Where Are the Words

horse and the rider

“Where is the horse and the rider? Where is the horn that was blowing? They have passed like rain on the mountain, like wind in the meadow. The days have gone down in the West, behind the hills into shadow. How did it come to this?”

I haven’t written in 2 months.

Oh, sure, I’ve written oodles of snippets (for several different things, including my Kedran’s Wood books and lots for The Other Half of Everything), and done lots of plotting, and editing, and blog posts, and emails, and letters, and to-do-lists, and… you get the idea.

But 2 months ago was the last time I continued on a story of mine. Right now I’m staring at where my current works-in-progress break off and — there’s nothing.

It’s true I was taking off from writing on purpose, somewhat, to finish some projects, and it’s true I enjoyed the break, somewhat.

But there aren’t any words.

Sometimes I wonder if there will be any more, or if I’ve forgotten how to write — really write.

But I suppose that’s part of what I want anyway: To rediscover writing. If I can. We can hope…

Or… Not exactly writing. But storytelling.

What about you? Do you consider what I just mentioned to be “writing” or do you only count actual-manuscript-words-in-a-linear-fashion as real writing?

Do you have those moments when you don’t know how to start writing that next part of your story — not because you don’t know what to write, but because you don’t know how?

Do you ever have those moments where you just don’t have any words?

How do you deal with it?

writing gandalf

I don’t know, Gandalf, I really don’t.

#75thPost

32 thoughts on “Where Are the Words

  1. I understand!! Gosh writing can be so frustrating sometimes. The ups, the downs. The wanting to write but not being able too. Honestly I’m still trying to figure out how to deal with it. Sometimes something works, and then sometimes it doesn’t. The old tricks of course help sometimes. Just writing, just starting something. Writing 50 words each day till I get something. But you know…doesn’t always work. Just gotta keep at it I guess.
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I have those times. That’s part of why I don’t always do a great job of keeping up a steady writing schedule outside NaNo. (During NaNo, the pressure usually forces me to write even when I don’t really have words. The result is generally very low quality, but it exists, and that’s the important thing.)

    I’m sure you’ll find your words again eventually, but I hope that “eventually” comes soon for you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m pretty sure this will be my exact problem in about two weeks when I’m done with finals. What is writing? What are plots? Who are these characters staring expectantly at me after having been trapped in the same action sequence for months? And some days I forget how to spell…so that’s a problem….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I totally know how you feel!!! I can have a really good outline and all that, but the actual writing part is soooo hard sometimes. Something fun I like to do when I’m stuck in my writing is to go reread my favorite scenes I’ve written.
    Best wishes on your writing! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, I feel you!! I’ve been that way with my current project, Diamond Dark. It’s been a few weeks at least since I’ve written anything on it; but every time I get inspiration for it, I’m just like, “No…it’s just…not good enough…” And yeah. I feel like I just CAN’T write, and yet every day the thought’s running through my head: You should be WRITING!! *heavy sigh*

    …So I busy myself with editing Silver Rose and my fairytale novella! Which IS rather fun at the moment. But I still feel guilty for not writing. :p

    Don’t give up though!!! πŸ˜€ I remember with Silver Rose, I went through a spell of like 6+ MONTHS where I didn’t touch it. O.O It was some MAJOR writer’s block. But look now, the book’s like 191,000 words long!! πŸ˜€ Maybe too long now. Oh well. Editing ahead…

    Blessings, Deborah! I’ll pray that the words come back to you, πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, I’m sorry you’re stuck on Diamond Dark. :-/ I hope you can get back into it! Perhaps you should take a bit of a break from it, guilt-free, and see if when you come back to it, it will open up? But yay for editing! Hope that’s going well. ^_^

      And oh my, 6 months is quite a time! But look how awesome it turned out!! …That brings some hope. πŸ˜‰ And pft, Silver Rose is exactly the right size! ❀ ❀

      Thanks so much for your words and prayers!! You're so sweet and encouraging. ^_^ *hugs*

      Like

      • Yeah, that’s kind of what I’m trying to do at the moment. Just focus on editing. And its going great!! I’m excited! πŸ™‚

        Aww… thank you! Thanks to your wonderful editing and help, of course! πŸ™‚ Yes, take hope! I got through extreme writer’s block time and again and finished Silver Rose! Yay! One thing that actually helped me write, was that my cousin starting reading the bit I had, (after the 6 months), and I was like, “Goodness, I better start writing so she can finish the story!!” Haha.

        Your welcome…hopefully I can be encouraging, as you’ve sent a huge amount my way!! Will keep up the prayers! πŸ™‚ ❀ *hugs back*

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Okay, the LOTR quote at the beginning is perfect but…but…CELTIIIII. *bounds over and hugs you* We ALL get these writer slumps, trust me. That’s proof right there that you’re a true storyteller. No true writer has never gone through one of these slumps. But don’t be discouraged! The enthusiasm for writing will return, IT WILL. I know whenever I go a really long time without writing it’s super hard to get back into it. Sometimes you just have to push yourself and eventually the words return, like pounding at a wall until finally it cracks and the water flows through. But also sometimes you need to step back and look for inspiration somewhere outside of your stories. Read other books, watch your favorite movies, go on walks–those things help a lot. So if the words are just refusing to come don’t force yourself to the point of frustration. Do whatever you need to do. It’s OKAY if you don’t write for a while. Sometimes I forget that… But taking a long break is certainly not a bad thing.

    And hey, the way I see it every single word you write is working toward improving yourself, even if it’s not toward your current WIP. Every sentence counts, whether it’s snippets or blog posts or anything at all. So be proud of anything and everything you write!

    You’re going to get out of this slump, I promise! One day inspiration will strike and the words will be flowing as fast as a waterfall. But for now enjoy your time! …Or spend the rest of your life reading my comment because it’s never going to end apparently. Ahem. No, I’m done now. *scurries off*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heehee, I just had that in my head and HAD to use the LotR quote. πŸ˜„ I’m glad you approve. πŸ˜‰

      *hugs back* Thank you so much!!! YOU ARE THE BEST. ❀ This was a lovely peptalk and some great advice, so thanks! Hopefully I'll either get back into writing soon, or else find peace in taking a good break and returning to it later… I will keep your suggestions in mind! πŸ™‚ You haz such wisdom. *nodsily*

      And don't you dare apologize for your long comments, ever, deary! ❀ I wuv them. ^_^ *huggles*

      Like

  7. I completely understand, I have been going through a wordless month, and I am losing it. I eat a lot when I don’t write so it’s a bad thing for me not to write. Honestly though I think even doing a blog post could be considered writing. πŸ™‚ You will make it through because you are awesome :D.
    Lord of the rings quote was on point, fangirling because LOTR.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 😦 Sorry to hear about this, Deborah. Having trouble writing is one of the worst frustrations for a writer. I think that’s why I don’t like to be away from writing of any kind for too long. Whether it’s the novel or my different freelance projects, as long as I’ve got my fingers and mind in something, I’m OK.

    The only real “strategy” I have when it comes to working about a writing slump is to be patient and do something else – maybe work on a different writing project to rekindle that creative spark, read a new book, or do something else creative, like draw a map of your world, knit, paint, etc. Every writer has their own way of dealing with slumps. But something always triggers the muse to return. Again, the trick is patience, which is not always easy to have. Trust me; I know.

    *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I definitely have those moments. I generally have those moments when I have a ton of time on my hands. Why is it that the best ideas and the motivation to write them all down only comes when I am absolutely physically incapable of actually writing them down?!?!? WHY!!??

    Ahem.

    It may sound weird, but try Christmas Music. Almost always works for me.

    Or go for a walk and just let the words come out loud. You won’t remember everything you said, but sometimes (weirdly enough, since we authors tend to write better than we talk) sometimes it works to just SAY the words we want to write next. It often helps me unclog the drain.

    Just a couple of ideas… advice I actually need to go take right now. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ah, yes, I have noticed that not having time or having to do something else is mostly when there’s a ton of inspiration… We writers must just be contrary beings. πŸ˜‰

      Hmm, those are very interesting/different ideas! Thanks for sharing! I may have to try them out. πŸ˜€ Good luck on your own writing!! *hugs* ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • *pokes head back in* Talking it out loud is GREAT advice! One time I composed an entire first chapter for a new book by just saying it all out loud. That night I started the book and the words flowed so well. Ever since, when I get in a slump I often like to go out for a walk and talk the next scenes out. It helps sooo much!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: April Ishness | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

