NaNoWriMo, My Dear Watson

In which Sherlock Holmes helps us understand NaNoWriMo

Today I’m employing the help of a certain consulting detective (or… two) to give you the experience of doing NaNoWriMo, in a nutshell.

It’s going to be fun. Do you think it’s going to be fun? Do you know how fun it’s going to be?

What is NaNo like?

Nothing much.

I’m just going to write an entire novel of 50,000 words in 30 days.

. . .

nopressure

Day 1:

LET’S DO THIS THING!

(Because apparently Sherlock Holmes takes off his scarf? What does this mean, you ask? We’re going to go with it meaning “let’s do this thing.” Yeah.)

Day 2:

Random bystander: What are you…?

Me: Go away, I’m writing.

Day 4:

Waiiiiit a minute . . .

IsItNovember

Day 6:

MY NOVEL IS AWESOME.

Day 8:

A week down! …I’m done now, right?

Day 10:

What am I doing. Why am I writing a novel? How is it November?? I’M WRITING A NOVEL? IS IT REALLY NOVEMBER?

Day 12:

I’m a writer. I CAN DO THIIIIS.

Day 14:

Day 15:

Halfway through. 25k down, 25k to go.


Day 16:

Plot. I need… plot… Villains… motivation… obstacles? Plottish… things.

Day 18:

Wut r wurds…?

Day 20:

I don’t want to write anymore! All I want do is read a book!

Day 22:

…And hide behind lots of caffeine.

Day 24:

Me: I hate you, novel.

Novel:

Day 26:

Inner Editor: Your writing stinks.

Me:

Inner Editor: Seriously, though . . .

Me:

Day 28:

Smart writers with good advice: Just write the words! You can always edit later!

Me: NOOO! I CAAAN’T! FIX AAAALL THE PUNCTUATION!

Day 29:

WRITE ALL THE WORDS AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH

sherlocknano

Day 30:

NaNo site: Congratulations, you have reached 50,000 words and won NaNoWriMo.

Me:


But if you really want NaNo in a nutshell…

It’s a mix of this:

(That’s abject horror and resigned despair, in case you were wondering…)

and this:

(of course replacing “four serial suicides and now a note” with “NaNoWriMo”… ;))

So. The real point of this post?

It’s NaNo!

Do you have your laptop? Are you ready to write?

Well then.

I repeat: IT’S NANOWRIMO.

Let the games begin.

28 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, My Dear Watson

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo, My Dear Watson | Writing Journey

  2. OH MY WORD THIS IS THE MOST PERFECT, ACCURATE POST THAT HAS EVER BEEN POSTED IN THE HISTORY OF POSTS.
    THIS. IS. EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!
    JUST JUST YES.

    I just want to comment on ALL the gifs and tell you how accurate they are, but, of course, you already know that. BUT SERIOUSLY. THESE GIFS.

    BUT DAY 18! “Wut r wurds…?” With that GIF!!! I literally had to stop scrolling and try to calm myself down because I was laughing so hard.

    IT’S ALL SO TRUUUUE. This was everything. Just everything.
    THANK YOU FOR THIS PERFECT POST.

    I guess I should get off the internet and continue writing… Sherlock’s orders after all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AAHHH THANKS I’M SO GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT. ^_^

      Heehee, I had wayyyy too much fun gathering those gifs and putting this post together. πŸ˜„

      Yesss, that words gif was just perfect for NaNo and I know I had to include it. πŸ˜›
      YOU’RE SO WELCOME THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR NICE COMMENT. ❀

      Yesyesyes write the wordsss! πŸ˜€ (Not that you need to… O_O *stares in awe at your 13k in 2 days* YOU AMAZIIIIING!!!)

      Like

  3. Pingback: 10 NaNoWriMo Survival Tips | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

