New Year-ish Things

A new year. It’s not all that strange — it’s happened time and time again, after all. I mean, the calendar flipped, and it’s going to take me all year to remember to write 2015 instead of 2014… but that’s about all, right?

So it’s odd that I have a feeling about this year, and did as soon as it arrived… and it’s still lingering.

2015 feels… different.

I can’t explain it.

I think it’s a different color, but what color it is, I do not know. Perhaps I shall learn by the end of the year.

(And yes, this is just the sort of odd thing that goes through my head sometimes. It probably makes no sense to sane mortals. What can I say. I’m an odd whimsical dreamer and weaver of tales, willingly trapped in the land of Faerie… and all that entails.)

***

On to the more normal part of this post…

So it’s January 3rd… Most people seem to have already done their looking back at 2014, and making resolutions, goals, and what-have-you for this shiny bright new year that is 2015.

In the past, I’ve made copious resolutions because I like lists and things, and making goals at the beginning of the year is a tidy thing to do. And I’m all for tidiness.

But this year I decided I wasn’t going to. I’m a perfectionist, which means that as soon as I even half-fail (or perceive it as failing) a goal, I grow despondent and give up on it… because a goal must be finished PERFECTLY, or what’s the use of doing it at all? I know this isn’t the way to look at things, but it happens more than it should.

I wasn’t going to do resolutionish things this year, so that I would not have to deal with the sadness of failing.

But I changed my mind just now. Most people are done with theirs, but I’m going to jump in now, not with straightforward goals, or really resolutions… because I don’t know how I’ll gauge if I’ve succeeded or not.

But I’m going to take two words for 2015 and hold onto them and try to become their friend this year.

The first word?

POSITIVE

That may sound silly, but I sometimes get overwhelmed with things, even just little things, and find it hard to find good things around me, or in myself. I’m going to try to be less pessimistic. (Like something funny I saw on a mug today: Pessimists Unite For a Better Tomorrow! Heehee.)

Positive is a word I need to try for a little more in my life.

The second word…

PRODUCTIVE

Which is hard to track. But like Positive is to counter my tendency toward downinthedumpsishness, so Productive is meant to defeat that other infamous P word, so known and feared by writers and people everywhere: Procrastination. (But picking “Productive” sounded better than “Procrastination — NOT”.) I put so many things off, for a million and one different reasons, and don’t do them in the NOW.

What I need to realize, is that NOW is always. Tomorrow never comes. If I don’t do a thing TODAY, how will it happen? (Don’t answer that. XD)

This may go against my first word, since if I’m NOT Productive I’m likely to feel depressed about it, even if it’s only me perceiving it as being unproductive, because of my perfectionism.

But we can only begin by trying.

(And I’m not going to put Perfectionism either on my list of Problems or Pros… It’s something between both and I just have to work with it, somehow.)

So.

To a Positive, Productive 2015!

Best of wishes to y’all — I hope your own 2015 will be full of the words and their meanings that YOU need most!

Oh, and while I’m posting today (it being January 3rd), it would be vaguely wrong not to mention the birthday of my favorite author (as I posted on last year).

So a happy birthday to J. R. R. Tolkien!

Why don’t you do something Tolkienish to celebrate? πŸ™‚ (As for me, I’ve started rereading The Hobbit today. And am getting back to listening to The Tolkien Professor’s brilliant lectures on Tolkinish things. And possibly going to see The Battle of the Five Armies again tonight.)

And it appears my unofficial word for 2015, judging from this post, is Ish.

Oh well.

May there be much happy Ishness for all!

Blessings for the New Year,

-Deborah

26 thoughts on “New Year-ish Things

  1. I totally forgot that today was Tolkien’s birthday. *shame* I shall have to do something later this evening to celebrate. Maybe I’ll start FotR, even though I’m already reading another book. I can read two books at once if I want.
    Also, I like your idea of words, rather than resolutions, for 2015. Hope your efforts are successful. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, that’s okay; I’m just unnaturally obsessed. πŸ˜„

      And… er… I hardly ever read only one book at a time. *shifty eyes* I think my attention span is too short, and I need to have the option to read other stuff if I don’t feel like one; well, that and the fact that I wish I read faster, so that I’m always getting ahead of myself and STARTING books because I can’t wait to read them! πŸ˜›

      And thanks! ^_^ It was an idea I saw a couple bloggers doing last year… I’m hoping it will help. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Not unnaturally. Apparently other friends of mine remembered as well. Oh well.

        Hehe, I can understand that. There’ve been times when I’ll have multiple books started too, mostly when I have a classic that I’m reading bit-by-bit and then a more modern book that I can devour. Haven’t done that in a while, though . . .

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yessss. Sometimes It’s good to be in the middle of a slow-reading book and a fast-reading book. I AM GLAD YOU UNDERSTAND. Right now I’m reading a fast book, an ENORMOUS and exhausting book, a reread, and a book for my bookclub. πŸ˜„ But I have stacks and stacks of books I want to start reading RIGHT NOW… sooo… Yeah. πŸ˜›

          Like

  2. Positive and Productive are very fabulous words. GO YOU. I totally understand about the perfectionism part. *nods sadly* Me too. Like if I set a goal of how many books to read, I have to read MORE books than that. I can’t just complete a goal and be happy and it suuucks. So yes. I always actually make my goals achievable or less than I know I can do. Just for peace of mind. πŸ˜„
    HAPPIEST OF HAPPY NEW YEARS!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been having the same lingering feeling that 2015 is going to be different, but it is a good lingering feeling and very motivating. I too have decided to steer away from making resolutions since I’ve never been able to keep them in the past. I like your approach, focusing on two strong words. Those are also two words I would like to focus on this year. I can’t wait to see how this works out for you. Good luck! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not fond of resolutions either. GOALS, on the other hand (goals that are achievable and broken into small steps that one can celebrate)…those I like. πŸ™‚ Yay for positivity and productiveness! You’ve got this, girl. ❀
    Oh, and I had to smile at all the alliterative words you used. ;D
    Happy ishness to you too!! πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah… goals can be good! πŸ˜€ They often tend to daunt me though because as mentioned I need to do them PERFECTLY… and, oh yeah, all at once. -_- My brain is a mess. πŸ˜› AND THANK YOU. ❀
      Alllll the happy ishness! ^_^

      Like

  5. I love your brain, just so you know. That description of it feeling like a different color but you don’t know WHAT color…wow. SO MUCH LOVE. That needs to go in a book or something, girl!

    This year doesn’t really feel different to me, but I AM extremely excited about it. I think it’s going to be a good one! ^_^

    I agree about the resolutions vs. goals things. I’ve always done goals myself, or more like…guidelines. Hehe. Because half the time I never achieve them and, like you, my perfectionist self can’t cope with not achieving goals. So I write a list down of things I’d LIKE to get done for the year but know it’s okay if they don’t get done. That helps me put things in perspective if I perceive my list in that way right away…if that makes sense.

    Oh my goodness, we are so alike!!! Because I wanted to live by a word this year as well and have been trying and trying to figure out what word that is and “productivity” hit me just the other day. I definitely want 2015 to be a productive year. WE SHARE A BRAIN. But hey, now we can cheer each other on toward productivity, right? πŸ˜€ I’m still not sure if that’s my “word of the year” but it’s definitely something I want to live by regardless. And positivity is a fantastic one. I love your choices. Perfection!

    AND A HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO OUR DEAR TOLKIEN!!! We actually watched Desolation of Smaug on the 3rd, not because it was his birthday, but it was a funny coincidence. Although I feel almost blasphemous watching THAT movie on his birthday… >.>

    Ishness. Bwahahaha! I say again, I love your brain! Much Ishness to you and a very, very, VERY happy new year!!! It’s going to be GREAT! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thanks–I’m glad you like my brain. πŸ˜„ And heehee, maybe it WILL go in a book someday…

      Your idea about guidelines is cool! πŸ˜€ I’m doing something a liiiittle like that…

      YAY BRAINTWINS AND WORDS. πŸ˜„ Let’s totally be productive (and positive) together! ^_^ You’re like the epitome of productive and positive — totally my role-model! ❀

      OKAY. You absolutely MUST listen to Corey Olsen's thoughts on Desolation of Smaug, to make you feel less guilty. Corey Olsen ("The Tolkien Professor") is awesome and deep and LOVES Tolkien and does lectures on his works, and he did a podcast thing of some reactions to the movie, and adkjfslkdjfldj I loved the positive way he looked at it. I don't agree with everything, but some of the things he said are awesome — you must go here: http://www.tolkienprofessor.com/wp/lectures/tolkien-chats/ and near the bottom of the page there are 2 MP3s that you must listen to sometime when you get the chance! πŸ˜€

      (Also I saw Desolation of Smaug at the drive-in on his birthday LAST YEAR, and saw Battle of the Five Armies at the drive-in on his birthday THIS YEAR. So hee. :D)

      YESSSSS HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU TOO AND ALLLLL OF THE ISHNESS! ❀ ❀ ❀

      Like

  6. I like your words! Very cool. Last year’s word for me was “Contentment” – I’m not sure how well I hit that mark, but I was far more content in 2014 than I was in 2013… improvement counts, right? πŸ™‚

    How is it that I forget Tolkien’s birthday every. single. year… but I always remember Dr. Seuss’ birthday? Weird. I think anything at the beginning of January is just too soon after the holidays and too early in the year for me to remember. I’m weird that way.

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Contentment is a great word — perhaps that will be one of mine in a future year. πŸ™‚ And yes, improvement is always good! ^_^

      My secret? I put my favorite authors’ birthdays on my calendar. πŸ˜„ But I don’t know Dr. Seuss’, so you’re ahead of me there! πŸ˜‰

      Happy New Year to you too!! πŸ˜€

      Like

            • Yesssss. Aragorn’s birthday is March 1st! It says so in the Appendices in Return of the King. …And therefore, the scene in the extended edition of The Two Towers is incorrect when Aragorn tells Eowyn he’s 87… Because he would’ve turned 88 on the day they met Gandalf in Fangorn! (What a lovely birthday present!) *triumphant laugh* …Er, I suppose I’m beyond proper nerd-dom, then… >.> *cough* πŸ˜„

              Like

              • Nifty! …Say what? He’s in his 80’s? Boy oh boy, it’s been too long since I read those books. *shakes head*
                That would be an amazing birthday present, meeting Gandalf! πŸ˜€
                Oh come now, nerd-dom is nothing to be ashamed of. LotR is worthy of it, anyways. πŸ˜‰

                Liked by 1 person

              • Yeah, Aragorn’s from people who live a long time — he doesn’t LOOK 88, naturally. πŸ˜„ And yesh! That was after he thought Gandalf was dead — I always say that learning he’s still alive is the best present evar. πŸ˜€ YAY LOTR! ^_^

                Like

  7. Right, right… When you said 88, I figured that was a little detail I’d forgotten.
    Oh, naturally. πŸ˜„
    Hee, Gandalf likes to show up at all the right times, doesn’t he? ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

