11-12-13, NaNo Update, and BOOKS

We take a break from the hecticness of NaNo to bring you a slightly frazzled and rather brief blog post from a certain authoress.

The point of this post is threefold.

First:
Today Yesterday is was 11-12-13. Which is of course far too awesome to pass up mentioning. (Okay, so I’m a day late on my post. I blame NaNo. It’s very useful for blaming. In a good way, of course.) I, obviously, forgot to take a screenshot of the lovely number on my laptop yesterday. Even though I told myself I would. Go figure. Ahem. Moving on…

Second:
To tell you that I am indeed still alive and NaNoWriMo has not killed me. Yet. A brief update and some stats:

Day13

Yes, I’m behind. Which is embarrassing. But I’m making myself post this anyway. Maybe it will push me into catching up. Anyway it’s not quite as bad as it looks because I haven’t written yet today… I hope to write a lot today and tomorrow because if I can finish chapter 4 and get into the next one, I think things can actually start to finally *gasp* happen! I know, it’s shocking.

But we’ve now met the main character and his parakeet, seen a big mansion (that he now owns, lucky fellow. The main character owns it, not the parakeet. Though he probably thinks he does). And we’ve also met the sidekick and “the girl”, as well as a grumpy lawyer with a British accent, who is far funner to write than I thought he would be. And since they’re all about to go camping in the shadows of the Rocky Mountains (with the exception of the parakeet, who might get lost if he came, and the British lawyer fellow, who, I suspect, would not be caught dead camping) the adventure can begin toΒ  . . . well . . . begin.

I’m excited.

Thirdly:
In case you were wondering, booksales are the most wonderful events ever (besides gatherings of writers, of course). A few days ago I spent nearly the entire day either in line to get into this enormous awesome booksale that comes every November, or dashing madly about inside around the tables stuffed full of books, happily filling brown paper sacks to the brim with scrumptious books. That I incidentally cannot wait to read . . . They are part of my incentive to actually catch up on my wordcount for NaNo, because I’m not allowed to read until I’m on track again. Just look at all the prettttty:

BooksaleNov2013

I’d love to say more about the sale, but I’m running short of time and must dash. And anyway, my friend Kelsey described the booksale better than I could, in her lovely post today, so check it out! πŸ™‚

If this post (now over) was incomprehensible, I beg your pardon. My brain is slightly fried these days.

Press on, NaNoers! Nearly half-way there!

Off to write,

A frazzled Deborah O’Carroll, limping hastily along the road of a writer toward the finish line labeled “December 1st – 50,000 words written in November”

10 thoughts on “11-12-13, NaNo Update, and BOOKS

  1. AAAGH stars and crumpets, you got all those lovely new books?!?!? NO FAIR! Lol if those were all mine, I wouldn’t be touching my novel for the next year. I don’t have the self-control you do. πŸ˜‰

    The British lawyer sounds awesome. πŸ˜› Best of luck for NaNo!

    Like

    • Ehh, sorry. πŸ˜‰ There’s just always this ginormous epic library booksale in a city near where we live and we always go and spend all day and just… it’s kind of difficult not to end up with that many. πŸ˜›

      His name’s Mr. Gummer and he is SO proper and British and annoys my poor MC to no end. πŸ˜„ And thanks! Best of luck to you too — keep writing!

      Like

      • That would be cool. πŸ˜„

        Heehee, you kinda could read it if you wanted — I’m always looking for people who are interested. πŸ˜„ And it’s coming along… good but slow. I’m very behind right now… The fantasy element hasn’t come in yet, and apparently I can’t write straightforward modern fiction… πŸ˜›

        Like

  2. I completely didn’t notice 11-12-13! Rats! I guess I wasn’t thinking about the date on that day. And here I even did a blog post!
    I’m looking forward to meeting these other characters! I’m glad to hear the parakeet is still with us. You better not scare us again! πŸ˜‰
    What lovely books! My stack wasn’t quite that high, though if you combined my mom’s and mine…. I’m glad you enjoyed my post about the sale! Have you started reading any of your books? I’m raring to read one of mine; I’m not sure which will be first.

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m glad to hear it. πŸ˜‰ And I’ll try to keep the parakeet safe. πŸ˜€

      I haven’t started any of them… I’m behind on my wordcount for NaNo, so I’ve made a rule that I can’t read until I catch up. It’s awful. πŸ˜› Must. Write. More. I can’t wait to read those books! (Oh, and you must tell me what you think of The Gammage Cup and The Good Master!)

      Like

  3. I feel dumb. I didn’t notice 11/12/13, but then I often forget what day it is…maybe I’m getting dementia early in life. πŸ˜›
    WORK ON GIRL! GET JANCSI STARTED ON HIS ADVENTURE!!!! πŸ™‚
    Don’t forget you got Fairest at the booksale aka snagged the prettiest cover in the history of book covers. πŸ™‚

    Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

