Double Liebster Award

Tag Catch-Up Post #2

So… In January and then again last month, I was tagged for the Liebster Award by C.B and Shantelle.Β Thanks for tagging me! ^_^ Although I’ve done it before, I thought it would be fun to answer the questions anyway! πŸ™‚

But I’m going to ignore the rules for the most part. πŸ˜„ I’m not going to bother with 11 facts or tagging anybody, but if you want to answer any of the questions, feel free!

On with the show.

Questions from C.B. (post)

1. Do you wanna build a snowman?

YES. YES I DO. Unfortunately it’s like 100 degrees where I live right now, so that’s not going to happen… And even if it was winter, I don’t really get snow, I’m afraid… But I would LOVE to build a snowman if I could.

(from pinterest)

2. What is the craziest thing you’ve done during a game of hide-and-seek?

I… have no idea. Probably hiding in a curtain… I’m not a very imaginative hide-and-seek-er. πŸ˜„

3. How many books do you have?

For real? O_O I’m feeling spectacularly lazy at this moment and I feel as though I have WAY too many books to count… Let’s just say I have three large bookcases stuffed with books, some shelves stacked, some 2 deep, plus some on my desk and dresser and bedside table… Um… Okay, I started counting and lost track somewhere around four or five hundred and gave up. How’s that? πŸ˜‰ (Someday I’m going to have to post some pictures of my bookshelves and introduce them to y’all…)

4. Writers, what’s the most useful piece of writing advice you’ve ever gotten?

Probably this quote from Gillian Bronte Adams in an interview on The Dreaming Hobbit:

“Read the books you want to write, and write the books you want to read. And don’t try to do it alone. Far too often, I find myself striking out on my own, and the whole β€œlone wolf” writer thing is grand … until it’s not. Writing can be a lonely business, so make writing friends and encourage each other. You’ll both be the better for it.”

–Gillian Bronte Adams

GillianBronteAdamsQuote

5. Favorite type of fanfiction?

I don’t know… I’m afraid I don’t read a lot of fanfiction.

6. Which Avenger are you most like? (From the movie, not comic books)

Hawkeye. (I’m just going to say that and walk away like nothing happened…)

H12

7. Favorite Stan Lee cameo?

Um… Forgive me for being horribly out-of-it, but I only THINK I discovered what this really was recently. Is it that guy with the mustache who’s like one of the writers or something? Ahem. I have only noticed a couple of his cameos, so IF I’m correct in what I think they are, my favorite is definitely the one in Captain America: The Winter Soldier, when he’s a security guard and sees Captain America’s old uniform missing and goes: “Oh man, I am so fired.” That was hilarious. πŸ˜„

8. Favorite writing resource?

Probably pinterest. πŸ˜„ If that counts…

9. Do you have trouble staying organized?

*bursts out laughing* That is a great question. Because I’m a perfectionist and pride myself on being super organized. And yet sometimes I feel like I’m the most disorganized person I know. So it just depends. But mostly I think I’m organized… Mostly…

10. Favorite school subject?

Hiiiistory. And anything related to words and writing and stuff like that.

(from pinterest)

11. Favorite food/food combination others don’t like?

I don’t know… maybe canned black olives? Combination… I can’t think of a weird one I like. Mostly my food is very tame and uninteresting… πŸ˜€

Questions from Shantelle (her post)

1) What is the driving passion of your life?

I don’t know. That may sound weird but… I don’t. It used to be writing, but I’m not so sure about that anymore. I feel a liiiittle bit lost these days. Mostly I’m just taking life a day at a time here and hoping the Lord will direct my feet to the path I should take. So I guess He’s my driving passion, because I tell ya, I’d be entirely lost without Him. πŸ˜‰

2) Can you name a favorite character from a movie you’ve seen recently?

Dimitri, from Anastasia! He was kind of awesome…

anyadimitri

3) What’s one book (or chapter, verse, whatever…) of the Bible that has particularly touched you and why?

Um… All of it! For real, though. πŸ™‚ But Psalms and Ruth and James and the Gospels come to mind…

4) How tall are you? *smiles*

I haven’t measured in awhile but I think somewheres in the 5′ 2″ area? All the gals I know seem to be like 5′ 10″ though… πŸ˜› I feel like a small person in a world of tallness. (Perhaps that means I’m a Hobbit at heart…) And maybe my tall friends like having me around. πŸ˜„

sherlockbilbo

(from pinterest)

5) What’s one thing a book needs to have in order to make it a favorite for you?

I think that depends, because there are many things that I really enjoy a book for! (Humor, great plot or twist, characters, a dash of romance, great dialog…) But ultimately, I think for it to be a book I REALLY love, it has to have a character I love. Which normally seems to mean an awesome guy… What can I say. Intriguing fellas can make books so very interesting!

6) How did you start and what’s your favorite thing about blogging?

I started blogging to have a place on the internet of my own for my future writing self and to share my thoughts on books and writing. My favorite thing? Commenters. I absolutely love hearing from people about what they think! πŸ™‚

7) What’s something exciting that has happened in your life recently?

Going to my first stage play, The Little Mermaid, last month. It was soooo much fun!

8) Why do you write (blogs, books, whatever)?

Because there are stories and characters and words and ideas in my head and I can’t not write them.

notebookwritingquote

(from pinterest)

9) Can you describe (or find a picture of) a different-era outfit that you’d love to wear?

Long sweeping gorgeous gowns, please. πŸ˜€ Specific dresses off the top of my head: Cinderella’s blue dress in the new movie, Eowyn’s white dress in The Two Towers, Arwen’s red and black dress in The Return of the King… But really I’d most love some sort of emerald-green dress with a sweeping skirt. ^_^ To look like a medieval forest princess, y’know. *nod nod* And… well… most things on my Costumes pinterest board. πŸ˜‰

dresses

10) Favorite songs?

Never-Ending Road by Loreena McKennitt is my favorite. Then off the top of my head… Whispers in the Dark by Skillet, The Last Goodbye sung by Billy Boyd, lots of songs and melodies from soundtracks like The Return of the King, Brave, How to Train Your Dragon… How many am I allowed? πŸ˜‰

11) Any advice for your fellow Christian bloggers/writers?

Stay true to yourself and the Word, and don’t be afraid to write what you think. πŸ™‚

***

So there you go, everyone! My randomness for the day. πŸ˜€ Hope it wasn’t entirely boring…

Feel free to snag the questions if you want — or answer some in the comments!

And mostly I’m curious… did you learn anything new about me, or did you feel like you knew all of this already? πŸ˜‰

20 thoughts on “Double Liebster Award

  1. OH MY GRAVY I LOVE YOUR PICS AND GIFS!!!! “Why did I leave the Shire?” XDDDD *blubbers*
    And also, yes on the Stan Lee cameos! I love the one in Thor where he’s driving the pickup truck they’re using to try to move the hammer. “Did it work?” πŸ˜„ AND ALSO HE HAS A CAMEO IN PRINCESS DIARIES 2!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. πŸ˜„ That is awesome! πŸ˜„ Love you, Deb!

    Oh, my word, your /books/! πŸ˜„ That is epic! I have a lot, but certainly not /that/ many! Wow!

    AND CANNED BLACK OLIVES. πŸ˜„ I LOVE those!

    “So I guess He’s my driving passion, because I tell ya, I’d be entirely lost without Him.” ;D Yep!

    And I’m only 5’5”1/2. In a tall family. So I feel ya a little. And my friend consistently calls me short when he’s not that much taller than me.

    And yes, that character to love. Can you do a blog post on your favorite book characters sometime? I’d love to know!

    The Little Mermaid musical??

    Medieval forest princess. πŸ˜„ I think we should learn to be master seamstresses for endeavors such as this.

    GREAT post, Deb! ;D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Love you too, Elfie! ^_^
      Haha, I’m a bit of a bookaholic. πŸ˜„
      Yay for canned black olives!
      Ummm I think 5’5” is tall. πŸ˜„ BUT STILL.
      Oh my… I guess I could do a post about favorite book characters! I’ve been thinking about doing one like that but didn’t know there was an interest. o.o THANK YOU FOR ASKING DEARY. ^_^ Now I will have to. πŸ™‚
      And yes… I went to a Little Mermaid stage play musical which was adorbz. πŸ˜€
      YES LET’S BE MEDIEVAL FOREST PRINCESSESS.
      Thank you! ❀ *huggles*

      Like

  3. I think the only thing I knew already was that you love Hawkeye. πŸ™‚ So, very informative! I saw a bookshelf tag a while back, but it’s sort of picture-intensive. I may have to do it anyway… could be fun. I’ll tag you if I do! πŸ™‚ Then we can introduce our bookshelves to each other and they can have playdates and things.

    Stan Lee is basically the father of Marvel. Without him there would be no Iron Man, Fantastic Four, Hulk, Spiderman, Thor, or X-Men. And, yes, he’s the guy with the white mustache.

    I tried olives for the first time the other night and I’m sorry to say, but I’m not a fan. Odd texture issues. However, who am I to talk, because I like Applesauce on my Mac and Cheese, and I spread Strawberry Jam atop my Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, and I’m a big fan of putting potato chips in my PB&J sandwich… so, really. (I think I have the taste buds of a 6 year old).

    Excellent different era outfit choices! I agree. Add in the blue dress from The Princess Bride for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, that’s good, then! πŸ™‚ If you’re talking about the same bookshelf tag I’m thinkng of, I’ve been tagged and have a post scheduled for that later this week. πŸ˜„ But sometime I might have to take pictures of my SHELVES not just books… I love the sound of our bookshelves having a playdate! πŸ˜€ *giggle*

      Then yay for Stan Lee! πŸ˜„

      I only like canned black olives… other olives are weird, and if they’re black but not canned, they’re too strong for me… so I feel ya! …Wow, those are some interesting combinations! o.o I thought my taste was boring but I didn’t realize how MUCH when compared with yours! Heehee.

      Ooh, yes! I haven’t seen The Princess Bride in foreeever… I must rewatch it! I’m trying to remember a blue dress…

      Like

  4. I definitely learned something new about you . . . and had a lot of fun reading all your answers. (Also, great use of pics!)
    Black olives are soooooo yummy, but no one else in my immediate family likes them. So I don’t get them very often. But whenever we go to Italian restaurants or whatever, and there’s olives in the salad or something, my family is all like “Oh, here, Sarah, eat our olives for us” and I’m like “YES YES YES.”
    I’m about 5’5″ or so- so only an inch or two taller than you. I’m trying very hard to figure out how to grow another two inches, though, because my younger sister is less than an inch shorter than me. >.< THIS IS NOT OK.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome! Thank you. ^_^

      Yay for similar taste! *high-fives* I looove Italian food. Haha, that is so funny. πŸ˜„ You’re their unwanted-food-disposal. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      YOU ARE STILL TALLER THOUGH. πŸ˜„ And I totally know the feeling… my sister’s only a little shorter than me as well. But I think we’re both resigned to not growing anymore. πŸ˜› If you do find that magical way to grow, let me know, will ya? πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • You’re welcome!
        Hehe, only with olives. Most of the time it’s me handing off (uncooked) onions or mushrooms of any kind to someone else. xD But Italian food is awesome. I’m not sure whether that or Mexican is my favorite cuisine. πŸ˜€
        TRUE. And I definitely will let you know. xD

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Boring? Excuse me, this was AWESOME!!!

    The Thor and Loki thing. I am dying! πŸ˜„

    Your book collection puts me in awe. My collection is kind of extremely sad for the book lover that I am. But it’s growing!

    I can totally see you being like Hawkeye, yes. Hehe.

    “Because I’m a perfectionist and pride myself on being super organized. And yet sometimes I feel like I’m the most disorganized person I know. ” <—THIS. THIS IS SO ME. I'm so OCD and have to have everything perfect, and yet my writing is a MESS. I'm a paradox!

    You…you love olives? o.o Oh noes! Another difference between us! Because…olives is one of my least favorite foods. Meep.

    "So I guess He’s my driving passion, because I tell ya, I’d be entirely lost without Him." YES. Perfectly put!

    Oh, I LOVED Dimitri from Anastasia! πŸ˜€

    I know tons of tall people, too. I'm 5'5", so definitely not tall. I've always felt shorter than everyone else. Why do we know so many TALL people? (Also that Sherlock pic wins everything.)

    Your list of what you want in a book are like my exact thoughts!

    I DID learn some new tidbits about you, which is saying something because at this point I feel as though we know each other backward and forward. Lol! So you did AWESOME. This was sooo fun to read!

    (And one day I'll learn how to comment without writing a whole novel of a comment…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • D’aww, thanks! ^_^

      Haha, I love crossovers like that. πŸ˜„

      Yay for growing book collections! I’m just… unhealthily addicted to library sales is all… πŸ˜›

      I AM HAWKEYE YES. I am glad you see this. *nods seriously*
      Let us be paradoxes together! *skips around in disorganized organization with you*

      Ummm. Yes. To be fair, I only like CANNED olives that are BLACK. I am very picky about my olives. *nods even more seriously* So I can totally see people not liking them and it’s WEIRD that I do, but it’s just that I had them when I was little so they’re basically happy memories. πŸ˜„

      DIMITRIIIII!!! ❀ I just love him okay.

      You are still taller than me, darling. πŸ˜€ (But yes, all the tall and Sherlock.)

      Yay, I'm glad you learned tidbits and enjoyed it! This makes my day! ^_^ And I loveth your novely comments. πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. #WHYDIDILEAVETHESHIRE <– OMGGG I'M DYING OF LAUGHTER HERE. Best pin ever and I hadn't even seen it. But basically this whole post was so entirely stuffed with win. And I giggled uproariously to myself more than several times.
    But, aww, writing isn't your driving passion? Did something bad happen? *huggles you* Writing can be kind of depressing, and I like that quote from Gillian Adams. TOO TRUE. I used to lone wolf write, and while I actually don't think I suffered for it, I think I developed faster when I started getting feedback from other writers. *nods* But I liked that I was a lone wolf because I think it taught me not to be dependent on needing encouragement. Zomg, that could be a whole post. YOU INSPIRING CREATURE, YOU.
    Dimitri is awesome.
    And I’m the same height as you. WE SHOULD RUN AWAY TO THE SHIRE TOGETHER, TBH. Food and hobbits. I was born to be a hobbit. I’m 1000% convinced. Or Smaug. I’d make a fabulously terrifying Smaug, just a small Smaug. Like a mini-Smaug. *nods*
    Also the How to Train Your Dragon soundtrack is perfection in music. PERFECTION.

    Basically I loved this post. Yes. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • AAAAH CAIT YOU MADE MY DAY! ^_^ Thanks!
      And… well… not exactly something bad, I just… have been depressed about my writing because I don’t see myself publishing either traditionally, indie, or small-press, so… I kind of feel out of options and like I shouldn’t even be writing if I’m only writing for me. It’s a sad feeling. :-/
      THAT WOULD BE AN AWESOME POST YES.
      Dimitri is BEST.
      :O YOU ARE? *runs away to the Shire with you*
      You would be an ADORABLE mini-Smaug. I love it! πŸ˜„
      YES IT IS.
      THANK YOUUUU! ❀

      Like

  7. Yay!! You did it!! Loved reading your answers!! ^_^

    I feel like most of my girl friends and cousins are around my height, 5’5, or shorter. I do have one cousin whose maybe 5’8. “Why did I leave the shire…” Hehe, so funny!! πŸ˜€ Aww yes, you must be a hobbit at heart!! πŸ™‚

    Intriguing guys… they do quite make a book, don’t they? Cazien (The Seahorse Legacy), Eanrin (Tales of Goldstone Wood), Jace (Ilyon Chronicles), Leith (Dare) … *sigh* They’re all so great! πŸ˜€

    A stage play of The Little Mermaid, that sounds sooo fun!!!

    Ah yes, those dresses are the best!!!! *flail* ^_^ We totally have the same style! We need to have a ball someday… πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    Even though its exhausting and stressful sometimes… don’t you just love being a writer?? Having those stories, and characters, and worlds in your head? ^_^ So blessed!! πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

    Love your whole post!! So great!! Wonderful answers!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Blessings and hope you’re doing well!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yesss!! Thanks for tagging me, it was fun! ^_^
      5’5” is still taller than me. πŸ˜„ But yeah, I understand… We should all be hobbits together. πŸ˜€
      YESYES! Especially Cazien… πŸ˜‰ I sooo need to read Jace. O_O
      It was totally fun! Just the cutest, since it was all played by kids. They were adorable and such good actors! ❀
      Erm… yes… a ball would be fabulous, IF I actually had one of those dresses, which I don't, haha! πŸ˜„
      Yep, writing's kind of awesome. πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. I read this way back when you posted it (which wasn’t that long ago, really, but there have been so many wonderful Celti posts that it feels like longer) and am only now commenting. πŸ˜›

    Bahahaaa, I love that Thor and Loki picture/gif/thingie. πŸ˜„

    I love hide and seek! One autumn night, playing it outdoors, I hid in a hedge and wasn’t found until it was time to go inside and the seeker gave up. πŸ˜„

    Oh my word, do you ever have BOOKS. I thought I had a lot…apparently not! o.o

    Driving passion: *gives you two thumbs up* But aw, that’s sad to hear about the writing (both from what you said in the post and in the comments). I would LOVE to see your writing published someday, darling. Whatever happens, I want to keep reading your awesome, humorous, riddled-with-fabulous-characters stories. ❀ So don't stop!

    That Sherlock picture. I couldn't help but laugh. (I myself am like 5'8"…many of my friends are shorter than me. I'm going to have to marry someone over 6 feet, or else I'll never get to wear heels. πŸ˜„ )

    *fawns over pretty dresses*

    Are you kidding me, I loved this post! So many things I didn't know about you! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha, yes, sooo much posting this week. πŸ˜„ Fortunately I’m not normally this pos-crazy…
      I guess you’re a good hider! πŸ˜€
      And thank youuu! ^_^ *huggles* You are so sweet. πŸ™‚
      5’8”… see, you are one of those tall people I was complaining about. πŸ˜„ Just kidding, you are obviously awesome but… SO MANY TALL PEOPLE. (Haha, I died laughing about the heels thing… which also makes me think of Angel holding Easton’s heels. XD)
      Gaahh, thanks! ^_^ And I’m glad!
      ❀

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

