#WritersLife Tag: NaNo Edition

I wasn’t specifically tagged for this, but writerly stuff is pressing on my mind what with NaNo coming in less than a month (EXCUSE ME? HOW DID THIS HAPPEN??), and Cait did say to consider yourself tagged if you’re a writer, and she stole this herself, so… Yes. I’m just going to do this tag because I want to. πŸ˜‰ So I’m stealing it from Cait @ Paper Fury and using it for my own purposes. *devious laughter*

I’m NaNo-theming this #WritersLife tag because NaNo is coming sooner than any of us are going to be ready for it.

writerslifetag
WRITE FUEL:

WHAT DO YOU EAT/DRINK WHILE WRITING?

I actually don’t usually, because food is messy around laptops (ask my character Baz about the properties of Devious Mustard…) and I’m not really a snacker… I will sometimes drink hot tea or something during NaNo while I’m writing because, let’s face it, November can be cold sometimes, and if I’m going to be writing for like three hours in a day, I might want to drink something warm.

WRITE SOUNDS:

WHAT DO YOU LISTEN TO WHILE WRITING?

Generally instrumental music like soundtracks or Celtic music I have around… During NaNo it either has to be inspirational (i.e. sound gorgeous or epic) or it has to be REALLY fast for ideal typing speeds. I’ll listen to stuff with lyrics if I really like it and if it won’t distract me. I haven’t yet decided what my music of choice is going to be this NaNo, but last year when I was word-warring myself against a timer, I listened basically non-stop to this song which is stupendous for fast typing.

WRITE VICE:

WHAT’S YOUR MOST DEBILITATING DISTRACTION?

During NaNo, every. single. thing. that I can come up with. I’m a horrible procrastinator. But probably the internet. I know, that’s sooo surprising. But it only takes a minute to check email, the NaNo forums, Goodreads, etc., right? …Right? *hours later* “Oops, I should have been writing, now it’s bedtime.” #fail This year I’m going to have to set some serious rules about internet (even though I have super-good excuses like being an ML who should be keeping track of stuff. But I must write too!).

onedoesnotsimplywrite

WRITE HORROR:

WHAT’S THE WORST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED TO YOU WHILE WRITING?

When I lose some writing because I was stupid and didn’t back it up. Fortunately, that hasn’t happened TOO often… During NaNo, it’s being behind and feeling completely and utterly stuck, writers-blocked, and despairing. That’s generic, though. The worst thing that HAS happened is probably my first year of NaNo, when the final day dawned and I still had 8k left to write, absolutely no plot figured out, and no inspiration. (I overcame it though! Nearly five years later, I’m still amazed I managed to write 8k of utterly pantsed NaNo novel that day.)

WRITE JOY:

WHAT’S THE BEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED WHILE WRITING OR HOW DO YOU CELEBRATE SMALL VICTORIES?

The best thing is when you finish something. That never, ever gets old. But, during NaNo, it’s easily hitting the wordcount goal for the day and being super inspired/on a roll and ahead of schedule. Fabulous feelings! I don’t celebrate much, usually, other than being excited and maybe shouting it through the house or posting somewhere online to squeal about accomplishments. For big things, I might reward myself with some chocolate or reading a Diana Wynne Jones book or playing on Pinterest.

dianawynnejonesbook

WRITE CREW:

WHO DO YOU COMMUNICATE WITH OR NOT COMMUNICATE WITH WHILE WRITING?

My sister gets the main load of writing complaints and excitements. My lovely braintwin/writing buddy Christine, too, gets a lot of that. And during NaNo, there’s a wealth of forum places on the NaNo site to celebrate and commiserate, especially with people in your age-range, or genre, or region. So some of that goes on.

WRITE SECRET:

WHAT’S YOUR WRITING SECRET TO SUCCESS OR HIDDEN FLAW?

Secret to success during NaNo is setting a timer and word-warring against it to really fast music. It works. I only survived last NaNo (on a road trip) because of that. Because, wonder of wonders, if you actually start writing and write for 5 or 10 or 15 minutes, at the end of that, you WILL have words. And that’s going to add up. Who knew, right?

Hidden flaw? I’m a procrastinator, a perfectionist, and I don’t actually sit down and START writing during NaNo. …Not that those are all that hidden. *cough*

WRITE-SPIRATION:

WHAT ALWAYS MAKES YOU PRODUCTIVE?

I want to repeat the above writing secret. NaNo wordwars, either with yourself or someone else, are super productive-inducing.

WRITE PEEVE:

WHAT’S ONE THING WRITERS DO (OR YOU DO) THAT’S ANNOYING?

It’s really annoying when I don’t write. Like, when I say I’m going to write and I don’t. Or anytime during NaNo when I SHOULD be writing and am not…

(Thanks, Mal. I needed that…)

WRITE WORDS:

SHARE ONE SENTENCE FROM A PROJECT, PAST OR PRESENT.

Well, since I haven’t started my NaNo yet (obviously) I can’t NaNo-theme this answer…

R&RA line from The Rose and the Raven, my current Sleeping Beauty retelling project:

Whatever it was, it wrapped around his heartβ€”the feeling of an almost insubstantial web . . . the shadow of a black cloak, a whisper’s echo, a ripple in a midnight pool; an invisible spiderweb, greyed with ashes, clinging to him somewhere that he could not shake off.

I’m not tagging anyone, since I did after all “steal” this, but if you’d like to do it on your blog, feel free to take it as well, NaNo-themed or otherwise!

24 thoughts on “#WritersLife Tag: NaNo Edition

  1. TSFH music is great for writing. (Currently creeping myself out with their Halloween album… o.o) Ahhhh, a snippet from The Rose and the Raven! ❀ Love it!
    Best of luck with Nano this year! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all I must say how wonderful it is that you are an ML! And that I’m jealous. lol but good news is I will be able to help my ML this year and actually be involved in write-ins.
    Drinking tea is my favorite during Nano, although I am also a big snack person. πŸ˜€
    Omg I love Two Steps from Hell!!
    Also Nano wordwars <3!! They are the best! We'll have to do some together. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Word wars are awesome. So are wordcount crawls. We should totally war sometime during NaNo this year. *nods*
    I’m halfway tempted to steal this, but I’m already doing the Behind the Scenes Writing Tag, so IDK.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stealing my stealings. πŸ˜‰ WE ARE HEIST CHAMPIONS, CLEARLY. *hi fives* But this was so epic and I LOVED how you themed it with NaNo! Omg, NaNo is really close. 0_0 I mean, I think I’m ready?!?! I need to do some character plotting though, because I have an epic dragon book all set up plot wise and my characters are little stupid potatoes bobbing around with no feelings AND IT NEEDS WORK. *nods*
    Oh oh 8K is AMAZING!!! GO YOOOOOOU!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES I STOLE YOUR STEALINGS. Heist buddies. >:D *high fives back*
      Thank you!
      And yes, NaNo is too close for comfort. o.o
      EEEEK EPIC DRAGON BOOK SOUNDS EPIC! πŸ˜€ Good luck on your character figuring out! You’ll do AWESOME, I know! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. NaNo is coming too soon… o_O
    And I’m pretty sure the only way that I can get myself to write is if I can listen on my Pandora. Love Skyworld! πŸ˜€ Have you listened to Lindsey Stirling? I love writing to her!
    She has lots of faster songs that are perfect for action scenes. πŸ˜‰
    Also, I NEED to read your Sleeping Beauty retelling! Snippet was so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! It’s terrifying. πŸ˜„
      I JUST got a Pandora account and I’m so excited to try it out with my writing! πŸ™‚ Yes, I’ve listened to her a bit! I’ll have to keep that in mind for my playlists too! Thanks. πŸ™‚
      Aww, thanks! ^_^ I may have to take you up on that if I end up needing beta readers. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  6. NANO. LESS THAN A MONTH. HALP.

    This tag was so fun! And I love how you NaNo themed it.

    It’s so true that EVERYTHING is a distraction during NaNo. So many distraction. But the internet (especially the NaNo forums) is the worst. I have to set restrictions myself, usually getting a certain amount of words in before even being allowed to touch the internet. Otherwise no writing would ever get done. >.>

    Losing writing! Oh man. I’ve had that happen a few times and it the worst. thing. ever. I don’t think it’s ever happened during NaNo, but it has happened with other stories.

    That Diana Wynne Jones picture! SO PERFECT!!! ❀

    Awwww! I feel specials I was mentioned in this post. I'm pretty sure I'd go insane(r) if I didn't have you to rant and rave writing with.

    Did I ever tell you I tried your timer trick during the last stages of Burning Thorns when I was getting a little burnt out? It helped SO much. I suspect I'll be doing it a lot during NaNo. It's such a clever trick!

    CELTI. Celti! CELTI!!!
    That snippet.
    That R&R snippet.
    O____O
    Oh. My. Word.
    That was one of the most gorgeous things I've ever read.
    Just…just… :O
    KEEP WRITING THAT THING, GIRL. IT'S BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW, RIGHT??? O_O AAAAAAAAAHHHH.

      Yeah, I think I’m going to have to do that this year. It’s such a good idea, having a goal you have to hit before internetting!

      Glad you like the Diana Wynne Jones pic! πŸ˜€ (I… actually made it. πŸ˜„ So. :P)

      <3<3<3 I don't know what I'd do either! *flails*

      Oh really? That's so awesome! Glad the timer trick helped! πŸ™‚ Hope it'll help you for NaNo. πŸ˜€

      ….slaksjdfkjdflk Fank you. ❀ You da sweetest. It was my favorite line I'd written in it yet, so… there's that. The rest is not nearly so nice. πŸ˜„ But thank you! I'll… try to keep writing it. I want to!

      Like

  7. It’s cool seeing into your writing process! I like when these go around so I can see into how others write. ^ ^ Two Steps from Hell for the win! They are amazing! I took advantage of the huge sale they had a while back and bought 6 albums for only $20! And yes that Mal meme. That’s awesome. ^ ^ Happy NaNo to you!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great tag, Deborah!

    I’ve never participated in NaNo, but perhaps I will one day. πŸ˜› What are you going to be writing for NaNo?

    Devious Mustard? My, my, that Baz sounds more amusing every time I hear about him. πŸ˜„

    YESH. TSFH is so epic! I only found out about them a couple of months ago, but I’m glad I did! I just recently bought their newest album, Battlecry, on iTunes for half the price! ^_^ It’s my favorite album of theirs. In fact, I’m listening to TSFH right now (To Glory). What other soundtracks do you own?

    8k in one day? O_O

    Tracey and I usually bounce ideas off one another and chat about writing. It’s a lot of fun! πŸ˜€ And I can imagine it’d be fun to do that with Christine (she’s beta-read my Rooglewood entries.)

    Your sleeping Beauty story sounds awesome! Good luck with NaNo! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      You should try someday! NaNo’s a lot of fun… AND super productive. πŸ˜‰ I’m writing a fairytale retelling — Twelve Dancing Princesses. πŸ™‚

      Haha, “devious mustard” is one of Baz’s things. πŸ˜„ He’s convinced it gets on clothes on purpose…

      Awesome! They’re definitely great music. πŸ˜€ Actually, I only own the one song from them (Skyworld). Other than that, youtube is my friend. πŸ˜‰ But other soundtracks I own… whew, I kind of collect them, so kind of a lot. πŸ˜› Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit (all of them; I’m a sliiiight Tolkien nut… ;)) Pirates of the Caribbean, How to Train Your Dragon, Brave, Braveheart, Firefly, Serenity… and sometimes I borrow my little brother’s Star Wars I and II soundtracks. πŸ˜„

      …Yeah, the 8k in one day took me 12 hours, from 9am to 9pm, and I’m never ever doing it again. πŸ˜„ (But at least I managed it! ;)) The most I’ve done since then is I think 4k super spectacular days.

      Yay! That’s great that you are both writers and can bounce ideas off each other. πŸ™‚ Oh, really? Cool! Christine and Tracey are some of my bestest buds! ❀ I'm not sure if I knew you were doing a Rooglewood entry, but that's awesome! Hope that's going well for ya! πŸ˜€

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Yeah, I can imagine. I’ll probably try it one day. Oh, nice! That’s why there were all those princesses in your blogoversary post. πŸ˜›

        Man, I’d really to love to read your stories with Baz! They sound so awesome and hilarious. πŸ˜„

        YouTube is definitely great, but I also enjoy being able to listen to CDs. πŸ™‚ Nice! I own twenty soundtracks, including but not limited to: all four PotC movies, Star Wars Episode III, Guardians of the Galaxy, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag… the list goes on. I can rattle them all off in the order that I got them. πŸ˜„

        I can see why! Even 4k is a good amount. I probably don’t get close to that, but I wouldn’t know for sure, since I write on paper. The most I can remember is about five or six pages in one day.

        Yeah, it’s great! πŸ˜€ She talks about you and Christine the most out of all the Pack girls. πŸ˜‰ Thanks! I need to start editing… o_O I’m not very far over the limit, but still.

        You’re welcome! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, that’s why there were all the princesses. πŸ˜„

          Aww, thank you! ^_^ Actually, you’re welcome to beta-read them if you like! πŸ™‚ I could email what I’ve written to you; or you could ask Tracey for them since she should have them. πŸ˜‰ (Which reminds me that I’ve written a new chapter of the second one that she hasn’t read yet… XD) If you’d really like to read them, I’d absolutely love having more feedback!

          Yeah, I agree it’s nicer to have CDs than youtube. πŸ˜‰ Ooh, Star Wars III! I really want that one — the music was so good! I still haven’t seen Guardians of the Galaxy… it’s a problem. πŸ˜›

          I don’t usually get to 4k. πŸ˜‰ Yay for writing on paper! I used to all the time and I think I still like it better but I can just type SO much faster… Five or six pages sounds like a lot, actually!

          I feel so specials. πŸ˜€ Good luck on your edits, then! I’m only 4k into my entry; don’t know if I’ll finish or not, what with NaNo and all…

          Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

