Story Snippets & Pictures

I haven’t officially said anything about my Camp NaNo since July ended, so I’m here to do just that. Yes, I won! *there is a sound of trumpets and a rain of confetti*

wincamp2014july

I worked on three different stories and passed my widdle-bitty 10k goal for a grand total of 11,177 words. ‘Twas a good month, and although to some it may not sound like much, I’m still quite pleased with the chapters I got written.

Which brings me to the main point of this post: Snippets! Today you get some tidbits from each of the stories I was working on in July.

Oh, and the other point of the post? I joined Pinterest. Heehee. I couldn’t stay away any longer. Much fun and pinning and late hours online ensued. I’m having the time of my life setting up my story-boards for my various works-in-progress! So much inspiration. ❤

My profile is here in case you’re interested: http://www.pinterest.com/deborahocarroll/

Here are the pin boards for the stories I’m featuring today:

The Invisible Mask

Underground Rainbow

Kedran’s Wood Series

On with the show. Half a dozen snippets from my Camp NaNo writing. Hope you enjoy!

IMcover3

     “So, Bremask,” Kenneth said, turning to his friend and breathing a cloud of white breath on the cold air. “Was there any particular reason you wanted to go riding?”

Bremask kept his great black horse in check without apparent effort, sitting easily astride with his dark caped greatcoat flapping behind him in the wind. “Not particularly.” He shrugged. “I thought it would do you good if I could lure you out of that stuffy house of yours.”

“It’s not stuffy,” Kenneth said.

“Isn’t it,” was all Bremask said.

“If you don’t like visiting me, you needn’t come.”

“If I did not like visiting you, I certainly would not come, and you know it.”

~ The Invisible Mask

***

     “And what are you doing these days?” Declan asked. “If I might ask about the nature of your ‘business’. Robbing carriages now?”

Artren grinned. “Not all is as it seems, my friend. That highwayman venture was mostly for the benefit of that untrustworthy fellow who conked you on the head. And there was no robbery involved in the end, as you may recollect.”

~ The Invisible Mask

***

     “Swine,” Declan muttered under his breath.

Artren laughed and reached into his coat. “Now, now,” he reprimanded teasingly. “He’s not all bad. As a small compensation for your cousin’s infamy, he gave this to me to pass on to you.” Artren tossed a small clinking bag across the sofa to Declan, who caught it in one hand deftly but with surprise.

“Really?” Declan asked suspiciously.

Artren nodded, crossing his ankles and putting both hands behind his head. “It’s the truth.”

Declan tilted his head sideways. “All of the truth?”

The corner of Artren’s mouth quirked. He winked but said nothing.

~ The Invisible Mask

***

URcover3     Ellerion laughed his rumbling purr of a laugh, without the screech behind it. “And what would you ride then, Lord Achnor?” He purred the r‘s and there was mockery in his deep, dark voice.

“You know I’m the best and fastest of all my kind.”

“Which is the only reason why I haven’t fed you to the Lake-Coiler long ago,” Achnor snapped, shaking back his dark hair with the blond streaks from his face. “Now shut your beak and fly.” He dug his heels into Ellerion’s flanks as if he were a horse.

With a growl and a mighty beat of his gleaming black wings, the great shadowy Griffin leaped into the air and swooped off with his rider.

~ Underground Rainbow

***

KW2coverP     Baz was startled. “You had a mother?”

Tare groaned and ran a hand over his face. “Seriously, what is it with you guys? Always shocked if you learn I’m normal in some way. Like I’m not human or something.”

“Well sometimes it’s hard to remember that.”

Tare groaned again. Baz realized maybe he took this in a bad way, like they thought non humanness was bad. Really, they just saw him as the opposite of normal. That kind of not human.

“Don’t get me wrong, we mean that in a good way.”

“Is that so,” Tare said skeptically.

“Yeah. We think you’re really cool.”

“Cool,” Tare repeated absently.

“Yeah. You know. Really awesome.” Baz paused and was met with a vacant look. “Come on, you can’t seriously not know you’re cool,” Baz exclaimed.

Tare just looked at him.

~ The Secret of Kedran’s Wood

***

     “Adrian.”

Adrian paused on the sidewalk and swung around, looking for the source of the quiet voice. There was nobody in the yard.

“Adrian,” the voice said again.

“Baz?” Adrian said, glancing cautiously around. “You hiding someplace?”

“It is not the boy.”

Adrian’s eyes narrowed and he made an incredulous face at the empty snow-paved yard, turning again, trying to figure out where the sound came from, since none of the directions seemed to work. “Baz, are you fooling around? Because I must say you’re doing a better job than normal.”

“Where is my voice coming from,” the voice said.

Adrian blinked, swinging around a third time. Where was it coming from? It was disorienting.

“Everywhere,” he responded.

“Correction: nowhere. It is in your head.”

Well. This was new.

~ The Secret of Kedran’s Wood

13 thoughts on “Story Snippets & Pictures

  1. YOU FINISHED CAMP AND DID AWESOME AND YAAAAY!!!! 11k in a month is awesome and you should be proud!

    SNIPPETS. *devours them*

    Of course I’ve read the IM stuff and LOVE.

    I need to see more of UR because…wow. It just sounds sooo amazing! All fantasy and wonderful but still in our world and just lksjdijfse. That snippet. o.O NEED. MORE.

    AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! IT HAPPENED. BAZ ASKED ABOUT TARE’S PARENTS. AND HE FINALLY ACKNOWLEDGES THAT TARE DOESN’T REALIZE HE’S COOL. THIS IS TOO MUCH.

    O_________________O

    What…is…WUT??? What is happening to Adrian? IN HIS HEAD? WHAAAT?????? WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO MY BABY? OH MY GOODNESS GRACIOUS MY OH. I NEEEEEED MORE KW2!!!

    These were amazing! *flails* ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    • Thank you! ^_^

      And yes, I think you’d like UR. 😀 I must figure out the rest so I can finish it and have you read it!

      YES. IT HAD TO HAPPEN. The WAY in which it happened was just… ACK. Let’s just say I can’t wait for you to see the stuff before that because Baz was AWFUL. 😄

      *cackles* Strange things happening on the Adrian front! >:D Don’t worry, it’s not bad though. Just awesome. 😉 That’s from the scene at the end of part 2 that I told you about… I CAN’T WAIT TO GET THERE EEE. MUST. WRITE.

      THANKS SO MUCH. ❤

      Like

  2. Ooh, delicious little snippets, dearie! *insert Darla’s giggle from Finding Nemo*
    I love the aristocratic feel of The Invisible Mask. And my goodness, griffins and mermaids and rainbows and wonderfulness all in the same story! :O Ha, I think all the Kedran’s Wood stuff is seeping into my brain; each time I read more bits, I like it more… ❤

    Like

  3. Congrats for winning NaNo! *showers you with cake and confetti* THAT IS AWESOME! Woot! Woot! I’ve never done a NaNo, but I’m seriously tempted to do it someday just so, at least, I can say I have. 😉 Those snippets were really interesting too! I liked the one from The Secret of Kedran’s Wood!

    Like

    • Eep, thank you! ^_^ Yes, you should totally do a NaNo someday (November is soon! Why not! XD). From the feats I’ve heard of your writing I bet you’d be BRILLIANT at it. And yayyy I’m glad! 🙂 🙂
      Thanks for the comment! ❤

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

