April Ishness

It is now the Merry Month of May! (Happy May, y’all!) Which means… Time for another round of Monthly Ishness!

…I have no idea why I call these things that, or if they are at all interesting, but I’ve become addicted to looking back at my month like this.

Anyways, I had a fabulous April — I finished up some projects and did a lot of reading and life was generally beyond tolerable, so yay!

Editing

I completed my editing project! Yay! I know I’ve mentioned it a few times — I was doing a proof-read/copy-edit of an AMAZING Christian fantasy novel called Silver Rose by lovely authoress Shantelle Mary Hannu. I’m not exaggerating when I say it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year. ❀

rosebw

This was one of my first more “official” editing jobs and I was so happy to get it finished, and it was an awesome experience. πŸ™‚ I may be looking into doing some more proofreading/copy-editing type jobs in the future! Since I’m addicted to catching typos and making things sound better, but don’t consider myself good at content-editing, exactly, since I feel like each story is the AUTHOR’S story and aside from pointing out typos and inconsistencies/stuff that doesn’t work (and lots and lots of gushing about what I love), I’m just not a good critiquer. But the polishing aspect? I’m all there!

Anyways, it was great to work with an author and develop a system for editing and just gain some experience in the field of editing. So I’m quite excited about how it all turned out. πŸ™‚

Writing

I was fairly laid-back about writing this month… I was focusing on finishing my editing job, and then I sort took off for awhile… And after that I was stuck, as I mentioned.

But I did manage to write 3,500 words in April, nonetheless. Snippets for The Secret of Kedran’s Wood and The Other Half of Everything… and started a new random short story.

I’m calling it Darkling Reflections and it’s a contemporary/mystery type of thing with a slight old-fashioned, elegant feel, which I’m 500 words into and should be writing right now instead of blogging… Hee.

9d7f4ec3b9d76b65b071b3a86e7a5fbc

[Pinterest Board]

I know, I should know better than to start new stuff when I’m in the middle of so many already… But plot bunnies attack and sometimes you have to just go down that rabbit-trail with them!

Reading

AprBooks

(My Goodreads Reading Challenge)

Okay, so four of them were rereads (Howl’s Moving Castle, and the first three Penderwick books, which I wanted to reread before reading the newly released one).

But I read 13 books in April…

As soon as I finished my editing, I dived right back into reading other books and… well, let’s just say I kind of went overboard… (My number-of-books-consumed-per-month is normally more in the 5-to-8 range.) But especially as I wasn’t doing as much writing, I just wanted to devour all the books!

The new reads ranged from enjoyable to awesome, my favorite by far being The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye. EVERYONE: READ IT. IT WAS PERFECT. I was also sooo looking forward to The Penderwicks in Spring and it did NOT disappoint! ❀ Oh my goodness. SO MUCH AMAZING. I wish I could write like that. (Aaand now I just have to wait two more years for another one… No big deal, right? *pulls hair out*)

I’m also getting back into reading fairytale retellings! The Princess Curse, Twelve Dancing Princesses, and A Dream Not Imagined… I am officially re-obsessed with fairytale retellings.

Watching

aprilwatched

So many film-ish things! I’m not always a big watcher of movies/TV, as my free-time is usually spent reading or writing, but I muchly enjoyed most of these!

  • Frozen Fever: ADORABLE PERFECTION.
  • Cinderella: AMAZINGNESS THAT I WANT TO SEE AGAIN. ❀
  • Beyond the Mask: SO MUCH AWESOMENESS I CAN’T EVEN. And it’s coming to more theaters! Guys! I am soooo excited about this! Seriously, if you get a chance to see this, do! It was AMAYYYYZING.
  • Mockingjay Part 1: I am withholding my judgment on this until Part 2 comes out. πŸ˜„
  • Leverage: Can we just take a moment to realize that I finished watching Leverage? As in, have watched every single episode and have now run out of this glorious awesomeness? This is both extremely sad and awesome at the same time (awesome because I finished and it was… awesome). I loved that show so much! So. Much. Amazing. (And Eliot of course. Who is my favorite. …He’s a very distinctive favorite.)

***

So that’s some of what’s up with me. πŸ™‚ How about you?

Have you read/watched any of those? And how’s your writing, if a writer you be? πŸ˜‰ (Especially with Camp NaNo having just ended!)

How was your April?? Do you have plans for May?

27 thoughts on “April Ishness

  1. Yaay! Another Ishness post, I LOVE these! They ARE interesting and you must keep doing them. They’re so fun! And “Ishness” is the best. You call them that because you’re clever and fun and just all around awesome. *nods firmly*

    I know I’ve said it 100 times over but…CONGRATS ON FINISHING YOUR EDITING JOB!!!! YOU AMAZING PERSON YOU. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    You MUST keep writing Darkling Reflections because I’m dyyyying to read it and all its scrumptious goodness!

    My goodness, so much reading! Go Celti! Is that an Ally Carter book I see? Because I’ve been thinking about trying her books for like…a few years. Eheh. But I wasn’t sure if I wanted to or not. Do you like her books?
    That reading list is kind of gorgeous. AND FAIRYTALES. YESH. It’s funny how we’re both on a fairytale retelling kick right now. I love it!

    And that watch list is PERFECT. It’s like all my favorite things! Except I haven’t seen Beyond the Mask but I know I’ll like it.
    LEVERAGE! ❀ ❀ ❀ Coping with finishing a TV series is sooo hard, isn't it? Yet also kind of satisfying at the same time. But the great thing about Leverage is it's almost just as enjoyable rewatching it! (Loved the distinctive Eliot quote. Hehehe.)

    I hope May is as awesome as…as…Eliot's distinctive taste! ;D

    Liked by 1 person

    • D’awww! I’s glad you like them. ^_^ THANK YOU FOR ALL THE NICE THINGS YOU SAY. ❀

      Okay then. *salutes* Writing more of Darkling Reflections shall be a thing. *nod nod*

      YES. I've read 2 Ally Carter books so far (Heist Society, and Uncommon Criminals, both in the same series…) and I adored both! …Mostly because they are heisty things and I can't get enough of that now that Leverage is over. πŸ˜„ But they're YA and really good and I think you'd like it so if you get a chance you should totally try Heist Society! Can't speak for her other stuff as I haven't read them. πŸ˜„

      YES YOU WOULD LOVE BEYOND THE MASK. You totally must see it. O_O
      And I haven't tried rewatching Leverage (yet) but I'm sure you're right. ^_^ I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH. And yes. Eliot is a very distinctive person. πŸ˜„

      THANK YOU. I HOPE YOUR MAY WILL BE TOOOO. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. “A very distinctive favorite…” hahahaha! I love that!

    The Ordinary Princess! I love that book. I must have checked it out of the library a hundred times when I was younger. Trying to get my hands on a copy to own!

    Sounds like you had quite a lovely April. I hope May is every bit as good or better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eliot fans unit! πŸ˜„ Yay, another Ordinary Princess fan! ❀ I picked it up at a library sale and am SO glad I did! I foresee myself rereading it a lot, yes! I hope you can find a copy for yourself someday! πŸ™‚ And thanks! I hope your May will be lovely too! ^_^

      Like

  3. Ah, I LOVE your Ishness posts, Deborah!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They are always so interesting and fun; do keep writing them! πŸ˜€

    And thanks so much for your splendid words about Silver Rose!! Eep!! *huggles that part* I’ve probably said this a hundred times, but I’m SO honored that its one of your favorites of this year!! O.O I’m blown away. I’ve been getting so discouraged as I read through Silver Rose, not exactly sure why… But your words made my day!! *happy sniffle* ❀

    And yay!! Isn't it a good feeling to have finished the edits? You did wonderful with editing/polishing, and I hope you can get more jobs doing that in the future! πŸ™‚

    Ooh!! Another story!! πŸ˜€ Yes, the bunny attacks and rabbit trails…tsk, tsk!! Oh well, πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Oh my, I was startled to see my own book on your list of monthly reads! How strange it feels! Haha, πŸ˜€ Strange but good!! ❀

    Oh, and I think I must read The Ordinary Princess!!!

    Frozen Fever was quite adorable, and Cinderella…yes, must see that again!! Beyond the Mask…I think you know how much I CAN’T WAIT to see that!! πŸ˜€ And Mockingjay: Part 1… meep!! I like need Part 2 already! Excited to see your thoughts in the future! πŸ™‚

    I’m editing/reading through both A Dream Not Imagined and Silver Rose right now… excitedly looking forward to publishing A Dream Not Imagined soon!!! EEP! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ …And I’m reading By Darkness Hid by Jill Williamson. That’s one of your favorites, isn’t it, Deborah? πŸ™‚

    Anyway, thanks for the LOVELY post! =) It’s always a blessing to chat with you! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thanks! I’m glad you like them. ^_^ I hope to continue, then. πŸ™‚

      You’re welcome, but really, I can’t help it! I loooove Silver Rose! ❀ And aww, I'm sorry you've been discouraged! 😦 *hugs* I think it's natural to have up-and-down feelings about our works, so that's natural. But I hope you will not be too discouraged! Remember that I at least love it, okay? ❀ *hugs* IT’S AWESOME!!! πŸ˜€

      You would ADORE The Ordinary Princess! It's just perfect and sweet and whimsical. ^_^

      *flails happily around just thinking about Frozen Fever and Cinderella* Ah, yes, I hope you will get to see Beyond the Mask! And yes, Mockingjay… well… we will see. πŸ˜„

      YES I LOVE BY DARKNESS HID! That's awesome. πŸ˜€ I hope you will like it! Blessings on your edits! Hope those will go well. ^_^ Yes, A Dream Not Imagined is coming so soon, isn't it?? Excitement! πŸ™‚ I will try to get back to you on it this week. ^_^ And hopefully reply to some emails as well… πŸ˜‰

      I love talking with you too! And thank YOU for your sweet comments!! ❀

      Like

      • Yay!!! πŸ˜€

        Aww, *hugs back*, thanks so much!! ❀ I do try to remember all the awesome things you've said about Silver Rose when I’m feeling discouraged about it. πŸ™‚ But yeah, I think its just a writer thing. These crazy ups and downs!! 😦 My sisters tend to roll their eyes after awhile: “You loved it yesterday, now you hate it today.” And I’m like, “I know!” *sniffle*! Haha. Anyway, positive feedback from readers does do worlds of good!!! πŸ˜€ ❀

        Eep!! Then I really need to read it someday!! πŸ˜€

        Yeah…we'll just have to wait for, what is it? November. *gulp* Then we shall see about Mockingjay…

        Enjoying By Darkness Hid so far!!

        YES!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’m so excited to be releasing my first book! Thanks, that sounds great! πŸ™‚

        Aww, your welcome!! It’s always fun! πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. *tackles all the ishness* What are you talking about? I LOVE these posts! πŸ˜€

    Congrats on all the impressive editing, writing, plot-bunnying, and watching! You’ve been busy! And how do you manage to read so many books in one month? I usually read four to…I don’t know, seven books in a month. (Usually four-ish.) And you finished 13?? I’m not a slow reader, but I’m amazed by the people who can gobble up novels that fast. πŸ˜„

    Frozen Fever, Cinderella, and Beyond the Mask–I must watch these soon! *grabs at movies* And I enjoyed Mockingjay Part 1. Some people complained it was too slow compared to the first two installments, but I found it just as intense, in a more psychological way. I’m both anticipating and dreading Part 2…

    As for my own writing, book 1 is on the backburner for the moment, and I am in the thick of masterminding book 2. (Not plotting yet–I’m calling it masterminding because I’ve been doing big stuff like worldbuilding and backstory-forming and whatnot. Happy times. :))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, I’m glad! Thanks! ^_^ And believe me, I don’t think I’ve EVER read 13 books in a month. πŸ˜„ But most of these were short, and some I had STARTED in March… and I just was ignoring my writing and starving for reading books so I just went crazy. πŸ˜„

      Yes you must! And I didn’t think Mockingjay 1 was slow. o.o If anything, I felt it was too fast with too little, and then I watched the deleted scenes and was like SERIOUSLY WHY DIDN’T THEY LEAVE ALL OF THESE IN IT WOULD HAVE FELT SO MUCH DEEPER. o.o Ah, yes, the dread. πŸ˜„

      Masterminding… I LIKE THIS. I may have to use it. >:D Good luck on that masterminding! ^_^

      Like

      • LOL, even so, it’s impressive! *claps* πŸ˜„

        I haven’t seen the deleted scenes yet, but I should one of these days! Heh. Yes, the dread. Have you read the books? As in, do you have any idea what to expect? I just read them recently and…*whimpers* I don’t know how badly the fourth movie will hurt.

        Well then gladly use it! And thank you! I have some tricksy questions to answer and gaps to fill in, but ’tis much fun. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Well, do! They’re really good. πŸ™‚ And nope, I haven’t read the book, but I do know some spoilers of some character deaths and who-ends-up-with-Katniss-which-I’m-not-happy-about-sorry but I don’t know of ALL the deaths so I’m basically terrified that everyone I love will die. -_- Eheh. πŸ˜› I do think I’ll read the books sometime, but I think I sorta want to finish the movies first… Just this once. πŸ˜‰

          Like

          • *salutes* Once I buy a copy, I shall. πŸ™‚
            Ohhh, boy, those are some biggies. I would say you have reason to be terrified, but it’s not all bad and horrible. There are some bright moments. πŸ˜› Hee, I’m kind of the same way. I like finishing one version of something before I go experience the other version (books/movies). πŸ˜‰

            Liked by 1 person

  5. I need to watch Leverage, I must watch it. Is it good? πŸ™‚
    Cinderella was so cute, and well done. Congrats on finishing your editing job.
    Your short story board looks cool. Looks like you had a great month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES. You must watch Leverage. πŸ˜€ It’s awesome! πŸ™‚ I think it takes a few episodes to get going, but once you fall in love with the characters there’s no going back. πŸ˜„
      Thanks! And yes, I did. ^_^ I hope you have a lovely May! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Oh Deborah darling! Loved this post so much! And yes, Beyond The Mask was f.a.b.u.l.o.u.s! Hope I get to see it again, it was awesome. I really want to see the Cinderella movie, and The Longest Ride. A friend and I might go see them in theaters last this month, fingers crossed. Have you been to see Age of Ultron yet?

    Love and Blessings –

    ~ Aspen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! AAAHH YOU SAW BEYOND THE MASK. πŸ˜€ Loved it!! ^_^ Ooh, hope you get to see Cinderella! It’s awesome. ^_^ I haven’t heard of The Longest Ride… And yes, I saw Age of Ultron! I wasn’t so keen on all of it but most of it was super fun/awesome! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the comment, dearie! ❀

      Like

  7. Pingback: Nightstand Books – May Edition | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

