Nov. Ishness (Part 1) & Dec. Nightstand Books

In which I talk about November without the writing part, and lots and lots of BOOOKS.

ishness

So, I was working on my Ishness post, and realized I had finished the NON-writerly/non-NaNo part of it and was avoiding the NaNo stuff because it’s sooo confusing and complicated and insane and… yes. Plus it’s probably going to be long.

So I decided, Hey! Why not just post this part as Part 1, along with my December Nightstand books, and do the writerly NaNo part later?

(I WILL do it, I promise. My brain just… doesn’t want to think of writerly things right now. *collapses and wraps up in a shock blanket*)

I know what you’re thinking. “Waiiiit a minute, this person managed to do things during NaNo that WEREN’T writing?? HOW EVEN.” I know, I know. But, strangely, it did happen. So here are some highlights of my month, with pictures because I happen to love pictures.

During November, besides writing, I also managed to…

Go to a library sale.

BOOKSNOV2015

archersgoonRead a book (huzzah!), namely Archer’s Goon by Diana Wynne Jones. It was fabulous and mind-boggling and I adored it. It effortlessly blends past, present, future, ordinary contemporary, fantasy, and sci-fi, of which I have NEVER seen the like. Also the characters are in a constant state of changing around in the eyes of the reader: who’s good, who’s bad, who has devious intents, WHO IS UP TO WHAT AND WHAT ON EARTH OR POSSIBLY OFF OF IT IS GOING ON??? O_O Basically it broke my brain, mixed impossible things together extraordinarily well, had mind-blowing plot twists (SERIOUS. PLOT. TWISTS. WOW. *flail*) and was exciting and breathtaking and downright HILARIOUS! Just. Gaaah. Let me flail. All Diana Wynne Jones books are brilliant. I just love them so much. ❀

sixofcrows

Started reading Six of Crows because it was at the library and gorgeous and new and I needed it.

writein

Survived being an ML, i.e. doing lots of organizing, posting, emailing, and going to oodles of NaNo events. (If you’re looking for my introvert self, it’s rocking back and forth in a corner, feeling rather shriveled and glad to be back after so much excitement and fun…)

Caught a cold. Yay. (NaNo-ing when one is sick is NOT fun; I do not recommend it.)

Had Thanksgiving which was wonderful and foodish.

It’s gone. Because I ate it all. Because Thanksgiving piiiie. Nomnom.

Blogged a lot. Because I made the mistake of thinking I wouldn’t want to blog during November and so I scheduled posts… and then ended up writing at least a post every week anyway. Oops. πŸ˜›

castle6

Watched some Castle episodes between writing — good reward! (I think Leverage has spoiled me for other shows… buuut ’twas still enjoyable!)

mockingjay2poster

Saw Mockingjay: Part 2, which, considering I haven’t read the books, was… interesting. (Still not sure what I think of it… I have this odd “meh” feeling that I can’t seem to sort out…) Also, FYI, going to a movie at 10 p.m. after a writing meeting when one is behind on wordcount and has a cold (and therefore going to bed at 1 a.m.) is kind of nuts, as I have now discovered. Don’t try this at home, folks.

So there are my non-writing Ishnesses of November!

December Nightstand Books

Nightstand books is a monthly meme held by Jenelle and D.J. — hop over and join in the fun! This is the last one of the year, and as I’m simply ecstatic about being able to read again now that NaNo’s insanity is over, I just can’t resist joining in this one.

I’m not sure I’ll get to all of these but they’re the ones I want to read this month:

nightstandbooksdec2015

Book of Christmas Carols: Cute collection of Christmasy songs I picked up at a library sale, this was fun to read. ^_^

Six of Crows: Um. Aslkdhadkgh. I kind of finished this one. I don’t know what I think of it except it’s totally addicting/immersing, I love heists and snarky dialog and KAZ, it’s super dark/gritty/violent (um. Wow. o.o Lost a star…), and I need the sequel LAST WEEK ALREADY. Unfortunately, it’ll probably be like a year till it comes out. I’ll just be over here dying of suspense because CLIFFHANGER noooo. (Seriously, HOW can it end that way?! *wailing*) *huggles Kaz even though he would quite literally murder me for it* 4 stars.

Skulduggery Pleasant: Scepter of the Ancients: Soo… this was weird, and adventures of a skeleton detective in a modern fantasy (Dublin, Ireland!) setting doesn’t really sound like my thing, buuut I gave this a try because I’d heard it’s hilarious with witty dialog/banter and just GIVE ME ALL THE HUMOR AND FUN DIALOG. So yes. I adored the dialog and it’s quite a fun story, a little weird at times but… *shrug* Lots of fun. And I kind of love Skulduggery a lot. 4 stars.

The Hunger Games Trilogy: I dunno if I’ll get to these but I’m vaguely contemplating reading the books now I’ve seen the movies… I’m not sure I want to inflict 1171 pages of dystopia on myself though, so we’ll see. πŸ˜›

Aaand ebooks, which sadly do not display themselves nicely on nightstands…

ebookstoreadDec2015

The Sunken Realm: I’m reading this for review and I’m SO EXCITED to get to read the sequel to The Seahorse Legacy! I basically can’t wait. Keep an eye out for a review hopefully this month…

The Poisoned Cure: I finally got this and am insanely excited to read it. *flail* For better or worse, I seem to be addicted to the Book of Sight series…

Yorien’s Hand: Because dragons! And ARCs! And yay!

Rising Shadows: Looking forward to reading this prequel to Chasing Shadows…

Heidel: Third of the Nine Princesses novellas, I finally read this! I’m giving it 4 stars… The first part I wasn’t so sure about and didn’t know if I’d like it, but it turned out quite enjoyable/adorable. πŸ™‚

***

Oh, and while I’m thinking about books (who am I kidding; I’m ALWAYS thinking about books…) — here’s a couple additions to last week’s Top Ten Tuesdays post. Because naturally covers like to appear just days after I showcase the books I want to read in 2016…

Cover for A Spy’s Devotion (ISN’T IT GORGEOUS I’M EVEN MORE EXCITED NOW AAHHH)

Aaaand cover for Songkeeper, sequel to Orphan’s Song by Gillian Bronte Adams, which Enclave Publishing just revealed the cover of and which I’m insanely excited about because apparently it’s coming in Spring 2016 AND MY EXCITEMENT KNOWS NO BOUNDS.

I will be back with tales of my NaNo writing, hopefully soonish!

26 thoughts on “Nov. Ishness (Part 1) & Dec. Nightstand Books

  1. I definitely sympathize about NaNoing with a cold. It happens to me pretty much every year. πŸ˜›
    Also: PIE. Best part of Thanksgiving, definitely.
    I think I shall have to look up Skulduggery Pleasant.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmmm, pie. Now I want pie.

    Wow, and people think I read a lot! πŸ™‚ Your nightstand stack is truly awesome! (I may be a little biased since Yorien’s Hand is on it… buuuuuut….. heeheeheehee)

    Wow, you did a lot in November! I’m sorry you caught a cold, that’s no fun at all. Colds are the worst.

    I am with you on the Hunger Games… kind of “meh – eh… whatevs.” The thing is, 1) they are really, really quick/short reads, very easy. If you pick them up, that 1171 pages will not take you long and you will fly through them. But on the other hand, 2) be prepared to read the exact same plot 3 times in a row… because Suzanne only had one idea.

    I appreciate the discussion-ability of the books. I wish the author had done some things differently… I think they had the potential to be quite powerful. But she didn’t, and therefore they just weren’t. But then, so far the only dystopian book I have ever really liked so far is The Giver, and nothing comes close to that one. If you read them, I’d love your take on them… because books and discussions, and discussing books. It’s my favorite. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES PIE! πŸ˜€ (Sorry. :P)

      Well… it’s what I WANT to read anyway… I have been known to be a little over-ambitious when it comes to reading goals. πŸ˜‰ (And bias in favor of Yorien’s Hand is totally understandable! XD)

      Oh really? What sort of differently? And yes, I imagine they’ll be quick reads despite the length. πŸ˜‰ I may come up with some discussions if I do read ’em — you’re right, discussions are fun! I just… am not a fan of dystopians. >.>

      Like

      • Yeah, dystopias are not my favorite either. The thing I wish she had done differently was that I wished one of her main themes or points would have been, “This is what happens in a culture that devalues children or the lives of children.” (Again, The Giver influences me heavily when it comes to what I want out of a dystopian novel)… but she didn’t. It’s not that she didn’t have good themes… but that one could have been so powerful, and it’s like she didn’t even notice it.

        Discussions! Yay! (I think one of the reasons I was drawn to being an English teacher was because it’s a whole career that sort of centers on having discussions about books). Of course… then there’s all the pesky grading, which sort of dulls the shine of getting to discuss books…. but still… fun stuff. (Of course, I was blessed with students who wanted to discuss the books and enjoyed the books I picked, and I had the ability to create my own curriculum, so we only read books I like (except for a Tale of Two Cities… horrible, horrible book (I’m the only English major I know who has no appreciation for Charles Dickens))). (Parenthetical statements inside parenthetical statements are my faaaaaavorite) πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. PIE. Give me all the pie! *takes it and gobbles it all up* It’s basically all I ate during Thanksgiving. XD (You know, besides all the turkey, green beans, corn, potatoes, and rolls…)

    Also, YAY MORE BOOKS!!! Because I obviously need more books. Never mind the fact that my to-be-read pile is the size of a skyscraper. (But seriously, who can resist adding another beautimous book to their shelves???)

    OH MY GOODNESS THE COVER FOR A SPY’S DEVOTION HAS BEEN RELEASED AND IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL! *flails* I’m seriously even more excited now. It’s just so gorgeous!! GAH I NEEDETH IT RIGHT NOW WHEN WILL IT BE FEBRUARY.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same. XD (And I had all of those foods for Thanksgiving too! Except green beans… but I have them a lot anyway. :P)

      YES MORE BOOKS. Heehee. I totally agree with your sentiments on being unable to resist… though having an entire book case stuffed full of stuff to read is maybe a bit excessive for a skyscraper TBR pile… *cough*guilty*cough* πŸ˜‰ BUT YES BOOKS.

      I knooooow! *flails around* It’s so gorgeous and I can’t wait!! I need it to be February! (And May because of Captain America 3…) BASICALLY I NEED A TIME MACHINE. XD

      Like

  4. November was so crazy! *collapses* And NaNo definitely merits its own blog post. So much craziness. o.o

    I need all these books. Like…all of them. Especially the Diana Wynne Jones one because duh. But I never see her books ANYWHERE. I don’t know why, but I can’t find them! *flails* I may just have to break down and order some online or something. Because it’s KILLING me I haven’t read any of her other stuff.

    I love how you said Leverage spoils other shows. It’s so true. xD

    I’ve been so curious about the Skulduggery books. I really must give them a try. I quite like bizarre, funny books.

    Hunger Gaaaames. *pets books* Like Janelle said, they’re super, super quick reads. Probably the quickest reads I’ve ever come across. Honestly, sometimes I wished the pacing had been slower. So I doubt they’ll take you long. BUT don’t make yourself read them if you don’t want to. They’re just books. It won’t be the end of the world if you don’t read them. *nods*

    Your whole list of books is so scrumptious! ❀

    I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT SONGKEEPER!!!! I've been waiting and waiting to hear about the next book. AND DAT COVER. *drooooools* IT'S SO AWESOME. I can't waaaait!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was indeed! O_O I’m still procrastinating over it… my brain is just like noooo mooore writiiiiing. XD

      Aww, that’s so sad! D: I hope you’ll be able to find some Diana Wynne Jones books, but you’re right, they are sadly kind of hard to find. 😦 IT’S TRAGIC.

      LEVERAGE IS JUST THE BEST.

      Yeah… Skulduggery’s weird, but funny, so you might like it. πŸ™‚ I feel like it miiight be too weird for you? But sometimes you surprise me, so. XD

      Yes, I’m sure I’ll find them quick reads. Thanks for your thoughts as well! I… am thinking I might put off reading them for awhile, actually… I have so much else I want to read this month and I’m not sure I’ll get around to it. Thank you for reminding me it won’t be the end of the world… sometimes I need that reminder! πŸ˜‰

      I KNOW RIGHT AAAAAAAAHHH I’M SO EXCITED FOR SONGKEEPER AND I’M GLAD YOU ARE TOO! *flails around*

      Like

  5. Archer’s Goon is on my list, I really want to read it now. I am reading Six of Crows too right now, I loved what I have read so far. Thanks for the recommendation of Skulduggery Pleasant, I have heard good things about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Archer’s Goon is SO good! It may be my favorite DWJ after Howl’s Moving Castle… and The Pinhoe Egg… and The Crown of Dalemark… (But those last two are the end of series… and Archer’s Goon stands alone. XD AND IS JUST BRILLIANT!)
      Aaaahh, really?? Awesome! Six of Crows is soooo intense. o.o I’m glad you’re enjoying it! πŸ˜€
      And… yeah, Skulduggery just sounds like something you might enjoy. ^_^

      Like

    • Indeed it is. πŸ˜€ PIE!
      AAAHHH YAY! *dances with you* Yeah, I saw you had read it — that’s awesome! It’s super intense but I got really immersed, you know? o.o The characters are kind of addicting too…
      Okay! I will hopefully get on that! πŸ˜‰ Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. AHH SO MANY BOOKS. And Kaz!! *Flails* I really loved how dark and gritty it was but hehe, I’m an evil little pumpkin. OMG. I AGREE!! LEVERAGE HAS RUINED ME FOR EVERYTHING. XD Nothing can quite meet up to the intense wonderfulness. :’) (Except for Supernatural, but I’m having a heartattack because apparently they haven’t signed for another season so…idek. I need to cry.)
    AHH I’M GLAD YOU LOVE SKULDUGGERY. I didn’t really think they’d be for me either but oh. my. gawsh. HECK YES. They are so funny. That’s the kind of banter I can get behind…so deadpan. πŸ˜‰ #writinggoals

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well you ALWAYS like the dark & gritty, so that’s no surprise. XD KAZ AND THE BOOK AND AND AND *flails* It’s just… so intense. o.o *huggles it*
      LEVERAGE IS THE BEST! I’m glad you understand. πŸ˜‰
      Oh nooooo! D: *emergency-huggles you* I’m sorry! I hope there’ll be another Supernatural season for you! But… why wouldn’t there be, isn’t it like the most popular thing ever? SURELY THEY’LL CONTINUE IT! O_O
      YESSSS SKULDUGGERY. ❀ I have you to thank for that recommendation, so THANK YOU! Honestly, I've started wanting to read basically anything that's funny/with banter. GIVE ME ALL THE FUNNY BANTER YESSS.

      Like

  7. Congrats for surviving NaNo as a ML AND a writer! Hats off to you πŸ˜‰

    THAT’S A LOT OF BOOKS!! And love the Dean/Pie gifs, lol. Between him and Ned on Pushing Daisies, I basically associate pie with men on tv.

    Just think, I read the ADVANCED READER’S COPY of Six of Crows. While that was awesome, the waiting – not so much. And I still need to watch Leverage, but I’m sort of working through a Death Note obsession right now . . . ahem

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      Yes it is. o.o I’m a bookaholic, what can I say. XD
      Hmm, haven’t heard of Pushing Daisies, but I haven’t even SEEN Supernatural and yet I still associate pie with Dean. *giggle*
      AAHH YOU LUCKY DOG! *flails* But… yes, more waiting. I see what you mean. *nodnod* You poor darling. We’ll just have to wait out the suspense together… You MUST see Leverage, yes! I haven’t heard of Death Note and now intend to look it up. XD

      Like

  8. Oh, other shows you might enjoy because you love Leverage and Ellioooooot! White Collar: Peter and Neal are awesome! Blue Bloods – just because it’s so different from any other crime drama. They’re not the same as Leverage, but I loves them… differently, of course, but I loves them.

    Also, I tagged you in the One Lovely Blog game. You don’t have to do it, of course, but if you’re low on blog post ideas like I was…. πŸ™‚ http://jenelleschmidt.com/one-lovely-blog-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t heard of Blue Bloods, but people keep TELLING me I should watch White Collar and I just can’t get hold of it! *flails* I want to try it out sometime if I can. Thanks for the recommendations and the tag! πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Hi Deborah, I’ve been hanging around your blog for awhile, and have only just gotten around to (finally) leaving a comment :).
    That shock blanket GIF cracks me up every time I see it :D.
    *looks at picture of all the books* *drools* My word, you hit quite a jackpot at that library sale!
    I wanted to do NaNo this year, but wasn’t able to :(. Hopefully next year, for I must join in all of this NaNoWriMo-ness!
    Pie is definitely the best part of the Thanksgiving meal. *nods*
    AAAH, THOSE TWO COVERS! A Spy’s Devotion is absolutely gorgeous, and I love the cover for Songkeeper!
    I am excited to hear of your NaNo adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaah, hi! Well thanks for commenting, it made my day! ^_^
      I’m quite fond of that gif… πŸ˜›
      Yes, it’s the best library sale I ever went to. o.o
      Aww, that’s too bad. But YES, you must try next year, because NaNo is awesome! πŸ˜€
      YAY PIE!
      Covers just make me so incredibly excited, especially gorgeous ones… πŸ˜‰
      Aww, thanks! I will… get on that… XD

      Like

  10. Pingback: Christmas-y Tag | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

