Perfectionism and Pictures

There almost wasn’t going to be a post today. Because as you may or may not know by now, I’m a perfectionist.

Sometimes that may be a good thing, but in the case of blogging . . . not so much. See, it means that in order for me to post something, I have to have a solid topic, and write some long semi-essay on it, and find some good pictures, and set up everything just so and make it . . . perfect.

And I was thinking that, well, if I keep doing that, I’ll never keep up with this blog. It worked early on because I planned several posts ahead when I started the blog, but I don’t always have that kind of time these days. There’s only so many perfectionist-friendly post ideas, and there’s only so much time in the world with which to write blog posts — and in the case of blog followers, read them. So I need to stop writing such long things (a bad habit of mine, I’m afraid), and stop needing everything to be perfect.

I want this blog to be fun and casual, but whenever I try that, my inner perfectionist takes over and has to be all eloquent and turn everything into a project . . . and whenever my perfectionist self decides that something is a project, it puts it off indefinitely because it knows that it will be an enormous task to do that project perfectly. It thinks that something not done perfectly is something not worth doing. *rolls eyes at perfectionist-self* Yes, it’s a problem, and one that I need to deal with sometime or another . . . as long as I can pretend that that won’t be a project. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As I was thinking today about all of this and the fact that I didn’t have a topic to post about, I suddenly thought —

“Wait a minute, that’s a topic!”

My perfectionist-self raised a cynical eyebrow and went, “Really?” It wasn’t so sure.

And I said, “Emphatically yes.”

And I wrote the post that you have just read most of, but not all of because it isn’t over yet.

(And no, I do not actually have conversations with my inner-perfectionist, or at least not in so many words, but in addition to being a perfectionist I’m also a writer, and writers like to expand on things and make them dramatic, and can turn practically anything into a story. Though not necessarily a good one. This being a case in point.)

Anyways, the actual point of all this is that I’m going to try to write shorter, funner, less topic-heavy posts and be less of a perfectionist when it comes to blogging. Key word: Try. So . . . kinda. Sorta. Almost. Maybe. Ish. At least, I won’t do those all the time. I need to remember that it really doesn’t take long to write up a post, and if it’s taking too long I’m probably being too much of a perfectionist or making it too enormous.

Now that I’ve managed to write an entire post about nothing in particular (take that, pefectionist-self! Ha!) I sort of feel like I should give some slight substance to this . . .

When in doubt: pictures! It snowed this week, which is basically unheard of where I live — at least, it’s been a couple of years — so I was making the most of it. Even a light dusting is cause for cheers and a frolic and obsessive photography.

So here, have some Texas snow pictures.

snow_cactus_2014

Cactus in the Snow (good one, right?)

snow_cardinals_2014

Cardinals must be so smug… they’re adorable and they know that we know it

snow_paw_prints_2014

Someone went by here…

snow_seahorse_2014

Poor Little Seahorse: “Why didn’t I stay in the sea where it was warmer…?”

snow_cedar_2014

Christmasy pic! If only the snow had come a month earlier…

8 thoughts on “Perfectionism and Pictures

  1. Love this! ๐Ÿ˜€ There’s nothing wrong with trying to write a good, perfect blog post, as long as your perfectionist self doesn’t take control, threaten to strangle you with a laptop charger, and take all the fun out of blogging!

    And your pictures are adorable, especially the paw-prints one. ^_^ We got snow here in North Carolina as well! Today’s a joyous day for us Southerners!!!

    Like

  2. I hear you, Deborah, about your perfectionist-self! I go through the same thing and blog posts. But I really like anything you write. It’s always so … clever. Yes. You put things eloquently and make me smile, even if you aren’t necessarily trying! Hearing from you regularly is great.
    “Now that Iโ€™ve managed to write an entire post about nothing in particular (take that, pefectionist-self! Ha!) I sort of feel like I should give some slight substance to this . . .” ๐Ÿ˜€
    I loved the pictures! It didn’t snow like that at my house.
    My blog post was going to be kind of similar this week … I had several half-formed ideas that I was just going to put in a list-style post (something like: this is what I’ve been thinking about this week) but then, I can never be short-winded, so before I knew it I had a post about my Lyme-Regis research. ๐Ÿ™‚ That was an unexpected boon!

    Like

  3. I can relate to the need to stop being a perfectionist. The same thing applies to FB statuses. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes it’s best to just relax and be yourself! Blurt out whatever’s on your mind! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

