Liebsterish Encore and Versatile Blogger Award

Firstly, I want to say — WOW, I love all the discussion that came out of my last post on books! That was fantastic. Thanks for weighing in in the comments, y’all! You are all so awesome, with such great thoughts, and discussing books is the BEST. ๐Ÿ˜€

Secondly, if you haven’t heard, Beyond the Mask just released on DVD!!! *cue excited squealing* I just rewatched it and alksdjflksjdlkj IT’S SO FABULOUS I LOVE IT SO MUCH. โค If you haven’t gotten a copy yet, you simply MUST. It’s such a wonderful movie, so much fun, so well done, so epic…! Masked-man, humor, 1700s, right before the Revolutionary War, John Rhys-Davies, fabulous acting, awesome costumes and sets, HUMOR, action, a touch of sweet romance, a theme of redemption, lovable characters, sheer epicness… WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE? It’s at bunches of Walmarts (at the moment), and, I hear, also Christian bookstores, and online. So go find it! Go go!

ISN’T IT SO PRETTY???

IMG_4325

Okay, now I got those important thoughts out of the way, onward to the actual post! It’s about time I caught up on some tags again… *rubs hands gleefully*

liebster-award-3

I was, once again, nominated for the Liebster Award, this time by Sara Letourneau — thank you, Sara!

I’ve done it before but thought it would be fun to answer the questions anyway.

Rules

Here are the rules, which I’m mostly ignoring today because I am lazy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But feel free to snag this tag for your own blog if you wish!

  1. Once you are nominated, make a post that thanks the person who nominated you and links back to their article.
  2. Include the Liebster Award sticker in your post.
  3. Nominate 7 to 10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  4. Answer the 10 questions asked to you by the person who nominated you.
  5. Make 10 questions of your own for your nominees.
  6. Lastly, copy these rules in the post.
  7. All of the nominees are free to accept or reject the nomination.

Questions

1. Pick one of your favorite writers. What do you admire most about their work?

Diana Wynne Jones. And… everything? Her books are just so hilarious but also have wonderful story worlds, fabulous mind-blowing plot twists, and brilliant characters who I love; and they’re even deep books when you go to look beyond the surface. But… well, I guess, mostly the humor and the characters. I wish I could write like that. I just… love everything of hers I’ve read. โค

2. Do you have any weaknesses or guilty pleasures when it comes to food? If so, what?

Well, chocolate? But I maintain that’s not a weakness — it’s necessary. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I like sweets; I guess that’s a guilty pleasure, even if I don’t necessarily eat them often. Also anything noodley/Italian. YES. โค

3. What was the most daring or adventurous thing you did as a child?

Ha! Haha. How about… nothing? I don’t think I’ve ever been a very adventurous person. I do remember once sleeping in a non-heated house on an extremely cold night, just to prove I could. That’s probably the most daring thing I can come up with, and it wasn’t very. ๐Ÿ˜›

4. If you could visit any city, country, or landmark in the world that youโ€™ve havenโ€™t been to yet, where would you go?

The British Isles! All of the scenery and history… Mostly Scotland and Ireland, but also Wales and Cornwall and Stonehenge and… Yes.

5. What is your favorite type of setting? In other words, do you prefer beaches, lakes, mountains, cities, forests, etc.?

Forests, hands-down! They are the most beautiful, and relaxing-feeling, but also mysterious and… I don’t know. They just feel the best and look the best and I love forests.

6. What literary trope are you most tired of reading about?

I think I’ve mentioned this before, and I’m not sure if it counts, but I’m sick of the tough-girls. They simply annoy me to no end.

7. On the flipside, what is one thing youโ€™d like to see more of in published novels?

Heists and con-artists, please! There are not enough of these tales. But they are just so fun. I keep looking for more…

8. What birthday or holiday gift do you cherish most?

The latest was Illusionarium by Heather Dixon. I so enjoyed that book! *flailing and fangirling squeals* *huggles it*

9. If you could invent one thing (technology, household appliance, computer program or app, etc.) that currently doesnโ€™t exist, what would it be?

Well, probably some sort of thing to manipulate time so that I wouldn’t always waste it (ha!) and so I’d have time to do all the things I want; or maybe something that automatically transfers my stories in my head, perfectly, into words on paper. Yes. I’d like that.

10. Whatโ€™s your favorite kind of weather? Do you prefer rainy days over sun, snow over heat, etc.?

After such a hot summer, I’m thinking COOL WEATHER AND RAIN PLEASE. But I don’t really know. I tend to change my mind to whatever is NOT currently happening. (I’m difficult to please and flighty like that.)

***

Versatile-Blogger-Award

I was also tagged by Rachana for the Versatile Blogger Award! Thank you, Rachana! I’d never gotten this one before… Makes me feel specials. ^_^ Check out her blog, do!

Rules

  • Thank the person who gave you this award โ€” of course.
  • Include a link to their blog. They deserve to have some credits too.
  • Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that youโ€™ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  • Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award โ€” you might include a link to this
  • Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

I’m once again ignoring rules; sorry, I’m a rebel today. But here are some random facts…

7 Things About Me

1 – I’m really really super bad at coming up with facts about myself. (That’s a fact!)

2 – My hair is brown and longish and has a reddish tint in sunlight; I say it’s because of my Irish ancestors.

3 – I can play the pennywhistle, and I’m better at it with my eyes closed than open; my fingers know where to go unless I’m looking at them trying to remember for them.

4 – I love owls and have a painting of one on my wall, and also a wooden key-chain of one from Japan that my dear cousin gave me. It is adorable and I love it. โค

5 – I love doing calligraphy, especially with Tolkien’s Elvish alphabet, Tengwar, even if I haven’t done much with it in a very long time.

6 – I dream a lot, and my dreams are usually extremely strange and fairly vivid; many of my story ideas are from dreams.

7 – I will sit and endlessly stare at the books on my bookshelf and daydream about what the books will be like when I read them. (Yes, I should probably just READ them to find out; but time! Time is key! And I don’t have it! Plus, books are just gorgeous to look at. DO NOT DENY IT.)

Tagging

(By the way, for the record… Who DOES like being tagged? Because I like being tagged — even if I don’t always get around to it — but I always have a hard time coming up with bloggers to tag in turn, especially not wanting to tag people all the time… And I’m not sure who likes tags?)

I’m not officially tagging anybody, but like I said, if you want to do either (or both!) on your blog, consider yourself officially tagged!

22 thoughts on “Liebsterish Encore and Versatile Blogger Award

  1. For the record, I love tags, unless they’re the ones where you just give x number of facts and nominate y number of bloggers. I’m bad at coming up with facts and worse at finding people to nominate (thus why I’m procrastinating on my own Versatile Blogger award oops). But if it’s a series of questions to answer, or a top whatever favorite things list . . . YES. TAG ME WITH ALL THE TAGS.
    Also, I loved reading your answers. Diana Wynne Jones is amazing, as is Illusionarium, and tough girls are somewhat overrated. At least the ones whose strength as a character is solely in their toughness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes, chocolate is an absolute necessity. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also love Italian food, so you could call that one of my weaknesses too.

    I also struggle with coming up with random facts about myself. I don’t mind awards or blog tags that call for random facts, but I often look at what the person who nominated put down and then answer them for myself. XD Otherwise, the brain-train comes to a crashing halt!

    I love owls, too! I have an owl necklace at home, and a feathery owl figurine that sits on my desk. I’ve also read a memoir by a biologist who raised a barn owl and chronicled its life with her, what she learned about owls during that time, etc. It’s called “Wesley The Owl.” Have you read it?

    Great to read your answer, Deborah! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome! You have good taste in food. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Yep, that’s a good idea to take ideas from the person who tagged you! (Brain-train… love it!)

      AAAHH OWLS. โค No, I haven't read that book… Interesting!

      Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for tagging me! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I NEED TO GET BEYOND THE MASK. NEEEEED.

    I love seeing all your answers about everything. These are always so much fun to read!
    Everything you said about Diana Wynne Jones. Everything! I MUST get her other books. I’ve only read the Howl ones.
    Italian food FTW!
    I think we should become best sellers, get rich, and then take a trip to the British Isles together. *nods, nods* Can you imagine how amazing that would be???
    Your answer to #9. xD YES PLEASE. I need both of those machines! Of course then I’d have maybe too much time on my hands…
    I didn’t know you did calligraphy! Good gracious, your skills are ENDLESS! And Tengwar in calligraphy? o.o YESSSH.
    I do the EXACT same thing with my bookshelves! Just stare and stare and stare. It’s ridiculous, but all the pwetty boooooks. I can’t help it!

    I always feel so special and get excited when people tag me, except over half the time I never actually DO the tag. It’s horrid! I’m such a lazy blogger. But I still absolutely do not mind people tagging me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES YOU DO. YOU WILL ADORE IT, I JUST KNOW.
      Aww, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚
      DIANA WYNNE JONES YES YOU MUST READ MORE. :O Chrestomanci books and Dalemark books and and and ALL OF THE THIIIINGS. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Nope, nope, one can NEVER have TOO much time, honestly!
      Yes, I do! I just haven’t in… goodness, YEARS. o.o I should get back into it and post some pics or something. ๐Ÿ˜›
      BOOKS ARE SO FUN TO LOOK AAAAT!
      Okay, thanks for sharing your own preference! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Your comments always make my day! โค

      Like

  4. I love your answer to question #9! I’m always out of time and never have enough of it. And the machine that writes down the stories perfectly! Yes!

    I love owls too! Except. . . there are quite a few decorative owls that are just ugly or look angry. What is with that? I don’t understand, why would you make something decorative look so displeasing?

    Also, your answers to #4 and #5! The British Isles sound so beautiful. Especially Ireland. I love the ocean, but I don’t think I could live without trees. The forest is definitely the place for me, although if it was a mountainous forest that’s even better. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha, I’m glad you understand! XD Seriously though, those would be such useful inventions…

      Yeah, I know what you mean. o.o My owl painting is stern but regal, and my wooden guy is whimsical but I don’t know why anyone would make an ugly one. D:

      Yesss, Ireland! So much gorgeous! ^_^ Oh, yes, mountainous forests would probably be best. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  5. I’m glad you reminded me about “Beyond the Mask”. I remember when it came out being interested in it, but I forgot about it shortly after. I will have to pick up a copy. There just aren’t very many good movies being made these days so I’m always excited to hear about the exceptions.

    And I’ve never heard of Diana Wynne Jones, but I’m intrigued. Which of her books would you recommend starting out with so I can give her a try?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, glad to hear it! Hope you’ll enjoy it if you do check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a REALLY good movie!

      Oh my goodness, Diana Wynne Jones’s books are amazing. I’d recommend starting with “Howl’s Moving Castle”. It’s the first one I read by her, and it’s still my favorite. I think it’s a good place to start; it also might be easier to find… I also love “Dark Lord of Derkholm” and her Dalemark Quartet (Cart and Cwidder; Drowned Ammet; The Spellcoats; The Crown of Dalemark), as well as her Chrestomanci series (starting with “Charmed Life”)… All great reads! There was also a collection of her essays, on writing and fantasy and other such interesting topics, published posthumously, which were fabulous, even though I’m not usually into that sort of thing. Basically everything I’ve read by her so far has been phenomenal, so really, anything you try will probably be good. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And… wow, that was a long answer. XD But Howl’s Moving Castle is good to start with, methinks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. I saw Beyond the Mask in theaters. ^ ^ I happened to come out for my birthday. It was one of the better Christian films I’ve seen. I’d like to watch it again now that it’s out on DVD. Yay another owl lover! I love owls. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gosh. I love like everything about this. I just love your blog. It’s always so wonderful and fun and perfect. I’m glad I stumbled on it a while back, ’cause it makes me happy. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanna say thank you for talking about Diana Wynne Jones, because I decided to check a couple of her books out, and I just can’t stop reading them! Oh my gosh, she’s perfect. So. Anyway, sorry, randomly popping on here to say I love your blog and books you talk about because it’s all just amazing and I love it a lot. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwww!! *squeeing noises* Thank you so muuuuch! This comment totally made my week. ^_^ *hugs* Thanks for stopping by and HURRAY FOR DIANA WYNNE JONES. Yes, perfect. โค Which have you read? I love all of her books I've read so far. ๐Ÿ˜€ Aaaahh, don't apologize, THANKS, I'm so glad you enjoy my blog — that makes me so happy! ^_^

      Like

  8. OMG YES MORE HEIST BOOKS. I’M WRITING ONE BECAUSE THERE JUST AREN’T ENOUGH OUT THERE. *hugs all the crimey books* and oh oh you daredevil you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I used to do all sorts of absolutely psychotically crazy things when I was small. I just didn’t actually “get” that it was dangerous. I used to do all this rock climbing. Like, I nearly gave my parents heart attacks ALL THE TIME. and I climbed Uluru and gave local tourists a heartattack because I was just kinda walking so close to the edge. *facepalm* I’m not a daredevil JUST DELUDED. heheh. *ahem*

    Liked by 1 person

    • ALDKJFLKD YOU’RE WRITING ONE? THIS MAKES ME SO EXCITED. Yeahhhh… I was totally not daredevilish… YOU on the other hand… XD WOWNESS. Haha, awesome. ๐Ÿ˜€ (Well, I’m glad you didn’t like fall and die or anything! ;))

      Like

  9. *Applause*
    Diana Wynne Jones!! I feel that way about most of my favorite authors (*why do I even write? What is the meaning of this? How do you write like this? DESPAIR*)

    YES TO ALL THE HEIST BOOKS! I love them too (I’m sort of writing one . . .) – have you watched “White Collar”? Or the classic Cary Grant movie, “To Catch a Thief,”? That’s one of my favorites.
    And if you love clever thefts, then you certainly must read The Queen’s Thief series (and you might like Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo).

    If you want someone to go to the British Isles with . . . seriously, that has been on my “DO in the next 5 years or bust” list (actually, my sister and I both want to go so badly). I feel like we should all organize a blogger’s US meets UK tour and rent flats on airbnb.com, or something . . . I want to do research! And tour. And research. And walk (lots of walking). The problem is always the money, you know?

    For the record, I love tags, but I take forever to get to them, and I usually break the rules *shifty eyes*
    I haven’t read Illusionarium yet (it’s sitting on my floor), but I love the premise!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YESSS. Her books = amazing. And I know, right? So much despair. XD

      Oh my goodness you’re writing a heist book?? AWESOME SAUCE! ๐Ÿ˜€ Nope, I haven’t seen either of those… *makes mental note* I have the first of the Queen’s Thief books and need to read it soooon! Ooh, have you read Six of Crows, then?? It’s on my wishlist but I dunno if it’s any good. XD

      That would be the coolest. But yes. Money problems… ๐Ÿ˜› Hee.

      Okay, cool! And hey, rules are made to be broken. XD

      AAAHH AWESOME. YOU MUST READ ILLUSIONARIUM NOWWW. I loved it (except for the creepiness) so muuuch! ^_^

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

