Doings, Schemes, and Panic

Happy October, everyone!

You may have noticed it’s been a bit quiet around here… I’ve been quite busy and have been meaning to post a bit of an update, but it keeps not happening.

So! Here are some updates on what I’m up to, my writing, plans for the blog, and other fun things!

Updates From the Writing Front:

100-for-100-badgeFor one thing, I’ve jumped on board a very fun contest being hosted by Go Teen Writers — a challenge to write at least 100 words every day for 100 days. I’m working on my sequel-in-progress “The Secret of Kedran’s Wood” and it’s forcing me to get some work done on it every day despite my busyness, so I’m very happy I joined. Otherwise, I’m not sure I’d get ANY writing done these days…

Participant-2014-Twitter-ProfileSecondly, NANO APPROACHETH! Yes, hard to believe as it may be, NaNoWriMo is nearly upon us once again. November is creeping toward us at an alarming pace, and now that it’s October and the imminent site-relaunch of nanowrimo.org is coming soon, it’s time for me to start planning my novel for this year’s mad contest of writing 50,000 words in 30 days! *cue maniacal laughter*

pinterest

pinterest

nano_14_ml_badge_300pxI’m also a volunteer to help organize my local region of NaNo again this year, ( I’m called a Municipal Liaison, ML for short — pretty cool, huh?) and have a couple other crazy things coming up in November.

So life is going to be absolutely packed. …To say the least. Yes, it’s slightly terrifying how busy I will be. But I’m very excited!

And I can’t wait to get started on the story I’ll be writing — which I’ll introduce to y’all soon.

Fun Stuff:

Contest Header_thumb[4]

Do hop on over to Of Battles, Dragons, and Swords of Adamant for the launch contest/giveaway of Gillian Adams’ debut novel Orphan’s Song! (Remember when I did a cover highlight on it?) She’s got a contest and giveaways, running for all of October, and it’s all VERY exciting!!

My friend Christine had this in a post recently. It’s the best thing ever so I had to use it. XD

I finally saw Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Yes, it was as thrilling, heartbreaking, epic, fun, and totally awesome as everyone said. (The only thing it was missing was Hawkeye… I’m now even more impatient for Avengers 2 to get here!) You can kind of tell I have a Winter Soldier/Avengers obsession these days with the state of my movies and TV board on Pinterest…

Coming Soon on the Blog:

I hope to have a couple book reviews and/or bookish posts coming up these next couple weeks, so watch out for those! (I know, all I do is reviews these days… but I’ll have other things lined up soon as well.)

bookcovers

reviews coming soon – I hope!

After that, assuming I have my NaNo novel somewhat plotted, I hope to do a post on it to introduce you to my latest darling project! And perhaps I shall do an interview with one of the characters from my NaNo. (Since character interviews seem to be popular around here…) If so, I’ll probably ask for questions again. πŸ™‚

Depending how well my preparations go this month, I hope to have a few posts pre-written and ready to go up in November, because otherwise the chances of my blog not being neglected are fairly slim… So we shall see. Besides that I’m likely to be rather silent during NaNo — and beforehand, prepping — but that comes with package. πŸ˜‰

And that is what is up with me.

pinterest

pinterest

NOVEMBER IS COMING! IT’S SO EXCITING/TERRIFYING!

…Ahem. Excuse my my panicked enthusiasm…

What’s going on with you? I’d love to hear all about it! πŸ™‚ Any exciting plans? Are you doing NaNo this year?

10 thoughts on “Doings, Schemes, and Panic

  1. Oh my goodness, I need to start planning for NaNo . . . because I’m planning on actually doing that this year. Planning, I mean. Usually I go into it with just an idea of a plot and where I’m going, but I really want to actually finish my novel within the month this time. And that means doing at least a little more planning than usual.

    I still need to see TWS . . . I’ve watched all the other Marvel movies except the Hulk movies and Iron Man 3. I want to see it so much, though!

    Like

    • Finishing is a splendid idea! πŸ˜€ I’m going to be so busy that even getting to 50 is going to be in question, but that’s fantastic if you try actually finishing! ^_^ Planning is useful, yes…

      Haha, I haven’t seen Hulk either. XD You must see TWS sometime, it’s really good! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. What you’re a ML?! I am sooooo jealous! I wanted to do that so bad this year. But I figrued I’d never have enough time, between writind wedding planning.
    Also the 100 challenge sounds awesome.

    Like

  3. HOW IS IT ALREADY OCTOBER? HOW??? But so many exciting (and rather terrifying) thiiiings!

    I definitely need to get started on NaNo planning. I haven’t even begun yet. *gulp*

    Hehehe. Isn’t that TWS picture perfect? XD I’m still so excited you finally got to watch it!!!

    Oooh, I very much look forward to those reviews! I NEED to get my hands on Gillian’s book.

    That “November is Coming” picture is perfect. Exactly how I feel right now. *tries not to panic and freak out* *does anyway*

    Like

    • OCTOBER YES EEEE(K)! XD

      *pats you* I haven’t either and I’m not sure if I’ll manage to start plotting at all this week. You are not alone! (And really, we have all month! …Right? o.o)

      YUS THE WINTER SOLDIER. πŸ˜€

      ReviewsthatIhaveyettowrite. *cough* >.> GILLIAN’S BOOK. (I’ve only started it but it’s AH-MAY-ZING so far!! *flail*)

      PANIC PARTY! >:D (It makes everything better, yes?) We shall be partners in uncrime and WE SHALL PREVAIL!! (…Er, sorry, I’m in a strange bouncy mood tonight. XD)

      Like

  4. You get to be an ML? wow. That’s so awesome. I’m actually a wee bit jealous. I wanted to do that but just was too busy. Maybe another year. πŸ™‚
    Also I can’t wait to hear what you have for this year’s NaNo. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • YES. MLing. It’s very busy and quite a challenge, but I enjoy it. πŸ™‚ (It helps to have a co-ML; I don’t know WHAT I’d do without her. :P) You’d make a fabulous ML — you should volunteer some year! ^_^
      Haha, yes, that will be coming soon. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  5. Finished the Winter Soldier. Can’t wait to tell you about it. πŸ™‚
    Ahhh..yes.. NANO approacheth. That time of year when all my brilliant writer friends are busy and I’m so left out. lol
    I think I’ve heard of Gillian Bronte Adams…the name is vaguely familiar…:)
    Kedran Wood means Tare, right? πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Ooh! I can’t wait to hear what you think! ^_^

      …Sorry. XD But as long as you’re still writing, you can tell everyone you’re writing too! You don’t HAVE to be too left out, cuz it’s just writing. πŸ˜‰ I mean, it proves you’re saner than us, so that’s good right? πŸ˜€

      Yes, Kedran’s Wood means Tare. XD

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

