Twelve Dancing Princesses

I want to stay on my Tuesday-blogging schedule, and true to last week’s post resolution, I’m going to post something even though I don’t have an elaborate post topic in mind. So…

I would do a random post about what I’m working on writing, but since things are somewhat quiet on the writing front (working on a million and one little projects and not actively writing anything) I’m going to talk about my latest book obsession. We all have those, right? Some topic or other that you suddenly decide is the best thing every and go on a quest to find lots of them to read… Be it King Arthur, or a particular genre, or books about cats, or whatever. Or is it just me?

My latest… Well, look at the title for a clue. πŸ˜‰ A few brief years ago I discovered this fairytale “The Twelve Dancing Princesses” in a collection we had lying around, and was instantly hooked. Why, I asked, had I never heard of it before?? I decided it was the coolest fairytale ever. I mean, all those princesses swirling around in their gorgeous dresses, a mystery, a handsome soldier (or gardener… it seems to vary…), and an enchanted underground or other-worldly palace thing… What’s not to like? The imagery and the idea and everything just captured me.

Skip awhile, and one day I saw a book on Goodreads:

I noticed it was a novel-length retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses, and found our library had it, so I got it and read it… and was instantly hooked. Even more than I had been. I loved it. It was the REAL version to me. (Also GALEN. <3)

Then this week I read another novelized version of the story…

It was likewise awesome and likewise THE version that really happened. I know, I can’t decide… (Also LORD BRADFORD. ❀ And… others. I loved all the characters…)

It’s the perfect thing for picture books too…

I looked it up on Wikipedia… and places… and I made a Goodreads shelf

I’m determined to try to read as many versions as I can get my hands on.

I’m rather obsessed.

What’s your favorite fairytale? Or latest obsession in books?

12 thoughts on “Twelve Dancing Princesses

  1. Love this!!! πŸ˜€ The Twelve Dancing Princesses is always a favorite. And in Jessica Day George’s book–GALEN!!! Golly sakes, this character is one of the most fun, most loveable characters ever. And he *knits*. He’s like a god… πŸ˜‰

    I don’t have a favorite fairy tale, but I have to give a bunch of love to The Twelve Ravens by Grimm. ❀

    Like

    • Yes, Galen is just wonderful! A favorite character indeed… Maybe I should do a post about favorite characters in fiction. And yes, the knitting was fun. πŸ˜„

      Hmm, not sure if I know about that one… But I do plan on reading the entire Grimm collection this year, so I’ll keep an eye out for it. πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. I am totally stalking that GoodReads shelf!!! I have always LOOOOOVED The Twelve Dancing Princesses. Like, serious love. I’ve even played with the idea of writing my own retelling one day. And yet I’ve never really read any retellings of it! It’s a tragedy. But I have Princess of the Midnight Ball now and it’s on my read VERY soon list. I cannot wait! As you said, though, there’s nothing not to love of that fairytale. It’s so epic. I need to get my hands on Entwined it seems now. If you find anymore really good ones, let me know! We can obsess over this fairytale together. πŸ˜€

    And, just so you know, I totally go through those phases as well, where you find a topic that you become completely obsessed with for a time. Happens allll the time.

    Like

    • Erm… did I not say anything about wanting to write a retelling myself…? *checks post* Whoops. That’s what comes of hasty blogposts posted two minutes before the library closes. πŸ˜› Of all the fairytales I’ve ever come across, this one is the one I’m most likely to write a retelling of simply for the retelling’s sake — because it’s awesome. (I mean, I have a couple stories that might have Cinderella or Sleeping Beauty but they didn’t START OUT as those).

      And yes, I think the moment my obsession became real was when I made the Goodreads shelf for it. πŸ˜€ I’ll definitely be telling you about any good versions I come across! Princess of the Midnight Ball is a fantastic start, and Entwined was also awesome. ^_^

      And thanks — good to know I’m not the only one with weird phases like this. πŸ˜„

      Like

  3. Great post! Thank you for reminding me how much I liked the Twelve Dancing Princesses … I feel a slight obsession coming on right now … I must read this fairy tale again! I like the sound of those novels, too.
    My mom goes through what could, I suppose, be called obsessions. Right now it’s fairy tales, Tolkien, and Lewis. Books, blogs, articles, etc., etc. must be explored. I go through something similar to a smaller extent. : ) The latest was Winnie the Pooh! Fairy tales are coming to the head again, thanks to you and Mom. : ) My favorite fairy tale is Cinderella, but I really appreciate lovely, lesser-known ones, too. The Ugly Duckling has always resounded with me as well. I love The Marsh King’s Daughter, which I believe is by Hans Christian Andersen.

    Like

    • It’s just such a fun story! πŸ™‚ Wow, your Mom’s obsessions sound awesome! πŸ˜„ And yay for Winnie the Pooh! I just re-read The Ugly Duckling–I agree it’s lovely! And thanks, I’ll have to keep an eye out for The Marsh King’s Daughter… I’ve been meaning to read some more Hans Christian Anderson for awhile.

      Like

  4. You know how much I love that one! I’ve got to check the novels out. I’ve read the picture books and been delighted…they have VERY high quality illustrations. πŸ™‚
    Yeah, I get obsessions sometimes too. It depends. Right now I’m going through a fairy tales thing too. I agree with Kelsey that Hans Christian Anderson did many great fairy tales–he’s one of my favorites.
    Cinderella is still probably my favorite fairy tale. But the Little Mermaid and Ugly Duckling rank very high. Marianne says to tell you she loves 12 Dancing Princesses and Sleeping Beauty best. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, the picture books are so enjoyable! The novels I’ve read so far are very interesting. πŸ™‚

      Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty are probably my two favorites besides Twelve Dancing Princesses; so y’all have good taste, heehee! But… you knew that. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. Pingback: Sunflower Award | The Road of a Writer

  6. Pingback: Favorite Reads of 2014! | The Road of a Writer

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

