Camping! (not-really)

In April I’ll be hopping onto the Camp NaNoWriMo bandwagon — though just with a low goal of 10,000 words. I want to get myself writing something and I figured it would provide a good push.

What am I going to be working on? Eh. That’s still undecided. But I figure that with all the stories I have in the works, there should be something to write each day… right?

Here are my most-likely candidates for working on in April, as described on my Camp page, in this edition of OPERATION WRITE SOME WORDS THIS MONTH.

CampApril14coverSong of a Pirate
A nautical medieval fantasy novella I worked on for both of 2013’s Camps, featuring pirates, gypsies, memory-loss, and possibly a giant crab.

Snowfall at Kedran’s Wood
A contemporary-fantasy Christmas novella sequel to my latest finished novel. I say novella because I’m pretending it’s going to be short — I’m obviously a delusional person. Contains a hilarious group of friends and one of my favorite characters ever, complete with black leather jacket.

The Invisible Mask
A fantasy novel with mansions on windswept moors and fine people going about in carriages. Think “Pride and Prejudice”, with action, from the point of view of the fellows instead of the girls. Starring Richard Armitage.

I may end up working on any, all, or none of these, and if anything else rears its head and begs to be written, I’ll not complain. πŸ˜‰

Is anyone else doing Camp NaNo this April?

What are you currently writing?

(Also, I keep not posting any of the posts I keep planning to post — colds have a way of making your brain not want to function — but I’m determined to get to them soon.)

11 thoughts on “Camping! (not-really)

  1. Pingback: Moving On Up! | jsleflore

  2. *high five*! April is going to be awesome, Debbie. You’re such a motivated writer (compared to me, leastways. πŸ˜› )

    The premise of The Invisible Mask is AWESOME. It’s like seriously the best thing ever. Pride and prejudice. From the gentlemen’s point of view. With action. Highwaymen, possibly? Starring Richard Armitage?!

    My novel also stars Richard Armitage, but as the villain/anti-hero. XD Please tell me that Richard Armitage in The Invisible Mask is the dashing protagonist who gets the heroine to fall in love with him? (Not that it would be difficult or anything…)

    Like

    • Eh, I’m actually not at all motivated these days. πŸ˜› (Hence my attempt to make myself so with Camp!)

      I’m glad you like it! Yes, there were at least highwaymen in the first chapter–I don’t know if they’ll be a large part of the plot.

      Ah yes, poor Richard Armitage gets a lot of those roles… πŸ˜€ He’s actually a side-character who’s more important than the main character… *seals lips in regard to certain ladies* Though yeah, not that would be difficult. XD

      Like

  3. Woohoo! Go, Celti! I’m still very strongly considering doing Camp myself. It would be a lot of fun if we did it together, wouldn’t it? Now I’m thinking about it even MORE. Hmmm….

    “Operation Write Some Words This Month” I’m dying!!! That’s too perfect! And your description of The Invisible Mask. “Starring Richard Armitage”. Bwahaha! You’re so funny!

    Good luck with Camp!!! I may be joining you in the endeavor…

    Like

    • IF YOU DO CAMP WE MUST GET IN A CABIN TOGETHER. IT WOULD BE THE COOLEST. 8D (Ahem. Not that you have to or anything.)

      Heehee, well, yes, it was all I could think of that besides “miscellaneous stories” which sounds much less interesting…

      Thankee! ^_^ I think I’ll need all the luck I can get… *nervously eyes empty plotting files for the stories I’ll allegedly be writing*

      Like

  4. The Invisible Mask! So glad to see it’s on here, though of course I’m sure I’ll love your other stories, too. Your synopsis sounds just like it. : ) Richard Armitage! You are all so funny.
    I’m so intrigued about Song of a Pirate … I haven’t read any good pirate stories since Treasure Island. I’ve had more interaction with gypsies; love to see them again, too.
    I would love to meet Snowfall at Kedran’s Wood, too! It contains one of your favorite character ever? Now that’s attracting!

    Like

    • Yes, I don’t know if I’ll actually get anything done on The Invisible Mask, but even figuring out another chapter would be nice. πŸ˜›

      I’m glad you’re intrigued! Though I’m afraid that there’s actually a surprisingly little seen of the pirates in the story considering it’s named after one… πŸ˜‰

      Since it’s a sequel, you’d probably have to meet the first book beforehand, haha! Fortunately that character is also in The Owl of Kedran’s Wood, the first book… Maybe we’ll get to that at Writers’ Club sometime. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Haha, this made me laugh! πŸ™‚ Yes, there’s summer versions of NaNo called Camp NaNo, usually April and July. Not nearly as many people do it though. (I think there’s unofficial NaNo’s every month, but only three “real” months.) And NaNo isn’t the best fit for everyone so you don’t HAVE to have excuses unless you want to. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. You lost me at Richard Armitage. πŸ˜‰
    Good luck during NaNo. I seriously wish that I had found out about it/that it had existed before I went to college and then consequently got a job. No time. Sad.
    I love the camps, because you can set your word limit– I did 20k last July and it helped me almost finish Keepers! πŸ™‚

    Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

