Blogging, Writing, Updates

Some may have noticed an unusual amount of blogposts on this here blog in the last month or so… Two posts a week when normally my goal is one weekly (and I often struggle at that). Well, for one thing, I’ve just had so much to say! For another… I’ve discovered something.

You see, I was on writing hiatus for three weeks, and during that time I did a lot more blogging than I usually do, and thought nothing of it. But somewhere in there, I realized: I was blogging because that was as close to writing as I could get. I wasn’t allowing myself to write my stories, but blog posts were allowed.

Apparently I was starved for words.

Hence, I got re-addicted to blogging. Now, don’t worry, I do plan to slow down on the posting — it got a little much for awhile there and I don’t think I can keep up with that (and I doubt my poor readers would want to, either!).

But I do have several post ideas swirling… Some more Heartseeker snippets have been demanded — fear not, they are on their way! πŸ˜‰ And I have some awards/tags to do that have piled up. So stay tuned!

In the meantime, since I haven’t done a general update in quite awhile, here’s what was up with me in January…

Writing

I’m back to writing again after my hiatus (yay!) and have started up on my NaNo novel Heartseeker again. (This means I was able to pick a book to work on, despite the character arguments in the form of letters that were giving me indecision…)

writingH

writing Heartseeker again!

I am going to get back to The Secret of Kedran’s Wood, I just… need to do a lot of plot wrangling to be able to go much further. Which daunts me. I’m sure Tare will live if I still don’t write him yet… He just needs to resign himself to the fact that his story is complicated and I don’t have all the scenes sorted together properly. I’m not as clever as he is and unfortunately fitting together all the puzzle pieces of plot is not easy.

I’m also trying very hard to ignore a new story idea that is insisting I should drop everything else and write it. …The ignoring is not going well, but I have managed to not start it yet, which I am counting as a win. …Which doesn’t mean I haven’t been naming characters, finding pictures for them, browsing pinterest for inspiration, writing summaries, making covers, and writing copious snippets… I have. Ahem.

OHEsnippet

What can I say. Snippets attack. Honest.

OHEwritersnippet

But not starting the actual book is totally progress! I need to finish some things before I’m allowed to start this. (The hero of the new book is laughing quietly at me. He seems to think I won’t be able to keep up this whole resisting thing. But in the words of Thranduil… he is patient. He can wait.)

Meridian&Teague

Meridian & Teague (pictures from Pinterest)

Reading

I’ve been doing lots of reading. I tend to read the most in January when I have high plans of reading a lot, before all my other busy things attack and push reading to the back burner…

Jan2015Reads

Books I read in January! So much yummy

And I’m looking at these books and wanting to read them all at the same time this very second:

ToReadSoon

Scrumptious Stacks! I can’t wait to read them all!! *flailing*

…Obviously that’s not going to happen.

Sicking (totally a word)

Also I’m recovering from the flu or some such reprehensible thing, which has left me a lot of time to read while my brain was too dead to function enough for writing, editing, or general life — another reason for how many books I read in January. (“Recovering” is also a dubious word in this case. In the midst of may be more accurate.) I have been drinking lots of tea, doing a lot of listlessly lying around, napping, reading, forgetting to eat, watching snatches of Bonanza, more reading, pinterest scrolling (when my internet isn’t dead due to thunderstorms), and generally trying to occupy myself with things other than wishing to be fully functional again. Also listening to lottts of music. Like Billy Boyd over and over . And music from How to Train Your Dragon 2 and Brave.

Ponying

It was one of those days when anything could happen. Like a pony following you home from the post office.

That would make a great story beginning, but it feels much weirder when it happens to you in real life.

A pony followed me home from the post office. Well and truly. This is a thing that happened. It was gotten back to the rightful owners, but it was still an adventure.

Weirdest thing to happen yet in 2015: check.

Pony

(there is now a running joke around here about “Deborah’s pony”…)

Scheming

Once I’m fully recovered and on top of life again, my plans for February include:

  • finishing editing a friend’s book
  • tackling Heartseeker seriously and trying to make a dent toward finishing it as soon as possible
  • staying on top of blogging
  • reading!
  • living through the social things my calendar claims I’ll have (sorry; I’m an introvert. People and places are exhausting, much as I adore them.)
  • and catching up on some other personal projects like some studies and reviews and emails and critiquing — all the stuff I keep putting off when life gets busy

How was your January? I hope it was awesome!

Do you have plans for February? Tell me all about the things! I want to hear!! πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “Blogging, Writing, Updates

    • YESSSS so fascinating! ❀ This time was actually a reread — I've read it like three times. πŸ˜„ IT'S ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVES! I love it!! That is awesome you love it too! πŸ™‚ EEEE. ^_^ *happy flailing*

      Like

  1. Okay, I just loved this post. I don’t know why. I just loved hearing about all the things and the snippets and yes! I LOVED THIS.

    Yay for writing!!! I’m sooo excited you’re writing Heartseeker! I NEED IIIIIT. And I know I shouldn’t encourage you to write your new story idea right now but…SKDJLKFJ:GJFD:JDS:JFD. CELTI. I LOVE IT SO MUCH ALREADY. THOSE SNIPPETS ARE SO AWESOME. It’s hilarious how you’re writing through the POV of someone who hates and doesn’t understand writers. *dies* TOO. FUNNY. TEAGUE ACTING AS TWO CHARACTERS. Such a writer thing that non-writers don’t get. AGH. Stop making amazing things that I want to read so muuuch!

    Wow! It looks like you read some seriously awesome stuff this month! And your to-read pile is most definitely scrumptious. I see some Goldstone Wood booooks! πŸ˜€

    I do hope the flu is leaving you quickly. Dumb flu terrorizing my Celti. >.> But listening to Billy Boyd, HTTYD2, and Brave music is a very good call. *nods, nods*

    The pony is so cuuuuuute!!!

    Looks like you have a list of great things to work on during February! I hope it’ll be a WONDERFUL month. ^_^

    (And I seem incapable of writing short comments to you…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad! πŸ˜€ (And it’s because it’s all about your Celti’s life is why. πŸ˜„ *giggle* I love post like these when other people do them, but I rarely remember to do one of my own…)

      I know, I know! I’m working on Heartseeker! ‘Twill be coming, I assure you! …And yes. *shifty eyes* You probably shouldn’t encourage me on this new idea. o.o *tries to hide from your praises/encouragement while at the same time beaming and cuddling you* *this does not work very well* *gives up* THANK YOU! *flaiiiiil* You made my day! ^___^ I’M SO GLAD THIS MEETS WITH YOUR APPROVAL! πŸ˜€

      Yesh, da reading and scrumptiousness. ^_^ I WILL TOTALLY GET TO GOLDSTONE WOOD SOME MONTH/YEAR. MEEEEP. I WANNA. *so much to read*

      Meh. It’s clinging. *glares at flu* But happiful epic music makes things better. πŸ˜‰

      *blinks* I guess it’s cute. o.o

      THANK YOUUUUU. ❀ I have no illusions about actually succeeding in any of those things. -_- But it's good to have goals! πŸ™‚ I hope your February will be awesome as well!! ^___^

      (And I am the same, you know; plus I wouldn't have it any other way — I love mah Lauri's long comments!!!!! <3<3<3 )

      Like

  2. Deborah, I am so excited to read Heartseeker and your “new idea” story. They sound fabulous!

    Do you not just have a hate/love relationship with new ideas? Lol. I certainly do. Like no, I need to focus on this book right now, not start a whole new one! (Not to mention, I really need to finish two other “new idea” stories that I started awhile ago…) But this idea is just so great, I just have to start writing!! πŸ˜€ Yeah, our minds just don’t stop I guess, πŸ™‚ Good luck with all writing endeavors, πŸ™‚

    I also have The King’s Warrior and The Second Son on my waiting-to-be read list. I really want to start reading them, but am in the middle of the Thaw series right now. Not to mention, I have bookmarks in Molly Evangeline’s Every Tear and Bonnie S. Calhoun’s Thunder. So many books! But I’m excited to read them all, πŸ™‚ Happy reading!

    Hope you’re feeling better and all.

    This month I need to force myself to write some book reviews that I don’t really feel like writing. And force myself to write a few chapters so my book starts going somewhere. Ha. Hopefully I’ll read a lot of superb books too, πŸ™‚

    Sorry for the long comment, :0 πŸ™‚

    Oh, and good luck on editing too! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks so much Shantelle!! ^_^ ❀ ❀

      And yes, new story ideas cause such conflicting thoughts! Everything you said — EXACTLY. πŸ˜„

      Best of luck with your reading! Sounds like you're in some awesome books right now! πŸ˜€ …Oh, yes, book reviews that one doesn't feel like writing. :-/ That's no fun. You can do it though!! *showers encouraging thoughts your way*

      Aww, is your book stuck right now? *sadness* I hope you can make some progress in it! *hugs*

      I loooove long comments, so do not apologize! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      And thank you!! πŸ˜‰ I've been fairly out of it but my brain is making a comeback (hey, I was able to write a semi-coherent blogpost!) so I see a good deal of exciting editing in my near future! πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • Your welcome, πŸ™‚

        Yes, I suppose all authors must struggle with that, haha. Such conflict. But such fun… for a little while anyway!

        πŸ™‚ Your encouragement is appreciated! I will endeavor to get that review done today! And yes, my book too :/, hopefully I’ll get a little inspiration. Or else just start writing. Sometimes that just what you gotta do!

        Ok, good, I love long comments too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Yes, good job, you wrote a lovely blog post! (By the way, I can relate to the writing lots of blog posts instead of doing the writing I should be doing…hehe…) Yeah, it’ll come, I’m sure. But I’m not really in a hurry, so give your brain time to make its comeback, πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Blessings!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. THIS IS AWESOME. I’ve enjoyed the regular posts from you. πŸ˜‰ Although I’m trying to cut back on blogging a bit too and focus more on editing and reading. *sigh* EDITING HURTS. I’m being such a wimp about it right now but I really would much rather draft a crazy idea then edit up a finished one. hehe.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. THAT SECOND SNIPPET THOUGH. You need to write it- I don’t care when, but sometime. πŸ˜€ And then I need to read it. Also: I’m glad you resolved your which-story-to-work-on crisis. Currently I’m facing a which-story-to-edit crisis. πŸ˜›
    So any idea why the pony followed you home from the post office? Or what it was doing there in the first place?
    Finally, your stack of books-read-in-January makes me rather jealous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heehee. Demanding, aren’t we? πŸ˜„ *giggles* And thanks!! ^_^

      Best of luck on figuring out which to edit first!! πŸ™‚

      And it was behind the post office because there was grass and it had gotten out I guess. And it was following me because it was verrrry friendly and I was the only human being not in a car around on a cold day. πŸ˜„

      Oh? :O Because of the number or because of the titles? πŸ˜„

      Like

      • If it gets you to write . . . jk. xD And you’re welcome.

        Thanks!

        Ahhhh. I was just wondering- it seemed like there might be more of a story there.

        Mostly the number, but also some of the titles that’ve been on my TBR list for a while.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. *glomples fun post*
    Ah, I missed my Celti…and you’ve been posting more than usual–how does that work? πŸ˜„
    Okay, can you just clone yourself so you have one of you to write all those ideas?? Please? Because I’d love to read them all! Ahhhh, those snippets! (I really should not be encouraging this, should I?) Is…is Teague’s face who I think it is, or am I seeing things?
    Ooh, Tales of Goldstone Wood! And The Skin Map! πŸ˜€ Yesh, you must read those!
    That pony. ❀ So adorable! And it followed you home!
    [Um, apparently I can only end sentences with question marks or exclamation points. :/ ]
    Get better soooon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I dunno… maybe you’ve just gotten used to my lots of posting? πŸ˜„

      I WISH! O_O Believe me, I WANT to write all of the things at the same time! *flail* (And yes, you shouldn’t encourage it, but I love that you are anyway. THANKS. ^_^)

      And I have no idea… who do you think Teague’s face is? o.o

      I just started The Skin Map like… ten minutes ago! πŸ˜„

      Question marks and exclamation points are the BEST way end sentences, naturally! πŸ˜‰

      THANK YOUUUU. ❀

      Like

      • Maybe I have, but that shouldn’t make me miss you more… πŸ˜„

        *flails too* Be a superhero and write all of them! Or be human and pick one. πŸ˜› (And you’re welcome. ^_^)

        Um, Zach Efron? With lighter hair? *shrugs*

        YAYNESS! You’ll love it. Lawhead has an awesomely British-sounding storytelling voice. And the plot. And the charries. All awesome. πŸ˜€ Hope you enjoy it!

        Oh, naturally! πŸ˜‰

        ❀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Perhaps you are only contrary like that. πŸ˜‰

          I’m working on Heartseeker! So there. πŸ˜„ (With occasional snippets of Teague’s story and trying to plot Tare’s mess of a story. *nod nod*)

          I have no idea if it’s Zach Efron… I’ve never seen him in anything and just found it on pinterest. πŸ˜› …Why, would it be bad if it was? o.o

          I’VE TOTALLY BEEN GOING AROUND SAYING IT’S SO BRITISH! :O And I’m 77 pages in and it’s FABULOUS! *flailing* So much hilarious and intriguing and awesome! πŸ˜€ I love it to death already. ^_^

          Like

          • Contrary, yes. Really, I feel like such a paradox about some things… πŸ˜›

            I like the sound of all your stories, so I’m happy with whichever you choose! But Heartseeker does have a certain special draw… ^_^ Looking forward to those snippets!

            I’ve just seen him in High School Musical. No, no, it’s not bad! I just thought his face seemed familiar and I was trying to place it. πŸ˜„ Pretty sure that’s him…

            :O See, it is, isn’t it? Haha, I know! Kit’s cluelessness and Wilhelmina’s insipidness and just everything. πŸ˜„ I won’t say too much because I don’t know what part page 77 is at. And good gracious, you just started the thing, and you’re already that far? Nice! Happy reading!!

            Liked by 1 person

            • Paradox is one of the coolest words. ❀

              D'aww! You make my day, you know that? ^_^ And da snippets are coming! πŸ˜€

              Okeedokey. *nod nod* It may be… *shrug*

              *is sick and has nothing to do but read* πŸ˜„ I LOVE KIT. He's adorbz. πŸ˜„ Wilhelmina is being resourceful right now. :O (About getting a bakery shop thing.) She's growing on me. I also love Cosimo. He's like an awesome time-traveling Gandalf person. *giggle* AND IT'S JUST FUNNY AND BRITISH. (Thanks! ^_^)

              Like

              • It IS. πŸ˜€

                Yaaaaay!

                KIT IS AWESOME. And I *know*, Mina surprised me so much! I started to actually like her. Oh, YES, dear old Cosimo… “an awesome time-traveling Gandalf person…” Haha, I never thought of him that way, but he totally is. πŸ˜„ (And those “In which ______” chapter titles are so completely British.)

                Liked by 1 person

  6. I, too, have a story idea that refuses to leave me alone, even though I’m working on editing one novel and I’m in the middle of drafting another novel. It is the most frustrating thing ever. Ugh. Well, I suppose this is what we writers ask for.

    A pony followed you from the post office? What?!? I need an explanation. =D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww! Well, yes, it’s the curse of us writers. πŸ˜‰ And hey, at least that means you have a backup story idea! πŸ˜„

      And it was behind the post office because there was grass and it had gotten out I guess. And it was following me because it was verrrry friendly and I was the only human being not in a car around on a cold day. πŸ˜„

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

