Of Avengers and Moving Castles

I’ve been thinking about books and movies that I enjoy. You know how you have different moods and sometimes you feel like reading/watching one sort of book or movie, and other times they just don’t “sound good”?

Well, I have come to the conclusion that there is one book that I always want to read and one movie that I always want to watch.

I don’t think this necessarily means they are my “favorite” (since I think The Lord of the Rings probably takes that place for both books and film).

But this book and this movie, they are my comfort-food. My happy place. Stories and characters that I never tire of and am always happy to re-visit. I always feel like I’d like to dive back into them.

That One Book and That One Movie

HMC

For books, it’s Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, which I reread this month for the third time and loved even more than ever.

dbc3a3549207b4db43cae043d8a43543

Thanks for that reassurance, Howl…

***

For movies, it’s The Avengers, which I rewatched last night for the gajillionth time.

Avengers3

Yeah, guys; you’re totally shocked, I know…

What is it about these two works? I don’t really know. All I know is I enjoy them immensely and even when I don’t feel like anything else, I feel like devouring them all over again.

They’re both extremely different. But they both have a good dose of humor, fabulous dialog, and casts of characters that I love intensely.

Howl’s Moving Castle

6fe236af50943e249b1c47ac41d25ab3

Howl is of course one of my favorite characters of all time and he’s hilarious and awesome. But I love the rest of the cast as well: fiery Sophie, literally-fiery Calcifer, helpful/adorable Michael, etc…. I just love them and their interactions and adventures so much! The plot is intriguing as well, the moving castle itself I love and want one. It helps that it’s my favorite genre: medieval fantasy in another world. It’s hysterically funny, but also epic and adventurous and just fabulous fantasy. And Howl. Because Howl.

howlheart

The Avengers

Avengers2

Hawkeye is my favorite of the Avengers, hands-down. But after him, I refuse to pick a favorite because I love ALL of them so much. Thor, Captain America, Iron Man, Banner, Natasha… They’re each so fabulous. I love their interactions too, and it’s just great to see them hanging out and bickering or helping each other out… And I guess it’s my favorite movie genre? Action-adventure? I’ve never been much into superheroes, but I do enjoy the Avengers. And of course Hawkeye. Because Hawkeye.

H12

I don’t know. I guess The Avengers and Howl’s Moving Castle just make me happy. ^_^

So I now have only two questions:

Do you have a “comfort-food” (separate from “favorite”) book, film, show etc. that just makes you happy and you never tire of re-reading/watching?

And why isn’t Age of Ultron out yet?

0001_avengers2_poster

21 thoughts on “Of Avengers and Moving Castles

  1. I don’t know if I can pick a favorite Avenger either. I just love watching all their interactions.

    Book: Shadow Hawk by Andre Norton. I read this at least once a year. I love it so much.
    Movie: How To Train Your Dragon (1&2). I always have the music around too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post, and I agree with everything! ❀ I love both of these things to death. I want that necklace so bad. Hawkeye is my favorite Avenger too, we have so much in common *Hugs*. Trying to think of other awesome things, the Hobbit is another book that gives me the same feels as HMC, and movies er umm. Sahara, I love that movie. So funny. Yes, I wish 'Age of Ultron' was out. I need to see it. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hadn’t heard of Howl’s Moving Castle, until I saw your rating of it goodreads, Deborah! πŸ™‚ But I’ve been interested in watching the Avengers for some time now. Hmm.

    I’d say one of my “comfort-food” books is Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz. I manage to adore it every time I re-read it. Also, I read and enjoyed The Sisters in Time series by various authors over and over when I was younger.

    Movies…I tend to get bored quickly and want a newer and more exciting one. ;p However, the Narnia series and How to Train Your Dragon do captivate time and again. Also, I believe Cinderella (2015) will become like that to me. Eep! It was so beautiful, I really want to watch it again right now! πŸ˜€ Also need to watch The Battle of the Five Armies again…though that probably wouldn’t be quite a “comfort-food” kind of movie for me… O.O

    Blessings! This was fun! πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know if either of them would end up being “your thing”, but I certainly love them. ^_^ *makes note of books* Yeah, I normally am not too big into rewatching movies… *shrug* Hurray for How to Train Your Dragon! πŸ˜€ And Cinderella, yes. πŸ˜‰ (Yeahhh, Five Armies was awesome, but maybe not “comfort-food”. XD) And I’m glad you think so! Thanks! ^_^

      Like

  4. Howl’s Moving Castle is my book-comfort-food too. ❀ It's just so sweet and funny and I love the characters and I literally cannot stay upset while reading it. The sequels do fairly well as comfort food books too, though.

    As for movies . . . honestly, if I'm looking for some kind of comfort-food-ish thing on the computer, I'm more likely to go browse a forum (which is probably going to be empty and depressing and not helpful but whatever) than watch a movie. But . . . I'd probably go with something Disney, like Tangled. Avengers would probably do too, though.

    Also, I want that necklace.

    Liked by 1 person

    • YESSSS, I’M THE SAME WAY. It just makes us happy! ^___^ I’M SO GLAD YOU FEEL THE SAME. And the sequels are awesome too and I need to reread them!! Definitely going to be doing that soon… Tangled is awesome, yesss! πŸ˜€ And believe me, we ALL want that necklace. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. FOUR MORE DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    *cough* I am calm. So calm. Most definitely calm.
    I think Nat is my favorite, but from there on out, it’s so hard to pick. Tony’s so funny, Cap’s so almost-sweet, Thor’s just plain awesome, and Hawkeye… Okay, so it’s a four way tie, and poor Banner is in last place. πŸ˜„ Poor guy.
    I really, really need to read that book. It’s on my to-read list.
    As for comfort books/movies, the Avengers is definitely one, but for books I have no clue. I very rarely re-read books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • *dies laughing* You’re probably the most excited for this movie of anyone I know. πŸ˜„ I love that about you. πŸ˜‰ And yes, you’re right about all of them! I’m not a huge fan of Hulk, but Banner grows on me more every single time I watch him–he has a lot of depth but it’s very subtle compared to the outright awesome of the others. πŸ˜› YES YOU MUST READ IT AAAAAHHH IT’S AMAZING. Ah, yes, I can see a point in that. *nod nod* So many new things to read, am I right! πŸ˜€ I don’t reread super often either, but some books I just can’t stay away from. πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awww!! Thanks!!! πŸ˜€ The worst part is that I might not get to see it. 😦
        Banner’s so sweet. Although from what I’ve heard, the first two hulk movies were bad. Must be Ed Norton’s fault. πŸ˜›
        Oh yes!!! Too many books. I’ve got several I’m super excited about, but I just don’t know which one to start next!!!! I guess I’m doing The Goose Girl. πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

        • Aww, that WOULD be sad. 😦 I hope you will get to see it! At least someday! πŸ™‚ Hah, I’ve vaguely heard that too… I guess the new actor is just brilliant. πŸ˜„
          Same!!! Aaaaall the books! Ooh, hope you like The Goose Girl! That’s on my TBR as well but I just haven’t gotten to it… Big books scare me. πŸ˜„

          Liked by 1 person

          • Someday, definitely. πŸ˜„ Yeah, Mark Ruffalo’s awesome. And I think new CGI stuff helped a lot, too. πŸ˜‰
            Actually, The Goose Girl is probably the smallest of the books I’m excited to read. πŸ˜› Which is why I picked it. I meant to read the first sentence yesterday, but somehow I ended up on page 3 before I had to go to bed. πŸ˜„

            Liked by 1 person

  6. YES TO ALL THE THINGS. SO MUCH YES. ALL THE YES. NOT ENOUGH YES. YESSSSSS.

    I’m not sure anything else needs to be said. It’s like you wrote this post for the both of us because you KNOW I feel the exact same way. I mean HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE. If I was forced to ONLY read that book and never another one I probably wouldn’t even be that sad. I could read it every single day, over and over again, and STILL not get tired of it. There is not a thing I don’t like about that book. Except that it ends. I want it to be the infinite book. AND THAT NECKLACE. I NEEEED.

    And OF COURSE The Avengers is the best. Like I told you one time, my brother and I just refer to it as “THE Movie” because it just IS. It’s the perfect movie!!!

    AGE OF ULTRON IS ALMOST HEEERE. *dies of anticipation*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Can I just say YES YES ALL THE YES AND MORE YES to your comment? πŸ˜„ You put it in words perfectly! I love that we are such braintwins! ^___^ *huggles HMC because it’s obviously the best thing ever* *dies of anticipation for Age of Ultron with you*

      Like

  7. I REALLY need to read HMC sometime soon. I keep hearing how much people love it, and it looks like it’d be exactly my kind of fun book. I don’t think my library has it, unfortunately. Either I’ll request it, or just buy it online so I have it already! πŸ˜„

    AVENGERSSSSS. Love that movie! And I can hardly wait to see Age of Ultron! I can’t look at that movie cover for too long, or else I’ll freak out. (My brother gets to watch it before I do. TORTURE.)

    I honestly don’t know what my comfort movie/book would be. Tangled, probably. The Narnia books and movies too. They’re not novels, but Dr. Seuss books never fail to make me grin. Hmm, what else? … When I’m looking for a fast, easy, action-packed read, Andrew Klavan’s books are AMAZING. I guess it all depends on what sort of comfort book I’m looking for.

    Great post, Celti! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I haven’t read or watched Howl’s Moving Castle (*blushes*), but I’m a fan of the Marvel movies and am super-excited to see Avengers: Age Of Ultron this weekend. πŸ˜€ I thought the first Avengers film was neat in that it focused as much on the conflicts between the heroes as well as the external plot. Each character has traits and quirks that annoy one another, and they’re forced to set aside their differences so they can collaborate to save the world. It’s a smart superhero movie, and I’m curious (and also a little worried) to see how the filmmakers handle things as more and more heroes get involved with each Avengers film. (Apparently the next Avengers film(s) will feature the Guardians of the Galaxy and a couple other characters who will be introduced in the next couple Marvel films. Yikes!)

    As for movies I like to watch over and over again… my choices are easy: the LOTR Trilogy, and the Harry Potter series. I doubt I’ll ever tire of them. I’m not much of a book re-reader, though – but that’s because I have so many books I still haven’t read yet!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, that’s okay. πŸ˜„ Not everyone has… πŸ˜› But yay Avengers! πŸ˜€ I totally agree with everything you said–yes! ^_^ Oh my… yes, that will be interesting to see how they handle all of the characters!

      Yay for LotR! πŸ˜€ It’s my favorite. ^_^ I haven’t read/watched Harry Potter yet, but I may have to get to it one of these days! πŸ˜€ And yes, I totally understand about rereading… There are so many new things to read! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

