“I’m Going On An Adventure!”

(Otherwise entitled: Regarding November–Yes, I’m One of Those Crazy Writers)

“I’m going on an adventure!”

-Bilbo Baggins in the film “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”

As previously mentioned, fall is in the air . . . and adventure approaches. What adventure, you ask? Well, NaNoWriMo, of course.

Yep, National Novel Writing Month has crept up on us once again. 50,000 words in 30 days. A whole novel in the month of November. Who’s insane enough to try it? Me, for one. Because it makes me write. And it adds a measure of community to an otherwise solitary occupation. And it’s fun. I’d say those are three very good reasons.

2013-Participant-Facebook-Profile

Ah, NaNo . . .

The thrill, the joy, the panic, the excitement.

The frantic brainstorming, the sleepless nights, the overdoses of chocolate and caffeine.

The despair, the exhilarating discoveries, the unexpected plot-twists.

The characters in our brains alternating between pestering us, ignoring us, and locking us up.

The frenzied sound of the tappity-tappity-tap of fingers going crazy on keyboards, and minds going crazy in heads.

We love it, we hate it, we fear it, we revel in it.

It is obvious we writers are crazy.

I have a feeling it will be even crazier for me this year than usual. Not only am I going to try to write 50,000 words, but I’m also going to try to keep up with correspondence (ha), with life (double ha), and to cap it all, this year I’m a co-ML (Municipal Liaison) for my local region, which means I’ll be helping organize events, urging on other writers and answering their questions, and generally being about three times as busy as usual. In short, I’m more excited than ever.

This month I’ll be frantically brainstorming away, trying to gather together a plot for this year’s novel, a contemporary fantasy adventure. (Normally I’m a medieval fantasy person. But this story was too yummy to pass up.)

URcover3

Underground Rainbow
Teen photographer Jancsi Foil encounters a world of fantastical creatures living undetected alongside the humans of Earth. Griffins, Gnomes, Mermaids: dwellers in sky, earth and water, with Leprechauns betwixt the three, trying to unite them in friendship—though not averse to some mischievous fun along the way. Jancsi and his friends are swept along in a colorful yet perilous adventure that will endanger everything they hold dear, as they join forces with the creatures and attempt to restore freedom to all—and find that golden friendship at the end of the rainbow.

There’s a colorful (sorry, couldn’t resist) cast of characters in this story that I just can’t wait to “meet”! If I can get the plot figured out I think this will be a spectacularly fun NaNo!

So . . . How about you? Are you willing to take the plunge? Come and join me on this epic writing adventure of fifty-thousand words in thirty days!

Everyone has a story in them. Set aside time to write the one you have to tell.

NaNoWriMo: write a novel in November.

If I can do it, so can you.

http://www.nanowrimo.org

What will you be writing this year? And are you excited yet?

6 thoughts on ““I’m Going On An Adventure!”

  1. I have been wanting to participate in NANOWRIMO for years but never had the courage to commit. This year, I am forcing myself to do it. I have started the planning process and I am really excited! You’re right, us writers are crazy, but why would we want to be sane? Happy writing!

    Like

  2. Heard a lot about NaNoWriMo–several of my friends, including yourself are on it. But I’m just not sure I write in a way that could blend in with the site really well.
    But good luck on your adventures! 🙂

    Like

  3. WHOO! NANO! In other words, YES, I am excited!! 😀

    “…minds going crazy in heads.” Hahahaha! Love that! Isn’t that the truth?

    Wait…correspondence? L-life? In NOVEMBER? I…I…don’t under…stand. *scratches head*

    ONLY 3 WEEKS AWAY. AAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • YES. Now that I’ve “met” most of my characters I’m suddenly even more excited! 😀
      (heehee, thank you)
      Ohhh, right. I forgot. They don’t exist during November. *shakes head seriously*
      …Only 3?? O_O EEP!!

      Like

What are your thoughts? I'd love to hear them!

