Music for the Camping Writer

Well, I’m running short of time to finish Camp NaNo and there are many words to write yet. But during one of my writing breaks, I thought I’d keep up my Monday-posting streak!

So, for your listening pleasure, here are some of the songs and melodies I’ve been listening to for inspiration as I type away at my Camp stories.


Planxty Amblade Cruso – Kate Price
Theme-song melody for my current WIP “Snowfall at Kedran’s Wood”.

I’m not sure entirely why it’s the theme-song for it, but I got the CD it’s on for my birthday, which was around when I was doing a lot of the brainstorming for this story, and it sounded similar to a lot of the music I used when writing the first book, “The Owl of Kedran’s Wood”, so it sort of twined itself to the story and now it just is part of it. Also it seems to sound a little wintry; but that might just be me. I’m listening to that one all the time — it’s so inspirational to my story.

After that, in no particular order:

Gaelic Morn
A friend linked this to me years ago as good instrumental inspirational music for writing, and I’ve continually gone back to hear it over and over since then — it may be the thing I play most on Youtube. Heartrendingly beautiful. โค (Okay, so the picture’s weird. But I got over it. ;))

Let it Go“Frozen
Let’s face it — this is here because it’s constantly stuck in my head, so I have to go watch it…

End Credits“Braveheart” soundtrack
Mostly 1:40-3:10. GORGEOUS.

Prince of Persia soundtrack

‘Nuff said. ๐Ÿ˜€


Touch the Sky“Brave” soundtrack
This is just so awesome! I love it.

Noble Maiden Fair“Brave” soundtrack
This has to be one of the most beautiful things ever!

Cover of The Lord of the Rings themes by The Piano Guys
This. This is the best. I discovered it during NaNo last November and have never tired of it. It’s amazing to watch.

And there you have it, a few of the songs and tunes that have been jangling away in my head as I write! Hope you enjoyed!

Do you listen to music when you write?

Welp, back to the Campgrounds. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Music for the Camping Writer

  1. Thank you for a beautiful and inspiring soundtrack! I love the “sounds” of your story … I hope we get to hear the story sometime soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ Planxty Amblade Cruso was so lovely. You’re right, it does have a wintry sound. I can picture a bare forest at night covered over with snow and moonlight. My other favorites of your list are Gaelic Morn (I never heard that before!), the Braveheart soundtrack (especially that one part you mentioned), “Touch the Sky” (the music from Brave has got to be the best Disney film music ever!), and, of course, the Lord of the Rings Theme. Piano Guys are so cool! I loved their rendition of it.
    I don’t listen to music while I write, usually. Even classical music distracts me. I can listen while I do not so creative things, but silence is the most conducive for when I’m working on my story. I wish I could link specific music to a story, but so far the only thing I have matched up is Schubert’s Swan Song for The Alice Quest, because it’s the two main character’s favorite piece of music. Music takes me places, but not to where my works in progress reside. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Well thanks, I’m glad you like it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hopefully there will be a chance to hear it someday… it *is* a sequel though…

      Aahh that’s so cool you get that mental image because that’s very much what the story feels like to me!

      I know, aren’t they just amazing? โค I love beautiful music.

      That's interesting you don't listen to music while you write! It makes sense too. I used to not like listening to music when I wrote either but I gradually decided I liked it and now it's rather a habit. That's cool about the Swan Song–I had to go look it up. It's pretty. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I guess even if it doesn't always help *while* writing, at least lovely music can be very inspirational. ^_^

      Thanks for your thoughts!

      Like

  2. All these music choices are just plain gorgeous! ๐Ÿ™‚ I particularly love Let It Go and the Braveheart soundtrack. Also anything to do with Prince of Persia is up my alley. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

