April Showers (Ishness!)

May the Forth be with you.*

Just getting that out there…

*Which is what would happen if Twinkle became a Star Wars fan. (If you “understood that reference”, you get cookies. Likely from the Dark Side, but still cookies.)

ishness

April 2016

Anyway! An ishness post for you today! (Because I have internet again, which calls for a huge celebration. Namely blogging.)

Here’s what I was up to this last month…

Writing

I did not in fact attempt Camp NaNo, for which I’m proud of me. I could definitely not have survived that. To anyone who even attempted it: I applaud you.

CampAprilFoolFunny story: Since Camp starts on April Fool’s Day, I pulled a prank on the fam, dramatically entering a room and announcing “I have decided . . . to do Camp NaNo.” (After repeatedly telling them not to let me do it, and that I didn’t WANT to, and that it would be very bad if I did.) They fell for it, too, since it’s just the sort of insane thing I would do (deciding ON THE FIRST DAY to do Camp, even when I said I wasn’t going to). It was rather hilarious. Don’t worry, I promptly said “April Fool” as soon as the stares-of-horror and face-palming had put in appropriate cameos. Then we all had a good laugh.

But that’s for what I didn’t do. So what did I do, you ask?

I wrote 2,000 ish words during April, which some may call puny but, frankly, given the state of my writer’s block and how little I’ve written this year, I will gladly take. πŸ™‚

OHEbannerfinal2

IMcover3 That was a bit of The Other Half of Everything, wherein Teague and Meridian FINALLY (after, like, a whole page…) meet, ever so briefly… I must continue the scene sometime.

I also randomly wrote a scene of The Invisible Mask. Which likely no one remembers, given that the last time I wrote in it was like a year or three ago. Very random, I tell you. Quite mysterious. I don’t know what the writing life is coming to.

Snippets

IMsnippet

My poor Kenneth lad. ❀ And his day only gets worse! (If you think he gets a “quiet meal” then you’re as mistaken as Kenneth is.)

OHEsnippet

I’ve never written in first-person longer than a short story. I’ve discovered that unreliable narrators are fun. I adore being in Meridian’s brain. πŸ˜„

Blogging

Around here:

On my book blog:

I also went on a graphic-making spree, updating some of my blog things… What think ye? πŸ™‚ (Yes, you’re allowed to say you liked the old ones better; I’m just curious. ;))

I kind of got addicted to making graphics. I sometimes go overboard and then get it out of my system. πŸ˜›

blogbannernew

(Honestly not 100% sure about this first one… but it’ll have to do for now.)

RW7small

PageDreamerHeaderNew

(New header for my book blog, The Page Dreamer. I may or may not be hopelessly in love with its new look.)

PageDreamerButtonNew

LloydQuote4

libraryinthestars

Reading

So… I hardly read anything this month. But, to be fair, King’s Folly was ginormous, so. πŸ˜‰ I did at least love all the books I DID read, so that’s a plus. *nodnod*

Watching

I’ve been watching an old Western show called The Deputy. It’s a lot of fun. πŸ™‚ It’s about a Marshall named Simon Fry and his (reluctant and occasional) deputy, Clay McCord, both of whom are awesome and so much fun together. Because “buddy movies” are awesome especially when they annoy each other. πŸ˜‰ (Also, Clay looks a lot like Dean Winchester. Just sayin’.)

Life

  • You know how this post is called April Showers? Well it certainly rained a lot. And that leads to the next point…
  • The biggest “thing” that happened in April was not having internet in the second half of it, for over two weeks, largely due to said rain. I got it back yesterday. I’m super behind on internet things, for which I apologize!
  • I saw Toby Mac, Colton Dixon (yay!) and several other contemporary Christian music artists in concert together, which was a lot of fun!
  • I’m sure other stuff happened by my mind is blank as to what the nature of said stuff may have been. I should keep better notes. But really, April went by faster than it had any right to. Seriously! The nerve of that month! Sheesh.

May Plans

I’m a bit in shock that it’s May. Like, “Excuse me? WE ARE A THIRD OF THE WAY INTO THE YEAR THIS IS NOT OKAY” kind of shock.

May-ish plans include:

  • I have beta-reading to do. A LOT of beta-reading to do… Hopefully it will be fabulous and not involve as much procrastinating as usual.
  • I must review The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson, so watch for that. Spoiler: I loved it.
  • I’m going to be joining in the Paper Crowns blog tour for Mirriam Neal’s book Paper Crowns which I beta-read back in the day, LOVED, and is now available! (*cue squeeing*) Check out the giveaway and tour stops, because it will be going all month long!
  • I don’t know if I’ll get to see Captain America 3 or not but I’m very nervous/stressed about it. If I do see it, it will only be because Hawkeye and Bucky are the best of ever and I must watch every milisecond of film containing their precious selves. #TeamHawkeye #TeamBucky
  • I want to figure out what I’m doing in my writing life because it’s a mess, I tell you. Pretty much all of my stories have decided they hate life and/or me, for one reason or another.
  • I have lots of reading I want to do. ALL of the reading.
  • Of course, life is going to be so insanely busy this month that I have a feeling it’s going to take one look at all my plans, laugh in their face(s) and proceed to utterly destroy them like a hurricane passing by an innocent-bystander bowl full of rainbow confetti. But. You know. Such is life.

How about you? How was your April and what are your May plans? Tell me all! πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “April Showers (Ishness!)

  1. It took me a moment to get the joke . . . but then I got it. xD That would be amusing . . . (Also, a thought: would Howl know about the existence of Star Wars? And if he did/does, what would he think of it?)
    I love the snippets you posted!
    I also have a lot of beta-reading to do . . . I really should get to work on that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahaha, gotcha! πŸ˜„ (And… that is a good question. I’m not sure? I supposed he COULD but I dunno what he’d think of it. πŸ˜› I’m rereading HMC and suddenly noticed that when he tells Sophie “we can’t all be Mad Hatters” he’s making an Alice in Wonderland reference. Because he can. I LOVE IT.)

      Thank you so much! Glad you liked. ❀

      Good luck on your beta-ing! I feel you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. TWINKLE MAKING STAR WARS REFERENCES.
    I. AM. DEAD.

    You have internet baaaack!!!! *cue the flailing and squealing* THAT IS WONDERFUL NEWS.

    Writing 2k words is a fantastic feat and one you should be proud of! And obviously 2k words of AWESOME. THOSE SNIPPETS. THOSE SNIPPETS!!! *cue more flailing and squealing* Poor Kenneth! Trying to make decision for himself but knowing, deep down, it’s always Bremask doing it. xD GAH. I’ve missed them!
    AND MERIDIAN AND TEAGUE FIRST MEETING. I am in LOVE with Meridian’s narration. O____O Like TOTALLY IN LOVE. I love how she tries to be confident and convince herself it’s all good. Her unreliable narrations are perfect and hilarious and so sassy and I AM DEAD. KEEP WRITING THIS BOOK BECAUSE I NEEDS IT, PRECIOUS.

    I adore your graphic designs. Totally and completely adore! They so PWETTY. Your designs for The Page Dreamer are some of my favoritest things ever! *pets all the gorgeous things*

    I want to see Captain America: Civil War so BAAAD. But also…I’m completely and utterly terrified. But BUCKY. And HAWKEYE. And ALL MY BABIES. That movie is going to destroy me. Meep.

    Your last point is so me right now. I have all these huge plans and delusions of grandeur that they’ll get done this month, but I know life is going to whack them away and laugh at me. It’s already started and May just started! >.> But, as you said, such is life. We just gotta roll with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I COULDN’T RESIST! πŸ˜„

      Yesss, I’m so happy! πŸ™‚

      Aww, thank you so muuuch!!! That makes my day. ^_^ Heheh, Bremask’s probably secretly behind everything. πŸ˜› EEK I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE MERIDIAN!!!! Happiness.

      The Page Dreamer things are my favorites I’ve ever made, so I’m glad you have similar thoughts. πŸ˜‰

      I know, right?? -_- Whyyyyyy. But I kinda want to see them, so… I dunno.

      Exactly! Like, I’m not used to it being May 1st yet and we’re already 4 days in and I’ve gotten LESS than nothing done?? WHAT IS THIS.

      Anyways I hope you’ll have a MARVELOUS months and that you’ll get great things done even if life laughs at some of your plans. πŸ˜‰ THANKS FOR YOUR LOVELY COMMENT. ❀

      Like

  3. I KNOW LIKE HOW IS THIS YEAR TWO-THIRDS OF THE WAY IN SOMEONE MUST HAVE FIDDLED WITH A TIME-SPEEDING MACHINE OR SOMETHING. I seriously CANNOT wrap my mind around the fact that repeating the space of time since the beginning of January three times, and it will be 2017. Just… not possible. πŸ˜›

    I JUST WANT TO READ THE OTHER HALF OF EVERYTHING SO BAD YOU ARE SUCH A GOOD WRITER ADSJK. ❀

    My April was busy but fun. It HAILED — here in NEVADA where it hardly ever rains. o.o We were all shocked. And as it so happens, the storm dropped in at exactly the WRONG time… we had scheduled an outdoor party. Whoops. πŸ˜›

    Hope your May goes well! (Personally, I'm counting on you to discover the devious villain who has sped up time. :P)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It quite boggles the mind, yes! O_O (Oh my goodness, why must you bring up that surely-so-far-away year?? ACK. It’s surreal…)

      D’AAAW YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW MY DAY IS MADE BY THAT COMMENT. THANK YOU SO MUUUUCH. ❀

      Eek, hail? O_O That's distressing! Especially about the outdoor party… πŸ˜›

      Thank you! I hope your May is awesome as well! (And… well… my friend Christine has a theory about sped-up time… πŸ˜‰ I agree though, there’s definitely a plot. o.o)

      Thank you for your sweet comment, Emily! ^_^

      Like

  4. BUCKKYYYYY. Yup. He’s definitely the team I’m rooting for in Civil War. xD I’m excited to see more Hawkeye in this movie as well, also Wanda. πŸ˜€ *flails because I’m seeing it TOMORROW and I can’t HANDLE IT AHHHH*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bucky forever!!! You obviously have the correct notion of who to root for. πŸ˜‰ Yessss Hawkeye too! Wanda will be interesting, methinks… OH MY GOODNESS AWESOME I HOPE YOU WILL LIKE IT. I don’t know when I’m seeing it but ACK. *collapses*

      Like

        • Haha, awesome! πŸ˜„ The thing is everyone is “supposed” to pick either Team Captain America or Team Iron Man, and I’m just like wanting them all to be friends and mainly care about a couple of the more minor characters. It’s all a mess, and yes, I’d imagine it’s amusing/interesting to watch us all flailing around. πŸ˜„ You’re definitely better off not knowing. πŸ˜›

          Like

  5. *stares at the Stars Wars thing* *squints one eye* … nope, still don’t get it :D.

    Haha, I SO love your April Fools day joke :D. That was really good!

    You wrote more of TOHOE!!! Hurray!! *hurries to read snippets* It’s so cool that TOHOE is first person, I love first person stories :).

    Love the new graphics you made for your blog! Though I don’t know which I think is better, the old or the new. They’re both great :). And also, the new graphics you made for The Page Dreamer are IN-CREDIBLE. I LOVE THEM SO MUCH!!! Seriously, I could stare at them for hours :D.

    My biggest May plan is to finish the first round of edits for the novella I’m working on, and possibly (POSSIBLY) start a public blog. The latter is very iffy, the first WILL ABSOLUTELY HAPPEN. Because I have procrastinated too long :D.

    Liked by 1 person

    • May the 4th is the unofficial Star Wars day because it sounds like “May the force”… ish, but the twist I made on it wouldn’t be understood by anyone who hasn’t read House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones (which is a sequel to Howl’s Moving Castle which is like my favorite book of ever). In House of Many Ways, there’s a character named Twinkle who talks with a lisp, so if he were to say “force” it would come out like “forth” anyway… so it’s perfect for saying “May the Fourth be with you”. πŸ˜€ …Long explanation. πŸ˜›

      Yay, thanks! Glad you’re excited about my writing — that makes my day! ❀

      D'aww, that makes me happy! (I'm kind of guilty of staring at them for hours too… o.o)

      EEEP IF YOU GET A BLOG YOU DEFINITELY MUST LET ME KNOW SO I CAN READ IIIIIT! πŸ˜€ Best of luck on your May things, especially editing!! ^_^ YOU CAN DO IT! Hope you have a lovely May! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I have a feeling Howl would be a Star Wars fan… but he’d pretend he didn’t care, secretly, inside, he’d be geeking out anytime Star Wars came up.

    LOL

    I am so sorry you lost internet for so long! That is not cool. Though, maybe kind of relaxing, as well? I dunno. Sometimes I wish our internet would break for a bit… πŸ™‚

    Your snippets are awesome, as usual, and I really want to read more about Meridian. Unreliable narrators are fun and intriguing!

    I’m hoping to go see Avengers 2.5… I mean… Cap 3… later this month! Excited!!!!

    And I love all your new graphics! They’re so pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is… entirely possible. πŸ˜„ Just the idea of Howl being a (secret) Star Wars fan is giving me fits of giggles… (But it IS true that he usually pretends he doesn’t care about things, so. ;))

      Yeah, it was a little relaxing, but mostly I was worried about the stuff I was missing, so I would check the internet on my brother’s phone… so it was like all the stress without the benefit of relaxing, since all sorts of things I had to deal with kept coming up and I couldn’t deal with them as well. πŸ˜› But still, I guess it was a little nice, in a way…

      Aww, thank you! And I’m glad Meridian interests you… It is fun!

      Avengers 2.5 — YEP, pretty much! πŸ˜„

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Pingback: Jenelle Schmidt Just an April Fool

  8. It sounds like you had a good month! I read Songkeeper too and enjoyed it. πŸ™‚ I also did Camp NaNo and I just saw Civil War. It was so good! I hurt me emotionally but it was so good. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nice April Fools joke you pulled! πŸ˜‰
    I like all your new graphics! Wish I was more talented in that area.
    Sounds like you got a lot done this month. πŸ™‚
    April was crazy for me; some unexpected things happened. I wrote an April summary post about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Agh how did the year get so far in. 😱 😱 *SCREAMS* I AM NOT READY FOR MIDYEAR. Ahem. Also May is being INSANELY busy for me too. Bleh. I just want to curl up with a book permanently. hehe. Ohhh, but yay for getting some writing done despite your writers block! THAT IS GOOD NEWS. And huzzah for tricking your family. πŸ˜‚ That sounds hilarious. Honestly my family wouldn’t even blink at that…they don’t even blink when I write a book in like 4 days. Hmph. I need to do something more surprising CLEARLY.

    I’M TOO NERVOUS TO WATCH CAPTAIN AMERICA 3. I WILL NOT. I DON’T WANT THE PRECIOUS CHILDREN TO BE FIGHTING.

    I love your new headers and graphics!! πŸ˜€ THEY ARE PRETTY. 😍 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • JUST WHAT EVEN, YEAR?? o_o Ahem. Sorry your May’s been so busy — that’s dreadful. :-/ Eheh, clearly your family is used to your oddness. πŸ˜„ Good for them, I say!

      I KNOWWWWW YOU’RE SO RIGHT AND THE PRECIOUS CHILDREN SHOULD HUG AND GO OUT FOR TEA TOGETHER.

      Eeep, thank you so much, Cait! πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Pingback: In the Merry Month of May… {2016} Ishness | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

