Q&A With Tare: Part 2

So, finally, here is the second half of Tare’s interview!

(The first half is here if you missed it.)

AlmostTare

1. When was the first time you wore a black leather jacket? Why did you choose that as your constant clothing item?

“I don’t know; a long time ago. I was probably 13 or something. It seemed like a good idea at the time. Still does, actually. Durable, good for all occasions and all weather . . . and lots of room to keep stuff in. I don’t think about it much, it’s just… what I wear.”

2. Do you have a regular barber? (If so, he or she does a very good job, just so you know.)

“Not really. This may be a good time to add that I don’t think about my hair an awful lot. (And… thank you… I think?)”

3. What’s your general worldview?

Tare folds his arms. “What is that even supposed to mean? I’m not about to dump my entire brain to you, thank you very much.”

Jacket4. Any mortal enemies?

“Oh-ho. Getting into deep waters, are we? Yes, I have had mortal enemies and probably often will from time to time. The key word, though, is mortal.”

(Author whistles innocently in the background.

Tare glares at her. “What does that mean?”)

5. What kind of music do you like?

“I’ve never been very into music. I don’t like loud jarring music but calm music is dull. So I have no idea.”

6. Have any favorite musical instruments?

He gives a sideways look. “Not . . . really. Violins are probably above reproach, though. Unless someone has no idea what they’re doing and playing it badly. So never mind.”

7. Car, truck, or van?

“None? If I had to pick, I guess a really big truck or a really little car, depending on what I wanted a vehicle for (stealth, for example). Vans are dumb unless you want to cart around a lot of stuff or people. I’m not generally in that line of activity. Besides, if I had something with lots of seats, the Chess Club would probably want to follow me around everywhere, and just… no.”

[Aside from the author: The Chess Club is what the other main characters of the Kedran’s Wood series call themselves. They’re slightly in awe of Tare, even though he doesn’t know it. On the whole, he views them rather like overgrown puppies: bungling, pestering things — annoying but harmless.]

insnow8. You like to read, right? What kind of books do you read?

“Yes. And the kind with pages.”

(Author gives Tare a look.)

“Fine. Old books. Anything that’s good.”

9. Do you like dragons?

“Depends on the dragon. Evil dragons, no. If they’re good, I’m open to discussion on the subject.”

10. Do you like kittens?

Tare throws his arms out to either side. “What is it with these questions? I have nothing against kittens. How’s that?”

11. What are your thoughts on Baz?

Tare shuts his eyes. “You don’t want to hear them. And nor do I, for that matter . . .”

[Note from author: Baz is an extremely happy-go-lucky character, full of pranks and humor, and he consequently annoys Tare to no end. Carry on.]

12. Do you really like being alone all the time?

Tare looks thoughtful for a moment but whatever is going on in his head is quickly shaken away and he makes an ‘It’s sounding pretty good at the moment’ sort of face. “Next question.”

quote13. Were you an only child?

He drums his fingers. “Yes.”

14. Do you even have parents?

“No. I did once though. Obviously.”

15. What’s your full name?

“Tare is short for Tarragon, if you must know. As for the rest… I’m not giving that information out at this point in time. So don’t ask again.”

16. What (in your probably-not-humble opinion) is your best quality?

Tare gives his author a hard stare. “Excuse me.”

(Author: “Don’t look at me! I didn’t say it that way. Just answer it.”)

Tare sighs and runs his fingers through his hair. “I don’t know. I probably don’t have one. Or… I can fight really well. Does that count? If you want something less obvious… Well, I don’t give up. Ever.” A shadow crosses his face and his dark blue eyes stare off into nothing. “I had to learn that in order to survive.”

notquitetare

17. Worst quality? (Yes, I’m asking you to expose your flaws. >:D )

“Worst?” Tare raises one cynical eyebrow like a question mark. “Not sure if I know, and even if I did, I’m not sure I’d tell it. But one thing that probably counts as a flaw is that I don’t do people. I just… No.”

(Author coughs, trying to conceal laughter.

Tare says dryly, “I suppose you’ve all gathered that by now.”)

18. Pet peeves?

“Didn’t I already answer this one last time?”

(Author: “Nope, that was ‘biggest’ pet peeve.”)

“Well then. Besides people asking me questions… People prying into my affairs, getting in my way, trying to kill me, and—oh: asking what my pet peeves are.”

***

And there you have Tare’s interview completed! Hope you enjoyed! 🙂

27 thoughts on “Q&A With Tare: Part 2

  1. I
    AM
    DEAD.

    Tare kills me every. single. time.
    THE KEY WORD IS MORTAL. TARE!!!! THAT WAS THE BEST AND SO TARE AND JUST LKDJSLFJDKSJF. I CAN’T WITH HIM.

    The idea of Tare driving around in a van with the whole Chess Club inside just… *dies* Can you imagine???

    THE KIND WITH PAGES. TARE. STOP IT! XDDD

    He’s open to discussion on dragons? Oh really? *wriggles eyebrows* He might regret saying that around me… *cackles*

    How he evades the personal questions amuses me to no end. Tare, Tare, Tare… *shakes head*

    THIS WAS THE BEST, CELTI. I COULD JUST WATCH TARE ANSWER QUESTIONS FOREVER. Of course…after a bit he’d probably just walk away, but you know what I mean. I LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    • *squeal* I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT. YOUR REACTIONS MADE MY DAY. ❤

      And… noooo don't be dead! :O *catches you up and keeps you safe from Tare* He would never kill you for REAL. o.o I'm glad it was funny though. XD

      Ehehe, yep, he's quite the character. I don't even know how he does these things. O_O *shakes head* Hee. 😀

      And yes, he'd walk away, but STILL it's so fun when people actually get him to answer things. Which is obviously why the Chess Club seem to have made that their hobby. 😛

      And yes, you should totally discuss dragons with him! I'm sure you'd have him around to your side of thinking in no time! As long as the dragons in question weren't likely to kill him, or bad, or annoying. XD

      THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENT, DEARY. AND FOR YOUR QUESTIONS WHICH GAVE ME THE IDEA FOR THE INTERVIEW. ❤

      Like

  2. That was awesome. xD I liked the “overgrown puppies” part best, I think. I want to meet Tare. And then I would probably drive him crazy but whatever. I also want to read this story, because it sounds really cool.

    Like

    • Oh yay! 😀 Thank you. ^_^ And Tare is in an as-yet-unpublished contemporary fantasy series I’m writing… (I’m not into contemporary fiction at all, but this one just… happened.) The first is called The Owl of Kedran’s Wood, and I’m currently working on the sequel, The Secret of Kedran’s Wood. There’s going to be at least a third as well. 🙂

      The Owl of Kedran’s Wood is currently resting after an edit, while people beta-read it. 🙂 There’s more about them around my blog, if you’re further curious, and I’m usually interested in betareaders since only a few people have read it… (And I’m not sure you wanted that long of an explanation but there you go. XD)

      Thanks so much for your comment! ❤

      Like

  3. DEB. THIS INTERVIEW. TARE. <3333333333
    Tarragon — that is just an awesome name. It sounds worthy of an epic high fantasy hero. Not sure if that's exactly the genre Kedran's Wood belongs in, but hey, it's just a great name regardless. 🙂
    The whole reaction to the 'in your probably-not-humble opinion'! Squee! *elbows Tare* Hee hee. I said it that way; blame me. (And I think I love him.)
    No, he doesn't really do people. XD Makes him fun to bug.
    No-o-o-oh, it's over!! 😥 No more adorable Tare interviews… *sniffle*

    Like

    • *squeal* EEP THANKS. ^_^

      And… he’s not in epic high fantasy, but the fact that you think his name would be great there just sorta makes my day totally, because that’s my favorite genre, and it’s very odd that I write contemporary fantasy but that’s what Tare’s is. But only because of leather jackets and weapons and things… >.> *cough*

      Er… You might not want to elbow him. O_O Ahem. I loved that you worded it like that — it made his reaction so interesting. XD (AND I LOVE THAT YOU LOVE HIM. *SQUEE* AND I LOVE HIM TOO. AND YOU. SO THAT ALL WORKS OUT. AND THANK YOU.)

      And you never know, I may do some more interviews with him, or other characters, in the future! 😀 He’s kind of addicting to interview…

      Thanks so much for your questions, they were AWESOME! ❤

      Like

      • Yikes, I have half a minute before I gotta scram, but I must say:
        First, SO glad I made your day! I think contemporary fantasy is great, although high fantasy is even better. XD My own WIP series (Journeys of the Chosen) is a mixture of both.
        Second, er, yes, I probably don’t want to elbow him. But I’m curious as to how he’d react… (YAY! LOVE YOU BACK!)
        Third, YES. Do another one sometime!!! Tare or somebody else, doesn’t matter, because I’m sure they’re all ah-may-zing.
        Fourth, you are most certainly welcome for the questions. It was so fun to read through those interviews and go, ‘Hey, that’s one of mine!’ ❤

        Like

  4. Yes, I do hope it is interesting. 😉 See, my MCs are from our world, but their adventures involve another world entirely, one that’s very much high fantasy.

    Eheheh, yup, I’m probably pretty harmless as far as that goes. XD Tare doesn’t have anything to worry about — unless, of course, I was ever given the opportunity to *write* him into some situation. Mwahaha…

    Awesome, I’ll check out that interview sometime soon!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Tare Turns 5 Years Old | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

