Letters from Characters

In which I am at a loss because two of my characters from two different books write me letters.

TareBW

Tare

To the author:

KW2coverPNow that you’ve been back from your writing hiatus for a full five days… get back to writing. I mean it. You said you would, but I’m doubting your word now.

Your fears that if you write the last consecutive scene you have plotted in my story you will get stuck is unfounded, unwarranted, and completely transparent as a shameless excuse to be lazy.

Or, if you really are concerned about it, maybe you should actually… oh, I don’t know… think about the next scenes after it, instead of constantly musing on scenes halfway through the book that will not be here anytime soon and that happen to be some of the most distressing ones for me.

Your priorities are skewed. Sort them out.

Or I promise you’ll regret it. Even if I don’t do anything about it. Which I’m beginning to change my mind about.

TareSignature

 

 

***

knight

Sir Durand

My Lady,

CoverHeartseekerIt comes to my attention that you are back from resting your mind on the subject of my tale and others.

It likewise appears that you have not decided to start again on penning them, because you are divided in your mind on whether to work on mine, or on the deeds of a certain person called Tare in a strange other world. (Yes, news of him has indeed reached us, even here in this strange and perilously beautiful forest where you have seen fit to leave us for so long now.)

I ask that you would kindly cease your worry, my lady. Go write of him. It is clear where your heart lies, and I will not be the one to keep you from it by having you pretend to yourself or to anyone else that you care about my story.

In all courteous fact, as I am not liking where my story is heading, you need not ever return to me, if it please you, Lady.

Whatever you deem best, of course.

I am, very coldly,
Yours,
SirDurandSignature

28 thoughts on “Letters from Characters

        • Oh, he WANTS me to, he’s just pretending he doesn’t because he’s jealous and polite. And he knows that if he says I don’t care about him, I’ll feel bad. πŸ˜„

          Aww, that’s too bad. 😦 Maybe you could spice it up with something that DOES interest you? I don’t know… I’ve never HAD to work on something so I guess I don’t know what that feels like, but it sounds depressing. :-/

          Like

          • Ah-ha, a polite one! My characters are very rarely polite. Talkative, yes. Obnoxious, yes. Polite, no. πŸ˜€

            I have several other story ideas, so I’ve been working on them a little. Hopefully I can find a way to reinterest myself in the story. I’ve just been realizing how much I needed an outline. I am a horrible pantster.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Well… sort of polite. πŸ˜„ Only cuz he’s a knight and stuff. *nod nod* Sometimes he doesn’t want to be. πŸ˜› And eh, I feel ya — sooo many talkative obnoxious characters! *giggle*

              Yay! Hopefully you’ll be able to. πŸ™‚ And yes, pantsing is hard. o.o

              Like

  1. My, but you have feisty characters warring for your attention! πŸ˜„ Neither seem to think particularly highly of you, do they? Hee, I love how distinctly different their letters are in tone.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Lolzy. Those charries — they think the world revolves around them. (Well, as far as the storyworld goes, it…er…kind of does, but that’s besides the point!) πŸ˜„ No, I guess they wouldn’t be used to it. If only they’d listen to reason and realize that a hiatus can be good for them too, resulting in (hopefully) better writing afterwards!

        Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t actually know what I will do… which is sort of the point of this. πŸ˜› Sooo much conflicting of ideas! I’ll probably end up trying to go back and forth and do both at once… And aww, thanks! ^_^

      Like

  2. Hehe. I say you should write Tare’s story. But I’m biased. πŸ˜€
    I am very glad that I don’t have this problem . . . I know exactly what order I’m working on stories in, and my characters are cooperating nicely with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh really? :O I’d think you’d want the fairytale-ish one. πŸ˜„ *giggle* But meh, maybe I can do both at once… *dubiously eyes them*

      And eeeee, that’s awesome! πŸ˜€ I love when plans go well. ^_^ What are you working on? πŸ™‚

      Like

      • The fairytale-ish one sounds awesome. But . . . Tare. And I wouldn’t suggest doing both at once unless you have some way to regulate when you trade off, but that’s just my thoughts.

        Well, I just finished Between Two Worlds (my NaNo novel from this year- I hit 50K but not the end of the story), and now I’m working on Destinies and Decisions (Camp NaNo from April). I only have a few scenes left in that, so I hope to have it done by mid-to-late February at the latest. And after that it’ll be back to Monster in the Castle, my fairytale retelling.

        Liked by 1 person

        • “But . . . Tare.” *SQUEE* Aaaahh you made my day!! πŸ˜€ And I often work on two or more books… at least in the same month… but it IS a little scattered sometimes. πŸ˜‰

          Oh cool!! CONGRATS ON FINISHING. ^_^ That is so so so awesome! πŸ˜€ Good luck on finishing D&D too! And then back to fairytale-retelling–YES. >:D

          Like

  3. “yours very coldly”. XDXD OMG THIS IS LITERALLY THE BEST OF EVER!!! I’ve written letters to my books before but this…this is genius. I love your creativity. xD And your characters look like they have it out for you. BE CAREFUL.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. *CHOKES* OH MY WORD. HOW CAN I EVEN RIGHT NOW??? THOSE TWO.

    Tare, stop being rude to your author! Did…did…he THREATEN you??? TARE. NO. BAD. I’m beginning to think Tare is your muse. o.o He certainly acts like one anyway. Demanding you of so many things.

    And Sir Durand! I knew I liked this guy. He’s so dryly sarcastic!!! πŸ˜„ He somehow manages to be polite and rude all at the same time. I CAN’T.

    *DIES* THIS IS TOO GOOD. I love how very THEM their letters are. I don’t know Sir Durand really, but his voice fits so perfectly to a fairytale setting and that of a knight’s. AGH. CELTI. STOP WITH ALL THE AMAZING.

    I don’t even know what to suggest. I’m so pulled. Because on the one hand TARE. BECAUSE TARE. And I always want more KW. But Heartseeker also sounds soooo scrumptious and I know you’re farther along in that one. So…I don’t knoooow. I WANT ALL THE THINGS.

    *crawls away with Tare feels*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ummm… y’know how Tare is; he probably didn’t MEAN it. πŸ˜„ …Probably. O_O And… my muse? *chokes* That’s an interesting idea… πŸ˜„

      YESH. He’s very good at being polite and rude. πŸ˜› I love him to death. I NEED TO FINISH THAT STORY SO YOU CAN MEET HIM FOR REALZ! *flail*

      And aww, thankssss!! ^_^ YOU MADE MY DAY. ❀

      I'll see what I can do. Perhaps both at once will work so that you won't HAVE to choose. πŸ˜‰

      *whispers* Sorry about those Tare feels, then. o.o

      Like

  5. Pingback: Blogging, Writing, Updates | The Road of a Writer

  6. Pingback: Tare Turns 5 Years Old | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

