Unpopular Opinions Tag

So, you know how I said I had one tag left? Well back up, I have an amendment to that statement. Why, you ask?

Because Cait @ Paper Fury just tagged me with the bookish Unpopular Opinions Tag! Which kind of makes my day/week. Thanks Cait!!

So, I am going to do that! (Which will nicely carry my final [?] tag-post to my normal posting day of Monday. I like tidiness, I do.)

At first I was thinking of not doing it, because I’m not naturally a negative person. But I decided to give myself license to rant a liiittle bit today. For therapeutic reasons, you understand. πŸ˜‰ I hope I won’t offend/annoy anyone. o.o But… well… these are kinda my opinions and as Cait so wisely said, we can all have differing opinions on small bookish things and still be friends! (Mostly. Hopefully. I have learned such things the hard way. :P)

So. Let’s do this thing!

(Pictures from Pinterest and Goodreads. Yes I did just raid my entire store of gifs on Pinterest why do you ask… Gifs make everything better and are stupendous at lightening moods. *nod nod*)

The Unpopular Opinions Tag of a Bookish Variety

1. A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES YOU DIDN’T LIKE.

Um… I’m not sure if they count as popular, but I’m going to pick two books for this.

knightlyunfortunate

The End, the last book in A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket — which I just hated how it ended and it didn’t explain ANYTHING and just gaahh. I kept reading the whole series, partly because they were amusing (in a dark way) and partly to find out what happened. BUT IT DIDN’T TELL US.

And Knightly Academy by Violet Haberdasher, because it had such potential to be awesome (I mean, a boy goes to school to become a knight in an alternate Victorian England? Sounds awesome, right?) but just UGH it let me down. I guess it’s just how all schools are with the bullies and the pointlessness and stuff. But I couldn’t see WHY the hero wanted to go to that school and he was so trod upon and it was sad and so annoying.

(Or… more like angry. But the gun shooting is accurate so…)

2. A POPULAR BOOK/SERIES EVERYONE HATES BUT YOU LOVE.

Again, don’t know if they count as popular, but…

houndillusionarium

The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison. I just loved it but nobody else seems to! What? PRINCE GEORGE, OKAY. He’s the best. And the story did enough twists and turns to make me rearrange my brain and just it was kind of amazing.

Also maybe Illusionarium by Heather Dixon, which might not count because it just came out but people seem to complain about it and I’m just sitting here going EXCUSE ME?? Aside from it being too creepy for me, it was SPECTACULAR. How can people complain that it’s… um… boring??

3. A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE PROTAGONIST ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DIDN’T WANT THEM TO BE WITH.

(Is it bad the first thing in my mind at this question was a confused notion of Hawkeye? But he’s not a book character and I think I’m okay with it but I don’t know…)

halflings

I don’t know if I can think of one… I guess I don’t read much love-triangle stuff? But how about Halflings by Heather Burch — that has a love triangle and I kind of like both of the guys but Raven is kind of awesomer than Mace, so. And then I’ve HEARD suspicious things about Maria and Quinn and someone else later in the Destiny trilogy by Sarah Holman… so I’ll have to see. Ahem. I’ve only read the first in each series (I actually really liked The Destiny of One) so actually have no idea and am totally unqualified! But still.

destinyBut yeah. Love triangles in general… A mess.

4. POPULAR GENRE YOU HARDLY READ.

dystopian

Dystopian! Just… no. -_- I DO NOT LIKE IT. I’ve read, like… three? The genre makes me shrivel inside and is thoroughly unpleasant and just it gives me this awful feeling and depresses me. No thank you. THEY ARE JUST SO… HOPELESS OKAY. Like, the evil people have everything and are rich and the good people live in the dirt literally and are oppressed and everybody’s grumpy and everyone dies and sure mayyybe eventually the good guys will win (maybe?) but who even cares by now? Life just doesn’t sound worth living. Blech. I don’t have anything much specifically against the ones I have read, I mean, they’re fairly good and all (Captives by Jill Williamson, and Swipe and Sneak by Evan Angler… and yes I will read the Swipe sequels because PECK. PECK PECK. Though I just remembered some others I’ve read and no). On the whole I’m just not a fan of dystopian and will only read them when forced. NO THANK YOU.

5. A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER YOU DISLIKE.

Marianne Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. I’m sorry, people, but I cannot abide characters who pine away and make themselves ill for love, especially for love of someone who’s a complete jerk, especially when there’s a really nice guy in plain sight, especially when all she’s doing is being a burden to her sister and mom and basically being worthless and it’s just stupid stupid stupid. I’M SORRY OKAY but I just can’t understand why anyone likes Marianne Dashwood. To me, she was just extremely unlikeable. I’m sure everyone else is seeing something I can’t and I’m just sitting here trying to figure it out…

mdashwood

6. A POPULAR AUTHOR YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.

Suzanne Collins? I haven’t read the HG books yet but I read Gregor the Overlander years ago before HG was even a THING and I just… couldn’t get into it. Or Orson Scott Card with anything other than Ender’s Game and Ender’s Shadow.

7. A POPULAR TROPE YOU’RE TIRED OF READING.

The tough girls. Maybe this is extreme, but I’m very very sick of the so called tough heroines who think they’re so awesome (but are in reality even whinier than their more timid counterparts) and are all “I can be one of the guys and awesomer than they are and yeah I’m so tough.” I’m sooo tired of those. Ladies, you can use weapons and stuff — that is awesome, I have no problem with it, go you — and fine you can wear trousers if it’s more practical (though usually it’s more to make a statement) but can we please have enough of this attitude and making a big deal of everything? SERIOUSLY. -_-

shoojack

8. A POPULAR SERIES YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.

Um… Twilight? Though I almost want to read it just to see what everyone’s deal is with hating it so bad. πŸ˜› Almost. Recently I would also have answered this with Harry Potter and the Hunger Games trilogy. I guess they would fit under the question actually because “no interest in reading” which is rather true of me, but maybe someday I might end up reading them anyway just to see what on earth is up with them, peoples. Y’know, some decade when I actually have time and if they ever actually take priority over books that I’m excited about and WANT to read… Ha.

(Yeah, that’s funny…)

9. A SHOW/MOVIE ADAPTION YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK.

The Princess Bride, and the 1990 Treasure Island with Christian Bale and Charlton Heston. OKAY I SAID IT. There are a couple movies I like more than the books. But this is really extreme. πŸ˜› I do love both the books too though! But the movies were just… aaahh, so awesome! Of course the screenplay of The Princess Bride was done by the author, which is cool. I as-you-wish The Princess Bride. ❀

And Treasure Island, especially with its epic music by The Chieftains and just I loved all the casting and whatever changes they made I mostly liked and it was just awesome. And Charlton Heston as Long John Silver was awesome and Christian Bale as Jim Hawkins was perfection, and I kind of really loved Captain Smollet for some reason. It may have been his hair, or accent…? Anyways nobody really knows about it because I think it was a TV movie, and maybe it’s a bit violent but I kind of just loved it.

10. A POPULAR STYLE OF COVER YOU CAN’T STAND. (Cait’s addition to the tag)

I’m… not much of a cover connoisseur I’m afraid, other than unashamedly loving gorgeous dresses on covers… But it kind of annoys me when part of a face is missing… And mostly I think minimalistic sort of covers, popularized by The Hunger Games methinks, are super annoying. Like… a black background with some words and maybe some sort of icon thing. *shrug* It’s kind of boring I’m afraid. I wouldn’t say I “can’t stand” it but yeah. LET’S HAVE PEOPLE ON THE COVERS. DRESSES. WEAPONS. I DON’T KNOW — SOMETHING INTERESTING. Oh, and also, in general, covers that looked like they were made by a three-year-old. They make me sad.

***

There are no specific “rules” for this tag, so again I’m not tagging anyone — those who like stating their unpopular opinions are likely to take it anyway, and those who are more timid about it (like me…) might be torn about doing it.

So! Once again, if you would like to do this, play snag-the-tag! It’s a fun game, I assure you.

There is my post. I have now gotten my bookish negativity checked off my list for the next… hopefully year. πŸ˜›

What do you think? Agree? Disagree?
Have I done an unsafe thing by stating unpopular opinions?
WILL I BE SAFE AT NIGHT? O_O

(I guess we’ll find out… I keep a dragon under my bed as a burglar alarm. I do. His name is Flame the Frabjous and he’s very well trained against bilboes and other less harmless things that go bump in the night like frumious bookworms out armed with weapons of revenge that cause paper-cuts.)

30 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. I LAUGHED THE ENTIRE WAY THROUGH.

    Illusionarium looks like something I’d like, just saying.

    Your dystopian rant (and the accompanying gif). XD XD XD Which is ironic, seeing as I just did that dystopian post. I don’t necessarily *agree* entirely, but your standing does make a lot of sense. And *huggggs* of COURSE we’re still friends even if we have different opinions! ❀ πŸ˜€

    *waves at Angel*

    Ugh, yes, you're so right about the tough girls! I'm so tired of them. Don't get me wrong, I love a strong female protagonist, but *not* an intensely feminist one who feels the need to bash the guys. Not okay. They should just stop making a big deal out of everything and WORK TOGETHER for once. Ahem. Rant over.

    *pets Flame the Frabjous* I will not do a thing to anger him, I swear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mission accomplished! πŸ˜€

      Haha, if you don’t mind creepiness, then Illusionarium might just be for you! πŸ™‚

      Well, I’m glad I don’t sound like a raving lunatic at any rate! πŸ˜› *huggles back* And darling, if dystopian-lovers and I couldn’t be friends, then I would be one friendless person. XD

      *pets your rant* Yesh.

      Flame accepts your promise (for now) but is still wary…

      Like

  2. This is grand, Deborah!! I love reading your posts!! ^__^ Hilariousness!!! πŸ˜€ I’m so feeling your pain concerning love triangles, Marianne Dashwood, and “touch” heroines! :p (I’ve always sympathized way more with Elinor).

    Gorgeous dresses on covers!!! Me too!!! And weapons, like swords! And people!! Yes, yes! Let’s hope I can make Silver Rose‘s cover something like that! πŸ˜€

    Though book-lovers can tend to be quite offend-able, I’m sure you’ll be safe tonight, especially seeing that you have a dragon under your bed, πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! I’m so glad! ^_^ (And I agree Elinor is better or at least more sensible, but I never was an enormous fan of her either. :-/ I think Elizabeth Bennet will always be my fave Austen heroine. ;))

      YESSS. Silver Rose’s cover must be AWESOME to match that awesome book inside! πŸ˜‰ You must do a fabulous photo-shoot with a cool dress and your sword. πŸ˜€

      Well, I’m glad you think so. I’m hoping that as well. XD

      Like

  3. I loved this post!!! Do not worry, I don’t think you said a thing wrong. I personally was laughing and nodding the whole way through. Your gif usage was PERFECTION. And Flame the Frabjous? I AM DYING. XD

    I SO AGREE WITH #7!!! The tough, I-want-to-be-one-of-the-boys heroines are getting soooo overused and annoying. Um, being a girl is AWESOME! Why do you even want to be a boy? You can be feminine and still bring down the bad guys at the same time! *groans* I don’t know, it’s tiring. -.-

    And I like The Princess Bride movie better than the book, too! :O I’m so glad I’m not alone. I feel so shameful but…but…the movie is so greeeat! Also: “I as-you-wish The Princess Bride.” *DYING* xD

    I absolutely and completely agree about the cover thing. I don’t want just a plain background with words. That tells me NOTHING about the book. Give me something, people! Also they’re not fun to look at and drool over and pet. I want something pretty or exciting on my covers.

    I’m almost tempted to try this tag but I haven’t decided yet. I sorta kinda *cough, cough* like to rant, so. I maaaay… *grins*

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU!! And I’m so glad it made you laugh! ^__^

      Yessssh. I am glad you agree. πŸ˜€

      The Princess Bride movie is just so AWESOME!! That’s all. πŸ˜‰ *highfive*

      EXACTLY. Covers must be drool-worthy because that’s what they are fooor. *nods seriously*

      Er… then… that’s another thing not in common with us because I may like to rant but I don’t usually rant PUBLICLY. XD Haha… But that would be so fun if you did it! Mwahaha. >:D

      Like

  4. LEVERAGE GIIIIIIFFFFFF. *flails because Leverage calls for flailing* ALSO ELLIOT.
    Okay. I’m done I’m good. I can move on. *nods*
    Aaaanyway. I’m glad you liked this tag!! I was totally going to skip it too, because I mean, the internet is full of negativity already and I didn’t want to add. BUT THERAPY. It’s nice to just throw it all out in the open for once. hehe.
    Omg, I want to watch that Treasure Island movie because Batman. I mean. Christian Bale. hehe. I’ve watched a few versions of TI but not that one! (My favourite is the Disnified Treasure Planet πŸ˜‰ Plus it’s perfectly acceptable to like characters for their hair. That is me 98% of the time. Truly.
    I’m a hUGE Lemony Snicket fan, but I do admit the last book made me angry/sad because I wanted answers goshdarnit. How hard is that/!!??? In retrospect I love it, but 15-year-old-me-when-I-first-read-it was not happy, NOT HAPPY. x)

    Liked by 1 person

    • ALL THE LEVERAGE FLAILING THAT MUST BE DONNNNE!! I agree entirely. And I may have been spending a large amount of time today just watching the Eliot gif because Eliot. XD

      Yay! Well I’m glad you did it and tagged me! Thank youuu. Therapy, yes. *nods seriously*

      YES BATMAN. And I’ve heard, I’ve heard. XD I totally must watch Treasure Planet apparently… YAY MY HAIR LIKING TENDENCIES ARE APPROVED BY THE RULER OF THE WORLD. This is good.

      Lemony Snicket was like MADE for you… so yes, I can see that. BUT IT WAS JUST NOT OKAY ENDING IT LIKE THAT. I like answers…

      Like

  5. This is awesome! The Hiccup gif and the disgust for love triangles were a perfect fit!

    Yeah, I would say I’m not interested in reading Twilight also. I mean, why would I want to read a series that everybody complains about? I’ve recently heard that some of the actors from the movies didn’t even like it. I don’t know how true that is, but if it is, then that’s pretty bad.

    I do like dystopian though. But if you don’t like it, then I would understand why you wouldn’t want to read The Hunger Games. Yeah, the whole the heroes start out as the underdogs and might, maybe, make it out with their lives (or not) is kind of part of the genre (like fantasy= dragons, swords, exiled princes, quests, etc.). If you’ve read The Giver, you can see how it’s the basic framework of most all dystopian books. Anyways I should stop rambling to you about genre that you don’t even enjoy! Sorry. πŸ˜›

    I hate covers with close ups of faces! That’s just. . . weird. Nobody wants to see that! Or even just a face. Sometimes the model/drawing doesn’t even match the description of the protagonist. I don’t mind minimalist style so much as long as the font is interesting/creative. Because WORDS ARE AMAZING! Ahem, yeah. . . because words. But I adore sword covers. Put a sword on the cover and I’ll pick it about 110% of the time. πŸ˜‰

    I have never read The Princess and the Hound. But it sounds interesting, just from the title.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eep, thank you so much!! πŸ™‚

      Haha, I think I’ve heard that as well… πŸ˜› But I think I’m just now curious what is so bad about it?? But yeah, I probably won’t bother reading them…

      I’ll probably end up reading the Hunger Games books because I’ve been watching the movies, but still. XD And no, that’s really interesting!! πŸ™‚ I hadn’t really thought of it that way, like that there’s really really specific frameworks/basics for dystopians… That makes sense. I guess I just don’t like the framework, personally…? I’m not sure. But it’s totally okay to like dystopian, I mean, everyone except me seems to, so… XD But thanks, that was interesting! πŸ™‚

      Close-ups, haha, yeah. Ooh, yes, fonts! I do love interesting fonts!! You raise a good point. Swords are made of win. *nods seriously*

      It’s a pretty cool book! πŸ™‚ It sort of has a fairytale-ish/fantasy sort of feel, and it’s about a prince who has a sort of magic that’s outlawed so he has to keep it secret, and he’s supposed to marry this princess, who has a hound, there’s all sorts of fascinating identity stuff and plot twists and it’s basically a really good fantasy/romance/adventure type of thing! I just really enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I think the whole issue everyone has with twilight is that the people critiquing it aren’t even in the target audience. I was twelve or fourteen when I first read it and of course you don’t care about problematic displays of relationships or unrealistic love interests then. I just loved the book because I didn’t know any better. Looking back I had a great time reading those books and I’d never say they’re actually bad. I don’t know, I liked them at the time and I don’t want to destroy the memories, so i’ll probably never reread them πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The tough heroines. Yes. At first I liked them because GIRLS WITH SWORDS! but now I’m just kind of “You know, there’s nothing wrong with being girly; why do you act like there is?” That and they reinforce the idea that a girl needs to be able to wield a weapon or do something else physically impressive to be considered “strong”.
    Also, I loved this post. I might snag it for myself, but then again, maybe not. We’ll see if I have time.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree with you on just about everything! Dystopian, especially…it gives me those same bleak feelings you described. Just depressing 😦 I will say, though, I do LOVE Harry Potter πŸ˜‰ It took a high-risk pregnancy and my doctor ordering me to stay in bed for a month for me to finally venture into reading them . . . but once I did there was no looking back!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, thanks! And yeah… I’m glad at least one person agrees about dystopian!! And I shall keep that in mind! πŸ˜€ There are several people I know who adore the Harry Potter books, so we shall see… πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ And aaahh, you’ve seen it?? AWESOME! πŸ˜€ And I’m so glad you agree on the music and adaption. ^_^ Swiss Family Robinson is a cool story too! I’m not sure which film versions I’ve seen…

      Like

  9. “Covers that looked like they were made by a three-year-old” <<< I've never read any books with covers like that, but whenever I see them, I wonder how any writer could bear a cover like that on their personal masterpiece.
    As the others said, this was a fun post to read, and the gifs were awesome. XD

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

