Phase 2: Vote! (Silmarillion Awards)

“The time has come,” the blogger said, “to talk of many things;

Of fantasy and characters; of Silmarils and Rings!”

(Sorry, I couldn’t resist…)

***

Happy Independence Day to those living where I do!

Happy Monday to others!

And to everyone: Happy First Day of Phase 2 of the Silmarillion Awards: Voting!

Because this is a day for fireworks and is also a Lord-of-the-Rings-ish post . . . I can’t resist how perfect Gandalf’s fireworks are for this occasion. So here:

ANYWAY.

Here’s the info on the voting!

silmarillionawards2016

The top five nominees for the the 2016 Strangest Character Silmarillion Award (from which a single winner will be chosen by voting) are:

1. Puddleglum from The Silver Chair by C. S. Lewis

I shouldn’t wonder if everyone already knows this most famous of Marshwiggles… so the bright side of it is, perhaps he needs no introduction… You may find him making eel stew or predicting rain or the worst possible things to happen, but a more stalwart (and odd) friend is difficult to find. Strangeness is evident in every pessimistic inch of him… even though often he’s in fact “making the best of it” by acting pessimistic when really he’s lifting his comrade’s spirits in a most unusual way.

2. Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Wizard Howl Pendragon rather defies description, such is his strangeness and complexity. A young but powerful wizard, he would have you believe the worst of him, when in reality, beneath his many outward appearances, he’s actually hiding a noble character… albeit perhaps very deep beneath… Noted for his spruce appearance, about which he’s very vain, he has glassy green eyes and (usually) blond hair and often a blue-and-silver suit with flying sleeves. He lives in a moving castle, which is bizarre in itself, and is dramatic and self-centered and cowardly, not to mention having head-colds like a drama queen and tending to spend at least two hours in the bathroom in the mornings (vain, I told you). But despite his oddities and sometimes apparent heartlessness, he’s all in all a softhearted, kind, overall good person.

In the words of another character in the series, which I cannot argue with: “He’s the best wizard in Ingary or anywhere else. … He’s sly and selfish and vain as a peacock and cowardly, and you can’t pin him down to anything.” (from Castle in the Air)

3. Pete the Sockman from The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

While I’ve yet to read this series, and so have not met this character myself, I have it on good authority that Pete the Sockman is a mysterious, rather acrobatic person who is tall and awkward and wears patchwork clothing, giving him a scarecrow-like appearance, and wears socks on his hands (hence his name). I’ve heard him described as a sort of tragic town fool, living alone, who nonetheless comes to the aid of the main characters in surprising ways that let you know there is more to him than just a clueless outcast.

4. Calcifer, also from Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Calcifer has a crackly, fiery personality… likely because he is, in fact, a fire. A magical fire-demon, he has a unique partnership with the wizard Howl and is in fact the one who powers the moving castle of the book’s title. He lives in the fireplace and “eats” logs, and historically only lets Howl cook on him (until, of course, the strong-willed Sophie shows up…). He’s cranky, opinionated, and occasionally devious, but underneath he has a heart of gold, is actually extremely loyal to Howl and his friends, and Howl trusts him with his life. As an eccentric fire who is persnickety and prone to complaining, he’s definitely strange.

5. Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Again, I have not personally “met” this character since I have yet to read this series. However, Luna Lovegood is, I hear, a quite odd, dreamy character, with long pale hair and a tendency toward dottiness and looking permanently surprised, as well as a strange fashion sense (like wearing dirigible plum earrings, a necklace of Butterbeer caps, her wand behind her ear, etc.).

The five characters in each award category with the most nominations are now listed in this handy voting form where you can vote for a character in each category:

GO HERE TO VOTE! πŸ™‚

You have until Thursday, July 14, to vote!

(Winners will be announced on the various blogs July 16 through July 28. The winner of the Strangest Character Silmaril Award, chosen from among the top five by fan-voting, will be posted here on my blog on July 26.)

Also, because I thought it would be fun, and since there will of course only be one “winner” and yet I feel like all the nominees deserve mentioning . . .

Here’s a list of all the other nominations, after the top five, for “Strangest Character” in fantasy literature!

They should all be proud of themselves for being memorably and phenomenally odd. πŸ˜‰

  • Nidawi the Everblooming from Shadowhand – Anne Elisabeth Stengl
  • Winter from The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer
  • Angela from The Inheritance Cycle – Christopher Paolini
  • The Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
  • Salazar from Paper Crowns – Mirriam Neal
  • Gurgi from The Prydain Chronicles – Lloyd Alexander
  • Wizard Fenworth from The Dragonkeeper Chronicles – Donita K. Paul
  • Peter Pan from Peter Pan – J. M. Barrie
  • Lady Peg from The Valley of the Dragons Trilogy – Donita K. Paul
  • Wit from anything Cosmere – Brandon Sanderson
  • Mother Mungry from The Warden and the Wolf King – Andrew Peterson
  • Elder Cadwick from The Warden and the Wolf King – Andrew Peterson
  • Fred the talking sword from The Dark Sea Annals – Wayne Thomas Batson
  • Lightsong from Warbreaker – Brandon Sanderson
  • Kiernan Kane from The Minstrel’s Song series – Jenelle Schmidt
  • Shadwick (Shimrad?) from The Warden and the Wolf King – Andrew Peterson
  • Mulch Diggums from The Artemis Fowl series – Eoin Colfer
  • Abbadon from The Dragons in Our Midst/Oracles of Fire/Children of the Bard series – Bryan Davis
  • Fezzik from The Princess Bride – William Goldman
  • Lucinda from Ella Enchanted – Gail Carson Levine
  • Zifnab from The Death Gate Cycle – Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman
  • Bridger from The Realmwalkers Series – Donita K. Paul
  • Alice from Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll
  • The Owl from After Dark in the Playing Fields (short story) – M.R. James
  • Axe Cop from Axe Cop (webcomic?) – Malachai Nicolle & Ethan Nicolle
  • The Sha-Una from The Budge-Nuzzard – A.S. Peterson?
  • Arachne from Ashtown Burials – N.D. Wilson
  • Brierly Steward from Waking Beauty – Sarah E. Morin
  • Dame Primus from The Keys to the Kingdom series – Garth Nix
  • Steven/Nevets from The Deltora Quest series – Emily Rodda
  • Ferrin from The Beyonders Trilogy – Brandon Mull
  • Doctor Scamandros from The Keys to the Kingdom series – Garth Nix
  • Tomas from Lady Moon – Rachel Starr Thomson
  • Snufkin from The Moomin series – Tove Jansson)
  • the cat lady from Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

And I don’t know about anyone else, but all those characters/things from all those fantasy books being discussed in all the comments of these posts make me want to go read (and/or reread!) all the fantasy books now! I think my TBR pile may have grown… Am I the only one? πŸ˜‰

Anyway! Vote away! πŸ™‚

Also check out the posts from the other 9 bloggers hosting these awards! We’re all linking to the same form and you only need to vote once, but many of us are also talking about the characters in the top five, so do drop by and give the other posts a read! ^_^

  • DJ Edwardson Hosting the Best Friend Silmaril
  • Jenelle Schmidt Hosting the Most Heart Wrenching Death Scene Silmaril
  • Deborah O’Carroll Hosting the Strangest Character Silmaril
  • JL Mbewe Hosting the Best Redemption Story Silmaril
  • Tracey Hosting the Riddling and Poetry Silmaril
  • Jack Lewis Baillot Hosting the Best Fantasy Mount Silmaril
  • Madeline J. Rose Hosting the Most Epic Hero Silmaril
  • Zachary Totah Hosting the Wisest Counsellor Silmaril
  • E. Rawls Hosting the Best Fantasy Weapon Silmaril
  • Abbey Hosting the Most Nefarious Villain Silmaril.

SilmAward2016Infographic

21 thoughts on “Phase 2: Vote! (Silmarillion Awards)

  1. Ah, the time to vote has arrived. πŸ˜€ *casually begins voting* WHAT?! #4: Best Redemption Story. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO CHOOSE BETWEEN JACE AND KALMAR? /HOW?!?/ *weeps in a corner forever* Both have such amazing redemption and character arcs… I just can’t.

    Okay, I did it. I chose Jace. BUT NOW I FEEL LIKE I AM BETRAYING MY LOYALTY TO KALMAR. Oh help. *dies* These awards have wrecked me. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Introducing the Silmarillion Awards! | The Road of a Writer

  3. I shouldn’t be surprised that so many characters from the Wingfeather Saga made this list. If you start with the mere fact that they’re (well, what Mother Mungry and Elder Cadwick and Shimrad and to some extent Pete were), you’ve already got a head start on the human characters. Gurgi is also an excellent strange character. In the words of Orgoch and Orddu: “What is a Gurgi? Do you eat it or sit on it?” “It looks, whatever you did with it, you’d have to give it a bath first.”
    You must read the Wingfeather Saga. That’s all.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Be warned — the Wingfeather Saga is four books long, and they’re not little books either. But it’s completely worth it :).
        Oh, and if you get them from the library, hope and pray none of them have had lots of perfume spilled on them at some point. The second book (which is the fastest-moving) did when we checked ours out, and there was far too much of it. It made it really hard to read for any amount of time without getting a headache from the smell, and as the book was really hard to put down, it led to some tough decisions whether or not, for the sake of one’s health, to stop at a cliffhanger.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks for the warning! πŸ˜‰ I own the first one (yay, library sales!) and my library appears to have the second and… fourth? I don’t know what’s wrong with them that they don’t have the third but maybe I can get them to remedy that. XD
          Ugh, that sounds dreadful! D: So sorry about that… People do NOT take care of library things as they should… *glares at all the scratched DVDs I’ve watched and missed the endings of* Perfume can be blech. πŸ˜›

          Like

  4. This is so exciting! But UGH. Choosing is going to be soooo hard. I keep putting off voting because I don’t know HOW I’m going to choose between specific characters in certain categories. I guess I need to buckle down and decide though.

    I am kind of ecstatic how not just one but TWO HMC characters made it to the top five. This is great!

    I also love how you listed all the nominations. It was great seeing them all together like that. And I ABSOLUTELY agree in that my TBR is waaaay bigger now after seeing all these epic fantasy books mentioned that I haven’t read. o.o I actually have the first book of the Wingfeather Saga, so it looks like I need to read it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knooow. I agonized over it for longer than I’d care to admit. XD But it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be in one respect… I think it’s also helpful how you don’t have to submit it right away. I picked different options and changed them all a few times before finally submitting it. It’s so hard though. XD Best of luck on deciding — you can do iiiit!

      Heehee, yeah, HMC wins in the Strange department, apparently. πŸ˜›

      Yay! I’m glad you liked getting to see them all. πŸ™‚
      TBR EXPLOSION AAAHH. It’s kinda great. XD

      :O I have the first Wingfeather book too!! I totally need to read it soonish as well. We should buddy read or something. XD

      Like

  5. I love your intro for this post, Deborah! And the character descriptions were so fun to read! My favorite description has to be Howl. Lol, you described him perfectly! I’m so happy he made it into the top 5. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so muuuch! I’m glad you liked them! ^_^ Aww, that makes my day. πŸ˜€ I wasn’t sure if I described him very well since I wrote it at like three in the morning in very much of a hurry. XD So that makes me happy to hear. πŸ˜‰ YES, Howl’s the best! Glad to know you’re also a fan! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ohhhh, this one is HARD. I love Puddleglum, Howl, AND Calcifer! The other two I haven’t read about, otherwise this would be even more difficult. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO CHOOSE, DEBORAH? HOW, I ASK YOU. D:

    I may have to shut off my emotional side that loves these three so much, and ask my logical side to figure out which is the strangest. (Because duh, that’s the whole point of this category. XD )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed! I know the feeling, and I felt that way about most categories myself. XD Who would’ve guess it would be so difficult to vote!

      Haha, I’m the same way myself. πŸ˜› Though honestly I think mostly people are voting for characters they love, not the ones who best fit the category, so… either is fine I guess. πŸ˜‰

      BUT UGH YES SO HAAAARD. Heehee.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Ishness/Hiatus | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

