Coffee Book Tag!

Tag Catch-Up Post #1

Cait at Paper Fury tagged me for the Coffee Book Tag! WHICH EXCITES ME SO MUCH. For those of you who don’t know, Cait is a fabulous book blogger and also queen of the world. *nod nod* Go check out her hilarious blog, do! And become a minion/pineapple while you’re at it — you know you want to. Know why? *whispers* Cait gives out cake.

FergusBadge
So here’s the funny thing: I don’t really drink coffee. I really enjoy it when I do! But I just… don’t really drink it all that often.

BUT. I am still doing this lovely tag because of many reasons including how cool of an idea comparing books to coffee varieties is.

I am also taking a page out of Cait’s book (ha ha!) and getting a bit into book photography. Mwahaha. It’s super time consuming but sooo fun.

So let’s get to it!

The Coffee Book Tag

BLACK: NAME A SERIES THAT’S TOUGH TO GET INTO BUT HAS HARDCORE FANS.

1

The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien

I am a hardcore fan of The Lord of the Rings! …Not so much of black coffee. Ahem. But SOME people seem to think LotR is hard to get into. What even. I can’t even imagine what is wrong with them. It’s fabulous! Okay so maaaayybe it starts a little slow and is enormous. I can understand that. But it’s so so so worth it. Just look at that sweeping epic and the fantasy and the elves and the Rohirrim and the hobbits and Aragorn and Faramir and Eowyn and Eomer and Merry and Legolas and Gandalf and all of the epicness that ensues on their adventures and isn’t it just positively the best ever, preciousss? Yes, we are hardcore fans.

PEPPERMINT MOCHA: NAME A BOOK THAT GETS MORE POPULAR DURING THE WINTER OR A FESTIVE TIME OF YEAR.

2

Wintermoon Wish – Sharon Shinn

I had the hardest time with this, because all I could think of was A Christmas Carol. Which I enjoyed, but it doesn’t taste like a peppermint mocha! It’s more like… cinnamon. So instead I’m actually going with a short story (don’t shoot me) which is in the collection “Firebirds Rising” edited by Sharyn November; most of the stories in it were frankly blech. But there were a few I liked, and my favoritest of ALL was “Wintermoon Wish” by Sharon Shinn. I ADORED IT OKAY. It’s some fantasy-world-ish version of a winter holiday like Christmas, called, yes, Wintermoon. And it’s just the most perfect little short story ever. Plus it has Jake. Which is reason enough for fabulousness. So maybe I’m bending the rules a bit, since probably no one’s even HEARD of it, but it gets more popular with ME, so that’s got to count, right?

HOT CHOCOLATE: WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE CHILDREN’S BOOK?

3

A Bear Called Paddington – Michael Bond

I just love Paddington. Everyone read this book. It’s perfect and hilarious and adorable and just perfect. Paddington Bear is one of my favorite characters, and he gets into such delightful scrapes and messes, but you know everything will be okay… eventually. I just love how he’s a BEAR in the midst of all the ordinary English people, and their reactions are the best. Plus, I love his hard stare, and his hat, and his love of marmalade and how he’s from Darkest Peru. Paddington’s the best, guys.

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: NAME A BOOK THAT KEPT YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM START TO FINISH.

4

Illusionarium – Heather Dixon

Ohhhhh my did it ever. I was so hooked on this thing! It was my first (and only thus far) steampunk novel to read. MAN WAS IT TENSE. I was so caught up in everything and read it in one day and I loved the characters and it was all fascinating and terrifying and Lookwood might be my favorite character so far this year, maybe, just because I’ve never met a character like him!! I have pigeon-holes for character types I like and… he didn’t fit. HE WAS NEW. I love him a lot, that teenage swaggering blond royal-airguardsman with an ego and a temper and an eyepatch and a sort of fierce British temperament like you wouldn’t believe. ❀ The book was partially too scary for me, but it certainly kept me on the edge of my seat.

STARBUCKS: NAME A BOOK YOU SEE EVERYWHERE.

5

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Disclaimer: I haven’t read The Hunger Games yet. And this one belongs to my brother. And it’s the only one of my list today that I HAVEN’T read (though I have seen the films thus far…) But it is positively everywhere, wouldn’t you say?

THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP: GIVE A BOOK BY AN INDIE AUTHOR A SHOUTOUT

6

The Book of Sight – Deborah Dunlevy

The Book of Sight was a random book I downloaded for my Kindle app for free, but actually got around to reading and kind of adored. It’s a contemporary fantasy about a few teens in a little town, who find this book and… yeah, I won’t give it away, but it’s awesome. It’s kind of whimsical and interesting… and in fact reminds me somewhat of my own contemporary fantasy I write, so it was fun and I just… really enjoyed myself reading it! So, shoutout! Go check it out, y’all.

OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF: NAME A BOOK YOU WERE EXPECTING MORE FROM.

7

The Ravenmaster’s Secret – Elivra Woodruff

So I should have loved this book! The main character’s name is Forrest, he lives at the Tower of London, it’s set in the 1700’s, has Scottish rebels, the heroine’s a Stewart, there’s schemes and escapes and basically what’s not to like?? Unfortunately, it did it all wrong and the ending was wrong wrong wrong and gaaahh I got so frustrated with this book! *flail* Rawr. It makes me upset. And such a pretty cover, too! Call me disappointed. *glowers at decaf*

THE PERFECT BLEND: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT WAS BOTH BITTER AND SWEET, BUT ULTIMATELY SATISFYING.

8

The Westmark Trilogy – Lloyd Alexander

This trilogy by Lloyd Alexander, consisting of Westmark, The Kestrel, and The Beggar Queen… I LOVE THEM. They definitely have their share of bitter (*cough*characterdeaths*cough*) which normally should have made me dislike the books, but it didn’t matter because I just LOVED them so much and they left me jittery with book happiness because they were perfect and I loved them, despite the sad. So this is indeed the bitter and sweet and satisfying perfect blend. (Also, 1700’s type of tale, you know…)

GREEN TEA: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT IS QUIETLY BEAUTIFUL.

9

Orphan’s Song – Gillian Bronte Adams

Orphan’s Song feels so quietly beautiful and green-tea like to me… The world and the characters and the tale and the allegory and subtle magical notes of song — it’s just gorgeous in a quiet sort of way and I adore it. Also griffin. GRIFFIN. And it feels so GREEN and fantasy ish and I love the characters so much and the writing is just lovely. (And by the way it ended bad and I’m still waiting for the sequel! I needs it, precious!!)

CHAI TEA: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT MAKES YOU DREAM OF FAR OFF PLACES.

10

The Iron Ring – Lloyd Alexander

Most kinds of books I read make me dream of far off places, but most of them that I read about (fantasy worlds and the British Isles…) feel actually closer to me in a way than my own place of dwelling. So I’m going to say Lloyd Alexander’s India folklore type story, The Iron Ring, which just feels so rich and foreign and unique and culturally deep and golden but also familiar in that way a dream is, that I just want to go there and see it. Also elephants and tigers and gems and Ashwara.

EARL GREY: NAME YOUR FAVOURITE CLASSIC.

11

Kidnapped – Robert Louis Stevenson

Scotland! 1700’s! (Again…) Alan Breck Stewart! Kidnapping! The high seas! Murder! Traveling through the Highlands with redcoats on your tail! Friendship! Love! (Or… love if you tack on the sequel, David Balfour/Catriona, which I consider the second half and therefore inseparable…) What’s not to like? Plus the accents. I love the accents. And it sticks in me mind that Alan is delightfully droll and witty, ye ken? There’s nae gettin’ away frae it, e’en if ye’d want to — which, weel, why would ye, then?? And I love the relationship between Alan and Davy… And it’s just all around swashbuckling awesomeness! Best. Classic. Ever.

***

So! I’m supposed to tag people… Which means I’m trying to think of people who like coffee and drawing a blank. πŸ˜„ I’m afraid I don’t pay good enough attention to who the coffee fans are and aren’t… my bad.

I Tag:

Kayla @ The Wordsmithy’s Shop

Elfie @ Dream Dancer

Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination

C.B. @ The World of the Writer

Katie Grace @ A Writer’s Faith

Emma Clifton @ Peppermint and Prose

And y’all only have to do it if you want, and are not required to. πŸ˜‰

And all of you reading this: If you have a blog and either think it looks fun, or like coffee and books, then you are officially TAGGED.

…And if you don’t like books . . . oh my goodness what are you doing reading my blog you must be lost you poor soul!! O_O You’d best hop on along to… wherever it is online non-bookish people frequent. I wouldn’t know.

READERS, DO YOU LIKE COFFEE? Or any of these books? Favorite flavors…? Educate me about coffee or what books you’d pick for these categories! Tell me all!

35 thoughts on “Coffee Book Tag!

  1. Cool tag! Reminds me of the chocolate and books tag I did a while ago . . .
    I drink tea, not coffee. That may or may not change once I get to college, desperately need caffeine, and decide to try a salted caramel mocha or something of that sort.
    Or maybe I’ll just start drinking green or black tea in that case . . . or chai tea, that works too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AREN’T THEY AWESOME??! ^_^ Yes yes, Alan is fantastic. πŸ˜„ I know, right? It’s so weird how cool of a tag it is even though we’re not coffee people! But I totally understand the time thing… meep.

      Like

      • I was so excited when I found out Catriona existed. I grabbed it on my Kindle faster than you can say Davey Balfour. xD
        hehe yeah…I just got the syllabi for the two college classes I’m taking this summer and about died. So. Much. Reading. Especially for the philosophy class. But this is why I’m knocking them out early….

        Liked by 1 person

        • AAHH THAT’S AWESOME. πŸ˜„ It actually never occurred to me it would be on Kindle because I read it back in the day when Kindles didn’t exist… but we found it at the library and were sooo excited! πŸ˜€
          Well, good luck on all of that!! πŸ™‚ Sounds busy! o.o

          Like

  2. Aw, this was such a fun post to read!! πŸ™‚ Now I want to read all those books!

    Even though I’d be the person who’d probably have a hard time getting into them, I want more than ever to read the Lord of the Rings trilogy!! It sounds so epic! πŸ˜€

    The Hunger Games… I still want to read that series before I watch the last movie! O_O

    The Westmark trilogy sounds intriguing! 1700s!!!! My favorite! ^_^ πŸ˜‰

    So much fun!! I’m not a big fan of coffee actually… but I do drink it when I have a terrible headache, πŸ˜› And I have tried mocha perks, I think they’re called, which have a coffee flavor, right? Haha, πŸ˜€

    Blessings! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! And The Lord of the Rings is AWESOME once you get into it! πŸ™‚ It will help that you’ve seen the movies, I think. Yeah, I’m debating on whether to read the HG books before the last movie, since I’ve kinda bargained with my brother to go see it with him since he took me to Avengers 2. πŸ˜„ We’ll see! I loooove the Westmark books! It’s hard for me to recommend the entire series to some people though because it gets kind of violent and dark and sad… But the first one, “Westmark” is a total blast and so much fun!! πŸ™‚ Coffee flavor is tasty, yes! πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Deb, this is /awesome/!!!! πŸ˜„ LOVED all of it!
    You know what makes me sad? I can’t get into Tolkien! I’ve tried the Hobbit, wanting to love it, and it’s just not a writing style I click with. I /want/ to love it. I really do. I want to see it without the effects of the movies, but I can’t get into it. It’s devastating!

    I think I need to look into Illusionarium! That looks terrific!

    AND LLOYD ALEXANDER! AH! I really need to read more of him! Have you ever read Time Cat?

    This was the best of lists. πŸ˜„ Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eep, thank you! ^_^

      And that’s understandable, I suppose… But actually The Hobbit is written in a TOTALLY different style than The Lord of the Rings… O_O That is devastating, though. *huggles* That’s okay, I will still love you. πŸ˜„

      It’s sooo creepy but otherwise really good! πŸ˜€

      YES YOU DO NEED TO READ MORE. Lloyd is the best. ❀ And yes, I've read Time Cat! It was fun, though not my FAVORITE of his. πŸ˜€

      THANK YOU I'M SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. These are awesome! I haven’t heard of a lot of these books. But I love fantasy and so I think I’ll just take them as recommendations. πŸ˜€

    This is going to sound absurd. But I never heard of Paddington Bear until my mom borrowed the movie for us to watch. And then I find out that he is like everyone’s childhood memories. 0_0 This is not awkward at all. We read Commander Toad a lot though. As well as Curious George. And I loved Dr. Seuss!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome! πŸ™‚ I recommend all of them except Hunger Games (because I haven’t read it. XD) and the disappointing Ravenmaster one. πŸ˜›

      I actually first read Paddington only a few years ago, so you’re not alone! But I love Paddington just as much as if I’d met him when I was tiny. ^_^ I haven’t seen the movie… was it good? o.o Curious George and Dr. Seuss, yay! πŸ™‚ I haven’t heard of Commander Toad…

      Like

  5. FAJDKLSFAD BECAUSE YOU HAVE LIKE A PINEAPPLE FERGUS BADGE AND THAT COMPLETELY MAKES MY DAY AND LIFE AND LIKE YEAR OR SOMETHING. <33 I MAY JUST HUG YOU NOW, DEBORAH. Zomg, isn't this tag the best?! Why hasn't someone made a cake tag, though. I mean there's a sort-of-cake tag floating around with the ingredients of cake…OMG I THINK I NEED TO MAKE A DESSERT TAG. THAT'D BE FUN.
    But I digress.
    Ahhh, Treasure Island is incredible. Did you ever see the Disney kids movie Treasure Planet? I have such intense love for that movie. TOTAL Underrated.
    I haven't even heard of half of these *glares at self* But I do want to read Illusionarium (lol, did I spell that right?!) and I have added it on goodreads. Because I trust you. *nods* DON'T LET ME DOWN NOW, DEBORAH. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES I DO. I AM GLAD I MAKE YOUR DAY BECAUSE YOU MAKE MINE ALL THE TIME WITH YOUR HILARIOUSNESS. ^_^ A hug from the supreme ruler of the world? NOW I FEEL SPECIALS.

      Oh my goodness. You should TOTALLY make a cake/book/writing/something tag! That would be awesome!! :O

      I… actually haven’t seen Treasure Planet. >.> BUT I SAW AN AD FOR IT ONCE SO THAT TOTALLY COUNTS. πŸ˜„ It looked cool…

      ILLUSIONARIUM YES THIS MAKES ME HAPPY. You trust me. o.o WOWNESS. And of course you will like it because it is SCARY and there are extra eyes and illnesses and alternate worlds and things AND MASKS. *nods seriously* It’s totally up your alley. πŸ˜„

      Like

  6. The only ones here I’ve read are LotR and The Hunger Games. Dearie me, looks like I have some book-hunting to do! πŸ˜‰

    Ooh, I just saw the Paddington movie! It was adorable. I wasn’t expecting to like it a whole lot, but it was so cute. ❀ I can imagine the book is twice as cutesy.

    Bahaha, this part made me chuckle out loud: "…And if you don’t like books . . . oh my goodness what are you doing reading my blog you must be lost you poor soul!! O_O You’d best hop on along to… wherever it is online non-bookish people frequent. I wouldn’t know." πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ You are hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eh, I read obscure things. πŸ˜›

      Oh really? Neat! I haven’t seen it and am worried to because I’m afraid they’ll have wrecked the book. *coughcough* But the fact you liked it is encouraging! πŸ˜‰

      D’awww, thanksss! ^_^ That line was written at like midnight so I think my weird side of my brain was out prowling. πŸ˜„

      Like

  7. THIS. TAG. :O So clever and fun and boooooks!!! LOVED your choices except…except…I’ve hardly read ANY of these! I FEEL LIKE SUCH A FAILING BOOKLOVER RIGHT NOW. It’s disgraceful!

    But LOTR. Yes to all the things. I’ve had people tell me they have a really hard time getting into the books and I’m just like…wut? Okay, okay. It IS a heavy read and can be daunting, I get that. BUT…BUT…IT’S LOTR, PEOPLES.

    Of course I’ve read The Hunger Games but it IS like…everywheeere. o.o It’s kind of crazy.

    And I loooved your description of Orphan’s Song. Quietly gorgeous and GREEN. YES. Such a perfect way to put it!

    And…and…that’s the only books I’ve read on this whole list. o.o I wasn’t even raised on the Paddington books! WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME, CELTI??

    Oh! I love your pictures, by the way! And the thumb’s down one made me crack up. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • ASLEDKFJ THANK YOU. Like I said, I read a lot of obscure books, so it’s totally not disgraceful, darling! *huggles*

      I KNOW RIGHT. LotR is LOTR. The end. ❀

      I am glad you agree! πŸ˜€

      I wasn't raised on Paddington either and just happened across him a few years ago, so you're not alone!

      Eep, thank you!! Haha, really? Well at least it had SOME use. πŸ˜›

      Like

  8. Pingback: A Month in Review: June 2015 | The Dragon Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

