Flailing/Panic/Denial/Cupcakes

ccake

Helloooo blogosphere people…

I was going to have a book review post up today, but, PLOT TWIST: I haven’t read the book yet! Heh. Heheh. I’ve had no time to read this month, it’s crazy…

So, instead, you get a flailing-around post of a sort of update of what I’m doing just now.

Because we’re in the last week of NaNo prep. And as everyone knows, the three stages of NaNo prep are: Flailing, Panic, and Denial. I don’t know what order they go in, as I appear to be doing all three of them at once…? So there’s that. (I don’t actually know if those are actually the three stages, but we’re just going to pretend I know what I’m talking about.)

Anyways! What I’m up to.

Firstly, I’m at a cupcake place. Why? Well, because cupcakes. (Do we need another reason?) But actually, it’s because there is internet here and my internet has gone ka-boom due to storms. YAY. *insert heavy sarcasm here*

I happen to be internet-less right when it’s almost the start of NaNo, which is causing extreme doses of panic ’round this here brain of mine (especially as I’m supposed to be being a good ML and all that which largely involves… you guessed it… INTERNET).

Secondly:

SilverForestCoverFinalI’m also panicking about NANO PLANNING. Or rather, lack thereof. I need to have my novel plotted BEFORE November 1st at midnight hits, otherwise I’m basically doomed. So I’m currently flailing around trying to untangle all the gajillions of plot threads and character arcs that is supposed to make up my Twelve Dancing Princesses NaNo retelling. Who knew that there would be so much complicatedness?

Kingdoms being taken over + complicated curse including my favorite character slowly dying + dancing princesses mystery + a dash of timey-wimey because why not + four or five or a dozen romances + a thief running around trying to steal the story + 32 characters to keep track of = confusing complicated mess.

If I can actually plot/survive this, it’s going to be the awesomest thing ever.

I say “if”.

(…RIP me…)

Thirdly:

(Pinterest)

(Pinterest)

Oh yeah, and I’m ALSO panicking (noticing a theme here…?) over my so-called possible Rooglewood contest entry, that old Sleeping Beauty retelling I mention sometimes, The Rose and the Raven. Because I’ve written 5k, which means on the plus side that I’m theoretically a quarter done. But on the MINUS side (we’re talking 40-below, here… Brrrr. *shivers*) it means that I still have give or take 15,000 words left, plus who knows how much extra, plot-wise (meep), AND all of this right before NaNo; i.e. I don’t have time to write it before (unless I decide to be utterly insane), I don’t really want to write it DURING since I’d be liable to mix up my two fairytale-retellings-with-dash-of-romance-and-princes-and-princesses-and-faes-and-with-strong-emphasis-on-fairytale-curse stories, which would be bad, and after NaNo I’ll likely be too dead to write it, and/or not have time. So there’s that. πŸ˜‰ I’ll just sit here in polite denial and ignore all of this, because that’s how I roll.

Oh yeah. And I also may also kinda-sorta-maybe-possibly be camping-ish. Just another plot-twist in there. Because who needs sanity? NOT ME. HA. HAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAA. *spirals into insane manic laughter* (Ahem. >.> That wasn’t me, in case you were wondering…)

WE MUSTN’T PANIC

WE MUSTN’T PANIC

Basically, it’s NaNo in 4 days, 8 hours, 6 minutes, 10 seconds (less, now that you’re reading this…), I’m insanely busy, have no internet, am not even remotely close to ready for said NaNo in less than 4 and a half days, and I’m doing a lot of flailing, panicking, and denialing (totally a thing).

If I’m not around, you will know why. πŸ˜„

If you are in much the same boat as I, I wish you the best of luck with your NaNo prep and/or other busy madness. (And if you are all prepared, congratulations: you are a step above us poor mortals and I bow to your superior planning/time-management skills.)

WE CAN DO THIS! (?)

Tip: Cupcakes help. Because cupcakes.

…To be continued…

31 thoughts on “Flailing/Panic/Denial/Cupcakes

  1. Cupcakes should definitely help … (I think?) Sounds delicious anyway! πŸ˜€

    Best wishes, Deborah!! Don’t freak out!! You can do it!!! The Silver Forest sounds wonderful and that mock cover is so pretty!! EEP! You must write it! πŸ˜‰

    God’s blessings! Eat lots of chocolate and write, write, write! ❀ (You like chocolate, right? I don't understand how someone can NOT like chocolate, haha.) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Shantelle! ^_^ I’m going to try!
      (And yes, I looove chocolate! πŸ™‚ I know a few people that don’t, but yes, it’s hard to imagine. XD)
      YOU’RE THE SWEETEST THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT. ❀

      Like

  2. Oh, good, I’m NOT the only one on this boat.
    Well. I suppose my boat is slightly different, as it consists more of “I STILL haven’t planned anything for NaNo yet, I’m barely ahead on schoolwork (or, in some things, I’m slightly behind . . .), I’m supposed to be looking at and applying for scholarships because college for some reason costs money, I really want to finish the next few scenes of Monster in the Castle before NaNo, and I have seven-ish library books that I really need to read before I have to return them. And did I mention I haven’t planned anything?” But still. Glad I’m not alone.
    . . . I probably should not be on the internet right now but I just finished drafting a magnificently long essay (ok, fine; five pages is not “magnificently long”, particularly compared to NaNoWriMo, but it was a research essay on creation, evolution, and the importance thereof, and the longest nonfiction thing I’ve ever written and very hard to get through) and do not particularly want to plot or write more just now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely not alone. Wow, you have a lot going! o.o I hope that’ll all go well for you! Good luck on your NaNo, I know you can do iiiit! πŸ™‚ (Yes, five pages is long for nonfiction, so I understand not wanting to plot/write more. ;))

      Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all, is that your laptop with all the NaNo stickers on it? EEEEE!!! THAT’S SO CUTE!

    Secondly (although this should be first because priorities), CUPCAKES!!! ❀ I absolutely HATE that your internet is out (seriously, could there be worse timing?) but going to a little cupcake shop with your laptop sounds so quaint and nice! ^_^

    Plot twist. Lolzy. Love it! I've had no time for reading either. It's the worst!

    Flailing, Panic, and Denial sound like the exact stages of NaNo-prep! xD And that order sounds about right. Although maybe the panic comes last? Because usually at the first of October I'm flailing around realizing I have to plot, then when NaNo nears I'm in denial (like right now) that it IS actually near, then on the last couple of days I'm in total panic mode because I realize NaNo IS actually near. But that's just how *I* handle things. xD

    But you're going to get through this, Celti. I promise you are! You're gong to have an absolute blast writing SF. It's your favorite fairytale after all! Don't forget that in the midst of all the panic. And look at all the awesomeness that's going to be in it! You're going to have fun, I know you are!

    Though you can panic a smidge because NANO IS IN 4-ish DAYS WUT????

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it is my laptop! I’m glad you think it’s cute. πŸ˜€
      CUPCAKES. So much delicious. ❀
      Yes, it was kind of nice, and not too far away, so if the internet is GOING to be out one may as well go for cupcakes. πŸ˜‰

      I know, right? O_O SO MUCH BUSY, NOT ENOUGH BOOKS.

      That sounds about right. You're smart about these things! πŸ˜€ I was just doing them all at once because I'm unorganized like that. πŸ˜„

      Aww, thank you so much! You're the best, you know that? ❀ Thanks for that (much needed) reminder that it's my favorite fairytale and that I should have fun with it. ^_^

      NOW WE CAN PANIC BECAUSE IT'S DAY 3 OF NANO AND WUT??? :O

      Like

  4. YEEES WE CAN DO IT!!!!! I almost ditched doing NaNo…it definitely can’t be my first priority in November. I have school, and important stuff that will determine the next four years of my life so yeah…it’ll be interesting. But I think I can do it. It helps that I’ve had my novel plotted for a couple months now and i’m working on world-building and fixing little kinks in the plot.
    I hope plotting goes well for you!!!! I’ll be praying for you. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES WE CAAAAN! I’m glad you’re not ditching NaNo — you can TOTALLY do it! GO GO GO! πŸ˜€ Wow, that’s great you have it all plotted! I hope your writing will go well!
      Thank you SO much!! ❀ I think I needed those prayers. πŸ˜‰ *hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I know you can do it! NaNo is not for the faint of heart, but you can make it through!(And produce a magnificent Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling in the process!) AND YESH. Cupcakes always help!!!!!!

    Okay, so I’m going to do something completely unheard of. I’m going to *gasp* introduce myself! My name is Mary, and I semi-recently found your blog and LOVE it and am sitting here grinning stupidly over your fantabulous blog posts. They’re just so frabjous and funny, and they make me smile ^_^ Sooo don’t me surprised if I keep popping in with nonsensical comments filled with all manner of flailing and squealing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’ve survived 5 NaNo’s so far, so hopefully I can make it through this one… CUPCAKES. ❀

      Eeep, hi and welcome and oh my goodness you made my DAY! ^_^ It's nice to "meet" you, Mary, and I'm SO happy you enjoy my blog! THANK YOU! ❀ (Also I adore flailing/squealing nonsensical comments. :D)

      Like

  6. I feel like you just described me… πŸ˜„ I also have some short story ideas that are weaseling their way into my brain and I JUST CAN’T HANDLE PLOT BUNNIES RIGHT NOW. *flails and drowns in the lake of panic* Best of luck to you! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Umm… I’m an ML (Municipal Liaison) for NaNo, which means I’m a local volunteer, one of whose jobs is to order NaNo stickers each year to hand out to Wrimos who come to events. πŸ™‚ Which, on the plus side, means I get one too. πŸ˜‰ So those are the NaNo stickers for ’13, ’14, and ’15. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like them!

      Like

    • THANKS.
      YES WE CAN.

      Haha, cool. πŸ˜„
      And it’s going well. πŸ™‚ As my third year, I’m doing a lot less panicking than the two previous times, since I have some experience now, but there’s still stuff to deal with so it’s busy, but also fun. πŸ™‚

      Have you been to any write-ins or met your own ML? (I don’t remember what region you live in. :D)

      Like

  7. Haha that chicken run reference. πŸ˜„ Loved that movie as a kid. I feel you about the internet. That happened to me last year in September. It was not a happy time. You can do it! Get that book planned! Best wishes for your project!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m flailing and panicking over here, too. But for entirely different reasons… because I am NOT adding Nano craziness to the rest of my life right now. LOL Best of luck on your writing and plans and all that, whatever you choose to focus on, I know it’ll be great!

    And if you can write 15,000 words in the next 2-3 days… well… I’m impressed and slightly envious. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally understand that! O_O I hope the moving and everything is going well! ❀ *hugs*
      Thank you so much!
      And… I didn't end up writing any of Rose and the Raven, so you may keep your impressed/envious feelings for another time. πŸ˜‰ I was camping instead. πŸ˜„

      Like

  9. I believe in you! You are up to the task.

    If you can write a dozen romances (or even three) in one book, you will deserve some sort of epic award. I tend to flail with one or two to manage (I’m all, “okay, fight some more, you can fall in love later”) Snarky sparring and adventuring are more my forte. My approach to romance tends to be like Captain Barbossa in PotC 3 . . .
    But anyhow, this is all distraction from the fact that I have zero prep work done (other than a Beautiful Books post and a measly Pinterest board), and NO MORE TIME TO STALL.
    So basically, I will flail, panic, and deny with you. Can I have a cupcake now?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Looking Forward, Looking Back (2016/2015) | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

