In the Merry Month of May… {2016} Ishness

ishness

May 2016

Time for another Ishness! Once question though: How, exactly, is it June already? I have absolutely no CLUE what on earth has happened to this year… Isn’t it still February? WHAT EVEN SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN THIS TO ME. Ahem. Anyhoo, here’s what’s up with me as of this last month.

Life

For much of the month I was dreadfully sick with a nasty flu and had a lot of dead internet (whaddayaknow, it’s STILL dead! *surprise* We had 8 straight days with internet in the midst of May which was glorious and then BOOM gone again…), so that was all very exciting and made for me falling behind on a lot of things… But other than that I had a pretty great month because writing and movies and books happened… so on to that! πŸ™‚

Writing

KW2coverPI wrote 2000+ words in May, mostly snippets for The Other Half of Everything and some for The Secret of Kedran’s Wood. I also finally started the next chapter of KW2, which I’ve been meaning to do for a very long time. I think Tare finally woke up from his exhaustion that I put him into around NaNo, and at last has gotten jealous of Teague; consequently Tare has been talking to me again. This is very good news. πŸ˜€

A bit slow on writing still, mostly just snippets all over the place, but I’m just glad to have a bit of writing instead of nothing. (I know, I’m beginning to sound like a broken record, writing 2k three months in a row mostly on snippets…)

OHEcover

(pics used to make this “cover” were all found on pinterest & I don’t own them etc. and it’s just for fun)

I also analyzed why I’m stuck on literally every single one of my WIPs. Which is bad in one sense because I’m stuck, but good in another sense because at least now I know WHY. Don’t know where to go from here but it looks like I may only be writing disconnected snippets for awhile until I get all my plots figured out and decide if I need to rewrite some stuff.

I’m also starting to worry that I may be able to write Other Half of Everything snippets till the cows come home but seem to be having a distressingly difficult time writing actual writing in chapter one. So snippets = easy. Actual book = I can’t. This is very bad. I may have to write the whole book out of order and sew it together, I dunno… >.> We’ll see. But I love Teague and Meridian and Lulin and Ivan and am having fun so that’s good.

That’s what’s up with me on the writing front! πŸ™‚ I will give you snippets because I’m nice like that. πŸ˜„

Snippets

TeagueDriveSnippet

***

TarePizzaSnippet

***

TareSnippet2

Blogging

Le posts of mine from the last month:

Book blog posts:

Reading

I had another slow reading month… but the things that I DID read were 100000% awesome, so. πŸ˜€

May2016Reads

Aaaall the whimsical fantasy books with purple/blue/pink covers. ❀ *huggles them*

For mini-review-ish things/flailing on all of these, you can hop over to my May Reading Roundup post on my book blog. πŸ™‚ (Warning: Much fangirling. May blast your eyeballs out with its amount/intensity. *cough*)

Oh, and I’ve also been beta-reading some AWESOME stories by lovely writer friends. Including The Dead Boy and the Paper Cut by Cait which… Yeah. Wow. The snaaaark. ❀ Just… take my heart, Cait. Just take it. *melts in puddle of feels*

Watching

I saw The Avengers 2.5 Captain America: Civil War. Twice. (I obviously want to watch it another million times but twice will have to do for now.) ALLOW ME TO MAKE SOME NOISE ON THIS COUNT THANK YOU. I mean, obviously I’m not happy with some of the goings on a.k.a. pretty much the ENTIRE PLOT because I don’t want my precious people to be fighting, and it kind of just ENDED without any proper conclusion. BUUUUT interestingly all of this had absolutely no effect on my enjoyment of the movie because honestly I’m just there for the characters so if they’re on the screen… yep, I’m pretty happy. I mean, sure, there’s stuff I didn’t like; I could complain about that all day; but I’m not going to because honestly where does it get us? Nowhere. Basically I irrationally really enjoyed it BECAUSE BUCKY AND HAWKEYE AND CAPTAIN AMERICA AND EVERYONE so I kinda loved it for absolutely no reason and want to see it again. (And Bucky. Buckyyyyyy. *shrieking* Andandand Hawkeye yessss.)

Basically this is me:

HAPPY BUCKY. HAPPY ME. (pinterest)

Also Beauty and the Beast teaser trailer! EEEP! *flails* I NEED IT TO BE MARCH 17TH RIGHT NOW PLZ. ❀

Internet: there’s a B&B teaser trailer.

Me: *proceeds to watch it 2093750938409 times*

Me: *posts it on blog so that I can have excuse to watch it again and because if you haven’t seen it yet you need to ASAP*

And I’m still watching that western show, The Deputy AND I LOVE IT SO MUCH AAAHH. ❀ I love “buddy” stories and these buddies are fabulous. πŸ˜„ You will probably not hear the end of this anytime soon because there are like 70 episodes and I haven’t run out yet… πŸ˜€

June Plans

My June plans consist basically of: read the things, write the things, and stop stressing about it; also try to survive life. That’s a good idea…

Oh! And very exciting things happening beginning later this month on this blog and throughout the blogosphere… I will give you a hint: it involves that “Fantasy Oscars” kind of thing I may have mentioned before. So watch out for that because we’re going to need YOU to be involved! πŸ™‚

Also, many apologies to everyone if I’m kinda absent/behind on all the internet things. I hope to have internet again sometime but I really don’t know. If I’m late on replying to comments or something, IT’S NOT BECAUSE I DON’T LOVE YOU CAUSE I DO. ❀

So that’s my May. How was yours? Tell me all! πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “In the Merry Month of May… {2016} Ishness

  1. Augh, I’m so sorry you got the flu! THAT IS TERRIBLE. I hate the flu and will go to all measures to avoid it. -.-

    OH MY GOODNESS THAT BEAUTY AND THE BEAST TRAILER IS PERFECTION AND BEAUTY OH MY GOODNESS. ❀ ❀ ❀ I want it to be March 17th NOW! (and yet I don't. Because then we would *really* be in a time machine and I don't think I'd like that. xD)

    Ah, I'm sorry you're stuck with most of your WIPs. But at least you know why you're stuck! πŸ˜€ (And I keep fangirling over The Other Half of Everything, even though I don't know much about it. πŸ™‚

    My May was relatively quiet. My family is preparing for our move and such, so that's all goin' good. Also I BEAT MY DAD (aka the ping-pong emperor) TWICE AT PING-PONG, so yeah, my life is complete right now. xD

    Also, this month my dad discovered the band I Am They. We bought just 3 of their songs and we have totally killed them we have listened to them so many times. JUST LOOK THEM UP. Our favorites are 'From the Day', 'We Are Yours', and 'No Longer Slaves.' I love harmonizing with them because HARMONIZATION. ❀

    We have a cookout/party for all the commanders at my dad's work tomorrow, my sister's last volleyball game, and a "gotcha" party for a little adopted girl we know. So tomorrow should be eventful. πŸ™‚

    I hope you have a good June!

    (oh, and are you doing Camp NaNoWriMo this July?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • D’aww, thank you for your lovely comment, Emily! ^_^ *day made*

      YES the B&B trailer is awesome and… yeah, as much as I want it to be March, it would kind of be terrible if we were suddenly there, so. πŸ˜‰

      *flails* OKAY SO HEARING YOU ARE FANGIRLING ABOUT THE OTHER HALF OF EVERYTHING MAKES ME SO HAPPY THAT I JUST CAN’T. THANK YOUUUU. *hugs*

      Ooh, good luck on your move! That sounds… stressful. o.o Hope it goes well! πŸ™‚ Haha, that’s so awesome about beating your dad at pingpong. πŸ˜„

      Hmm, I’ll have to check out those songs! πŸ™‚

      Thanks, and I hope your June will be awesome as well!

      No, I’m not doing Camp NaNo… too much on my plate and trying to avoid stressing out over my writing. So I’m trying not to get involved with any contests or what have you till November NaNo. πŸ™‚ Are you doing Camp?

      Like

  2. HI!!!! I’VE MISSED YOU!!!!

    I know it’s only been like a week since you posted, but seriously, your blog posts always just make me happy.

    Also, Hawkeye.

    We saw Civil War last night, and while I also really don’t love a lot of things about the movie…. I don’t really care because: HAWKEYE!!!! (not enough Hawkeye… but he was there and he was awesome… and he was just so…. Hawkeye, and WHY DOESN’T HE HAVE HIS OWN MOVIE YET?!?!?!?!?!?! Come on, Marvel!)

    The villain, however, was lame.

    Ahem.

    Thank you for letting me get that out of my system. Hey, you know, some writers write their books all out of order and then string the snippets together… that’s a completely legit way to write a novel.

    I hope your internet stops being flaky and I’m sorry you had the flu, that’s no fun at all.

    I’m not sure where the first half of the year went, either… but I’m excited it’s June because FANTASY OSCARS!!!!!!

    πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • AAAHH THANKS JENELLE. D’awwww I’m so happy you enjoy my posts. Awk. *makes flaily happy penguin noises and hugs you*

      HAWK.EYE. YES. I know, right, why can’t we have a movie of him??? Gaaah, it would be so awesome. ❀ (I even hear there's rumors they may make a Black Widow movie… BUT BUT HAWKEYE!!!) Haha, it makes me so happy you share my fangirling for Hawkeye. πŸ˜„ He's just awesome! And heheh, the villain WAS rather lame… but I didn't mind so much. *shrug* (But yes, I know that need to get such things out of your system, so you're welcome. XD) I just kinda really loved that movie, and just don't care. πŸ˜› Glad you got to see it! πŸ˜€ (HAWKEYE!)

      Yeah, I've heard of such authors… I've just never understood how they DO such feats. o.o But thanks for calling it legit, that makes me feel better. πŸ™‚

      Well the good news is, I'm over the flu and my internet (as of this second; fingers crossed for the future) is back, so I'm good to go! πŸ™‚

      YESSSS I'M EXCITED! πŸ˜€ …And I should probably get to work on my post for it since that's due in like two weeks. o.o *scrambles*

      Thanks for your lovely comment, Jenelle, it made my day. ^_^

      Like

  3. So glad to hear your writing is coming regularly, even if not exactly in order…at least you’re writing, and having fun doing it! I’m looking forward to seeing where KW2 goes from where you left it. πŸ™‚ Great snippets!! Does having no internet help you be more productive on your stories? Just curious, because sometimes I think internet’s my problem. :/
    Fantasy Oscars sounds cool! And the Beauty and the Beast trailer…beautiful! I can’t wait to see more. I’m already starting the countdown in my head! And I’ll have to see more Avengers movies and get caught up.
    You read my blog post, so you kind of know how my May went. πŸ˜€ Thanks for your comment there! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Slowly, but yes, coming a bit. πŸ™‚ Thanks! I’m really looking forward to you seeing what happens next in KW2. πŸ˜€ And thank you, I’m glad you liked them!

      Hmm… I think in a way I was a bit better about writing without internet? *shrug* I do know there were a couple times I sat down and wrote a snippet when I normally would have been checking email. But it’s really hard to say since I’m really only writing when inspiration strikes which isn’t too often these days, internet or no. But I agree, it’s a great distraction. :-/

      Yeah, it’s going to be fun! I hope you’ll participate! πŸ™‚

      Haha, I’ve marked the B&B movie on my calender already, so yeah. πŸ˜‰

      Yesss, the Avengers movies are fun! You should totally catch up! ^_^ (But The Avengers is still the best one, so. ;))

      You’re welcome! I try to comment when I remember which… is not always. Ahem. But thanks also for your comment, Kelsey! Always lovely hearing from you. ❀

      Like

  4. OKAY TARE IS AWESOME I JUST…*flails*
    CIVIL WAR! BUCKY! AAGH! O_o But yes, things turned out *kinda* alright…I will be content for a while… πŸ™‚
    Also, BatB trailer looks AMAZING. ❀
    I'm getting super pumped about the Fantasy Oscars! Yay! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • GAAAHH MADELINE YOU MAKE ME HAPPY THANK YOU SO MUCH. ^_^ I’m sooo glad you like Tare, and I am still flaily over Civil War and Bucky. πŸ˜€ (Eheh “kinda” is right. o.o I’m okay for now too but ack. *more flailing*)
      Yessss, it’s going to be such a pretty movie!
      I’m excited too! It’s gonna be awesome! πŸ˜€ *highfives*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. IT IS MOST CERTAINLY NOT JUNE. It’s February. Definitely. *lives firmly in her delusions*

    Your internet is STILL out? GAH. Not okay! I wants meh Celti to have internet again. D: I’ll just have to send Isaac (from Fallen Matter) out to fix it since he’s a hacker and computers and such are his thing. Yes? Yes.

    YOU WROTE A LOT OF WORDS IN MAY. AND ALL GLORIOUS HILARIOUS WONDERFUL WORDS.

    TARE IS EATING PIZZA. I REPEAT: TARE IS EATING PIZZA. AND HE EATS IT BACKWARDS. AND THE CHESS CLUB ARE SO ENTHRALLED. AND I BASICALLY CAN’T. But WHO is this creep who hates Tare????? >.> NOBODY CAN HATE MY TARE. I probably know the creep. Do I? I think I do? I don’t knooow! I need to read back through KW2 thus far because my brain is started to get fuzzy on the events. SHAMEFUL.

    Have I mentioned lately how perfectly perfect Meridian’s POV is? That last line!!! She has one of my most favorite POVs I’ve ever read EVER. Not even kidding! It’s so hilarious! Also, I think it’d be awesome if you wrote the whole thing in snippets and put them together. I wouldn’t force yourself to write it in order. I think this book will be all the better for you allowing yourself to have free rein and just write it whichever way you feel like it at the time. As long as you’re having fun, it’s going to turn out AMAZING. It already has! Just have fun with it!

    BUCKYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just…everything you said about Civil War. It was worth putting up with all the pain simply to spend some time with the characters. Because, ya know, BUCKY. “HAPPY BUCKY. HAPPY ME.” <– EXACTLY.

    Gracious me, that Beauty and the Beast trailer. March can't come soon enough!!!

    I HOPE YOUR INTERNET RETURNS AND YOU DON'T GET SICK AGAIN. And you also have an awesome February! (Because it's totally February. Mhm. Yep. Absolutely. *nods*)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually you’re living in MY delusions, but hey, I won’t complain. πŸ˜„ (It’s still totally February. >.>)

      Well it came back today! πŸ˜€ I just hope it stays. -_- Maybe Isaac came and fixed it after all! ^_^ (That would be awesome. Even if it stays fixed, he can still come over… ;))

      UM NO I ONLY WROTE 2K WORDS WHICH IS TINY BUT OKAY THANKS. πŸ˜„

      *falls over backward laughing* I thought the Tare eating pizza thing would be something you like. XDDD The chess club are enthralled at EVERYTHING he does, which is sort of the point, and he’s getting tired of it. πŸ˜› And yes, backward (because I do sometimes and thought he might. ^_^)

      And yes, you do know the creep, it’s actually Greg whom Tare is going to meet in the next chapter which I’m in the midst of writing messy snippets of. So it hasn’t happened yet, so don’t worry about your fuzzy memory, your memory is doing just fine. πŸ˜‰ (And, ya know, even if it is getting fuzzy, it’s only my fault for taking ten billion years to write this thing… *COUGH*)

      *flails* AAHH THANK YOU. It makes me so so SO incredibly happy to hear you enjoy Meridian’s POV! Like, seriously, I can’t right now. *huggles you* I’m so worried about writing in first person for the first time and want it to be good, so that makes me happy. πŸ™‚ And aaaahh thanks for your thoughts on writing it out of order! You are so nice and supportive, just gaaahh. ❀

      BUCKY BUCKY BUCKY. I'm so glad you agree. πŸ˜„ (And Hawkeye… AND ALL OF THE PRECIOUS CHARRIES GAHH.)

      B&B!!!! πŸ˜€

      THANK YOU SO MUCH AND I HOPE YOU HAVE AN AWESOME "FEBRUARY" TOOOO! (Because if we all pretend it is, then it's true, right? XD) Thank you for your loverly comment, Lauri! It made my day! ^_^

      Like

  6. I got sick too, but last week. πŸ˜„ Sick buddies. Aw no. Bad internet been there. I hope you find the source of the problem to that and your story soon! The first half of May I think my brain just edited out because it was stressful and not fun. Then the end of May was awesome when I visited some friends in Florida for a convention and dressed in costume and met actors and ate lots of sushi. Happy June!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, I’m sorry! *huggles* I hope you feel better!
      My internet SEEMS to be better so… fingers crossed that it stays. πŸ˜› And thanks! My silly stubborn stories… *shakes head*
      That’s too bad the first half was unpleasant for you… BUT the rest sounds glorious! Yay! πŸ˜€
      Thank you very much and happy June to you as well! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Eeeeeep, I’m so glad you liked it, Kayla! ^_^ *flails around* Seriously, your comment made my day. πŸ˜„ And yes, it mayyyy or may not have to do with the fact that I eat pizza backward sometimes. πŸ˜› Thanks!

      Like

  7. AHHHH AHHH YOU MENTIONED MY DEAD BOY. ❀ *flails happily* You're so so nice and omg this is a lovely recap! And I'm glad you liked Civil War! I'm…totally avoiding it. I don't want to see the babies fighting. *sobs* So I've been reading spoiler posts and pinning pins and SERIOUSLY NOT AVOIDING IT BUT YET AVOIDING IT??? I don't even know what's wrong with my brain, tbh. I just go with it. Ahem.

    Ack. That must be frustrating to be stuck with your WiPs. I hope you get an enormously glorious breakthrough soon!

    ALSO I LOVE THE PIZZA SNIPPET. Although, seriously, who eats their pizza backwards? That is weird. Tare does not know what's up, probably. *nods seriously*

    Liked by 1 person

    • JUST TAKE MY HEART WHY DON’T YOU. *flails from all the Dead Boy feels*

      And… yes, it’s awful to see them fighting, but HONESTLY it’s not as bad as I thought! So you should totally watch Civil War, Cait! πŸ˜€ (Especially since you’re not avoiding it online. XD) But… at the same time, I totally understand that. *nods*

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      AAHH I’M GLAD. And, well, in that case *I* am weird, because I eat my pizza backwards sometimes which is where it came from. πŸ˜„ So IF Tare doesn’t know what’s up (which he does, usually…) then I am actually the one who doesn’t know what’s up. πŸ˜„

      Like

  8. I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling better and your internet is back up (hopefully still up?). Writing probs, yep, well do what works for you, you know? If it’s easier that you write scenes out of order, then go for it and piece it all together at the end. πŸ™‚ I really like the mock covers you made for your books too!

    Howl’s Moving Castle, yes!!! I loved that movie, though have yet to read the book! Did you see the movie?

    I need to see Civil Waaar! Don’t know if I’ll make it to the theater (time, money), but I’ll rent it for sure. I just hope it comes out early so I can see it soon as possible!!! Team Cap!!! Buckyyy~!

    Fantasy Oscars! I need to put my post together too. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yep, still up. Yay! πŸ™‚ And thanks for your words on writing out of order and my covers — made my day! ^_^

      Ooh, yes, I’ve seen the Howl’s Moving Castle movie! It was super cute and I loved it! …TOTALLY different than the book, just so you’re aware. o.o But while I still love the book best, I actually didn’t mind the differences in the movie because I just love ’em both. πŸ™‚ (You should totally read the book though! It’s so gooood! <3)

      YES CIVIL WAR! πŸ˜€ I hope you'll like it when you see it! Cap and Bucky are awesome! πŸ™‚ (Not to mention Hawkeye…)

      Eek, less than 2 weeks away! πŸ˜€ We both need to put our posts together, apparently. πŸ˜„ Can't wait! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Howl’s Moving Castle is on my Goodreads tbr for sure! πŸ™‚
        Yeah, I kind of wish I could get some sneak peaks or previews of how everyone’s posts are going to look, just to make sure mine is done right and all, you know? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

            • Yay, glad to hear it! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see your post in the morning! πŸ˜€
              (I don’t even know what category he would work for, but Howl’s always a good choice for most things. πŸ˜„ Dunno if it would count if you haven’t read his book version though, since it’s just for books… Hee. :P) *flails happily around because Howl*

              Like

  9. Aww, feeling yucky and having no internet is NOT FUN.

    But ALL THOSE SNIPPETS, I LOVETH THEM SO MUCH, AND TARE IS EATING PIZZA. ❀ I'm actually very intrigued by the idea of piecing a novel together snippet by snippet like you're currently doing with OHE. It's kind of like a big patchwork quilt…

    CIVIL WAR. I AM SO JEALOUS. My brother watched it without me (*sobs quietly*), and my friend's husband and brother also saw it on the same day (and one of them says he nearly fell asleep–how could he?!)… but I have yet to watch it. SOON, I HOPE. SOON I WILL FIX THIS TRAVESTY. Because I very badly need to see what happens with Steve and Bucky and all the rest.

    That B&B trailer is gooooorgeous. I cannot wait for March 2017 to roll around.

    I'm excited for those Fantasy Oscars too!! πŸ˜€

    Hope your June is wonderful, Deborah! <333 I'm sorry that my comments here have been so infrequent lately–that makes me sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EEK THANKS I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE THEM TRACEY! ^_^ Pizza, yeah… πŸ˜› And I suppose a quilt would be a good comparison. *nods* I just don’t know if it will WORK or not. O_O I just hope it does because I want OHE to be awesome, so. Heh.

      :O OH NOOOOO. That’s so awful everyone saw it without you! D: I hope you will get to see Civil War sooooon! It’s so so good. πŸ˜€ (And one of my brothers actually falls asleep during movies sometimes, just because he works too hard and never sleeps enough, so I can kiiinda understand that in a sense; but he’s never fallen asleep in a THEATER, so yeah… weird. XD) STEVE AND BUCKY AND HAWKEYE AND ALL THE PRECIOUS PEOPLES. ❀ I expect to hear what you think when you see it. πŸ˜€

      Thank you! I hope your June is fantabulous yourself! πŸ™‚ And aww, you sweet thing. ^_^ I love hearing from you of course but I don't want you to be sad about it! *huggles* I too have been woefully infrequent in commenting on YOUR blog… Whoops. We'll just have to call it even. πŸ˜€ That said THANK YOU FOR YOUR LOVELY COMMENTS AND I HOPE YOU'RE DOING WELL. ❀

      Like

  10. Pingback: Junishness {2016} | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

