Dragons, Darcy, and Daring

[or perhaps that should be “Toothless, Thornton, and Trying”]

Oh, hey, did you hear that? If you’ve been lurking around the blog, you probably did… That was the sound of… well… of silence. *cue old Simon & Garfunkle music*

What’s been up with you? Myself, I’ve been quite busy, but such busyness is not an interesting topic, so I shall tell you of the fun things I’ve been doing. Mostly, in my spare time all I’ve wanted to do was read, due to some library trips, a library sale, and finding a secondhand bookstore I’d never been to before. So not so good about remembering to blog. Reading allll the things.

Photo_062814_001

recently read, currently reading, to-read soon

I also have been watching things, like:

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (twice!! :D)

Toothless is the most adorable thing EVER, it was lovely going back and seeing all the characters again, the music was AAAAAAAAAAHHHHH ❀ and aside from one or two parts of the plot that I didn’t like (mostly because *spoilersnevermind* *cries*), it was one of the very best movie sequels I’ve seen! Go watch it. Seriously. (Because TOOTHLESS!!!)

There’s really only one way to sum that movie up:

“THIS IS AMAZING!!!”

The other main thing I finally saw recently…

North and South

Richard Armitage should SERIOUSLY play Mr. Darcy. Seriously. Perfection. The Mr. Darcy’s I’ve seen on the screen (while I like them) have never quite measured up to my mental casting of that gentleman when I read Pride and Prejudice for the first time. Armitage, however, would fill that role quite adequately, methinks. I’ve thought it ever since I first saw him act, and seeing Mr. Thornton in North and South only served to strengthen my position, because let’s face it, he’s the epitome of what Mr. Darcy should have been (without, y’know, the non-romance part of the N&S plot… which I found to be mostly blah).

Just look! ThorntonDarcyBremask! [Bremask is one of my characters in my WIP “The Invisible Mask”]

10 44 83 48 109

Ahem, I believe I got distracted…

In other news, I joined some online sites on a whim, mostly in order to follow certain people… Not doing too much with the sites but poking tentatively through their shallow waters in my non-existent spare time. What I REALLY want to do is join Pinterest, but I’m saving that for a special occasion/reward for catching up on stuff, because I know it’s going to be extremely epic, awesome, and… time consuming.

Anyways, new places: (in case, y’know, you’re on them or interested…)

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OCarrollDeborah

Tumblr: http://deborahocarroll.tumblr.com/

Shelfari: http://www.shelfari.com/deborahocarroll

So, meanwhile, I have some more projects coming up. You see, aside from all the normal busyness, and trying to get back into studying and things, I’m also… daring to do Camp NaNoWriMo again.

AGAIN!

*cue cheers and applause to cover up the groans from the back of the audience*

Yeah… Sorry. But yep, it’s true. I know you’d think I’d had enough of it for awhile, but nope… I’m jumping write right back in for more awesomeness! I’ll be taking the opportunity to make myself write words to a goal. (I’m set for 10k, but I hope to be able to go above and beyond; it just depends on my schedule.)

What will I be writing about? I’m not 100% sure, but I’m not going to hold myself to just one story if there’s scenes from a few different ones that want to be written… And with so many WIPs and things-to-write-someday, I’m sure I’ll find something…

CoversCamp2014

However! This does not mean that poor little bloggy will be abandoned in July! Far from it. I actually (for once) have plans for weekly posts, hopefully more interesting and/or writerly than my latest ones, so as long as I actually write them and post them on time and stuff, there should be postses. *nods seriously*

I was, for instance, tagged with the Writing Process blog tour thingamy some time ago, so look for a post on that next week (assuming I survive the first week of Camp NaNo!).

In the meantime, Camp starts… well… tomorrow. Somehow. Huh. I wonder how that happened. So I’d best “pack my bags”; that is, do some more plotting so I know what on Earth–or elsewhere–I’ll be writing about tomorrow!

14 thoughts on “Dragons, Darcy, and Daring

  1. OMIJOSHOMIJOSHOMIJOSH

    I saw the title (and the alternative subtitle πŸ˜€ ) and I burst from excitement.

    I’m going to pick the pieces of me off the floor and then go back and actually read the whole post. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. OK, so I went back and read the whole post, and you have put into words my EVERY emotion and thought ever. Those books you got at the sale are AMAZING and you will have the most fantastic time reading them. And Toothless/Hiccup ❀ and YES Armitage should have played Darcy. He would've beaten Colin Firth's performance into the dust. But I'm SO glad he got to be Mr. Thornton because North and South, as a book and as a miniseries, leaves Pride and Prejudice far in the dust. Eek. Too. Much Amazingness.

    I love you and your blog and everything under the sun. πŸ˜€ You totally made my day. *huggles*

    Like

    • I made YOUR day?? What about you making my WEEK with one of the sweetest comments ever? ❀ Ehee, I'm so glad you liked it and that I could so accurately put your emotions and thoughts I hadn't heard before into words. XD I LOVE YOU AND YOUR BLOG TOO. Toothless and Thornton, the end. πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. woooooooot! You saw it!! πŸ˜€ YOU SAW IT TWICE! I saw it seven times… XD I’m a bit ashamed of myself, but it was so beautiful. I’m like a stupid little kid because even the seventh time was as magical as the first and I giggled just as much as the first time. I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE THIRD ONE!!

    Thorton/Thorin is an awesome actor. I’m glad you saw that one, I saw it years ago and loved it, and was tickled when he got announced to play the role of Thorin

    Like

    • YES I SAW IT. TWICE. But you saw it SEVEN times?? :O *jaw drops* Wow. But come to think of it, you’re the one person I know who I’m actually not surprised to hear that of! XD

      Heehee, yes, he’s such an interesting Thorin. πŸ˜› (They’re totally wasting him with a beard though…)

      Remind me to squeal about HTTYD2 when I write to you, ‘kay? πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. We saw HTTYD2 as well … the best movie I’ve seen in a llloong time! I did cry, right along with my son 😦 So good, though.

    Also … North and South was the first movie I ever saw Richard Armitage in. It was basically love at first sight. Yes, my husband realizes it, and he doesn’t mind in the slightest πŸ˜‰ Haha. What an amazing actor, though, and you are brilliant to put him in the role of Mr. Darcy!! I’m ashamed I never thought of it …

    Like

    • It was really good, wasn’t it! And yes, I cried both times. :-/ *sniff* Glad you enjoyed it though! So much fun! ^_^

      *giggle* Yeah, he’s kinda amazing. I first saw him in the BBC Robin Hood… or The Hobbit, not sure. He just seems like a perfect Darcy. πŸ˜€ Fortunately Thornton is a Darcyish person, so all is well. XD

      Like

  5. My brain when I first saw this title: “Dragons, Darcy, and Daring? That sounds delightful!” And then I laughed hysterically at myself because I totally didn’t mean to add another D word in there. Good times, good times… Needless to say, this is kind of the best title ever!

    AND I LOVE THIS POST.

    ALL the books! *pets them* *also pets Toothless because TOOTHLESS* Seriously, is there anything more adorable than him? ANYTHING? Oh, right, Richard Armitage. THOSE PICTURE. THE FIRST ONE. ❀ His smirky little smile gets me every. time. He would SO be the perfect Darcy. Also Benedict Cumberbatch. Can you imagine? Although, to be honest, I though Colin Firth portrayed Mr. Darcy to perfection. But still. ARMITAGE! ❀

    GOOD LUCK ON CAMP!!!

    Like

    • Heehee… I’m glad the title was a success. It was totally last-minutey. πŸ˜›

      AND I LOVE YOU SO WE’RE EVEN. ^_^

      Adorable Toothless is adorable! And yes, the smirky Armitage smile. He’s perfected the art of smirking, hasn’t he? πŸ˜‰ Huh, I never thought of Benedict Cumberbatch for Darcy… I feel like that would be weird; he could probably pull it off though. And I liked Colin Firth AND Matthew Macfayden both, just neither of them are my ideal Darcy since Armitage is perfection. XD

      THANK YOU!!! ❀ I'VE WRITTEN LIKE 1700 WORDS TODAY SO I'M VERY EXCITED. πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. I agree Armitage would be the best Darcy ever. Sarah agrees too. He has the necessary pride without being too mean. πŸ™‚
    Pwitty pics of pwitty man….:)
    Write more Jancsi! πŸ˜€
    Hey, I’m on Twitter too! I should probably get on there and follow you. My Twitter life is super inactive–I only joined to attend a party once–but you might help liven it up. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • YES. I’m glad so many people agree with me about an ArmitageDarcy. XD (So pwitty yes. I took too many screenshots…)

      Heehee, I’ll see what I can do. Though at the moment it’s MATT of course… πŸ˜‰ If nothing else I’ll at least finish the chapter! And then probably on to The Invisible Mask… (Probably)

      Oh believe me, I’m not super active there myself; I mostly follow people and retweet things because I’m not clever enough and/or too long winded to write things short and witty enough for twitter. πŸ˜›

      Like

  7. Ever since I read how much Cressida Cowell loved the adaption of How To Train Your Dragon 2, I knew it must be good. So many authors are burned by the movies that are made from their stories.

    I love the first one, but I still have the joy of seeing the sequel for the first time ahead of me. Prepare to cry eh? =)

    Like

    • Oh really? I hadn’t heard the author was pleased. Good to know! It was a fantastic movie; but yes, a wee bit sad for a bit. πŸ˜‰ The overall wonderfulness made up for it though. XD I hope you enjoy it when you see it! And thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

