome! I had such a good time celebrating fantasy, beloved characters, and Tolkien’s works. πŸ™‚

silmaril-strangest-award-mediumIf you haven’t seen all the award ceremony posts — where ten of Tolkien’s characters present the awards to the top-voted contestants of this year’s awards — do hurry and check them out because they’re all so much fun! πŸ™‚

Awards and their presenters:

Best Fantasy Weapon (presented by Arwen) | Most Epic Hero (pres. by Aragorn) | Most Nefarious Villain (pres. by Saruman, Gollum, & Sauron) | Best Redemption Story (pres. by Boromir) | Best Fantasy Mount (pres. by Eomer) | Riddling and Poetry (pres. by Bilbo) | Wisest Councellor (pres. by Gandalf) | Strangest Character (pres. by Tom Bombadil) | Most Faithful Friend (pres. by Sam Gamgee) | Most Heart Wrenching Death Scene (pres. by Thorin)

LOTR party posts

And don’t forget — you can post your own celebratory post for The Lord of the Rings’ birthday today (or through the weekend) and share the link in the link-up at the end of this post of Jenelle’s so we can all see it! (And if you post on social media, use the hashtag #SilmAwards2016 for this LOTR birthday celebration wrapup!)

Be sure to check out the other LOTR celebration posts listed there because they’re all fantastic! (No pun intended. ;))

Happy Lord of the Rings Day to you all!

P.S. (Because Gandalf made them notorious with his multiple post-scripts.) Aaand now I’m tempted to leave my Tolkien books stacked in the corner of my room like that because they look nice there. Who needs a nightstand anyway — pfft. ;))

The Road goes ever on and on

Down from the door where it began . . .

18 thoughts on “Lord of the Rings Celebration!

  1. You have to be the best super Tolkien fan I know! That is so cool you practiced Elvish calligraphy, made posters, and stuff when you were young, and that you have collected SO MANY Tolkien-related books! I think the “Towers of Tolkien books” look quite fabulous on your nightstand. No need for nightstands for any other reason anyway. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa, and I thought I had a lot of Tolkien books! I don’t feel so bad about owning four copies of The Hobbit now πŸ˜› (Though one is in Dutch, so that’s pretty special.) I loved seeing your collection!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH. MY. WORD.
    YOUR COLLECTION.

    I knew you had a ton of Tolkien stuff but…but…but…OH MY WORD!!!!!!!!!!!!! THAT IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THING MY EYEBALLS HAVE EVER LOOKED UPON. Allllll the books. o____o I just…I want to hug that entire stack. This is amazing! YOU are amazing. ALL THE AMAZING.

    I love reading about how everyone first discovered Tolkien’s stories. And can we just talk about how epic it is we were both 10 when we first came upon them? 10 must just be a magical year. But CELTI. You are so awesome. Memorized his poetry, did Elvish CALLIGRAPHY? You are the fan we should all be. That is just the BEST.

    “The Lord of the Rings is one of those things at the core of my being.” <– THIS. THIS THIS THIS. You put it into words!

    *CLUTCHES HEART* THOSE MAPS. O______O And editions with Tolkien-drawn covers. I AM DEAD. So much gorgeous, my eyes may explode!

    Yay for The Silmarillion Awards and everything! This has just been SO VERY FUN. I'm drowning in Tolkien happiness right now!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LOTR!!!!! *shoots fireworks* (Because Gandalf's fireworks, of course.)

    P.S. (I had to.) I totally vote for you keeping that magnificently gorgeous stack there. It may be the most epic stack of books I've ever seen! I would NOT blame you for just keeping it like that. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eheh, and that’s just the BOOKS. *decides to pretend I don’t have all the soundtracks and ignores the VHS/DVD/extended editions and audiobooks around the house and my Hobbit banner that I won and my hobbit pins and my Gandalf bookmarks etc.*

      BUT AWK THANK YOU. ❀ *blushes* I hardly know what to say to your nice comment, you nice Elf you. ^_^ And YES, we were both 10! I love it! πŸ˜€ It must be the age. *nods* I'm trying to think if I've ever shown you some of my Elvish calligraphy… I should sometime…

      In the core of our beings, yus. LOTR is just so wonderful. ^_^

      YESSSS. I got the maps for Christmas and I was SO excited when I found those Tolkien-drawn covers at a library sale! Apparently they were what he originally drew for the dustjackets of the books, and they weren't actually used entirely — I think the one for FOTR was tweaked a little and used for all three original editions? But I LOVE his covers, they're awesome. πŸ˜€ Hurray for reprints. πŸ˜„

      YES YES YES! I had soooo much fun with the Silmarillion Awards and all this Tolkien goodness! ❀ Fiiiiireworks!

      (Haha, I love it. πŸ˜„ Gandalf's P.S.s are the best.) Eheh, I did finally take down my stack and put them back on their shelf nicely… but I so loved having them there anyway. πŸ˜„

      Like

  4. Awww, I loved this post so much! *hugs it because it makes me happy*

    That is quite the enormous and fantastic stack of Tolkien books! And I thought *I* had a problem! hahaha I appear to have some catching up to do (of course, I’ll bet I could give most people a run for their money when it comes to Star Wars paraphernalia/movies/books/legos… so I probably get to keep my “nerd card,” right?)

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LOTR!

    And many thanks to J.R.R. Tolkien, for writing books that have helped me find “kindred spirits” all over the blogosphere!

    Liked by 1 person

    • *happy squeaking* I’m glad it made you happy! Now you’ve made ME happy!

      Thanks! Eheh, believe me, I’m just crazy. πŸ˜„ YES, I imagine your Star Wars collection is considerable… makes me think of my little brother, who’s ALL about Star Wars. πŸ˜‰ Are you kidding, of COURSE you get to keep your “nerd card”! πŸ˜€ You’re an amazing fantasy fan, to be honest.

      INDEED! And… wow, yes, it’s so easy to find kindred spirits across the blogosphere due to Tolkien writing those books… I never thought of it that way! O_O But it’s so true! πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. I daresay the word “Collection” does not even suffice. I bow before your Tolkien Empire. Simply amazing. I think someone from the Tolkien estate in on his way via private jet as we speak to thank you personally for single-handedly ensuring the success of of the series.

    I can’t wait to see what your “empire” looks like 10 years from now!

    Thank you for sharing your memories and how how you discovered the wonderful world of Middle-Earth. Such a delightful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Ishness/Hiatus | The Road of a Writer

  7. I was out of town during this, but happy Lord of the Rings Day! Tolkien also means so much to me. I have so many fond memories surrounding the movies and the books. I’ve even gotten to meet several of the actors from the films and I’ve cosplayed as a Mirkwood elf. I just love those books. ❀

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

  8. Pingback: “So it Begins…” (Silmarillion Awards Presentations) | The Road of a Writer

  9. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Giveaway + LOTR Tag | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

